The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition includes the original game of Morrowind, plus the Tribunal and Bloodmoon expansions. In Morrowind, you can explore exotic locations, including epic dungeons, detailed cities, and vast landscapes. Each area in Tribunal comes completeThe Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition includes the original game of Morrowind, plus the Tribunal and Bloodmoon expansions. In Morrowind, you can explore exotic locations, including epic dungeons, detailed cities, and vast landscapes. Each area in Tribunal comes complete with new creatures, quests, armor, and weapons. Bloodmoon takes you into the frozen island of Solstheim, where you can become a werewolf and indulge your thirst for the hunt. Morrowind and its expansions feature enhanced graphics, in-depth gameplay, and innovative character development. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The depth of Morrowind's gameplay and overall design is matched by the audio-visual presentation. Hands down, Morrowind's soundtrack should be released on CD – once you've heard the opening chords you'll be humming it for hours after first booting it up.
  2. In Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition, or GOTY, both of those expansion packs become available for the Xbox Morrowind fan. Hundreds of hours of gameplay have been added to the 200+ hours in the original, making this one of the largest RPG's ever.
  3. It will change the way you think about RPG's and video games forever.
  4. Both Tribunal and Bloodmoon offer new lands to explore, new people to interact with, new items to acquire, new enemies to fight and new quests to undertake.
  5. The deep storyline and character development system, seemingly endless quests, and miles of detailed, highly interactive locations to explore all amount to more than 200 hours of gameplay for those attempting to see it all. [Jan 2004, p.76]
  6. These new options are perfect for the hardened "Morrowind" veteran, adding just the right amount of innovation to an already solid RPG, and fortunately, this edition is compatible with old save files. [Mar 2004, p.91]
  7. It's got an insanely high level of immersion, story depth, and character customization available. The big problem with this game has always been downtime - far too much walking around and wading through conversations. [Jan 2004, p.151]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    This game made me buy the Xbox twice. I thought I had no use of the machine then I tried this game and just had to get another Xbox because IThis game made me buy the Xbox twice. I thought I had no use of the machine then I tried this game and just had to get another Xbox because I did not have a PC that could handle this game. I was introduce to this great franchise, a game that introduced me to what a real open world game looks like. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    One of my top 10 favorite games of all time. Sure, it's a little buggy at times and you have to swing your first weapon about fifty times atOne of my top 10 favorite games of all time. Sure, it's a little buggy at times and you have to swing your first weapon about fifty times at a cliff racer to hit it, but this game isn't for the average gamer. It's for explorers--people who enjoy going wherever they want and doing whatever they want. It's for those who enjoy putting hours and hours into their character & leveling up skills so you can become the most powerful force in the game. It also allows you to progress with the main quest whenever you darn well feel like it while providing ample opportunities to advance with other organizations. This game is more "real" than any other I've played, including Oblivion & Skyrim. You can go into a house in the middle of nowhere, murder the occupants, steal them blind, and sell all their wares at a nearby village. The guards won't know a thing, as they shouldn't..they weren't there and you left no survivors. This is NOT the case in Oblivion or Skyrim, where every guard nearby seems to know the moment you stole that little silver cup. That's not real to me, but BS. Expand
  3. TeeJayH.
    Apr 23, 2004
    10
    Superior. This Morrowind is MUCH better then the original version, with new challenges, new armor, new missions, and new looks. And I thought Superior. This Morrowind is MUCH better then the original version, with new challenges, new armor, new missions, and new looks. And I thought the regular was better, this version has just blown me completely away. I'm STILL playing it, after about 2 weeks of straight playing hour after hour. Can't beat Morrowind, this game is #1 all the way. Expand
  4. Macca
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    F...n awesome. get it. get it now. or die.
  5. MichaelS.
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    Overall a great game but there is a lack in the varity of monsters you can fight, and the moves you can do with your weapons and the lack ofOverall a great game but there is a lack in the varity of monsters you can fight, and the moves you can do with your weapons and the lack of gore, a mature rated game would allow for more gore. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    This is almost a perfect RPG. Morrowind is open-ended, offers hundreds of quests, plenty of story lines, and the main plot is possibly theThis is almost a perfect RPG. Morrowind is open-ended, offers hundreds of quests, plenty of story lines, and the main plot is possibly the best I have seen in any game. In true RPG fashion you start with nothing but your shirt, pants and a stolen dagger, and you might end up as a force to throttle the heavens. The world is beautiful and varied - especially for a game of its age - and there is never a shortage of places to go, dungeons to explore, items to find and people to interact with. Regardless of where you go, you will be filled with a sense of wonder, and anticipation of possible rewards.

    I would like to give Morrowind a perfect 10/10, but there are a few elements that needs to be improved upon for that (and fan-made mods have indeed been made). The most deterring aspect is combat, which severely lacks excitement, as you will find yourself chopping away with your sword or axe, smashing the same mouse button repeatedly until whatever is in your way is dead. There is no strategy to melee. Spell-casting would be fun as the spell book is far more varied than in the game's successor, Oblivion, but unfortunately you will find yourself lacking the mana pool to do prolonged combat with destructive spells and there is no mana regeneration.

    However the problems with the combat system barely deters from the overall enjoyment of the game, as the story will leave you hungering for more. Whenever you complete a quest you will want to continue unto the next one, and whenever you travel the world - which you will be doing a lot - you explore every canyon crevice hoping to find something new, which you often will.
    The expansions have equally impressive story-lines. Bloodmoon offers a new, enormous landmass to explore, but sacrifices story quality (although it is still fantastic and engaging), whereas Tribunal is confided to one large city and its sewers, but with a story rivaling that of the original. Further the difficulty of the expansions is high, making them great for characters that have already completed the main quest. Unlike Oblivion there is no scaling, and the game does not hold your hand. You can fail quests, and you can kill ANYONE, meaning a particularly malicious player can mess up his own progress, by slaughtering important NPC's. This is not a critique, but an applause, as the game lets you experience the consequences of your own actions in a believable way. The game is fantastic and once you start, you might never stop playing. Eight years after its release and I still enjoy it as much as any game I've tried since.
    Expand
  7. SamM.
    Apr 11, 2006
    0
    Worst game I have ever played this game is for losers.

See all 60 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.