User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 81
  2. Negative: 3 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I played this game on my friend's Xbox (I don't have Microsoft tech) and I really enjoyed it. A few parts were a little difficult and, quite frankly, rage inducing, but the good outweighs the bad. The MP was a little strange, small maps and silly 'Headshot' sounds, but one map is great, incorporating antigravity tech. Anyway, really good fun, and they should definitely make another... Like they should make another Battlefront game. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I am a huge Star wars fan and I must say this is my favorite Star Wars game by far, everything from its game play, system layout, story and its main characters I think are perfect. If you have been thinking of trying this game, think no longer, just do it and do it now! I promise you, you will not regret it! Best Star Wars game ever!
  3. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    A Star Wars game that doesn't involve massive amounts of jedi interference? Count me in. Set during the clone wars this game takes you through the eyes of a secret breed of clone trooper, known as the commandos. You'll travel from planet to planet, or area to area(of which planets have several) complete objectives and progress. Each commando has a different set personality which makes interaction between them quite enjoyable and humorous. The gameplay is straightforward; shoot and give orders. You'll occasionally be separated from your squad and forced to go solo. This is in part where some things go wrong. Compared to being squaded, the environmental hazards all of a sudden become life threatening when interacted with, causing many unnecessary deaths. The graphics are well done, however it's the soundtrack that plays a crucial role in defining atmosphere around graphics. Most of the soundtrack is just re-hashed, episode one tracks. Large Difficulty spikes near the end also leave players feeling a bit cheated, as well as a cliff hanger ending, just leaves one unsatisfied. However if you like SW and FPS's I would give this game a shot. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    This game is one of my favorite first person shooters for the Xbox. It's also probably one of the most intense. Even now I'm shocked that this wasn't rated M (but then again I guess that's because the only blood you see is that of insect-like creatures and the weird purple oils in the droids. The only other first person shooter I've played for the Xbox that wasn't part of the Halo series, and so, naturally I feel forced to compare it to it. The graphics are far supierior, the battles are about equally as intense, though the story isn't as good and neither is the game as a whole - simply because the campaign is extremely short and I can't help but feel that this game is like a Star Wars ripoff of Halo. Besides all that though, it is a very well made and well thought out game. The variety of enemies aren't very impressive, but I love the fact that you can breeze through battles feeling all high and mighty until you run into a Super Battle Droid and it totally just screws your pacing over because of their increased accuracy (you can't just go running straight at them). Really its a fun game, and now since you should be able to find it for a price considerably cheaper, its worth getting - since it is playable on the 360. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    I found this game almost impossible to play especially when you have to hold your squads hand every second giving you virtually no time to fight or defend yourself especially against impossible enemies. The game is also to linear and the instructions aren't very good and there is no on screen help to get you going in the beginning like most games. I would only recommend this for Hardcore gamers who have to play every FPS out there. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    For big Star Wans only. Quite a boring and frustrating game really. I like games where you are not a lone warrior but the squad mechanics are not very good. Game-play can also be repetitive and boring.
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one my my most favorite original Xbox games of all time. I always liked calling this the Star Wars version of Halo, but there are a few things I don't like about it. The first is the lack of weapons in the game. (Blaster Rifle, Sniper Rifle, Anti-Armor, Pistol, Geonosian Beam Rifle, Trandoshin Shotgun, Trandoshin LMG and Trandoshin Repeater are are that there are)(Grenades don't count) Then, the Super Battle Droids and Heavy Trandoshins were kinda over powered. Another thing is that sometimes you had explosive charges that were way too long, and massive waves of enemies kept attacking you, making it very frustrating. Then finally, they killed Sev Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    Good Star Wars games are few and far between but this is one of the good ones. Great FPS action and the game allows you to give directions to the other squad members and utilize their skills. Graphics are standard for the original Xbox. As I am writing this review in 2013, you can find this game used for fairly cheap. Definitely worth the money if you are into retro gaming and/or Star Wars themed games. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 845]
  2. Republic Commando should really be viewed as an incredibly solid, compelling, stylish title that has the ability of being able to be played over Xbox Live should you fancy it.
  3. What's most disappointing about the whole thing, though, isn't so much the lack of me-too deathmatch variants, but that LucasArts didn't bother to allow players to play the campaign mode co-operatively as Red Storm achieved so successfully in the likes of Ghost Recon 2, Rainbow Six 3 and Black Arrow... As it is Republic Commando deserves huge respect for managing to be the best Star Wars shooter ever.