User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 281

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system althoughthis is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Collapse
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
  3. J.gh0st
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    Fantastic. Pure RPG and really well done at that. You do nothing in combat (no twitching, you are picking attacks and stuff) and while you may think it is boring, it is anything but. It is a blast to pan the camera and watch them go at it. Just great. Story is top notch, voices are well done. Grafx are good. Not really anything bad to say at all.
  4. CameronK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    You people that say this game sucks are just doing it cause you want people to scroll through and see the red and stop. This is the greatest game ever made.
  5. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all-time. The story, voice-acting, and dialogue are all masterful. It far surpasses the mediocre prequel films in every category other than visual effects.
  6. SuperRater
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out there, even today. Defenitaly worth buying! Expand
  7. RobertC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    A really stellar game. This game is truly absolutely engaging through gameplay, storyline, and the missions. And the issues of the Light Side and the Dark Side is nearly powerful. You really do know that you're doing something bad. You realize this action will make you worse...now's that genuis.
  8. MarkusNikkilä
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    There you have it! At last an excellent Star Wars product! Keep on the good work Bioware!!!!
  9. ChrisH.
    Jul 20, 2003
    10
    I've never cared much for console or computer role-playing games, but I purchased KOTOR on the advice of a friend. I'm glad I did! It's fantastic. It's right up there in my book with Halo as a must-have breakout game.
  10. CP
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, absolutely fantastic game. Fully recommended to Star Wars and RPG fans alike, heck, anyone looking for a sweet game ought to pick this one up ASAP. Expand
  11. GarrettT.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    It's the best game ever!!!!!!
  12. JakeK.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    THis is the best star wars game ever. Loved how u could chosse your own path. Im surprized by how many people said they didnt like the combat systme because,quite frankly, i loved it. I think there should be more games like this.
  13. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    favorite xbox RPG ever. gameplay is slow in the beginning but gets way better. also can be a little buggy at times
  14. KevinK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Wow, i just played this game for the first time and even with all these 360 games out this is still the best!
  15. LeighM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This game is such a good game. Spend so many hours on this game and it was all worth it. The story line was amazing and the fighting was great!! Great Game!! Go buy it!!
  16. LiamA.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is top notch for star wars fans because of the depth and gameplay.The story like keeps u focused and the first time i played it i couldn't leave it alone. I would recommend this title to anyone even if they don't like star wars ps i love amy jayne lukins xxxxxxxxxx love uu for ever liam john argent.
  17. ChazD.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Truely a wonder to behold! I rented it for 3 days, as I couldn't find it in town, and I was amazed! Every line in the game was spoken. But not only that, the characters really seemed to remember what you had done to them previously and responded (with spoken words) appropriately to the situation based on previous offenses and current propositions. Unbelievable that a developer was Truely a wonder to behold! I rented it for 3 days, as I couldn't find it in town, and I was amazed! Every line in the game was spoken. But not only that, the characters really seemed to remember what you had done to them previously and responded (with spoken words) appropriately to the situation based on previous offenses and current propositions. Unbelievable that a developer was finally willing to take the time... Expand
  18. AlexR.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    THIS ROCKS!
  19. VinceY.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    Too many great things to say! Just buy it!
  20. MartinD.
    Jul 20, 2003
    9
    Just picked this game up last night and was immediately addicted to it.
  21. MikeControlis#1
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    I would have to say that this is the best game I have played since Halo. I can't belive how far Lucasart and Bioware went to creat the perfect game to give a push to RPGs that will hopefully come out on XBOX. One of the things that excites me most, is that with Fable coming out who knows when, the success of KOTOR will hopefully push them to make an even better experience, in which I would have to say that this is the best game I have played since Halo. I can't belive how far Lucasart and Bioware went to creat the perfect game to give a push to RPGs that will hopefully come out on XBOX. One of the things that excites me most, is that with Fable coming out who knows when, the success of KOTOR will hopefully push them to make an even better experience, in which case this site needs a rating of 11. Because this is the perfect game. Expand
  22. GeorgeW.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    This game is by far the best RPG game I have ever played. The amazing graphics, oustanding storyline, and incredible play totally made me forget about the one or two flaws--control of items/actions. Outstanding job by LucasArts and Bioware! Well done!
  23. MattZ.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Better than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...nowBetter than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...now that i think of it, this is the best game ever! enjoy! Expand
  24. GMan
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    This game integrates all the expansiveness of the online text based MUDDs of a decade ago into an incredible graphical interface. Gameplay is smooth and offers a good deal of player intuition/decision making.......this could really, really expand in the online environment!
  25. JuicyFruit
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    It is the most addicting game i've ever played.
  26. CorinH.
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    I hate rpg's but this game I love. this is the perfect game for any star wars fan.
  27. Pretender
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    This is the best game out there.
  28. GiovanniDiGregorio
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C !
  29. JeffW.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played through, It was never completely the same. Bioware's design of the fighting feats and force powers gave me a lot of flexibility in designing my character. In my opinion, those who didn't enjoy the game either didn't understand it, or didn't have the patience to let the actual gameplay develop: They were probably to interested in finishing it to really enjoy it. Too bad for them-can't wait till the second one comes out. Expand
  30. CodyD.
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan and go back in the Ebon Hawk the galaxy droid will be gone. hope you like that hint Expand
  31. JimD.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This is what i think the most kick ass game ((RPG)) that there will be till at least Fable comes out or if the rumors are true that the next KOTOR is sopped to kick some more ass than this.
  32. WinstonXL.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, the most entertaining and fun experience you can have on your xbox.
  33. HowardM.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The polar opposite of games like Ninja Gaiden in that it's endlessly entertaining, fun and deep and practically never frustrating or unfair. I thought the combat system was great as well and perfect for overcoming the limitations of the Xbox controller as well as the inevitable camera problems that plague fighting games.
  34. Petem
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    I have played thru this game many times and have njoyed every second of it. Except of course my failed blaster jedi (they blow).
  35. LoganD.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This game is so fun. I like all of the storyline, and how it is really long, and all thoose credits, all that strategy...
  36. PimpPlayer
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game of all star wars game i just got it today.And this game is fun ass @%$#.This is the game of the year.
  37. BentonB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best game EVER! Everything is awesome all the way from the story to the characters and graphics.
  38. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This game is simply the best RPG I've ever played. The story is perfect, the graphics are alright, they don't look very good in some cutscenes, the gameplay is great and the music is great.
  39. RobR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, and still love it, and miss it once you've beaten it. Expand
  40. PaulA
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    My favorite game of all time. A masterpiece. The visuals aren't that good. But the entire experience is unparalleled, and the few flaws this game has can't hold this game back. The story is one of the best and a major twist unfolds toward the end. This is the high point for star wars and bioware.
  41. [Anonynous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Best XBOX game ever, I played 52 hours and finally it was game over :-)
  42. C.P.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Best rpg on xbox.
  43. joeMAMMA
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Ok for all of you guys that are complaining about the bad frame rate and the limit on environments and the Skipping of the disc..............get a life and play the game for what its meant for.....fun!!! there is no way that u can have this much fun with anotehr game style RPG (real time). The only thing that i would maybe comment on is the loading time between areas and that is it
  44. JulianB.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    The pics look sweet and game play looks sweet its gowing to be hell uf a game.
  45. RavenX301
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Forget Morrowind, forget PotC, and forget that Fable everyone's talking about. I own all the Baldur's Gate series including NWN's and I have played thru all of them with only one character and loved every minute of it, and I know if I have play 5 games thru with one charater (THE EX-P's) means that BioWare makes the best RPG known , and I have been waiting till 2000 Forget Morrowind, forget PotC, and forget that Fable everyone's talking about. I own all the Baldur's Gate series including NWN's and I have played thru all of them with only one character and loved every minute of it, and I know if I have play 5 games thru with one charater (THE EX-P's) means that BioWare makes the best RPG known , and I have been waiting till 2000 for this title with it was first said to be on GameSpy, and the it's time the hour glass is layed to rest, and it's time to raise my lightsaber high in the air and say "This is way I love RPG." Expand
  46. JakeV.
    Jul 16, 2003
    9
    I know it's probably a bit odd to see a review on here in which every word is properly spelled, and the grammar is correct. Sorry for the inconvenience. As of right now, I have played approximately 9 hours of the game, and I still have much exploring to do. The graphics are great, and the bump mapping is excellent. The voice acting is also some of the best I've heard in a video I know it's probably a bit odd to see a review on here in which every word is properly spelled, and the grammar is correct. Sorry for the inconvenience. As of right now, I have played approximately 9 hours of the game, and I still have much exploring to do. The graphics are great, and the bump mapping is excellent. The voice acting is also some of the best I've heard in a video game. Bravo BioWare. You've made me proud to be a Star Wars fan again. Expand
  47. DarthV.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    Can't wait 400 years to play this game!
  48. MatewF.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is the game of the years.
  49. MattewM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Good job boiware... very impressive gameplay and graphics. Overall best game of the year so far!
  50. VenkatS.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    This is one hell of a game!!! I played it last night and i reckon it leaves Black and White for dead. I mean... come on... if Gamespot is giving an Xbox game 91% it gotta be great. Best use of a license ever?
  51. AndrewA.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    When u get to pick eather the dark side or be the light is excellent. The graphics are cool, very well made and i hate rpgs, but this put rpgs back to date on the xbox. The sound is great especially in surround sound. If you own an xbox then you have to play this game its excellent. And sorry about the spelling and grammer.
  52. BradonT.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Great game!
  53. ECHOISGRAFF
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Star Wars KOTOR: Huge world. Perfect voiceovers. Great graphics. DU HAST MICH.
  54. BrentP
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    Fantastic game. The flexibility and gameplay dynamics are key. Combat is as fluid or as pause-tactical as you want it to be. Animations are excellent, graphics are between solid and excellent. I'm anxious to beat it so I can try out new character templates and alignments!
  55. R.Doyle
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    I must say, when I first started playing the game, I was rather disappointed that it was a Point-n-Click combat system. I was looking forward to controlling the action. - Now? Disregard that entire statement. This game is absolutely incredible!!! This is THE BEST Star Wars game ever made. I agree with previous forum statements as well. This truly is better that both EP1:TPM and EP2:AOTC. I must say, when I first started playing the game, I was rather disappointed that it was a Point-n-Click combat system. I was looking forward to controlling the action. - Now? Disregard that entire statement. This game is absolutely incredible!!! This is THE BEST Star Wars game ever made. I agree with previous forum statements as well. This truly is better that both EP1:TPM and EP2:AOTC. - Hey Lucas, take a good long look at this game and TRY and give us the same quality in EP3? Expand
  56. DtotheJ
    Jul 18, 2003
    9
    This game blows... your mind. But seriously folks this game is awsome, albeit a little too RPGish for me, then again thats what makes it deep. I will never give into the dark side!
  57. BobL.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    This is a great game. Very deep and detailed. A must have for anyone who enjoys RPG games.
  58. HotMale
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    The best Xbox RPG game out there. I bought Pirates of the Caribbean and Star Wars:KOTOR at the same time and KOTOR blows Pirates out of the water! This game is King of RPGs.
  59. Fattony
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing.Its definitely one of the best xbox titles if not the best. you dont even need to be a star wars fan to love this game
  60. FireWire
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    At last one of few games Worthy of the Star Wars Licence, damn this game is the one of the best xbox games around. Bioware does it again! This game is also one of the best rpg's i've ever played. Good and easy to learn controls , superb detailed graphics and a real star wars feeling that will keep you inside and attached 2 your controller even if all hell breaks lose. (why At last one of few games Worthy of the Star Wars Licence, damn this game is the one of the best xbox games around. Bioware does it again! This game is also one of the best rpg's i've ever played. Good and easy to learn controls , superb detailed graphics and a real star wars feeling that will keep you inside and attached 2 your controller even if all hell breaks lose. (why can't i rate it with a 11? :D ) Expand
  61. SteveK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    This game is stealing away my life. I didn't know what to expect when i picked it up, but seriously, this is probably the best game i have ever played PERIOD.
  62. Villainus
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Tight game...immersive story,star wars fans will love it...kinda tough at first but once you have some skills and upgrades things move right along.Loved the murder case that you have to solve...pretty deep. Buy it NOW!
  63. JimJ.
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Great game! I love playing as a Dark Jedi.
  64. MaxM.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    This is the best game I ever played! So if anyone ask's me it will be. BRUTE FORCE.
  65. AaronA.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    This game looks like its gonna b one of the best games ever, after i saw it its like wow i gota get this and nothings stopping me.
  66. BobV.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Yeah!
  67. Ridemestrong
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    It kicks ass i can't sleep at night thinking what will happen next.
  68. NamelessOne
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's not much difference between our games. - Too easy. I only died a couple of times during the game, and never really used boosters, shields, or even my best armor/weapons. - Mini-games (pazaak, swoop racing, gladiator, and space combat) weren't rewarding or fun enough. They should've opened up additional storylines and mini-quests rather than just giving you cash. - Money. Money in this game has no value. I started spending everything I had on medpacks just to get something remotely useful (I barely even used them). Merchant items worthless since quest drops were so good. Expand
  69. SeanK.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    Perfect in every aspect! Loved every minute of it!
  70. ScotB.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    Wonderful story. Brilliantly executed game play. Can't wait to go back and see what it's like to play through on the dark side...
  71. BritneyL.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Jose C...., you just want to be noticed, you know this is the best game to come out this year!
  72. JordanG.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  73. MattR.
    Sep 5, 2003
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. Note to all whiners: just because you got a faulty disc (it happens) doesn't mean this is shovelware. Expand
  74. Chase
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    All I can say is this game is the best of all RPG's and gives great dialogue voice and how you get to choose what to say is excellent. The game also gives excellent battles with blasters swords lightsabers and much much more. This should be a bang in gaming history. Because once you play it once theres still loads more to see. Pleases buy The greatest game of all time Star Wars KOTOR.
  75. Joe
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Tho i be stuck right now, i still can't put this game down.
  76. JeffreyG.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    this game is amazing. it had my friends and me including bantha fodder into our daily vocabulary. i've never had so many people watch one game at a time, its like a 40 hour movie. good movie.
  77. A.D.
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    Greatgreatgreat.
  78. BrianS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    It is the best rpg I have ever played:*)
  79. JesseL.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    You will never find a better star wars game. This is the ultimate. This is for star wars fans what hockey is for canadians. Play this game ehh.
  80. JeffM.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    An unreal role-playing experiance worthy of the Star Wars name, which is ultimatly the greatest honor.
  81. CodyK.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Wow
  82. JamesU.
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I was hooked on this game for weeks the worest part was after so long together it after 45 hours on gaming it ended.
  83. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Only RPG I ever liked. This game is great. There is just so much to do and you can affect almost everyone you meet. You can choose where to go and what to do and the story is very good. You'll want to play it again as soon as you beat it.
  84. AaronC.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, the characters and voice acting were incredible, the lightsaber effects were dazzling. Also, a great value for the money - at $14 for 70 hours of very enjoyable play, the experience comes out to 10 cents per hour - vs. $5 per hour for a movie, or $1 Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, the characters and voice acting were incredible, the lightsaber effects were dazzling. Also, a great value for the money - at $14 for 70 hours of very enjoyable play, the experience comes out to 10 cents per hour - vs. $5 per hour for a movie, or $1 per minute for a musical. This game prooves that voice acting, story design and good game mechanics can all appear in the same package. I will certainly replay this one again. From the reviews I have read, KOTOR II has a lame ending and many bugs, so I have to hope that a KOTOR III is in the works and that it will live up to this game. Expand
  85. FredB.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Got lost in the game the moment I turned it on. It starts a new Star Wars story line that can't be beat.
  86. EM
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    It's hard for me to give this a ten now, because playing with it's clunkier version of the d20 system and dealing with it's graphic quirks makes the game a hair less fun than it was in it's heyday, this game was so remarkable and retains so much value that it deserves a perfect rating.
  87. ThomasM
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    Simply put, the best game I have yet played. As a very casual gamer, I found KotOR's gameplay and mechanics very easy to follow and enthusiastically enjoyed the enormous amount of freedom in plot progression and level exploration. The depth to which characters can be leveled-up and items can be bought/sold/upgraded provides for hours of fun, even when playing through multiple times. Simply put, the best game I have yet played. As a very casual gamer, I found KotOR's gameplay and mechanics very easy to follow and enthusiastically enjoyed the enormous amount of freedom in plot progression and level exploration. The depth to which characters can be leveled-up and items can be bought/sold/upgraded provides for hours of fun, even when playing through multiple times. To add to these outstanding features, KotOR features a fantastic story in a magnificently interesting setting. Combined with decent graphics, "special effects," and good music, KotOR creates a powerfully attractive environment to play in. To sum it all up, I believe the world of gaming would be much better off with more games like KotOR! Expand
  88. AlexC
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Perfect. The best game I ever played, and I doubt there will ever bee a better game. KoToR2 is not even close to this game.
  89. JasonT.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    The greatest game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. Everytime you accomplish something, it is a real accomplishment, the story is fantastic, the characters take you and react to you and sometimes they don't like what you do. The graphics were alright, but the world is huge, for an Xbox 1 game the scope was very impressive. If you don't like this game I am not The greatest game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. Everytime you accomplish something, it is a real accomplishment, the story is fantastic, the characters take you and react to you and sometimes they don't like what you do. The graphics were alright, but the world is huge, for an Xbox 1 game the scope was very impressive. If you don't like this game I am not angry at you, I literally feel sorry for you, because after playing through this game 6 times the only flaws I can find are technical, glitches, standard graphics, everything else is amazing, and if you don't like it you are almost inspiring poor and generic videogames. Expand
  90. LeeM
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    This is my personal "Greatest Game of All-Time". One of the best plot twists (2nd in Star Wars history next to Vader's reveal) in gaming and story in general. Gameplay is good and the planning allowed to take out a few Sith Masters with good planning is rewarding. All-in-all, deserves the Game of the Year awards back in 2003 and deserves Game of that Generation (PS2, Xbox, Gamecube era).
  91. MrCIA
    Nov 26, 2003
    9
    This game was pretty good and kept me interested which is high praise as only a few games have kept me intyerested for a long time such as halo goldeneye and morrowind and the classic mario games. second too moorowind i wud say thsis is a top rate rpg and should go in the xbxox hall of fame. 9 out of ten all round.
  92. LowievanG.
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    A very good game but too easy. without difficult puzzles and exploring is too easy because most planets only exist of a few locations.
  93. AaronA
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    Star wars...role playing...and xbox, oh my!
  94. BrockD.
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    Wow?
  95. RickK.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    Best Single Player experience ever, not as re-playable as Halo over LAN, but there's days worth of gameplay here to be had, and every minute of it is great.
  96. Sweej
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This is the definitive RPG on the Xbox and possibly the best Star Wars to date.
  97. BobD.
    Jul 17, 2003
    9
    This is the best RPG I have played on the xbox, it has one of a kind gameplay which makes this game a must buy because of the unique experience.
  98. Obiwan
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    No doubt about it... this game is gonna make alot of girls resort to using dildos.. awesome... best Star Wars game ever this is tied w/Halo and Super Mario Bros.
  99. JohnS.
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    It has all makings of a classic: Fluid controls, sophisticated and strategic combat, multiple ways to acheive the same goal, great and involving storyline, and the best damn dialogue you'll hear in a game. I rank it next to BGate II as the finest RPG I've played. It also proves that you can build an intelligent, sophisticated, somewhat non-linear game on a console (and without a It has all makings of a classic: Fluid controls, sophisticated and strategic combat, multiple ways to acheive the same goal, great and involving storyline, and the best damn dialogue you'll hear in a game. I rank it next to BGate II as the finest RPG I've played. It also proves that you can build an intelligent, sophisticated, somewhat non-linear game on a console (and without a keyboard). Who would have thought that dialogue and character would involve a player as much as combat and killing? -- I hope others developers jump on the bandwagon and give us more gems like this. Although, it may be more for stategic, take-your-time RPG fanatics than adrenaline-junkie FPS players. I give it a 9.5, and applaud Bioware for their creativity and vision. Expand
  100. James
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    What can I say, this is a Star Wars game with depth and subtlety. It has an intricate plotline that you will actually participate in as opposed to just watch. The fact that your decisions influence the world around you add an incredible amount of pull to the already rich and rewarding plot. This is easily the best Star Wars game to come out in years, probably ever for that matter, and it What can I say, this is a Star Wars game with depth and subtlety. It has an intricate plotline that you will actually participate in as opposed to just watch. The fact that your decisions influence the world around you add an incredible amount of pull to the already rich and rewarding plot. This is easily the best Star Wars game to come out in years, probably ever for that matter, and it is quite possibly my favorite RPG since Planescape: Torment, or possibly even Chrono Trigger. A must buy for Star Wars and RPG fans. Expand
  101. Dec 30, 2010
    0
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system althoughthis is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.