User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 342
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Brandon
    May 22, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time! I've beaten it twice and I'm still not tired of it. Any Star Wars fan should buy this game.
  2. I.Lynch
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    a very starnge game. you waht you're doing is boring. lots of speech and turn based battles, but you can't stop! its an excellent game and the story twist is the best in a game ever.
  3. DanA.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    The only, and I mean ONLY flaw is that the visuals aren't above average. Other than that KOTOR delivers on levels that both avid and non-Star Wars fans will be impressed with.
  4. DavidF.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest RPG's of all time.
  5. JackB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    One of the greatest xbox games ever made, although some of the parts are challenging, it is a great game.
  6. MathiasB.
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    I could say it's awesome, amazing, incredible and blablabla, but I'll just say, that it kicks asses like nothing else.
  7. MichaelB
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    The combat system may take awhile to get used to but once you do you'll be into quite a treat if you've ever wondered how much impact your good and bad choices. The story is one of the greatest in video game history and in the Star Wars history as well. One of the best experiences since the original trilogy in that galaxy far, far away.
  8. [anonymous]
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Agree with Jason T. Greatest game I have ever played. Obvious bias because I love Star Wars but everything Bioware does is quality so it's not just this game.
  9. MattP.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    The best game ever. I'm a big Star Wars fan even after the Episode I debacle and Knights did not disapoint. Even after I got past the first level of Taris, I thought that their couldn't possibly be more. And Oh there was more, much more. Once you think that you've done all the side missions, you notice another one, and that other one leads into another, then into another. The best game ever. I'm a big Star Wars fan even after the Episode I debacle and Knights did not disapoint. Even after I got past the first level of Taris, I thought that their couldn't possibly be more. And Oh there was more, much more. Once you think that you've done all the side missions, you notice another one, and that other one leads into another, then into another. Fighting on the Dark Side is just too much fun to say but I actually felt bad for the people I was needlessly slaughtering. The Light Side lets you stroke your ego for a bit and having the Star Forge robes is just too cool. By now because I've only scratched the surface of the game. It's a good 90 hours worth of game play, IF you dedicate yourself. Expand
  10. MarcusB.
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    Amazing, immersive, beautifully acted and in every way better than the last couple movies. Can't wait for the sequel!
  11. BobbyB.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    This game rox. I didn't know or like anything about starwars yet i loved this game! Try it even if u don't like starwars.
  12. RexK
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    Kinghts of the Old Republic is a prime example of how a game does not have to be technically astounding to be truely excellent. The graphics are decidedly 'last-gen' and the gameplay is surprisingly MMOish, but the plot and overall story is fascinating and intricate, drawing the player into the game with an incredible level of emotional involvement. Another amazing achievement Kinghts of the Old Republic is a prime example of how a game does not have to be technically astounding to be truely excellent. The graphics are decidedly 'last-gen' and the gameplay is surprisingly MMOish, but the plot and overall story is fascinating and intricate, drawing the player into the game with an incredible level of emotional involvement. Another amazing achievement for Bioware; do not miss out on this grade-a RPG. Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    While I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this one is among the top 2 with Elder Scrolls III.
  14. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    Bioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combatBioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combat system could have used work, but because it's an old game I can deal with it, and that it rarely feel like a Star Wars game, it has it's moments later on in the game, but for the most part all you will get are some sound effects and locations from the Star Wars universe, sometimes it tries to hard to be like Star Wars, like the fact that it rips off characters from the movies like a fake Yoda, Chewbacca, and R2-D2, but those characters turned out lame, but it does give you a look at some of the history of the Star Wars universe which is cool, in the end if you like Bioware, Star Wars, or RPGs, this is a great game you should look for. Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a Star Wars fan when I was about twelve I bought this game from a second-hand game shop. I also bought the strategy guide for it, just to like solve the puzzles and stuff. What idiot would actually SELL this game?! It's near perfection, it's full of twists, it's a masterpiece to RPGs, it's no push-over, if you hadn't have Cola spilled on the game disk it wouldn't have been for sale! This...is a great...game! (Monty Python reference) This game gave you lots of freedom on your path to a light wisdom-filled Jedi Master, or a dark cunning Sith Lord (Number two please!). I especially loved how you can actually kill someone if you don't agree with them on something. I think you cheated in pazaak, SLASH! I don't like your attitude, SLASH! Sith lords aren't power-hungry and blood-thirsty, SLASH! I never expected this STAR WARS GAME (can't emphasize that enough) to have a good and replayable plot, likeable characters, awesome force powers to crush your foes, and light-sabers and guns of all kinds! Your decision can affect problems in many different worlds, either saving it, or making it worse than it was before! Sometimes, you don't know what's going to happen if you do something or not. Like on Manaan, you have a choice. Two scientists, one male and female, have different ways of getting rid of a giant firaxa shark that's bashing a kolto harvester with it's own body continuously. One suggests poisoning it, one suggests destroying the harvester. If you poison it, the shark dies, but the poison's unforeseen effect destroys all kolto in the ocean. If you destroy it, the shark lets you pass because the harvester isn't pissing it off. You can even save beforehand, and see what would have happened if you did something different? That's the kind of thing this game has to offer. Simply put, if you're a Star Wars fan or not, you should check this game out. Expand
  16. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    When I was awaken by the game landing on my chest, I jump with excitement and played this amazing game spending two months of my life of non stop playing. I still play this game from time to time when I have the urge.
  17. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to itsA general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to its period of release to that combination and out comes my favorite game of all time, KOTOR. Expand
  18. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which your actions really affected the outcome of the story.

    Fortunately that story was exceptional, particularly by video game standards, playing a large part in making the game a success. Featuring a twist to rival the best Hollywood movie Knights of the Old Republic really is the real deal.
    Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    If ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fiIf ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fi in general, this is an absolute must play game. You will likely spend hours and hours playing and replaying the game. I, personally, have played a total of 80 hours and still I want to keep coming back even 4 years after beating it. It is amazing. Expand
  20. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Amazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the gameAmazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the game really lets you decide. Expand
  21. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Enormous and yet personal, a truly epic game. Playing it 8 years after its initial release, although the graphics are out of date, I still feel myself awe-struck at the incredibly deep and engaging story. In my opinion, a greater story, and more engaging characters than the movies.
  22. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic not only delivers an amazing Star Wars story and an excellent RPG but does both in superb fashion. Featuring an epic story filled with memorable characters, and perfectly balanced and simplistically good gameplay, KotOR is one of the best and most complete games ever made.
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Gripping story, memorable characters, innovative D20 combat system, tons of customization, infinite replay value, and the sweet, sweet satisfaction of succumbing to the lure of the dark side make this game the number 1 Star Wars game ever made, and one of the best XBOX games ever.
  24. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Easily the best Star Wars game ever made, This game is as close to perfection as you can get. Its an amazing RPG that gives you countless of hours of fun, I have replayed it countless times just to see the difference in the story (you have Light Side and Dark Side choices in the game that effect the game in many ways). The only problem is that its features quite a few annoying bugs and glitches.
  25. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    A true classic with a story that rivals any of the Star Wars movies. Makes you truly feel like a Jedi Knight. George Lucas please do the me and the world a favor and make this game in to a movie.
  26. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Not every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stopNot every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stop this game. The story is one of the best I have seen in a very long time and has many side-stories related to characters and a lot into it. The graphics are not really the best but the environments are huge and varied and they look amazing. The sound is the best, nothing beats the music and voice acting in this game. Overall, this is the best game I have played (ever) and many people can share my opinion about the game, it deserves every single award it has won and it deserves an HD remake, I have faith in you Bioware, keep it up. Expand
  27. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers,Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers, and a good moral choice system (as in if you're dark side, dark side force powers, which are more powerful, cost less, but people don't like you). I could go on gushing, but I am bored, just if you have never played this game, do so! It's awesome. Expand
  28. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Tied as my favorite game of the previous generation of consoles, this game was awesome on so many levels. The characters were incredible, the story was awesome, and graphics and environments that made you feel like you were in the Star Wars universe. I was not a huge Star Wars fan until I played this game. I have beaten it probably half a dozen times.
  29. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the BEST Star Wars game ever made. With a very good story with constant plot twists, the unique option of choosing which path you want to walk, a variety of rich and complex character, going from a simple Republic soldier to an exiled Wookie to even an assassin droid. The combat system is something from a D&D game, with constant d20 rolls, saving rolls, modifiers, and you don't have to worry about all the fancy calculations, as the game does it for you. With endless possibilities on equipment choices, Force Powers, Feats, and stats, this ensures each PC (player character) is unique depending on a player's choices. This game worked for a perfect score, and it got it. Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2017
    9
    I remember the game enough to give it a 9 for being amazing. I may have had a few issues with it but nothing too major. The best Star Wars game ever made? I think so.
  31. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third forThis is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third for the past seven years at least. The role-playing elements offer up plenty of choices, the only detracting factor being that your major, main playable character cannot be any species other than human, male or female. This is, however, easily remedied by the fact that you can switch between party members at any given time on the fly, and experience the strength of a wookie or the wiles of multiple jedi. Few things go wrong throughout the gameplay, save from a few minor glitches here and there, and slightly longer than average loading times in order to load the enormous world around you. The environments are rich and fairly detailed, the action and stealth mechanics are solid, the controls well oiled and tried and tested, and the story excellently crafted. This first Knights of the Old Republic game is certainly ambitious to the finest point, and for good reason as it is an epic success and in my honest opinion, BioWare's finest work until Mass Effect 2. Expand
  32. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    To date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat feltTo date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat felt challenging if played on the right difficulty yet not frustrating. One of the best story twists that I have ever witnessed in a video-game. A must-play if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
  33. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    a true masterpiece, an excellent and immersive rpg that best star wars game ever made and one of the best rpgs ever, the story is as god as if not better then the movies, full o side quests, unique environments, plot twists, well developed characters and replay value that is very high. Great Game!
  34. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definetly the best star wars game I have ever played in my entire life. It always brought joy to me, up until the time that my Xbox stopped working.
  35. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, played it almost every year since 2006 and it still hasn't gotten old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  36. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, andStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, and creatures so there's lots to explore and it gets to be quite adventurous. The quests are good and exciting, the characters are great that have very good dialogue and the AI is pretty good too. The leveling system is decent with you having to choose different powers ranging from "Force Push" to "Saber Throw" to "Force Lightning", there are a lot of options. My favourite RPGs are the ones where there pretty much nonlinear but this game is a lot more linear. I feel like that you just roll along to each planet one by one and when you're done with the main quest and side quests there's nothing else to do. I want to be able to keep revisiting places that have activities or something going on all the time. One little tiny complaint I have is that the robes you find throughout the galaxies don't really look like robes. If I want to play like a jedi, I want to look like a jedi. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is an amazing RPG that will please anyone, and it's a must play. Expand
  37. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    One of My all time favorites, played through multiple times, can still play through and have a blast 12 years later, instant classic few games like it
  38. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    If you want to play a true Star Wars RPG game, this one is it and it's only for the original Xbox so get the Xbox console and get this game if you want to live up such glory.
  39. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    Sans aucun doute le meilleur jeu basé sur la fameuse licence Star Wars et peut-être bien le meilleur jeu de rôle réalisé par Bioware à côté des Mass Effect ! il brille par son scénario très travaillé, ses personnages forts, ses dialogues toujours intéressants, son système de combat presque aussi agréable qu'un vrai tour par tour.

    A dire vrai, ses graphismes sont tout juste honnêtes et
    Sans aucun doute le meilleur jeu basé sur la fameuse licence Star Wars et peut-être bien le meilleur jeu de rôle réalisé par Bioware à côté des Mass Effect ! il brille par son scénario très travaillé, ses personnages forts, ses dialogues toujours intéressants, son système de combat presque aussi agréable qu'un vrai tour par tour.

    A dire vrai, ses graphismes sont tout juste honnêtes et sujets néanmoins à pas mal de ralentissements mais la direction artistique superbe sauve la mise. La musique est superbe, la VF impeccable et la durée de vie n'est pas négligeable ! Je l'ai fini deux fois à l'époque sur Xbox. C'est d'ailleurs le jeu (avec Splinter Cell) qui m'a fait acheter une Xbox (ce fut une exclusivité pendant de longs mois). Excellent souvenir.
    Expand
  40. Apr 2, 2017
    10
    This game is the best star wars game and one of the greatest games of its time. It's got a combat system that you will never find in today's video games. The game included great characters, an Amazing story and a plot twist that will be remembered forever!
  41. Mar 19, 2018
    10
    Even 15 years later, I can't say I've played a better RPG than Kotor. It's contemporary Morrowind comes incredibly close, and many other RPGs are definitely engaging, but Kotor just did it all the best.

    The gameplay, the score, the writing, the worldbuilding, the decision-making. A deep, rewarding RPG that still warrants replays to this day.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.