Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic begins with a new storyline, force powers, characters, classes, and locations. Approximately five years after the events of the original Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, the Jedi, nearly brought to an end by the Sith, are onThe next chapter of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic begins with a new storyline, force powers, characters, classes, and locations. Approximately five years after the events of the original Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, the Jedi, nearly brought to an end by the Sith, are on the brink of extinction. As the last of the Jedi, you must master more than 30 new Force powers while battling your way through seven different worlds. This time, you can split your party to use several characters from your team for concurrent side quests. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Stuff
    100
    New powers, faster combat and new environments - such as Korriban, ancient Sith Lord burial ground - make this trip to KOTOR-ville more than just an Old Republic retread. [Jan 2005, p.54]
  2. This game really has everything you could want, including one of the best if not the best stories of the year, and it'll certainly slake any gamer's thirst for adventure.
  3. GMR Magazine
    90
    A fine RPG - it's just not the earth-shattering sequel that people might expect. [Feb 2005, p.100]
  4. Obsidian ditched the level cap, added randomized items, and made Knights of the Old Republic II a better game in almost every respect than its predecessor. I just wish they'd had the time to iron all the bugs out of the final version.
  5. A sequel that doesn't disappoint. KOTOR 2 is both a great Xbox RPG and a great Star Wars game.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    82
    Tries much too hard for its own good. The writing is mostly passable, but dialogue lacks the feeling and nuances of the original, hence the game is morally much more black and white. The combat is also much too easy. It's still good fun for some of the time, though. [Feb. 05]
  7. Though I loved the original, I was less enthralled by the sequel. It felt too much like a typical role-playing dungeon crawl, in which you go from room to room fighting endless battles.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59
  1. FrankieB.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    What the hell... did I just get laid?
  2. HaloP.
    May 23, 2005
    10
    This is the best videogame of all time, very well written, great characters, and a very intresting storyline. Great graphics, fantasic music, This is the best videogame of all time, very well written, great characters, and a very intresting storyline. Great graphics, fantasic music, sounds, and voices. It's a game you can't grow tired of. There are many different things to do, BUT, every game has it's flaw. KOTOR 2, has a VERY disappointing, incomplete ending. But the rest of the game is great! Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    Though incomplete, the game brings with it a unique storyline, fantastic characters and awesome game-play.
    The storyline is what amazes me in
    Though incomplete, the game brings with it a unique storyline, fantastic characters and awesome game-play.
    The storyline is what amazes me in this game as it brings with it a view on the Star Wars galaxy that no movie or book could give. An exiled jedi trying to find his/her way in the galaxy, unaware of a war that occurred in his/her travels, later to find out that he/she is a target for the sith, and on his/her journey to connect back to the force he/she is faced with options that will change the face of the galaxy.
    The characters' personalities are amazing, each carrying a history that the jedi can unveil.
    The in-completion of the story is a let down but prays for a sequel. Sadly there is none but I give KOTOR TSL a ten for story, characterization and gameplay.
    Expand
  4. JakeK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Great game. i think they are probably one of the best ones yet. They need to make a 3rd one. And people who said it was a rip off of the 1st Great game. i think they are probably one of the best ones yet. They need to make a 3rd one. And people who said it was a rip off of the 1st one are totaly wrong. It was just as good. Expand
  5. JonathanD.
    Apr 20, 2006
    9
    O.K. First off to Tom who played it through twice and still gave it a two. if you play a game more then once you probably like it and it O.K. First off to Tom who played it through twice and still gave it a two. if you play a game more then once you probably like it and it deserves atleast a 6 because it keeps your attention. but anyways this game is one of the best stories in a video game i have ever seen. i havent played the original yet but im going to soon. and it starts off EXTREMELY SLOW. so it will take 3-5 hours to start up maybe less and im just slow but once i got my lightsaber i couldnt put down the controller and if you think its too easy put the difficulty to hard. overall a great game with an extremely great story. just play it if your either an RPG fan or a Starwars Fan either way you will probly love this game. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    Tier 2
    + Excellent continuation of the story from the previous installment that goes in a lot of exciting direction
    + Interesting cast of
    Tier 2
    + Excellent continuation of the story from the previous installment that goes in a lot of exciting direction
    + Interesting cast of companions with a great development system between them and the player
    + Explores the moral ambiguity and potential depth of the Star Wars mythos in amazing ways
    ? Pacing feels odd, and conclusion is not fully fleshed out
    ? Game feels emotionally hollow/cold despite the admirable storytelling, though for the most part this fits thematically
    - Like the previous installment, combat gets boring quickly, though it does offer some fun new mechanics
    Expand
  7. MichaelP.
    Jan 16, 2005
    2
    BAD: Unplayable. The load times ultimately killed this game, and that's before even considering the dated graphics and buggy character BAD: Unplayable. The load times ultimately killed this game, and that's before even considering the dated graphics and buggy character design. 5 hours (counting 2 hours of just loading) till I get a lightsaber? C'mon! If Jade Empire gets this kind of treatment... GOOD: You can save anywhere. That's about it for the good. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

16
7
#7 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
33
#33 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004