Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. My primary criticism is the game's lack of multiplayer options. In story mode, the game does allow cooperative play, with one player driving while a partner uses either a light gun or another controller to shoot. But, while it's a unique innovation and it does produce a more true to life experience -- making perps and power-ups more of a challenge to hit as your partner swerves all over the road -- it struck me as more frustrating than fun.
  2. If this innovative gameplay was attached to visuals like the ones in "Wreckless," we'd still be playing... and I'd have sideburns. [Nov 2003, p.102]
  3. 75
    It the best drinking game we've played this year. [Aug 2003, p.32]
  4. 75
    With its unique two-player mode and very reasonable MSRP, Starsky & Hutch is a no-brainer of a purchase for light-gunners, penny-pinchers, and people with friends. This is one of the best budget releases I've ever played.
  5. Compatible with a driving wheel and a light gun, which means that the game's missions can be operated cooperatively with one person driving and one shooting. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  6. The gameplay isn't terribly deep, and the story mode isn't very long, but the game is still mildly enjoyable. What Starsky & Hutch does best is pay homage to the wonderful clichés of 1970s cop shows.
  7. Frankly, the light gun and cooperative play turn an otherwise mediocre game into a pretty darn good one.
  8. While the game suffers from minor technical flaws and repetitive gameplay, it does something legitimately new with its TV show concept.
  9. It’s not a "Grand Theft Auto" or "Driver" killer, with very little depth outside of some unlockables, but the two player cooperative mode is an entertaining way to kill an afternoon or three.
  10. If I were going to suggest something it would be to add a bit more gameplay depth. Just driving around and constantly shooting your gun really doesn't cut it these days.
  11. Average/below average across the board, with no real elements to keep gamers interested after a few levels.
  12. There are loading times that I wouldn’t have thought exist in this day and age, and the graphics are nothing exceptional. Dialogue is bad, the sound is bad 70’s pastiche but the guy who did the cut-scenes deserves a big fat raise.
  13. 60
    Though the single-player mode is a drag, Starsky & Hutch features a great two-player mode that fuses aspects of Driver with Time Crisis by having one player ("You be Starsky!") drive using a steering wheel peripheral and the other player ("I'll be Hutch!") shoot with a light-gun. It makes for great co-op gameplay.
  14. 60
    It isn't a great game, and it quickly becomes redundant, but it's a guilty pleasure you can get for cheap.
  15. Two dorks driving around in an incredibly ugly and generic city chasing bad guys with laughable AI doesn't qualify as good entertainment. [Oct 2003, p.136]
  16. 54
    An average driving-shooting game at best. It's got a little hook, the TV ratings concept, which works well and gives the game some lift. But after two or three missions, you'll find the range of missions is incredibly small, the gameplay is overly simplistic, and the style of graphics and dialog to be more of an annoyance than a cult bonus.
  17. What really brings this game down is the sub-par graphics, terrible framerate and fairly poor voice acting that eliminates any interest in the plot.
  18. The driving and shooting action served up here is fun in its simplicity for a while, but my interest waned before I even finished the first of the game's three seasons. [Nov 2003, p.93]
  19. The whole package amounts to a single "Vice City" car mission in which you tail jalopies along rigidly scripted trails, but without the room for improvisation you'd find in "GTA." [Nov 2003, p.173]
  20. The in-game graphics are acceptable at best, with the cut-scenes barely making the grade. [Dec/Jan 2004, p.92]
  21. Although the driving engine isn't bad at all, the automatic targetting system is more than a little chaotic and clunky.
  22. It's one of those games that nobody really asked for, so that leaves only one group of people who will be buying Starsky and Hutch: suckers. [Nov 2003, p.88]
  23. Who would want to admit to buying this? We’d certainly be too embarressed to show this to any of our friends, enemies, neighbours, random strangers off the street, pet cat...
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Bacon
    Mar 18, 2005
    0
    First off the game dosnt deserve the score it got from the critics...IT NEEDS TO BE MUCH LOWER. I bought the game because I like starsky and First off the game dosnt deserve the score it got from the critics...IT NEEDS TO BE MUCH LOWER. I bought the game because I like starsky and hutch and it was cheap but it wasnt worth the couple of bucks I paid for it. I dont recomend picking up this game, unless of course your a straight up die hard starsky and hutch fanatic. The games not even worth discussing in detail, just avoid it!! Full Review »
  2. Jugdishplateface
    Mar 25, 2004
    9
    Awesome game i wish the little 10yr old would relize that games are meant to be fun period and thats exactly what this is fun.
  3. JeffK.
    Sep 23, 2003
    1
    Just plain bad.