User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 85
  2. Negative: 3 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GamerExpert
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    This is one of the funnest games I have ever played. I love Star Wars, and Star Wars games, and I have to say: this game is one of the best I have seen. The strategy, action, and intense heart-pounding fight for survival makes every part of this game enjoyable. I became totally mesmorized and fascinated by the amazing graphics and team AI. This game was very well made and I had a blast This is one of the funnest games I have ever played. I love Star Wars, and Star Wars games, and I have to say: this game is one of the best I have seen. The strategy, action, and intense heart-pounding fight for survival makes every part of this game enjoyable. I became totally mesmorized and fascinated by the amazing graphics and team AI. This game was very well made and I had a blast when playing it. My only complaint was that the game was too short! Overall, it is an awesome game that any Star Wars fanatic, any first-person-shooter game addict, and any passionate gamer will love. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    I played this game on my friend's Xbox (I don't have Microsoft tech) and I really enjoyed it. A few parts were a little difficult and, quite frankly, rage inducing, but the good outweighs the bad. The MP was a little strange, small maps and silly 'Headshot' sounds, but one map is great, incorporating antigravity tech. Anyway, really good fun, and they should definitely make another... LikeI played this game on my friend's Xbox (I don't have Microsoft tech) and I really enjoyed it. A few parts were a little difficult and, quite frankly, rage inducing, but the good outweighs the bad. The MP was a little strange, small maps and silly 'Headshot' sounds, but one map is great, incorporating antigravity tech. Anyway, really good fun, and they should definitely make another... Like they should make another Battlefront game. Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    I am a huge Star wars fan and I must say this is my favorite Star Wars game by far, everything from its game play, system layout, story and its main characters I think are perfect. If you have been thinking of trying this game, think no longer, just do it and do it now! I promise you, you will not regret it! Best Star Wars game ever!
  4. AB
    Apr 26, 2005
    3
    I really wanted to love Republic Commando, but instead of lying to myself I'll just realize that it is a truly disappointing game. It's just to repetitious and bland to be a great Star Wars experience. If the Episode III game isn't good, that will be three bad Star Wars games in one year (LEGO Star Wars wasn't very good either).
  5. NoOne
    Mar 18, 2005
    4
    Would have been better 4 years ago. Way too linear and tension is a zero with all the freakin med stations around. Rainbox Six 3 is a far better example of what this game could have been. Still, as far as LucasArts games go, this one is one of the best to come along in a long time. Good rental maybe.
  6. SamC.
    Apr 25, 2005
    2
    It was just kill after kill after kill.
  7. PCC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    6
    I think this game was overrated. The team command was totally unnessisary and felt forced. Why do I have to wait for an icon to appear behind a bolder to have my guy snipe there? Why can't I tell him to snipe anywhere? On one level one of my teammates kept getting stuck on a rock. I had to restart the level. If you want to command a squad, play brother in arms.
  8. Jun 13, 2011
    5
    I found this game almost impossible to play especially when you have to hold your squads hand every second giving you virtually no time to fight or defend yourself especially against impossible enemies.

    The game is also to linear and the instructions aren't very good and there is no on screen help to get you going in the beginning like most games. I would only recommend this for
    I found this game almost impossible to play especially when you have to hold your squads hand every second giving you virtually no time to fight or defend yourself especially against impossible enemies.

    The game is also to linear and the instructions aren't very good and there is no on screen help to get you going in the beginning like most games.


    I would only recommend this for Hardcore gamers who have to play every FPS out there.
    Expand
  9. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    For big Star Wans only. Quite a boring and frustrating game really. I like games where you are not a lone warrior but the squad mechanics are not very good. Game-play can also be repetitive and boring.
  10. JakeF.
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    As a squad, the drone AI's are the best I have ever played with, way, way above the norm. It felt more real. Has a excellent challange. In a single player game it is awesome, and in the multi-player the maps were big and took a little while to find the enemy, but was worth it for the action. It is the best Star Wars game I have played to date.
  11. RayA.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Excellent game! I love SW games and this is one of the best! It's really gives me chance to fill myself inside the action. Please make RC 2!
  12. Obi-wanKenobi
    Mar 15, 2005
    7
    great game but way too short! I wouldn't be suprised if LucasArts put another ridiculously short deadline on getting this game out and the developers didn't have time to add anymore levels, just like they rushed out KOTOR II. Or maybe they are just setting up for Republic Commando 2?
  13. BlueFalcon
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    In a lot of ways Republic Commando feels like a combination of Metorid Prime and Halo. The graphics aren't quite up to those 2 games, but they're close. The single player game is exceptionally entertaining.
  14. MeStupid!
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Great fun not only multiplay online, but in single player.
  15. JoeN.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    I love star wars so much this was great so great.
  16. AshtonC.
    May 24, 2005
    10
    This game is awesome when is the second one is comming out.
  17. GeoffreyG.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    This game is great at drawing you in to the environment and being a clone trooper in the republic army. It has great squad command, the easiest ever. The environments are great and feel real, I just wish there were more of them. Generally it's just a great experience.
  18. MattD.
    May 7, 2005
    10
    It Rocks!
  19. KyleL.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    It is intense, nerve racking. This is one of the best games I ever played. It was a little sad when Sev died. I want to know when there is going to be a second Republic Camando.
  20. MatthewH.
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    this game is awesome but i need to know when part 2 is coming out the ending is amazing when sev is overwhelmed by the enemy i read notes that sev joined the 501legion division and was part of order 66 to kill the jedi let me know when part 2 is coming out.
  21. EdH.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Got to love seeing the dark and grity side of star wars.
  22. OleksiyY.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    People Don't listen to them stupid freaks every one knows that this game is one of the best games and I like to say that in this game you get to know your own team and how they are like and their personalities but the only sad thing is that SEV dies in the end and that stupid master yoda doesn't let you help him! I'm so sad know I wish Republic Commando's 2 came out People Don't listen to them stupid freaks every one knows that this game is one of the best games and I like to say that in this game you get to know your own team and how they are like and their personalities but the only sad thing is that SEV dies in the end and that stupid master yoda doesn't let you help him! I'm so sad know I wish Republic Commando's 2 came out but it wouldn't be the same with out sev every one knows that. Collapse
  23. JackB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    This is a well designed game, it made the clone troopers even cooler, it had a great squad, great guns, and awsome villians, but its ending was not as great as the game itself.
  24. NickT.
    Mar 10, 2005
    9
    Would be the best first person shooter of all time if it was about twice the length!!
  25. LucasB.
    Mar 2, 2005
    7
    Although the game has its moments, I have to say that I am a bit disappointed by Star Wars: Republic Commando
  26. MichaelB.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Impressive squad AI, great sound and graphics, and smooth control. As with most shooters coming out as of late, way too short!
  27. James
    Mar 3, 2005
    7
    Cool story line for star wars fans, but way too short of a game... I got through it in about 8-10 hours.
  28. JimmyA.
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    I thought it was a great game. The graphics are good and the squad a.i. is excellent.
  29. MasterRater
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    A blast from start to end, fast paced, changing environments. This type of game had to be slightly linear to work. Enough variation to keep it thoroughly entertaining. Dont forget, you have to immerse yourself in the game so trying to keep your squad alive (NOTE the AI was top notch for the arcade level shooter) was a big part of the fun.)
  30. RyanS.
    Apr 5, 2005
    7
    Typical Star Wars elements are to be found here: sound, music, characters (no Jedi???), gameplay and blasters. A good game that lacks one major element: level design with "Depth".
  31. Brant
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    Very addictive game. Couldn't stop playing it. It was almost like another version of Halo, but you had control over your people. Too short though. They need to come out with another one, and keep the story going.
  32. Simon
    Feb 25, 2006
    8
    Call of duty, MoH and all the other WW2 shooter games on the XBOX just cant compare to the PC versions, id give them all 4 out of ten. This game however works very well if ya after a bit of fun.
  33. PaulP.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    Just a downright awesome game, could of included a little more character development though. I would love to see a sequel!
  34. AndyK.
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    This game is exellent the only flaw is the multiplayer but thats greats too. Has a great fan i want a sequal but the best bit is the suspence at the end.
  35. 4151346
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    Perfect mix of strategy and pure action.
  36. Jim
    Apr 12, 2005
    9
    It was addictive and the multiplayer levels are fun but to short in campaign mode and sev died.
  37. JeremyR.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    This is some of the most fun I have had with my Xbox! Although some players will deride the simplicity of the squad commands, I found it a delightfully uncomplicated and undistracting addition to the fast-paced and non-stop action of this great game. The controls are intuitive and the gameplay immersive. This is at the top of my personal list of all-time favorites. Games are supposed to This is some of the most fun I have had with my Xbox! Although some players will deride the simplicity of the squad commands, I found it a delightfully uncomplicated and undistracting addition to the fast-paced and non-stop action of this great game. The controls are intuitive and the gameplay immersive. This is at the top of my personal list of all-time favorites. Games are supposed to be fun, and this is nothing but pure fun from start to finish. Expand
  38. ArchezB.
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    This game was frezkin awsome and perfectly set up for RC2 and if you thought the game was boring like some others said... ...then just FOLLOW THE DAM STORYLINE, it is a great game and i can't wait for CR2 to come out which they Are actually making and also if u dont like this game DOnt play it also even if you dont tell them to snipe in that spot sometimes they will snipe thereThis game was frezkin awsome and perfectly set up for RC2 and if you thought the game was boring like some others said... ...then just FOLLOW THE DAM STORYLINE, it is a great game and i can't wait for CR2 to come out which they Are actually making and also if u dont like this game DOnt play it also even if you dont tell them to snipe in that spot sometimes they will snipe there anyways :p although i must admit it doesnt really have that much of a replay value at least for a while. Expand
  39. AP
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    They better make a second one. The ending's a heckuva cliffhanger...
  40. AaronL.
    May 17, 2006
    9
    It is so awsome,but i just wish the squad was a litter smarter like when you order them to 'secure area' that there is only two cover spots so 40 and 62 take cover while 07 just stands there and gets shot,and the sad way 07 dies on kashyyyk because you can grab sniper and look at 07 across from you and he will be fine..no blaster shots,no screaming ...he still in the It is so awsome,but i just wish the squad was a litter smarter like when you order them to 'secure area' that there is only two cover spots so 40 and 62 take cover while 07 just stands there and gets shot,and the sad way 07 dies on kashyyyk because you can grab sniper and look at 07 across from you and he will be fine..no blaster shots,no screaming ...he still in the freakin' turret! But it is a wicked and kool game because it has a good story like Star Wars knights of the old republic but i really respect the fighting scenes. still i want a sequil !A+!!! Expand
  41. JonnyBoy
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    A great Star Wars game. Another great xbox FPS.
  42. AlexG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    One of, if not THE best game I've ever played. not being a massive fan of the FPS genre thats a major achievement. The squad is humerous and responds to almost any situation. Eg. I let a squad member take fire for me. after the conflict he came back with "use me to draw fire. see if I care" which really suprised (and amused) me The only point I feel could be improved on is the enemy One of, if not THE best game I've ever played. not being a massive fan of the FPS genre thats a major achievement. The squad is humerous and responds to almost any situation. Eg. I let a squad member take fire for me. after the conflict he came back with "use me to draw fire. see if I care" which really suprised (and amused) me The only point I feel could be improved on is the enemy AI. with the majority of enemies being seperatist droids this isnt too much of a downer. though the organic enemies could have been given a slightly larger arsonal and the ability to duck behind cover as your squad do. Expand
  43. Nico
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Amazing ending, not like Halo 2, I know the story with that but still, GREAT game, I loved it, sequil. Now.
  44. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    A Star Wars game that doesn't involve massive amounts of jedi interference? Count me in. Set during the clone wars this game takes you through the eyes of a secret breed of clone trooper, known as the commandos. You'll travel from planet to planet, or area to area(of which planets have several) complete objectives and progress. Each commando has a different set personality which makesA Star Wars game that doesn't involve massive amounts of jedi interference? Count me in. Set during the clone wars this game takes you through the eyes of a secret breed of clone trooper, known as the commandos. You'll travel from planet to planet, or area to area(of which planets have several) complete objectives and progress. Each commando has a different set personality which makes interaction between them quite enjoyable and humorous. The gameplay is straightforward; shoot and give orders. You'll occasionally be separated from your squad and forced to go solo. This is in part where some things go wrong. Compared to being squaded, the environmental hazards all of a sudden become life threatening when interacted with, causing many unnecessary deaths. The graphics are well done, however it's the soundtrack that plays a crucial role in defining atmosphere around graphics. Most of the soundtrack is just re-hashed, episode one tracks. Large Difficulty spikes near the end also leave players feeling a bit cheated, as well as a cliff hanger ending, just leaves one unsatisfied. However if you like SW and FPS's I would give this game a shot. Expand
  45. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    This game is one of my favorite first person shooters for the Xbox. It's also probably one of the most intense. Even now I'm shocked that this wasn't rated M (but then again I guess that's because the only blood you see is that of insect-like creatures and the weird purple oils in the droids. The only other first person shooter I've played for the Xbox that wasn't part of the Halo series,This game is one of my favorite first person shooters for the Xbox. It's also probably one of the most intense. Even now I'm shocked that this wasn't rated M (but then again I guess that's because the only blood you see is that of insect-like creatures and the weird purple oils in the droids. The only other first person shooter I've played for the Xbox that wasn't part of the Halo series, and so, naturally I feel forced to compare it to it. The graphics are far supierior, the battles are about equally as intense, though the story isn't as good and neither is the game as a whole - simply because the campaign is extremely short and I can't help but feel that this game is like a Star Wars ripoff of Halo. Besides all that though, it is a very well made and well thought out game. The variety of enemies aren't very impressive, but I love the fact that you can breeze through battles feeling all high and mighty until you run into a Super Battle Droid and it totally just screws your pacing over because of their increased accuracy (you can't just go running straight at them). Really its a fun game, and now since you should be able to find it for a price considerably cheaper, its worth getting - since it is playable on the 360. Expand
  46. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Easily one my my most favorite original Xbox games of all time. I always liked calling this the Star Wars version of Halo, but there are a few things I don't like about it. The first is the lack of weapons in the game. (Blaster Rifle, Sniper Rifle, Anti-Armor, Pistol, Geonosian Beam Rifle, Trandoshin Shotgun, Trandoshin LMG and Trandoshin Repeater are are that there are)(Grenades don't count) Then, the Super Battle Droids and Heavy Trandoshins were kinda over powered. Another thing is that sometimes you had explosive charges that were way too long, and massive waves of enemies kept attacking you, making it very frustrating. Then finally, they killed Sev Expand
  47. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    Good Star Wars games are few and far between but this is one of the good ones. Great FPS action and the game allows you to give directions to the other squad members and utilize their skills. Graphics are standard for the original Xbox. As I am writing this review in 2013, you can find this game used for fairly cheap. Definitely worth the money if you are into retro gaming and/or StarGood Star Wars games are few and far between but this is one of the good ones. Great FPS action and the game allows you to give directions to the other squad members and utilize their skills. Graphics are standard for the original Xbox. As I am writing this review in 2013, you can find this game used for fairly cheap. Definitely worth the money if you are into retro gaming and/or Star Wars themed games. Expand
  48. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    This game deserves an award, yet granite this game came out around 2006 but I am still playing it today. This was when games were at their golden age, perfect AI, a squad that actually has an idea of what they are doing, the gameplay is real smooth no lag, online is kind of cheap though but for this game I will let it slide because it was one of my child hood favorites.

    To be honest, it
    This game deserves an award, yet granite this game came out around 2006 but I am still playing it today. This was when games were at their golden age, perfect AI, a squad that actually has an idea of what they are doing, the gameplay is real smooth no lag, online is kind of cheap though but for this game I will let it slide because it was one of my child hood favorites.

    To be honest, it is really hard for someone like me to give a 10, because if there is one thing I don't like it loses it's 10, the only other game I can think of off the top of my head that I gave a 10 to is "Star Wars battlefront 2" yet granite I like that game better than this one, but on my top 10 list this would be in the solid 2 slot, I have never enjoyed as much games as I've had with Lucas arts, it's sad to realize that Lucas arts was bought out by Disney because they made REALLY good games, perfect games to be exact, another game I would recommend is Star wars KNIGHTS of the old republic, don't get the MMO version, it sucks.

    Anyways, if people complain about this game, I don't know what else you want from a video game. The haters are looking for something that doesn't exist, the perfect game. Instead of looking at every flaw in a game look at how FUN it is, instead of tormenting yourself through it, yet this game is really fun but every game as it's flaws. Seriously to all the haters on this game GROW UP, this is as close to a perfect game as you going to get.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 54
  2. Negative: 1 out of 54
  1. 8 / 8 / 7 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 845]
  2. Republic Commando should really be viewed as an incredibly solid, compelling, stylish title that has the ability of being able to be played over Xbox Live should you fancy it.
  3. What's most disappointing about the whole thing, though, isn't so much the lack of me-too deathmatch variants, but that LucasArts didn't bother to allow players to play the campaign mode co-operatively as Red Storm achieved so successfully in the likes of Ghost Recon 2, Rainbow Six 3 and Black Arrow... As it is Republic Commando deserves huge respect for managing to be the best Star Wars shooter ever.