The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition includes the original game of Morrowind, plus the Tribunal and Bloodmoon expansions. In Morrowind, you can explore exotic locations, including epic dungeons, detailed cities, and vast landscapes. Each area in Tribunal comes complete with new creatures, quests, armor, and weapons. Bloodmoon takes you into the frozen island of Solstheim, where you can become a werewolf and indulge your thirst for the hunt. Morrowind and its expansions feature enhanced graphics, in-depth gameplay, and innovative character development. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The depth of Morrowind's gameplay and overall design is matched by the audio-visual presentation. Hands down, Morrowind's soundtrack should be released on CD – once you've heard the opening chords you'll be humming it for hours after first booting it up.
  2. In Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition, or GOTY, both of those expansion packs become available for the Xbox Morrowind fan. Hundreds of hours of gameplay have been added to the 200+ hours in the original, making this one of the largest RPG's ever.
  3. It will change the way you think about RPG's and video games forever.
  4. Both Tribunal and Bloodmoon offer new lands to explore, new people to interact with, new items to acquire, new enemies to fight and new quests to undertake.
  5. The deep storyline and character development system, seemingly endless quests, and miles of detailed, highly interactive locations to explore all amount to more than 200 hours of gameplay for those attempting to see it all. [Jan 2004, p.76]
  6. These new options are perfect for the hardened "Morrowind" veteran, adding just the right amount of innovation to an already solid RPG, and fortunately, this edition is compatible with old save files. [Mar 2004, p.91]
  7. It's got an insanely high level of immersion, story depth, and character customization available. The big problem with this game has always been downtime - far too much walking around and wading through conversations. [Jan 2004, p.151]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This game made me buy the Xbox twice. I thought I had no use of the machine then I tried this game and just had to get another Xbox because I did not have a PC that could handle this game. I was introduce to this great franchise, a game that introduced me to what a real open world game looks like. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Morrowind is the first Elder Scrolls game I played. Simply put, it is incredible. In fact, I would venture to say that it is vastly superior to its predecessor, Oblivion. Morrowind is the first in the series to introduce a truly open and vast world that not only takes hours to see and explore, but manages also feel very much alive. It is filled to the brim with interesting scenery, characters, quests, monsters, lore, and so on. I honestly cannot place exactly why this game was more fun than Oblivion besides to say perhaps the overall all "mood" and design of the continent. Skyrim managed to return to the series' roots while still taking several steps forward, and it is superior to Morrowind, no doubt, but if you get the change to try out this amazing, epic game that paved the way for Skyrim, do not hesitate. I give this game an easy 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. TeeJayH.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    Superior. This Morrowind is MUCH better then the original version, with new challenges, new armor, new missions, and new looks. And I thought the regular was better, this version has just blown me completely away. I'm STILL playing it, after about 2 weeks of straight playing hour after hour. Can't beat Morrowind, this game is #1 all the way. Expand
  4. Macca
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    F...n awesome. get it. get it now. or die.
  5. MichaelS.
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    Overall a great game but there is a lack in the varity of monsters you can fight, and the moves you can do with your weapons and the lack of gore, a mature rated game would allow for more gore. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Morrowind changed the RPG game. It provides an immersive and gigantic world to get lost into. One of the few games where the content actually surpasses the cost. Expand
  7. SamM.
    Apr 11, 2006
    0
    Worst game I have ever played this game is for losers.

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.