User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 256

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all-time. The story, voice-acting, and dialogue are all masterful. It far surpasses the mediocre prequel films in every category other than visual effects.
  4. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    While I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this one is among the top 2 with Elder Scrolls III.
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a Star Wars fan when I was about twelve I bought this game from a second-hand game shop. I also bought the strategy guide for it, just to like solve the puzzles and stuff. What idiot would actually SELL this game?! It's near perfection, it's full of twists, it's a masterpiece to RPGs, it's no push-over, if you hadn't have Cola spilled on the game disk it wouldn't have been for sale! This...is a great...game! (Monty Python reference) This game gave you lots of freedom on your path to a light wisdom-filled Jedi Master, or a dark cunning Sith Lord (Number two please!). I especially loved how you can actually kill someone if you don't agree with them on something. I think you cheated in pazaak, SLASH! I don't like your attitude, SLASH! Sith lords aren't power-hungry and blood-thirsty, SLASH! I never expected this STAR WARS GAME (can't emphasize that enough) to have a good and replayable plot, likeable characters, awesome force powers to crush your foes, and light-sabers and guns of all kinds! Your decision can affect problems in many different worlds, either saving it, or making it worse than it was before! Sometimes, you don't know what's going to happen if you do something or not. Like on Manaan, you have a choice. Two scientists, one male and female, have different ways of getting rid of a giant firaxa shark that's bashing a kolto harvester with it's own body continuously. One suggests poisoning it, one suggests destroying the harvester. If you poison it, the shark dies, but the poison's unforeseen effect destroys all kolto in the ocean. If you destroy it, the shark lets you pass because the harvester isn't pissing it off. You can even save beforehand, and see what would have happened if you did something different? That's the kind of thing this game has to offer. Simply put, if you're a Star Wars fan or not, you should check this game out. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    When I was awaken by the game landing on my chest, I jump with excitement and played this amazing game spending two months of my life of non stop playing. I still play this game from time to time when I have the urge.
  7. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to its period of release to that combination and out comes my favorite game of all time, KOTOR. Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    If ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fi in general, this is an absolute must play game. You will likely spend hours and hours playing and replaying the game. I, personally, have played a total of 80 hours and still I want to keep coming back even 4 years after beating it. It is amazing. Expand
  9. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Amazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the game really lets you decide. Expand
  10. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Enormous and yet personal, a truly epic game. Playing it 8 years after its initial release, although the graphics are out of date, I still feel myself awe-struck at the incredibly deep and engaging story. In my opinion, a greater story, and more engaging characters than the movies.
  11. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic not only delivers an amazing Star Wars story and an excellent RPG but does both in superb fashion. Featuring an epic story filled with memorable characters, and perfectly balanced and simplistically good gameplay, KotOR is one of the best and most complete games ever made.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Gripping story, memorable characters, innovative D20 combat system, tons of customization, infinite replay value, and the sweet, sweet satisfaction of succumbing to the lure of the dark side make this game the number 1 Star Wars game ever made, and one of the best XBOX games ever.
  13. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Easily the best Star Wars game ever made, This game is as close to perfection as you can get. Its an amazing RPG that gives you countless of hours of fun, I have replayed it countless times just to see the difference in the story (you have Light Side and Dark Side choices in the game that effect the game in many ways). The only problem is that its features quite a few annoying bugs and glitches.
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    A true classic with a story that rivals any of the Star Wars movies. Makes you truly feel like a Jedi Knight. George Lucas please do the me and the world a favor and make this game in to a movie.
  15. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Not every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stop this game. The story is one of the best I have seen in a very long time and has many side-stories related to characters and a lot into it. The graphics are not really the best but the environments are huge and varied and they look amazing. The sound is the best, nothing beats the music and voice acting in this game. Overall, this is the best game I have played (ever) and many people can share my opinion about the game, it deserves every single award it has won and it deserves an HD remake, I have faith in you Bioware, keep it up. Expand
  16. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers, and a good moral choice system (as in if you're dark side, dark side force powers, which are more powerful, cost less, but people don't like you). I could go on gushing, but I am bored, just if you have never played this game, do so! It's awesome. Expand
  17. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Tied as my favorite game of the previous generation of consoles, this game was awesome on so many levels. The characters were incredible, the story was awesome, and graphics and environments that made you feel like you were in the Star Wars universe. I was not a huge Star Wars fan until I played this game. I have beaten it probably half a dozen times.
  18. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the BEST Star Wars game ever made. With a very good story with constant plot twists, the unique option of choosing which path you want to walk, a variety of rich and complex character, going from a simple Republic soldier to an exiled Wookie to even an assassin droid. The combat system is something from a D&D game, with constant d20 rolls, saving rolls, modifiers, and you don't have to worry about all the fancy calculations, as the game does it for you. With endless possibilities on equipment choices, Force Powers, Feats, and stats, this ensures each PC (player character) is unique depending on a player's choices. This game worked for a perfect score, and it got it. Expand
  19. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third for the past seven years at least. The role-playing elements offer up plenty of choices, the only detracting factor being that your major, main playable character cannot be any species other than human, male or female. This is, however, easily remedied by the fact that you can switch between party members at any given time on the fly, and experience the strength of a wookie or the wiles of multiple jedi. Few things go wrong throughout the gameplay, save from a few minor glitches here and there, and slightly longer than average loading times in order to load the enormous world around you. The environments are rich and fairly detailed, the action and stealth mechanics are solid, the controls well oiled and tried and tested, and the story excellently crafted. This first Knights of the Old Republic game is certainly ambitious to the finest point, and for good reason as it is an epic success and in my honest opinion, BioWare's finest work until Mass Effect 2. Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    To date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat felt challenging if played on the right difficulty yet not frustrating. One of the best story twists that I have ever witnessed in a video-game. A must-play if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    a true masterpiece, an excellent and immersive rpg that best star wars game ever made and one of the best rpgs ever, the story is as god as if not better then the movies, full o side quests, unique environments, plot twists, well developed characters and replay value that is very high. Great Game!
  22. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definetly the best star wars game I have ever played in my entire life. It always brought joy to me, up until the time that my Xbox stopped working.
  23. FireWire
    Jul 23, 2003
    0
    At last one of few games Worthy of the Star Wars Licence, damn this game is the one of the best xbox games around. Bioware does it again! This game is also one of the best rpg's i've ever played. Good and easy to learn controls , superb detailed graphics and a real star wars feeling that will keep you inside and attached 2 your controller even if all hell breaks lose. (why can't i rate it with a 11? :D ) Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.