Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. An excellent addition to your Xbox Live experience, blending a well-rounded third-person action game with enough multiplayer features and maps to keep the game fun long after you’ve beaten it.
  2. Conquest mode really shines on Xbox Live, especially if you have a full compliment of eight players on hand.
  3. Hands down, this is one of the best Star Wars titles to date.
  4. Even if you've already played the GameCube or PS2 incarnations, this late bloomer is worth investing in. [June 2003, p.113]
  5. Multiplayer modes, particularly played online, really save The Clone Wars from mediocrity. Playing on Xbox Live in a full spectrum of multiplayer modes elevates The Clone Wars to an enjoyment level it doesn’t reach in the single-player campaign.
  6. Thanks to the expanded multiplayer, I have no trouble calling the Xbox version of The Clone Wars the best of the bunch.
  7. 80
    With more imaginative level design, The Clone Wars would have been near-perfect. As it stands, the multiplayer mode is so good, it makes up for most of the title's shortcomings.
  8. 79
    Isn't quite up to the spectacular standards of LucasArts' "Rogue Leader" and "Starfighter" shoot-'em-up franchises, but it supplies plenty of Star Wars-themed shooting action, and the Live support considerably boosts the replay value, more than making up for the brevity of the one-player campaign.
  9. The game's one weakness is that it's simply not a lot of fun for a lone combatant. [July 2003, p.80]
  10. 77
    Not even Xbox Live can make a decent game great.
  11. A number of Xbox Live-compatible multiplayer modes for up to eight players (or four players on a split-screen) round out a good, solid Star Wars game that should appeal to anyone who'd care to relive Episode II's large-scale action scenes.
  12. Not a masterpiece or the ultimate online Star Wars adventure, but it is, by far, a better version of this action-packed game.
  13. Although the single-player game is mixed, Xbox Live addicts will find much to enjoy with Clone Wars - enough that it'll probably justify its purchase price alone.
  14. The shallow but fun Live games put this prettier version of CW a few parsecs beyond its PS2 and Cube cousins. [June 2003, p.114]
  15. Four player frantic multiplayer options are topped off by a tremendous Conquest mode in which players form teams and must fight to destroy each other's bases. [June-July 2003, p.94]
  16. Every bit as good as the movie upon which it is based, and no better. [July 2003, p.78]
  17. An average carnage based shooter, despite the strong designs and Star Wars origins. The improved multi-player options give this release a fresh impetus that raises it a notch, but no more.
  18. If I were Simon from American Idol I would say, "This is not the best Americer' has to offer. Sure you can take it online, but so what? I would expect to see this kind of game in an arcade on a cruise ship - it's that average."
  19. 60
    If you have no online hookup, though, don't bother.
  20. This game just isn’t finished. The frame-rate drops at the smallest suggestion, the mainstay combat is as orchestrated as band practise for the stillborn. Quite honestly this is a shambles of a magnitude that astonishes.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Good game, I liked to play the campaign over and over just to unlock everything and it also has great extra modes and a great local and onlineGood game, I liked to play the campaign over and over just to unlock everything and it also has great extra modes and a great local and online multiplayer, there is no reason to hate this game, I had tons of fun. Full Review »
  2. WalrusMan
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    Pay no attention to what CCCP says about the game - it's brilliant fun, even for non-Star Wars fans. It is worth every penny on GC, so Pay no attention to what CCCP says about the game - it's brilliant fun, even for non-Star Wars fans. It is worth every penny on GC, so the Xbox version should be worth twice as much (although still a similar price) because of the advantages of Xbox Live. If you are not sure about whether to buy this game or not, my advice: buy it. You won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  3. Dec 6, 2014
    7
    A nice blend of third-person and first person action this game entices me to the slightest degree. There could be better graphics, but hey,A nice blend of third-person and first person action this game entices me to the slightest degree. There could be better graphics, but hey, who am I to care? Full Review »