User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2014
    3
    It is almost impossible to hit someone in combat. I try 10 times and only hit once or twice. After I tried to kill a simple spider and died, I decided to just quit the game.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    Not bad at all, great compared to the PC version, has minor bugs when playing it on the original Xbox, but on the xbox 360 I have yet to see any bugs
    a pure RPG game, the combat is a little unbalanced, but its because the game adds into effect your attributes and your luck, and your skill with your current weapon.
    has the journal system that the GOTY edition got, so that's good
  3. Sep 7, 2013
    8
    ---Rating--- Design: 4 /5 (slightly weak combat system, but otherwise interesting mechanics and narrative) Polish: 2 /5 (mediocre graphics and an abundance of bugs, some more serious than others) Value: 5 /5 (standard price, but sets the standard for replay value with its huge in-game world) ---Review--- There are many concrete aspects in regard to which Morrowind isn't all that exceptional, but in terms of the intangibles the game provides an excellent experience. It may not be the prettiest game, even for its time, but the mood and ambiance of the setting feels truly immersive, as much as the Ashlands could really use more color. There are many bugs and glitches to suffer through and/or exploit (depending on how you look at it), and the combat system is a bit underdeveloped, but the game's depth provides the player with countless hours of play. For newcomers looking for something a bit more manageable, I'd recommend the Bloodmoon expansion, but Vvardenfell itself is certainly worth exploring even without taking the many possible questlines into account. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    Long before Oblivion and Skyrim took the Elder Scrolls series to the next level, both in terms of quality and popularity, the series third entry (Morrowind) found itself ported to the original Xbox. Many of the series features are already present but little to no effort is made to make it accessible to anyone other than experienced PC RPG gamers. As a result most console owners will really struggle to get into Morrowind in any meaningful way. Collapse
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    The first time I played this game I absolutely hated it. It was too big the combat was clunky and I never had an idea of what I was supposed to do. I managed to stick with it and once I figured out what to do and how to fight and how leveling works, this game turned from unpleasant to incredible. I have been playing the same character since October 2009 and every 3 or so months i will plug it in and play through a quest-line, with over 200 hours long and many more quest-lines to go I will be playing this character for many more years to come. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    The open-world RPG that was miles ahead of its time. Being a simple teenager, I first played morrowind a few good years after it came out. So far in fact that the game was beginning drastically to show its age, but that didn't stop me from loving it and becoming a fan of the genre in general (a fandom that i still hold today). Thanks morrowind!
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Started playing this game about six years ago and I still play it to this day. It's simply the best fantasy RPG in existence and it tops Skryim, Oblivion, and Fallout 3. Its beautiful landscape, style, and gameplay will affect you like no other game ever has. The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind is the greatest game ever to be released.
  8. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    this is the best game I've ever played. I guess modern gamers don't like it because the combat system is bad, also they want lots of action and don't want to wait very long in order to get a character that cannot miss enemies. for me the story is interesting and rich. the feeling and the adventure are best parts of this game.

    you should find help in the unofficial elder scrolls pages
    website if you need help with this game Expand
  9. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    i loved this game if it wasnt for the bugs and glitches it would get a score of 10 from me . the 2 biggest and annoying are the game freezing up once you get about half way done with it but you can cut it down alot if you deleate your save every so often and make a new one . the other one is one of the main quests is glitched and i got all the way to the end but got stuck in a glitch and could not finish it >< . that aside ive never seen a game that gives you so much to do in it and can be so fun . like being a thief is just a blast (even better then oblivion) . i love how you never know whats in any place you explore . it could be some low level thiefs or a nast deadrich cult . the thrill of exploration is just addicting and finding cool and rare items and gear . i love the fact you can fly in this game . the level up system is alittle goofy but after you play it abit and adjust its a real easy system and leveling up is a synch . its just a shame about the bugs and glitches . Expand
  10. Jun 8, 2013
    0
    Long before Oblivion and Skyrim took the Elder Scrolls series to the next level, both in terms of quality and popularity, the series third entry (Morrowind) found itself ported to the original Xbox. Many of the series features are already present but little to no effort is made to make it accessible to anyone other than experienced PC RPG gamers. As a result most console owners will really struggle to get into Morrowind in any meaningful way. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Morrowind will please both serious role-playing fans as well as anyone looking for a technically stunning adventure that will hold their attention longer than your average hack-and-slash title. This is the good stuff.
  2. Ultimately, Morrowind's biggest selling point - its expansive scope - is also its undoing.[Fall 2002, p.112]
  3. An exhaustive open-ended RPG that essentially allows you to make it up as you go along, with hundreds of people to talk to. [Feb 2003, p.95]