User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 281

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2014
    3
    I found the game boring at times. I've played three of the stories and found them pretty boring. The game play is basic no new foundation. Animation is stale and unoriginal,found some to be rigged. Enemies have bad AIs, they don't adapt to you they just basic and spam their spells when cool down is off. I had a lot of hope for this game but comparing it to the finished product its small inI found the game boring at times. I've played three of the stories and found them pretty boring. The game play is basic no new foundation. Animation is stale and unoriginal,found some to be rigged. Enemies have bad AIs, they don't adapt to you they just basic and spam their spells when cool down is off. I had a lot of hope for this game but comparing it to the finished product its small in comparison to other mmos out there. Like WOW,Global Agenda, and rift. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, andStar Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is a fantastic RPG. Star Wars is one of my most favourite franchises ever so being an RPG lover and a Star Wars lover, I had to play this game. The story is pretty great with you being light side or dark side and your path chooses the outcome of the endgame. The story has you traveling to different planets with their own unique atmosphere, people, and creatures so there's lots to explore and it gets to be quite adventurous. The quests are good and exciting, the characters are great that have very good dialogue and the AI is pretty good too. The leveling system is decent with you having to choose different powers ranging from "Force Push" to "Saber Throw" to "Force Lightning", there are a lot of options. My favourite RPGs are the ones where there pretty much nonlinear but this game is a lot more linear. I feel like that you just roll along to each planet one by one and when you're done with the main quest and side quests there's nothing else to do. I want to be able to keep revisiting places that have activities or something going on all the time. One little tiny complaint I have is that the robes you find throughout the galaxies don't really look like robes. If I want to play like a jedi, I want to look like a jedi. Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is an amazing RPG that will please anyone, and it's a must play. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This is definetly the best star wars game I have ever played in my entire life. It always brought joy to me, up until the time that my Xbox stopped working.
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third forThis is BioWare at the peak of its finest storytelling, as epic as the Mass Effect trilogy has been recently. Knights of the Old Republic was the first truly revolutionary Star Wars game to do any more than catch a few minds or attract a few stares. KotOR now has a cult following even today, ten years later, and there have been cries for a better second installment and even for a third for the past seven years at least. The role-playing elements offer up plenty of choices, the only detracting factor being that your major, main playable character cannot be any species other than human, male or female. This is, however, easily remedied by the fact that you can switch between party members at any given time on the fly, and experience the strength of a wookie or the wiles of multiple jedi. Few things go wrong throughout the gameplay, save from a few minor glitches here and there, and slightly longer than average loading times in order to load the enormous world around you. The environments are rich and fairly detailed, the action and stealth mechanics are solid, the controls well oiled and tried and tested, and the story excellently crafted. This first Knights of the Old Republic game is certainly ambitious to the finest point, and for good reason as it is an epic success and in my honest opinion, BioWare's finest work until Mass Effect 2. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    a true masterpiece, an excellent and immersive rpg that best star wars game ever made and one of the best rpgs ever, the story is as god as if not better then the movies, full o side quests, unique environments, plot twists, well developed characters and replay value that is very high. Great Game!
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which
    Set 4,000 years before the first Star Wars film with the Galaxy still recovering from the recent conflict with the Dark Lords, the ongoing battle between the Jedi and the Sith rages on.

    Knights of the Old Republic is an action orientated RPG that very much pathed the way for the Mass Effect games. With character development at the forefront it was one of the first console games in which your actions really affected the outcome of the story.

    Fortunately that story was exceptional, particularly by video game standards, playing a large part in making the game a success. Featuring a twist to rival the best Hollywood movie Knights of the Old Republic really is the real deal.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    To date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat feltTo date one of the best RPG's I have ever played, the mechanic of choosing to go down a light side and dark side with consequences on your chosen path to the story was amazing to me, especially with the change in how your character looks. The game has brilliantly fleshed out characters, each of them interesting. The combat system is probably one of it's most positive aspects, combat felt challenging if played on the right difficulty yet not frustrating. One of the best story twists that I have ever witnessed in a video-game. A must-play if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Tied as my favorite game of the previous generation of consoles, this game was awesome on so many levels. The characters were incredible, the story was awesome, and graphics and environments that made you feel like you were in the Star Wars universe. I was not a huge Star Wars fan until I played this game. I have beaten it probably half a dozen times.
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    A general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to itsA general view on gaming nowadays is that new means better, but sometimes the classics can be much more entertaining than the newer games. This is the case with KOTOR, which brilliantly combines the spectacular world of Star Wars with an inventive and utterly addictive game mechanic. Add cleverly created characters, a plot to rival the original movies stunning graphics relative to its period of release to that combination and out comes my favorite game of all time, KOTOR. Expand
  10. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is, by far, the BEST Star Wars game ever made. With a very good story with constant plot twists, the unique option of choosing which path you want to walk, a variety of rich and complex character, going from a simple Republic soldier to an exiled Wookie to even an assassin droid. The combat system is something from a D&D game, with constant d20 rolls, saving rolls, modifiers, and you don't have to worry about all the fancy calculations, as the game does it for you. With endless possibilities on equipment choices, Force Powers, Feats, and stats, this ensures each PC (player character) is unique depending on a player's choices. This game worked for a perfect score, and it got it. Expand
  11. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers,Arguably my favorite game of all time (I'll admit, the Star Wars part does help). Don't mistake this as fanboy of Star Wars, but it did help the game having an established background. That being said it is very independent from the plots of the movies, and has an awesome plot with a great twist. Compelling narritive, great alien races, HK-47, Great crew, Good combat, Awesome Jedi powers, and a good moral choice system (as in if you're dark side, dark side force powers, which are more powerful, cost less, but people don't like you). I could go on gushing, but I am bored, just if you have never played this game, do so! It's awesome. Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    Not every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stopNot every video game is innovative to death but fortunately an epic game that breaks the limits eventually comes. This is the case of this game, despite of it's age i have played through this game about ten times and i still keep playing it and my experience is always different in some way. You can notice how much love and effort was put in the making of this masterpiece, nothing can stop this game. The story is one of the best I have seen in a very long time and has many side-stories related to characters and a lot into it. The graphics are not really the best but the environments are huge and varied and they look amazing. The sound is the best, nothing beats the music and voice acting in this game. Overall, this is the best game I have played (ever) and many people can share my opinion about the game, it deserves every single award it has won and it deserves an HD remake, I have faith in you Bioware, keep it up. Expand
  13. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Easily the best Star Wars game ever made, This game is as close to perfection as you can get. Its an amazing RPG that gives you countless of hours of fun, I have replayed it countless times just to see the difference in the story (you have Light Side and Dark Side choices in the game that effect the game in many ways). The only problem is that its features quite a few annoying bugs and glitches.
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    A true classic with a story that rivals any of the Star Wars movies. Makes you truly feel like a Jedi Knight. George Lucas please do the me and the world a favor and make this game in to a movie.
  15. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Gripping story, memorable characters, innovative D20 combat system, tons of customization, infinite replay value, and the sweet, sweet satisfaction of succumbing to the lure of the dark side make this game the number 1 Star Wars game ever made, and one of the best XBOX games ever.
  16. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic not only delivers an amazing Star Wars story and an excellent RPG but does both in superb fashion. Featuring an epic story filled with memorable characters, and perfectly balanced and simplistically good gameplay, KotOR is one of the best and most complete games ever made.
  17. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    A fantastic game. Enormous and yet personal, a truly epic game. Playing it 8 years after its initial release, although the graphics are out of date, I still feel myself awe-struck at the incredibly deep and engaging story. In my opinion, a greater story, and more engaging characters than the movies.
  18. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Amazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the gameAmazing RPG. Great story and character development. Immersive and original storyline. The turn based combat system is surprisingly seamless, gives you the time you need to switch between abilities and spells and then gets you right back in the action. Game is very open to play the way you want to play, whether you want to be a valiant and honorable Jedi, or a ruthless Sith, the game really lets you decide. Expand
  19. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    If ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fiIf ever there was a perfect RPG, it would be this one. Big worlds, lots of character development, engaging story, great dialogue system, long storyline as well as plenty of side missions, memorable characters (I still can remember all of your party members, their voices, and their back stories), awesome ending, and plenty more. If you are even remotely interested in Star Wars or in sci-fi in general, this is an absolute must play game. You will likely spend hours and hours playing and replaying the game. I, personally, have played a total of 80 hours and still I want to keep coming back even 4 years after beating it. It is amazing. Expand
  20. Jun 6, 2011
    8
    Bioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combatBioware is one of my favorite game developers, RPGs are one of my favorite game genres of all time, and I love Star Wars, so this was a game that I had to find, and I'm glad I did, the story is fantastic, and a lot of the characters are great, but it does it have it's flaws, it has some really weird bugs and glitches, some of which made it where I couldn't finish some quests, the combat system could have used work, but because it's an old game I can deal with it, and that it rarely feel like a Star Wars game, it has it's moments later on in the game, but for the most part all you will get are some sound effects and locations from the Star Wars universe, sometimes it tries to hard to be like Star Wars, like the fact that it rips off characters from the movies like a fake Yoda, Chewbacca, and R2-D2, but those characters turned out lame, but it does give you a look at some of the history of the Star Wars universe which is cool, in the end if you like Bioware, Star Wars, or RPGs, this is a great game you should look for. Expand
  21. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    When I was awaken by the game landing on my chest, I jump with excitement and played this amazing game spending two months of my life of non stop playing. I still play this game from time to time when I have the urge.
  22. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a Star Wars fan when I was about twelve I bought this game from a second-hand game shop. I also bought the strategy guide for it, just to like solve the puzzles and stuff. What idiot would actually SELL this game?! It's near perfection, it's full of twists, it's a masterpiece to RPGs, it's no push-over, if you hadn't have Cola spilled on the game disk it wouldn't have been for sale! This...is a great...game! (Monty Python reference) This game gave you lots of freedom on your path to a light wisdom-filled Jedi Master, or a dark cunning Sith Lord (Number two please!). I especially loved how you can actually kill someone if you don't agree with them on something. I think you cheated in pazaak, SLASH! I don't like your attitude, SLASH! Sith lords aren't power-hungry and blood-thirsty, SLASH! I never expected this STAR WARS GAME (can't emphasize that enough) to have a good and replayable plot, likeable characters, awesome force powers to crush your foes, and light-sabers and guns of all kinds! Your decision can affect problems in many different worlds, either saving it, or making it worse than it was before! Sometimes, you don't know what's going to happen if you do something or not. Like on Manaan, you have a choice. Two scientists, one male and female, have different ways of getting rid of a giant firaxa shark that's bashing a kolto harvester with it's own body continuously. One suggests poisoning it, one suggests destroying the harvester. If you poison it, the shark dies, but the poison's unforeseen effect destroys all kolto in the ocean. If you destroy it, the shark lets you pass because the harvester isn't pissing it off. You can even save beforehand, and see what would have happened if you did something different? That's the kind of thing this game has to offer. Simply put, if you're a Star Wars fan or not, you should check this game out. Expand
  23. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    While I never really owned many Xbox games, the ones I did own were absolutely amazing. I am not sure which one would be my fave but this one is among the top 2 with Elder Scrolls III.
  24. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    this is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system althoughthis is with out a doubt the best star wars game ive ever played . it has a fantastic story with great charicters . the choice selection of things to say is pretty vast with some really funny comments to say. going good or evil is a real fun adventure as your decisions actaully feel like they are having a effect. the ability to wield duel light sabors is awsome . the combat system although not bad is alittle bit boring as all you do is hit attack and your charicter just starts beating down who ever he or she is fighting and you do little els outside of toss in a special attack hear and there and heal . the game is also abit buggy not terrable mind you but can get abit annoying at times. . the game is fairly long and will take you around 30 hours to beat which is pretty decent for RPG length . it also has a decent create a charicter section and the game feels like it adds more to the star wars lore . there is also 2 differnt endings which will give you another reason to run through this game. its a very solid RPG and should be looked into. Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
  26. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    One of the best RPG's of all-time. The story, voice-acting, and dialogue are all masterful. It far surpasses the mediocre prequel films in every category other than visual effects.
  27. KevinK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Wow, i just played this game for the first time and even with all these 360 games out this is still the best!
  28. CameronK
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    You people that say this game sucks are just doing it cause you want people to scroll through and see the red and stop. This is the greatest game ever made.
  29. SuperRater
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out By far the funnest Star Wars game out there. With many different choices of skills, powers, and even swaying towards the light or dark side, this game has is all. The worlds are huge, and if you can get use to some glitches and not the best graphics then you will have a blast with this game. After playing this game over and over i still feel that it is by far one of the best games out there, even today. Defenitaly worth buying! Expand
  30. jesseR
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    favorite xbox RPG ever. gameplay is slow in the beginning but gets way better. also can be a little buggy at times
  31. [anonymous]
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Agree with Jason T. Greatest game I have ever played. Obvious bias because I love Star Wars but everything Bioware does is quality so it's not just this game.
  32. LeeM
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    This is my personal "Greatest Game of All-Time". One of the best plot twists (2nd in Star Wars history next to Vader's reveal) in gaming and story in general. Gameplay is good and the planning allowed to take out a few Sith Masters with good planning is rewarding. All-in-all, deserves the Game of the Year awards back in 2003 and deserves Game of that Generation (PS2, Xbox, Gamecube era).
  33. JasonT.
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    The greatest game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. Everytime you accomplish something, it is a real accomplishment, the story is fantastic, the characters take you and react to you and sometimes they don't like what you do. The graphics were alright, but the world is huge, for an Xbox 1 game the scope was very impressive. If you don't like this game I am not The greatest game I have ever played, and most likely will ever play. Everytime you accomplish something, it is a real accomplishment, the story is fantastic, the characters take you and react to you and sometimes they don't like what you do. The graphics were alright, but the world is huge, for an Xbox 1 game the scope was very impressive. If you don't like this game I am not angry at you, I literally feel sorry for you, because after playing through this game 6 times the only flaws I can find are technical, glitches, standard graphics, everything else is amazing, and if you don't like it you are almost inspiring poor and generic videogames. Expand
  34. MichaelB
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    The combat system may take awhile to get used to but once you do you'll be into quite a treat if you've ever wondered how much impact your good and bad choices. The story is one of the greatest in video game history and in the Star Wars history as well. One of the best experiences since the original trilogy in that galaxy far, far away.
  35. ThomasM
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    Simply put, the best game I have yet played. As a very casual gamer, I found KotOR's gameplay and mechanics very easy to follow and enthusiastically enjoyed the enormous amount of freedom in plot progression and level exploration. The depth to which characters can be leveled-up and items can be bought/sold/upgraded provides for hours of fun, even when playing through multiple times. Simply put, the best game I have yet played. As a very casual gamer, I found KotOR's gameplay and mechanics very easy to follow and enthusiastically enjoyed the enormous amount of freedom in plot progression and level exploration. The depth to which characters can be leveled-up and items can be bought/sold/upgraded provides for hours of fun, even when playing through multiple times. To add to these outstanding features, KotOR features a fantastic story in a magnificently interesting setting. Combined with decent graphics, "special effects," and good music, KotOR creates a powerfully attractive environment to play in. To sum it all up, I believe the world of gaming would be much better off with more games like KotOR! Expand
  36. AlexC
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Perfect. The best game I ever played, and I doubt there will ever bee a better game. KoToR2 is not even close to this game.
  37. MathiasB.
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    I could say it's awesome, amazing, incredible and blablabla, but I'll just say, that it kicks asses like nothing else.
  38. PaulA
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    My favorite game of all time. A masterpiece. The visuals aren't that good. But the entire experience is unparalleled, and the few flaws this game has can't hold this game back. The story is one of the best and a major twist unfolds toward the end. This is the high point for star wars and bioware.
  39. RexK
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    Kinghts of the Old Republic is a prime example of how a game does not have to be technically astounding to be truely excellent. The graphics are decidedly 'last-gen' and the gameplay is surprisingly MMOish, but the plot and overall story is fascinating and intricate, drawing the player into the game with an incredible level of emotional involvement. Another amazing achievement Kinghts of the Old Republic is a prime example of how a game does not have to be technically astounding to be truely excellent. The graphics are decidedly 'last-gen' and the gameplay is surprisingly MMOish, but the plot and overall story is fascinating and intricate, drawing the player into the game with an incredible level of emotional involvement. Another amazing achievement for Bioware; do not miss out on this grade-a RPG. Expand
  40. DanA.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    The only, and I mean ONLY flaw is that the visuals aren't above average. Other than that KOTOR delivers on levels that both avid and non-Star Wars fans will be impressed with.
  41. EM
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    It's hard for me to give this a ten now, because playing with it's clunkier version of the d20 system and dealing with it's graphic quirks makes the game a hair less fun than it was in it's heyday, this game was so remarkable and retains so much value that it deserves a perfect rating.
  42. JackB.
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    One of the greatest xbox games ever made, although some of the parts are challenging, it is a great game.
  43. DavidF.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest RPG's of all time.
  44. RobR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, Perfect game. The fighting was unique and fun, added a great "rpg" feel, level design was superb, almost completely non-linear, epic ending, amazingly done characters. And to put the icing on the cake... it's all in the Star Wars universe, several centuries before the movies. Hands down, the absolute greatest RPG I've ever played. You'll be playing this game 100 times over, and still love it, and miss it once you've beaten it. Expand
  45. RyanF.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    This game is simply the best RPG I've ever played. The story is perfect, the graphics are alright, they don't look very good in some cutscenes, the gameplay is great and the music is great.
  46. BentonB.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    This is the best game EVER! Everything is awesome all the way from the story to the characters and graphics.
  47. MDo
    Feb 1, 2007
    5
    Gasp, as you funny walk around the dull levels. Laugh, as your character wriggles his eyebrows like Roger Moore after too many Martinis. Cry out in disbelief, as you miss the Sith bloke with your gun (even though he's stood right next to you). Finally, weep, as you realize the returns policy has expired.
  48. FredB.
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Got lost in the game the moment I turned it on. It starts a new Star Wars story line that can't be beat.
  49. AchemendonB.
    Jul 26, 2006
    6
    The story line was crap. people who say it rocks need to figure out the problem. And the missions were repetive. The graphics are ALRIGHT. And the lightsaber combat was'nt that good!!. capture the flag,holocon FFA ect are waayy to easy i would just stand their and kill whoever went by!. The combat is lame and there is no use of strategy what so ever. dissapointment. another starwars game.
  50. JakeK.
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    THis is the best star wars game ever. Loved how u could chosse your own path. Im surprized by how many people said they didnt like the combat systme because,quite frankly, i loved it. I think there should be more games like this.
  51. I.Lynch
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    a very starnge game. you waht you're doing is boring. lots of speech and turn based battles, but you can't stop! its an excellent game and the story twist is the best in a game ever.
  52. AaronC.
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, the characters and voice acting were incredible, the lightsaber effects were dazzling. Also, a great value for the money - at $14 for 70 hours of very enjoyable play, the experience comes out to 10 cents per hour - vs. $5 per hour for a movie, or $1 Simply the best video game I have ever played, and one of only a few that I have ever played through to the end. The story was engrossing, the characters and voice acting were incredible, the lightsaber effects were dazzling. Also, a great value for the money - at $14 for 70 hours of very enjoyable play, the experience comes out to 10 cents per hour - vs. $5 per hour for a movie, or $1 per minute for a musical. This game prooves that voice acting, story design and good game mechanics can all appear in the same package. I will certainly replay this one again. From the reviews I have read, KOTOR II has a lame ending and many bugs, so I have to hope that a KOTOR III is in the works and that it will live up to this game. Expand
  53. ZachB.
    Nov 8, 2005
    7
    The game was good don't get me wrong but, it was too easy.
  54. JesseL.
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    You will never find a better star wars game. This is the ultimate. This is for star wars fans what hockey is for canadians. Play this game ehh.
  55. PimpPlayer
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game of all star wars game i just got it today.And this game is fun ass @%$#.This is the game of the year.
  56. LoganD.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    This game is so fun. I like all of the storyline, and how it is really long, and all thoose credits, all that strategy...
  57. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Only RPG I ever liked. This game is great. There is just so much to do and you can affect almost everyone you meet. You can choose where to go and what to do and the story is very good. You'll want to play it again as soon as you beat it.
  58. JamesU.
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I was hooked on this game for weeks the worest part was after so long together it after 45 hours on gaming it ended.
  59. CodyK.
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Wow
  60. Brandon
    May 22, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time! I've beaten it twice and I'm still not tired of it. Any Star Wars fan should buy this game.
  61. JeffM.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    An unreal role-playing experiance worthy of the Star Wars name, which is ultimatly the greatest honor.
  62. RickB.
    Jan 7, 2005
    6
    This might have (there i say it) been the best game to ever come out on any station. For all those who have played this or knows a lot about the game will know what i'm taking about. Imagine the combat of Devil May Cry with this story and graphics, or Metal Gear, What i'm really trying to say is that, every aspect of this game is flawless, could not have been better, but do i This might have (there i say it) been the best game to ever come out on any station. For all those who have played this or knows a lot about the game will know what i'm taking about. Imagine the combat of Devil May Cry with this story and graphics, or Metal Gear, What i'm really trying to say is that, every aspect of this game is flawless, could not have been better, but do i really wanna watch 4 people(jedi,droids etc..) just slash and shoot at each other based on what your rank is. I mean Final Fantasy X had the best, best combat system for an RPG. But this game is like push a button see what happens(not including force powers). If the creaters would have let you really use a lightsabar or gun with real style and combat, it would have pulled you in more to the beautiful would of Star Wars. But instead its like watching the last 2 movies that Lucas did, you don't really care whats going on(Combat wise i mean) other than the story and the choices you make. Am i crazy for giving this game a 6,no, you know why? cuz its gameplay, and that at the end of the day is the most important aspect of a game. I just wish and hope that a Stars Wars game can come out with a character that has style/combat/movement like Dante(devil may cry) only with a Lightsaber in his hand. Expand
  63. GarrettT.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    It's the best game ever!!!!!!
  64. Joe
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Tho i be stuck right now, i still can't put this game down.
  65. Chase
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    All I can say is this game is the best of all RPG's and gives great dialogue voice and how you get to choose what to say is excellent. The game also gives excellent battles with blasters swords lightsabers and much much more. This should be a bang in gaming history. Because once you play it once theres still loads more to see. Pleases buy The greatest game of all time Star Wars KOTOR.
  66. JeffW.
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played This game only got boring to me about the 10-20th time through. It was even enjoyable to some of my friends who don't even like star wars. Honestly, I don't know how anyone could give it less than a 9. First of all, the game itself is huge (especially to be packed into 30hrs of game play). The plot was cool, and there were subtle but surprising changes each time I played through, It was never completely the same. Bioware's design of the fighting feats and force powers gave me a lot of flexibility in designing my character. In my opinion, those who didn't enjoy the game either didn't understand it, or didn't have the patience to let the actual gameplay develop: They were probably to interested in finishing it to really enjoy it. Too bad for them-can't wait till the second one comes out. Expand
  67. KyleS.
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    Just one simple word: Wow....
  68. Petem
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    I have played thru this game many times and have njoyed every second of it. Except of course my failed blaster jedi (they blow).
  69. SurferDude
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    3 words: Master Chief who?
  70. AndrewH.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    This is most definitley a gaming revolution. One of the great games of our time, K.O.T.O.R displays one of the BEST storylines EVER in an RPG, for that matter any genre. The twists and turns of discovering who you, your allies, and your opponants are is sheer beauty. The fighting system is ace, and you get to use it on 7 different plantes and more if you have Xbox Live. This game sets a This is most definitley a gaming revolution. One of the great games of our time, K.O.T.O.R displays one of the BEST storylines EVER in an RPG, for that matter any genre. The twists and turns of discovering who you, your allies, and your opponants are is sheer beauty. The fighting system is ace, and you get to use it on 7 different plantes and more if you have Xbox Live. This game sets a new bar for RPGS, in the storyline category, and gameplay. The only problems I have with it are the quite annoying load times, and the graphics could have had and extra coat of polish. But those minor gripes do nothing to downfall this game. The game is only 25$ right now and will probably drop further in price. I highly recommend this game as it is right up there with Halo, being one of the BEST games to own if you have an Xbox. Expand
  71. HowardM.
    Jul 3, 2004
    9
    The polar opposite of games like Ninja Gaiden in that it's endlessly entertaining, fun and deep and practically never frustrating or unfair. I thought the combat system was great as well and perfect for overcoming the limitations of the Xbox controller as well as the inevitable camera problems that plague fighting games.
  72. WinstonXL.
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Best game ever, the most entertaining and fun experience you can have on your xbox.
  73. BrianS.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    It is the best rpg I have ever played:*)
  74. CodyD.
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan The part were you are in combat bites you can't do sh.t unless you play 24 7 and know what points to put in strength dexterity etc. other than that the game is really cool p.s. if you get the galaxy droid go to all the planets you can't go to anymore (like taris) or go to places you won't be able to (like the starforge) because if you don't and go some were like Mannan and go back in the Ebon Hawk the galaxy droid will be gone. hope you like that hint Expand
  75. JimD.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    This is what i think the most kick ass game ((RPG)) that there will be till at least Fable comes out or if the rumors are true that the next KOTOR is sopped to kick some more ass than this.
  76. MarkR.
    Mar 16, 2004
    4
    Now don't get me wrong- I am an Xbox fan, and I don't hate Star Wars- I do, on the other hand, greatly dislike rubbish Star Wars games- hence the rating of '4' that I have nominated. The graphics are distictly average, the pace of the game, mediocre, and the plot tiresome. Granted, I haven't completed the game- its length and tediousness preventing me from doing Now don't get me wrong- I am an Xbox fan, and I don't hate Star Wars- I do, on the other hand, greatly dislike rubbish Star Wars games- hence the rating of '4' that I have nominated. The graphics are distictly average, the pace of the game, mediocre, and the plot tiresome. Granted, I haven't completed the game- its length and tediousness preventing me from doing so. It is odd that this has recieved 'rave reviews' from many websites that I normally would trust unflinchingly- perhaps it was some Jedi mind trick? In conclusion, this game is as its combat system: uninspiring, dissapointingly weak- need I say more? Expand
  77. A.D.
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    Greatgreatgreat.
  78. CP
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, This is by far THE best Star Wars game ever made, period. From the epic story line to the combat and character development, every aspect of this game ROCKS! The only semi-bad thing were the load times between areas, but hey they weren't long enough to warrant undue frustration. If anything, gave me time to get something to drink or whatever and not have to pause the game. In the end, absolutely fantastic game. Fully recommended to Star Wars and RPG fans alike, heck, anyone looking for a sweet game ought to pick this one up ASAP. Expand
  79. Adviceperson
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    This game is fun hour consuming. If your a scout(like me) the best team is: 1)either jedi 2)mission. I beat the game in record time with this team.
  80. JeffreyG.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    this game is amazing. it had my friends and me including bantha fodder into our daily vocabulary. i've never had so many people watch one game at a time, its like a 40 hour movie. good movie.
  81. RobertC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    A really stellar game. This game is truly absolutely engaging through gameplay, storyline, and the missions. And the issues of the Light Side and the Dark Side is nearly powerful. You really do know that you're doing something bad. You realize this action will make you worse...now's that genuis.
  82. BobbyB.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    This game rox. I didn't know or like anything about starwars yet i loved this game! Try it even if u don't like starwars.
  83. MarcusB.
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    Amazing, immersive, beautifully acted and in every way better than the last couple movies. Can't wait for the sequel!
  84. MattP.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    The best game ever. I'm a big Star Wars fan even after the Episode I debacle and Knights did not disapoint. Even after I got past the first level of Taris, I thought that their couldn't possibly be more. And Oh there was more, much more. Once you think that you've done all the side missions, you notice another one, and that other one leads into another, then into another. The best game ever. I'm a big Star Wars fan even after the Episode I debacle and Knights did not disapoint. Even after I got past the first level of Taris, I thought that their couldn't possibly be more. And Oh there was more, much more. Once you think that you've done all the side missions, you notice another one, and that other one leads into another, then into another. Fighting on the Dark Side is just too much fun to say but I actually felt bad for the people I was needlessly slaughtering. The Light Side lets you stroke your ego for a bit and having the Star Forge robes is just too cool. By now because I've only scratched the surface of the game. It's a good 90 hours worth of game play, IF you dedicate yourself. Expand
  85. LowievanG.
    Dec 20, 2003
    9
    A very good game but too easy. without difficult puzzles and exploring is too easy because most planets only exist of a few locations.
  86. LeighM.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    This game is such a good game. Spend so many hours on this game and it was all worth it. The story line was amazing and the fighting was great!! Great Game!! Go buy it!!
  87. joeMAMMA
    Dec 15, 2003
    10
    Ok for all of you guys that are complaining about the bad frame rate and the limit on environments and the Skipping of the disc..............get a life and play the game for what its meant for.....fun!!! there is no way that u can have this much fun with anotehr game style RPG (real time). The only thing that i would maybe comment on is the loading time between areas and that is it
  88. MrCIA
    Nov 26, 2003
    9
    This game was pretty good and kept me interested which is high praise as only a few games have kept me intyerested for a long time such as halo goldeneye and morrowind and the classic mario games. second too moorowind i wud say thsis is a top rate rpg and should go in the xbxox hall of fame. 9 out of ten all round.
  89. [Anonynous]
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Best XBOX game ever, I played 52 hours and finally it was game over :-)
  90. C.P.
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    Best rpg on xbox.
  91. RyanH.
    Sep 25, 2003
    5
    I was somewhat disappointed by this game. First, there is no great challenge. Any characters who "die" in combat are miraculously resurrected after each fight. A simple push of a button from the PAUSE menu returns you to base to completely replenish health, then a second push of the same button returns you back to the combat screen. Second, the amount of interaction between your character I was somewhat disappointed by this game. First, there is no great challenge. Any characters who "die" in combat are miraculously resurrected after each fight. A simple push of a button from the PAUSE menu returns you to base to completely replenish health, then a second push of the same button returns you back to the combat screen. Second, the amount of interaction between your character and others is greatly overrated by other reviewers. Most characters are clones who say nothing pertinent and do not interact realistically. Third, combat is terrible. There is no use of strategy, no chance of your gunners to get behind cover or take any precautions against charging monsters--which I may add--are not incredibly diverse, as you fight clones upon clones of similar enemies. All in all, this is not a flagship game for the XBOX console. It is being overblown by the George Lucas hype machine. It is nothing but mediocre. Expand
  92. JordanG.
    Sep 22, 2003
    10
    Good game.
  93. DavidH.
    Sep 18, 2003
    10
    This game is great one of the greatest games i have ever played period.
  94. MattR.
    Sep 5, 2003
    9
    I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. I was very pleasantly surprised by this game. Good graphics and immersive gameplay make for an addictive combination. That said, I still think Morrowind (on PC or XBox) is a better game because of the sheer open-ended nature of it all. KOTOR does, at times, feel a bit scripted. The combat system in KOTOR still isn't my favorite, but at least it doesn't detract from the game. Note to all whiners: just because you got a faulty disc (it happens) doesn't mean this is shovelware. Expand
  95. WeavDiesel
    Aug 28, 2003
    9
    The game is a fantastic, PC-style RPG for a console. Character development is deep and open-ended. Decisions made in conversation really do affect not only the plot but also the progress of your character. The implementation of "Dark" and "Light" points that influence Jedi powers is a nice little twist. The battle system is simply one of the best I've ever used. It certainly is The game is a fantastic, PC-style RPG for a console. Character development is deep and open-ended. Decisions made in conversation really do affect not only the plot but also the progress of your character. The implementation of "Dark" and "Light" points that influence Jedi powers is a nice little twist. The battle system is simply one of the best I've ever used. It certainly is better than the Final Fantasy-style "surprise encounter" system, since it doesn't separate the combat from the rest of the gameplay. The ability to pause combat to change targets or to queue actions makes it extremely lively and flexible. On top of that the story is engaging and addictive. It is not without flaws though. The inventory system is simply horrible, and the connection of the game to the pen-and-paper base game is clear. Bioware should have taken a cue from Morrowind and saved the player talk of "+2 DC saving rolls". Just tell me in gameplay terms what an item of skill does. My disc does hang up with annoying frequency, but so does every other game on my Xbox. All in all, an addictively enjoyable RPG experience. Expand
  96. NamelessOne
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's All in all, the game was a blast. For the first time in a SW game, I felt like I was part of the SW galaxy. I'll attribute this to the graphics, sound, and storyline. However, I did have a couple of problems with the game. - Not open-ended enough. I'm playing as a completely evil character while a friend of mine is playing a completely good character, unfortunately, there's not much difference between our games. - Too easy. I only died a couple of times during the game, and never really used boosters, shields, or even my best armor/weapons. - Mini-games (pazaak, swoop racing, gladiator, and space combat) weren't rewarding or fun enough. They should've opened up additional storylines and mini-quests rather than just giving you cash. - Money. Money in this game has no value. I started spending everything I had on medpacks just to get something remotely useful (I barely even used them). Merchant items worthless since quest drops were so good. Expand
  97. GMan
    Aug 15, 2003
    9
    This game integrates all the expansiveness of the online text based MUDDs of a decade ago into an incredible graphical interface. Gameplay is smooth and offers a good deal of player intuition/decision making.......this could really, really expand in the online environment!
  98. JonV.
    Aug 14, 2003
    10
    Great game over-all. The only thing that is possibly lacking is the graphics. Otherwise, this game is sheer perfection...
  99. KelR.
    Aug 13, 2003
    5
    I don't understand why this game go such good reviews. Perhaps I didn't play it enough, or perhaps, I've just been playing too many GOOD games on the PC, but I found this game boring and unrealistic, I couldn't get involved with it at all.
  100. MattZ.
    Aug 12, 2003
    10
    Better than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...nowBetter than halo...maybe even better than madden... this is a must buy game!!! the gameplay will have you playing for hours whether your a star wars fan or not. the graphics can sometimes be choppy but it really doesnt matter becuase the fun factor is way over a ten. i'm really close to ranking this game as the best game ever but i'm only half way through it. scratch that...now that i think of it, this is the best game ever! enjoy! Expand
  101. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Outstanding RPG!! This game defines perfection as an rpg. The gameplay is a fun strategic way to wield lightsabers and unleash the force on your enemy's. The customization is near flawless, and the Story is the best part about the game. I recommend this game for any fan who truly appreciates RPG's you will not regret this experience
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. The battle system rocks. Not quite real-time, not quite turn-based, but somewhere in-between, KOTOR's battle engine offers tremendous depth while being intimately adjustable. [Sept 2003, p.78]
  2. 100
    It's a luminous use of an indelible vehicle, and it deserves to be held aloft; suitably accorded the very best nomenclature in Gamestyle's vocabulary. A Ten, then.
  3. It isn't one thing that makes Knights of the Old Republic such a masterful RPG, but a remarkable amalgamation of brilliant gameplay elements, jaw-dropping presentation and a huge helping of that special Star Wars magic.