Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Xbox

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 319 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 319
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    Bioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combatBioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combat system could have used work, but because it's an old game I can deal with it, and that it rarely feel like a Star Wars game, it has it's moments later on in the game, but for the most part all you will get are some sound effects and locations from the Star Wars universe, sometimes it tries to hard to be like Star Wars, like the fact that it rips off characters from the movies like a fake Yoda, Chewbacca, and R2-D2, but those characters turned out lame, but it does give you a look at some of the history of the Star Wars universe which is cool, in the end if you like Bioware, Star Wars, or RPGs, this is a great game you should look for. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2016
    9
    If you want to play a true Star Wars RPG game, this one is it and it's only for the original Xbox so get the Xbox console and get this game if you want to live up such glory.
  3. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which your actions really affected the outcome of the story.

    Fortunately that story was exceptional, particularly by video game standards, playing a large part in making the game a success. Featuring a twist to rival the best Hollywood movie Knights of the Old Republic really is the real deal.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    Sans aucun doute le meilleur jeu basé sur la fameuse licence Star Wars et peut-être bien le meilleur jeu de rôle réalisé par Bioware à côté des Mass Effect ! il brille par son scénario très travaillé, ses personnages forts, ses dialogues toujours intéressants, son système de combat presque aussi agréable qu'un vrai tour par tour.

    A dire vrai, ses graphismes sont tout juste honnêtes et
    Sans aucun doute le meilleur jeu basé sur la fameuse licence Star Wars et peut-être bien le meilleur jeu de rôle réalisé par Bioware à côté des Mass Effect ! il brille par son scénario très travaillé, ses personnages forts, ses dialogues toujours intéressants, son système de combat presque aussi agréable qu'un vrai tour par tour.

    A dire vrai, ses graphismes sont tout juste honnêtes et sujets néanmoins à pas mal de ralentissements mais la direction artistique superbe sauve la mise. La musique est superbe, la VF impeccable et la durée de vie n'est pas négligeable ! Je l'ai fini deux fois à l'époque sur Xbox. C'est d'ailleurs le jeu (avec Splinter Cell) qui m'a fait acheter une Xbox (ce fut une exclusivité pendant de longs mois). Excellent souvenir.
    Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system althoughthis is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Easily the best Star Wars game ever made, This game is as close to perfection as you can get. Its an amazing RPG that gives you countless of hours of fun, I have replayed it countless times just to see the difference in the story (you have Light Side and Dark Side choices in the game that effect the game in many ways). The only problem is that its features quite a few annoying bugs and glitches.
  7. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    While I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this one is among the top 2 with Elder Scrolls III.
  8. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third forThis is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third for the past seven years at least. The role-playing elements offer up plenty of choices, the only detracting factor being that your major, main playable character cannot be any species other than human, male or female. This is, however, easily remedied by the fact that you can switch between party members at any given time on the fly, and experience the strength of a wookie or the wiles of multiple jedi. Few things go wrong throughout the gameplay, save from a few minor glitches here and there, and slightly longer than average loading times in order to load the enormous world around you. The environments are rich and fairly detailed, the action and stealth mechanics are solid, the controls well oiled and tried and tested, and the story excellently crafted. This first Knights of the Old Republic game is certainly ambitious to the finest point, and for good reason as it is an epic success and in my honest opinion, BioWare's finest work until Mass Effect 2. Expand
  9. Oct 1, 2015
    9
    Tier 1
    + A classic RPG that gets nearly everything right in story progression and branching narrative
    + Expands on the Star Wars universe in ways more compelling than any of the films managed
    + An eclectic range of quests, companions, and RPG progression rewards
    - Combat is fairly tedious, though standard fair for an RPG of its age
  10. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Not every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stopNot every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stop this game. The story is one of the best I have seen in a very long time and has many side-stories related to characters and a lot into it. The graphics are not really the best but the environments are huge and varied and they look amazing. The sound is the best, nothing beats the music and voice acting in this game. Overall, this is the best game I have played (ever) and many people can share my opinion about the game, it deserves every single award it has won and it deserves an HD remake, I have faith in you Bioware, keep it up. Expand
  11. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all-time. The story, voice-acting, and dialogue are all masterful. It far surpasses the mediocre prequel films in every category other than visual effects.
  12. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to itsA general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to its period of release to that combination and out comes my favorite game of all time, KOTOR. Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Tied as my favorite game of the previous generation of consoles, this game was awesome on so many levels. The characters were incredible, the story was awesome, and graphics and environments that made you feel like you were in the Star Wars universe. I was not a huge Star Wars fan until I played this game. I have beaten it probably half a dozen times.
  14. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    a true masterpiece, an excellent and immersive rpg that best star wars game ever made and one of the best rpgs ever, the story is as god as if not better then the movies, full o side quests, unique environments, plot twists, well developed characters and replay value that is very high. Great Game!
  15. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, andStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, and creatures so there's lots to explore and it gets to be quite adventurous. The quests are good and exciting, the characters are great that have very good dialogue and the AI is pretty good too. The leveling system is decent with you having to choose different powers ranging from "Force Push" to "Saber Throw" to "Force Lightning", there are a lot of options. My favourite RPGs are the ones where there pretty much nonlinear but this game is a lot more linear. I feel like that you just roll along to each planet one by one and when you're done with the main quest and side quests there's nothing else to do. I want to be able to keep revisiting places that have activities or something going on all the time. One little tiny complaint I have is that the robes you find throughout the galaxies don't really look like robes. If I want to play like a jedi, I want to look like a jedi. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is an amazing RPG that will please anyone, and it's a must play. Expand
  16. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers,Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers, and a good moral choice system (as in if you're dark side, dark side force powers, which are more powerful, cost less, but people don't like you). I could go on gushing, but I am bored, just if you have never played this game, do so! It's awesome. Expand
  17. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Amazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the gameAmazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the game really lets you decide. Expand
  18. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    One of My all time favorites, played through multiple times, can still play through and have a blast 12 years later, instant classic few games like it
  19. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic not only delivers an amazing Star Wars story and an excellent RPG but does both in superb fashion. Featuring an epic story filled with memorable characters, and perfectly balanced and simplistically good gameplay, KotOR is one of the best and most complete games ever made.
  20. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    A true classic with a story that rivals any of the Star Wars movies. Makes you truly feel like a Jedi Knight. George Lucas please do the me and the world a favor and make this game in to a movie.
  21. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a Star Wars fan when I was about twelve I bought this game from a second-hand game shop. I also bought the strategy guide for it, just to like solve the puzzles and stuff. What idiot would actually SELL this game?! It's near perfection, it's full of twists, it's a masterpiece to RPGs, it's no push-over, if you hadn't have Cola spilled on the game disk it wouldn't have been for sale! This...is a great...game! (Monty Python reference) This game gave you lots of freedom on your path to a light wisdom-filled Jedi Master, or a dark cunning Sith Lord (Number two please!). I especially loved how you can actually kill someone if you don't agree with them on something. I think you cheated in pazaak, SLASH! I don't like your attitude, SLASH! Sith lords aren't power-hungry and blood-thirsty, SLASH! I never expected this STAR WARS GAME (can't emphasize that enough) to have a good and replayable plot, likeable characters, awesome force powers to crush your foes, and light-sabers and guns of all kinds! Your decision can affect problems in many different worlds, either saving it, or making it worse than it was before! Sometimes, you don't know what's going to happen if you do something or not. Like on Manaan, you have a choice. Two scientists, one male and female, have different ways of getting rid of a giant firaxa shark that's bashing a kolto harvester with it's own body continuously. One suggests poisoning it, one suggests destroying the harvester. If you poison it, the shark dies, but the poison's unforeseen effect destroys all kolto in the ocean. If you destroy it, the shark lets you pass because the harvester isn't pissing it off. You can even save beforehand, and see what would have happened if you did something different? That's the kind of thing this game has to offer. Simply put, if you're a Star Wars fan or not, you should check this game out. Expand
  22. Apr 2, 2017
    10
    This game is the best star wars game and one of the greatest games of its time. It's got a combat system that you will never find in today's video games. The game included great characters, an Amazing story and a plot twist that will be remembered forever!
  23. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Gripping story, memorable characters, innovative D20 combat system, tons of customization, infinite replay value, and the sweet, sweet satisfaction of succumbing to the lure of the dark side make this game the number 1 Star Wars game ever made, and one of the best XBOX games ever.
  25. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definetly the best star wars game I have ever played in my entire life. It always brought joy to me, up until the time that my Xbox stopped working.
  26. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    When I was awaken by the game landing on my chest, I jump with excitement and played this amazing game spending two months of my life of non stop playing. I still play this game from time to time when I have the urge.
  27. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the BEST Star Wars game ever made. With a very good story with constant plot twists, the unique option of choosing which path you want to walk, a variety of rich and complex character, going from a simple Republic soldier to an exiled Wookie to even an assassin droid. The combat system is something from a D&D game, with constant d20 rolls, saving rolls, modifiers, and you don't have to worry about all the fancy calculations, as the game does it for you. With endless possibilities on equipment choices, Force Powers, Feats, and stats, this ensures each PC (player character) is unique depending on a player's choices. This game worked for a perfect score, and it got it. Expand
  28. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    If ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fiIf ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fi in general, this is an absolute must play game. You will likely spend hours and hours playing and replaying the game. I, personally, have played a total of 80 hours and still I want to keep coming back even 4 years after beating it. It is amazing. Expand
  29. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Enormous and yet personal, a truly epic game. Playing it 8 years after its initial release, although the graphics are out of date, I still feel myself awe-struck at the incredibly deep and engaging story. In my opinion, a greater story, and more engaging characters than the movies.
  30. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    To date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat feltTo date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat felt challenging if played on the right difficulty yet not frustrating. One of the best story twists that I have ever witnessed in a video-game. A must-play if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
  31. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    My favorite game of all time, played it almost every year since 2006 and it still hasn't gotten old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  32. J.gh0st
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    Fantastic. Pure RPG and really well done at that. You do nothing in combat (no twitching, you are picking attacks and stuff) and while you may think it is boring, it is anything but. It is a blast to pan the camera and watch them go at it. Just great. Story is top notch, voices are well done. Grafx are good. Not really anything bad to say at all.
  33. SuperRater
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out there, even today. Defenitaly worth buying! Expand
  34. RobertC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    A really stellar game. This game is truly absolutely engaging through gameplay, storyline, and the missions. And the issues of the Light Side and the Dark Side is nearly powerful. You really do know that you're doing something bad. You realize this action will make you worse...now's that genuis.
  35. MarkusNikkilä
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    There you have it! At last an excellent Star Wars product! Keep on the good work Bioware!!!!
  36. ChrisH.
    Jul 20, 2003
    10
    I've never cared much for console or computer role-playing games, but I purchased KOTOR on the advice of a friend. I'm glad I did! It's fantastic. It's right up there in my book with Halo as a must-have breakout game.
  37. CP
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, absolutely fantastic game. Fully recommended to Star Wars and RPG fans alike, heck, anyone looking for a sweet game ought to pick this one up ASAP. Expand
  38. GarrettT.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    It's the best game ever!!!!!!
  39. JakeK.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    THis is the best star wars game ever. Loved how u could chosse your own path. Im surprized by how many people said they didnt like the combat systme because,quite frankly, i loved it. I think there should be more games like this.
  40. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    favorite xbox RPG ever. gameplay is slow in the beginning but gets way better. also can be a little buggy at times
  41. CameronK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    You people that say this game sucks are just doing it cause you want people to scroll through and see the red and stop. This is the greatest game ever made.
  42. KevinK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Wow, i just played this game for the first time and even with all these 360 games out this is still the best!
  43. LeighM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This game is such a good game. Spend so many hours on this game and it was all worth it. The story line was amazing and the fighting was great!! Great Game!! Go buy it!!
  44. LiamA.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is top notch for star wars fans because of the depth and gameplay.The story like keeps u focused and the first time i played it i couldn't leave it alone. I would recommend this title to anyone even if they don't like star wars ps i love amy jayne lukins xxxxxxxxxx love uu for ever liam john argent.
  45. VinceY.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    Too many great things to say! Just buy it!
  46. MikeControlis#1
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    I would have to say that this is the best game I have played since Halo. I can't belive how far Lucasart and Bioware went to creat the perfect game to give a push to RPGs that will hopefully come out on XBOX. One of the things that excites me most, is that with Fable coming out who knows when, the success of KOTOR will hopefully push them to make an even better experience, in which I would have to say that this is the best game I have played since Halo. I can't belive how far Lucasart and Bioware went to creat the perfect game to give a push to RPGs that will hopefully come out on XBOX. One of the things that excites me most, is that with Fable coming out who knows when, the success of KOTOR will hopefully push them to make an even better experience, in which case this site needs a rating of 11. Because this is the perfect game. Expand
  47. GeorgeW.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    This game is by far the best RPG game I have ever played. The amazing graphics, oustanding storyline, and incredible play totally made me forget about the one or two flaws--control of items/actions. Outstanding job by LucasArts and Bioware! Well done!
  48. MattZ.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Better than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...nowBetter than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...now that i think of it, this is the best game ever! enjoy! Expand
  49. GMan
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    This game integrates all the expansiveness of the online text based MUDDs of a decade ago into an incredible graphical interface. Gameplay is smooth and offers a good deal of player intuition/decision making.......this could really, really expand in the online environment!
  50. CorinH.
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    I hate rpg's but this game I love. this is the perfect game for any star wars fan.
  51. Pretender
    Aug 4, 2003
    10
    This is the best game out there.
  52. GiovanniDiGregorio
    Aug 8, 2003
    10
    F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C !
  53. JeffW.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played through, It was never completely the same. Bioware's design of the fighting feats and force powers gave me a lot of flexibility in designing my character. In my opinion, those who didn't enjoy the game either didn't understand it, or didn't have the patience to let the actual gameplay develop: They were probably to interested in finishing it to really enjoy it. Too bad for them-can't wait till the second one comes out. Expand
  54. CodyD.
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan and go back in the Ebon Hawk the galaxy droid will be gone. hope you like that hint Expand
  55. JimD.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This is what i think the most kick ass game ((RPG)) that there will be till at least Fable comes out or if the rumors are true that the next KOTOR is sopped to kick some more ass than this.
  56. WinstonXL.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, the most entertaining and fun experience you can have on your xbox.
  57. HowardM.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The polar opposite of games like Ninja Gaiden in that it's endlessly entertaining, fun and deep and practically never frustrating or unfair. I thought the combat system was great as well and perfect for overcoming the limitations of the Xbox controller as well as the inevitable camera problems that plague fighting games.
  58. Petem
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    I have played thru this game many times and have njoyed every second of it. Except of course my failed blaster jedi (they blow).
  59. LoganD.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This game is so fun. I like all of the storyline, and how it is really long, and all thoose credits, all that strategy...
  60. PimpPlayer
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game of all star wars game i just got it today.And this game is fun ass @%$#.This is the game of the year.
  61. BentonB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best game EVER! Everything is awesome all the way from the story to the characters and graphics.
  62. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This game is simply the best RPG I've ever played. The story is perfect, the graphics are alright, they don't look very good in some cutscenes, the gameplay is great and the music is great.
  63. RobR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, and still love it, and miss it once you've beaten it. Expand
  64. PaulA
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    My favorite game of all time. A masterpiece. The visuals aren't that good. But the entire experience is unparalleled, and the few flaws this game has can't hold this game back. The story is one of the best and a major twist unfolds toward the end. This is the high point for star wars and bioware.
  65. [Anonynous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Best XBOX game ever, I played 52 hours and finally it was game over :-)
  66. C.P.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Best rpg on xbox.
  67. joeMAMMA
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Ok for all of you guys that are complaining about the bad frame rate and the limit on environments and the Skipping of the disc..............get a life and play the game for what its meant for.....fun!!! there is no way that u can have this much fun with anotehr game style RPG (real time). The only thing that i would maybe comment on is the loading time between areas and that is it
  68. JamieH.
    Jul 11, 2003
    8
    This game, from what I saw on the trailers and demos looks really fun and complex. On average 40 to 6 hours of game play is the only reason I give don't give it a higher score. Still waiting for fable but this will do.
  69. JulianB.
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    The pics look sweet and game play looks sweet its gowing to be hell uf a game.
  70. JakeV.
    Jul 16, 2003
    9
    I know it's probably a bit odd to see a review on here in which every word is properly spelled, and the grammar is correct. Sorry for the inconvenience. As of right now, I have played approximately 9 hours of the game, and I still have much exploring to do. The graphics are great, and the bump mapping is excellent. The voice acting is also some of the best I've heard in a video I know it's probably a bit odd to see a review on here in which every word is properly spelled, and the grammar is correct. Sorry for the inconvenience. As of right now, I have played approximately 9 hours of the game, and I still have much exploring to do. The graphics are great, and the bump mapping is excellent. The voice acting is also some of the best I've heard in a video game. Bravo BioWare. You've made me proud to be a Star Wars fan again. Expand
  71. DarthV.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    Can't wait 400 years to play this game!
  72. MatewF.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is the game of the years.
  73. MattewM.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Good job boiware... very impressive gameplay and graphics. Overall best game of the year so far!
  74. VenkatS.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    This is one hell of a game!!! I played it last night and i reckon it leaves Black and White for dead. I mean... come on... if Gamespot is giving an Xbox game 91% it gotta be great. Best use of a license ever?
  75. AndrewA.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    When u get to pick eather the dark side or be the light is excellent. The graphics are cool, very well made and i hate rpgs, but this put rpgs back to date on the xbox. The sound is great especially in surround sound. If you own an xbox then you have to play this game its excellent. And sorry about the spelling and grammer.
  76. BradonT.
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Great game!
  77. ECHOISGRAFF
    Jul 17, 2003
    10
    Star Wars KOTOR: Huge world. Perfect voiceovers. Great graphics. DU HAST MICH.
  78. BrentP
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    Fantastic game. The flexibility and gameplay dynamics are key. Combat is as fluid or as pause-tactical as you want it to be. Animations are excellent, graphics are between solid and excellent. I'm anxious to beat it so I can try out new character templates and alignments!
  79. R.Doyle
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    I must say, when I first started playing the game, I was rather disappointed that it was a Point-n-Click combat system. I was looking forward to controlling the action. - Now? Disregard that entire statement. This game is absolutely incredible!!! This is THE BEST Star Wars game ever made. I agree with previous forum statements as well. This truly is better that both EP1:TPM and EP2:AOTC. I must say, when I first started playing the game, I was rather disappointed that it was a Point-n-Click combat system. I was looking forward to controlling the action. - Now? Disregard that entire statement. This game is absolutely incredible!!! This is THE BEST Star Wars game ever made. I agree with previous forum statements as well. This truly is better that both EP1:TPM and EP2:AOTC. - Hey Lucas, take a good long look at this game and TRY and give us the same quality in EP3? Expand
  80. DtotheJ
    Jul 18, 2003
    9
    This game blows... your mind. But seriously folks this game is awsome, albeit a little too RPGish for me, then again thats what makes it deep. I will never give into the dark side!
  81. BobL.
    Jul 18, 2003
    10
    This is a great game. Very deep and detailed. A must have for anyone who enjoys RPG games.
  82. Fattony
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing.Its definitely one of the best xbox titles if not the best. you dont even need to be a star wars fan to love this game
  83. SteveK.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    This game is stealing away my life. I didn't know what to expect when i picked it up, but seriously, this is probably the best game i have ever played PERIOD.
  84. Villainus
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Tight game...immersive story,star wars fans will love it...kinda tough at first but once you have some skills and upgrades things move right along.Loved the murder case that you have to solve...pretty deep. Buy it NOW!
  85. JimJ.
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Great game! I love playing as a Dark Jedi.
  86. AaronA.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    This game looks like its gonna b one of the best games ever, after i saw it its like wow i gota get this and nothings stopping me.
  87. BobV.
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    Yeah!
  88. NamelessOne
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's not much difference between our games. - Too easy. I only died a couple of times during the game, and never really used boosters, shields, or even my best armor/weapons. - Mini-games (pazaak, swoop racing, gladiator, and space combat) weren't rewarding or fun enough. They should've opened up additional storylines and mini-quests rather than just giving you cash. - Money. Money in this game has no value. I started spending everything I had on medpacks just to get something remotely useful (I barely even used them). Merchant items worthless since quest drops were so good. Expand
  89. SeanK.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    Perfect in every aspect! Loved every minute of it!
  90. ScotB.
    Aug 3, 2003
    10
    Wonderful story. Brilliantly executed game play. Can't wait to go back and see what it's like to play through on the dark side...
  91. BritneyL.
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    Jose C...., you just want to be noticed, you know this is the best game to come out this year!
  92. JordanG.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  93. MattR.
    Sep 5, 2003
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. Note to all whiners: just because you got a faulty disc (it happens) doesn't mean this is shovelware. Expand
  94. Chase
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    All I can say is this game is the best of all RPG's and gives great dialogue voice and how you get to choose what to say is excellent. The game also gives excellent battles with blasters swords lightsabers and much much more. This should be a bang in gaming history. Because once you play it once theres still loads more to see. Pleases buy The greatest game of all time Star Wars KOTOR.
  95. Joe
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Tho i be stuck right now, i still can't put this game down.
  96. JeffreyG.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    this game is amazing. it had my friends and me including bantha fodder into our daily vocabulary. i've never had so many people watch one game at a time, its like a 40 hour movie. good movie.
  97. A.D.
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    Greatgreatgreat.
  98. BrianS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    It is the best rpg I have ever played:*)
  99. JesseL.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    You will never find a better star wars game. This is the ultimate. This is for star wars fans what hockey is for canadians. Play this game ehh.
  100. JeffM.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    An unreal role-playing experiance worthy of the Star Wars name, which is ultimatly the greatest honor.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.