User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 281

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system althoughthis is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
  3. J.gh0st
    Aug 4, 2003
    9
    Fantastic. Pure RPG and really well done at that. You do nothing in combat (no twitching, you are picking attacks and stuff) and while you may think it is boring, it is anything but. It is a blast to pan the camera and watch them go at it. Just great. Story is top notch, voices are well done. Grafx are good. Not really anything bad to say at all.
  4. CameronK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    You people that say this game sucks are just doing it cause you want people to scroll through and see the red and stop. This is the greatest game ever made.
  5. AchemendonB.
    Jul 26, 2006
    6
    The story line was crap. people who say it rocks need to figure out the problem. And the missions were repetive. The graphics are ALRIGHT. And the lightsaber combat was'nt that good!!. capture the flag,holocon FFA ect are waayy to easy i would just stand their and kill whoever went by!. The combat is lame and there is no use of strategy what so ever. dissapointment. another starwars game.
  6. MarkR.
    Mar 16, 2004
    4
    Now don't get me wrong- I am an Xbox fan, and I don't hate Star Wars- I do, on the other hand, greatly dislike rubbish Star Wars games- hence the rating of '4' that I have nominated. The graphics are distictly average, the pace of the game, mediocre, and the plot tiresome. Granted, I haven't completed the game- its length and tediousness preventing me from doing Now don't get me wrong- I am an Xbox fan, and I don't hate Star Wars- I do, on the other hand, greatly dislike rubbish Star Wars games- hence the rating of '4' that I have nominated. The graphics are distictly average, the pace of the game, mediocre, and the plot tiresome. Granted, I haven't completed the game- its length and tediousness preventing me from doing so. It is odd that this has recieved 'rave reviews' from many websites that I normally would trust unflinchingly- perhaps it was some Jedi mind trick? In conclusion, this game is as its combat system: uninspiring, dissapointingly weak- need I say more? Expand
  7. RickB.
    Jan 7, 2005
    6
    This might have (there i say it) been the best game to ever come out on any station. For all those who have played this or knows a lot about the game will know what i'm taking about. Imagine the combat of Devil May Cry with this story and graphics, or Metal Gear, What i'm really trying to say is that, every aspect of this game is flawless, could not have been better, but do i This might have (there i say it) been the best game to ever come out on any station. For all those who have played this or knows a lot about the game will know what i'm taking about. Imagine the combat of Devil May Cry with this story and graphics, or Metal Gear, What i'm really trying to say is that, every aspect of this game is flawless, could not have been better, but do i really wanna watch 4 people(jedi,droids etc..) just slash and shoot at each other based on what your rank is. I mean Final Fantasy X had the best, best combat system for an RPG. But this game is like push a button see what happens(not including force powers). If the creaters would have let you really use a lightsabar or gun with real style and combat, it would have pulled you in more to the beautiful would of Star Wars. But instead its like watching the last 2 movies that Lucas did, you don't really care whats going on(Combat wise i mean) other than the story and the choices you make. Am i crazy for giving this game a 6,no, you know why? cuz its gameplay, and that at the end of the day is the most important aspect of a game. I just wish and hope that a Stars Wars game can come out with a character that has style/combat/movement like Dante(devil may cry) only with a Lightsaber in his hand. Expand
  8. MonsterMe!
    Aug 10, 2003
    6
    If it wasn't for the fact that it is star wars, i would not have picked this up (a fact of life: star wars fans will buy anything star wars). the main problem: graphically it sucks big time. choppy animations and slow frame rate on some particularly basic outer environments. and way too linear. environments are also basically closed to you. you should be able to go anywhere and doIf it wasn't for the fact that it is star wars, i would not have picked this up (a fact of life: star wars fans will buy anything star wars). the main problem: graphically it sucks big time. choppy animations and slow frame rate on some particularly basic outer environments. and way too linear. environments are also basically closed to you. you should be able to go anywhere and do anything. you can't. the responses you are able to give don't have much intuitive variation that would make for a richer environment. not deep at all as an overall experience. and the predictability as a player: oh, gee look, they made your droid blow up after haggling over it just like in the movie. how dull and unimaginitive. i can't wait till i get to the part where my character is called farm boy and he loudly exclaims "what's that flashing!" while hanging out in a cockpit. i am assuming it will get worse so i will just have to sucker an even more die hard fan to buy it off of me. Expand
  9. MDo
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    Gasp, as you funny walk around the dull levels. Laugh, as your character wriggles his eyebrows like Roger Moore after too many Martinis. Cry out in disbelief, as you miss the Sith bloke with your gun (even though he's stood right next to you). Finally, weep, as you realize the returns policy has expired.
  10. DavidS.
    Jul 15, 2003
    1
    This game blew big time mostly because of the big hype that is leading up to its release and the lack of gameplay that the actual game delivers.
  11. John
    Aug 8, 2003
    5
    Game looks great! It looks deep. Too bad it is virtualy unplayable on my XBox. This game locks up my XBox and when it does play the CD-ROM does excessive reading. Before you ask; My game is brand new. I keep my games and XBox in imaculate condition and have no children, meaning there are no sticky fingers to factor into the equation :)
  12. JoseC.
    Jul 17, 2003
    1
    Wow what a dissappointment. Just another bad Star Wars game.
  13. KelR.
    Aug 13, 2003
    5
    I don't understand why this game go such good reviews. Perhaps I didn't play it enough, or perhaps, I've just been playing too many GOOD games on the PC, but I found this game boring and unrealistic, I couldn't get involved with it at all.
  14. RyanH.
    Sep 25, 2003
    5
    I was somewhat disappointed by this game. First, there is no great challenge. Any characters who "die" in combat are miraculously resurrected after each fight. A simple push of a button from the PAUSE menu returns you to base to completely replenish health, then a second push of the same button returns you back to the combat screen. Second, the amount of interaction between your character I was somewhat disappointed by this game. First, there is no great challenge. Any characters who "die" in combat are miraculously resurrected after each fight. A simple push of a button from the PAUSE menu returns you to base to completely replenish health, then a second push of the same button returns you back to the combat screen. Second, the amount of interaction between your character and others is greatly overrated by other reviewers. Most characters are clones who say nothing pertinent and do not interact realistically. Third, combat is terrible. There is no use of strategy, no chance of your gunners to get behind cover or take any precautions against charging monsters--which I may add--are not incredibly diverse, as you fight clones upon clones of similar enemies. All in all, this is not a flagship game for the XBOX console. It is being overblown by the George Lucas hype machine. It is nothing but mediocre. Expand
  15. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all-time. The story, voice-acting, and dialogue are all masterful. It far surpasses the mediocre prequel films in every category other than visual effects.
  16. Sep 17, 2014
    3
    I found the game boring at times. I've played three of the stories and found them pretty boring. The game play is basic no new foundation. Animation is stale and unoriginal,found some to be rigged. Enemies have bad AIs, they don't adapt to you they just basic and spam their spells when cool down is off. I had a lot of hope for this game but comparing it to the finished product its small inI found the game boring at times. I've played three of the stories and found them pretty boring. The game play is basic no new foundation. Animation is stale and unoriginal,found some to be rigged. Enemies have bad AIs, they don't adapt to you they just basic and spam their spells when cool down is off. I had a lot of hope for this game but comparing it to the finished product its small in comparison to other mmos out there. Like WOW,Global Agenda, and rift. Expand
  17. SuperRater
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out there, even today. Defenitaly worth buying! Expand
  18. RobertC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    A really stellar game. This game is truly absolutely engaging through gameplay, storyline, and the missions. And the issues of the Light Side and the Dark Side is nearly powerful. You really do know that you're doing something bad. You realize this action will make you worse...now's that genuis.
  19. MarkusNikkilä
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    There you have it! At last an excellent Star Wars product! Keep on the good work Bioware!!!!
  20. ChrisH.
    Jul 20, 2003
    10
    I've never cared much for console or computer role-playing games, but I purchased KOTOR on the advice of a friend. I'm glad I did! It's fantastic. It's right up there in my book with Halo as a must-have breakout game.
  21. CP
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, absolutely fantastic game. Fully recommended to Star Wars and RPG fans alike, heck, anyone looking for a sweet game ought to pick this one up ASAP. Expand
  22. GarrettT.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    It's the best game ever!!!!!!
  23. JakeK.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    THis is the best star wars game ever. Loved how u could chosse your own path. Im surprized by how many people said they didnt like the combat systme because,quite frankly, i loved it. I think there should be more games like this.
  24. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    favorite xbox RPG ever. gameplay is slow in the beginning but gets way better. also can be a little buggy at times
  25. KevinK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Wow, i just played this game for the first time and even with all these 360 games out this is still the best!
  26. LeighM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This game is such a good game. Spend so many hours on this game and it was all worth it. The story line was amazing and the fighting was great!! Great Game!! Go buy it!!
  27. LiamA.
    Jul 16, 2003
    10
    This game is top notch for star wars fans because of the depth and gameplay.The story like keeps u focused and the first time i played it i couldn't leave it alone. I would recommend this title to anyone even if they don't like star wars ps i love amy jayne lukins xxxxxxxxxx love uu for ever liam john argent.
  28. ChazD.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    Truely a wonder to behold! I rented it for 3 days, as I couldn't find it in town, and I was amazed! Every line in the game was spoken. But not only that, the characters really seemed to remember what you had done to them previously and responded (with spoken words) appropriately to the situation based on previous offenses and current propositions. Unbelievable that a developer was Truely a wonder to behold! I rented it for 3 days, as I couldn't find it in town, and I was amazed! Every line in the game was spoken. But not only that, the characters really seemed to remember what you had done to them previously and responded (with spoken words) appropriately to the situation based on previous offenses and current propositions. Unbelievable that a developer was finally willing to take the time... Expand
  29. AlexR.
    Jul 23, 2003
    10
    THIS ROCKS!
  30. VinceY.
    Jul 24, 2003
    10
    Too many great things to say! Just buy it!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.