The Lord of the Rings, The Third Age Xbox

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HarkA.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    Lord of the Rings meets Final Fantasy. If you don't like turn based RPGs with random encounters then don't buy it.
  2. BillyC.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    One of the best lotr games i have played.
  3. DanTheSpeakerman
    Nov 22, 2004
    9
    A fun ride through Middle Earth. I would almost consider this more of an action game with RPG elements than a straight RPG. EA really did a job on this one technically, immersing you in Middle Earth's beauty and treachery with outstanding graphics and perfect sound/music. If you roll into this with the right expectations and love LOTR, you should really enjoy this.
  4. Clicks
    Apr 11, 2005
    2
    Possibly the most boring "RPG" of all times: imagine a turnbased RPG but without almost every RPG element: NO cities/towns, NO shops, NO character interaction, NO story (you just follow the real fellowship and participate in their story but afterwards-LAME) NO conversational options, NO choices to make, EXTREMELY linear. This is just a turnbased Dungeon crawler. Even the horrible Possibly the most boring "RPG" of all times: imagine a turnbased RPG but without almost every RPG element: NO cities/towns, NO shops, NO character interaction, NO story (you just follow the real fellowship and participate in their story but afterwards-LAME) NO conversational options, NO choices to make, EXTREMELY linear. This is just a turnbased Dungeon crawler. Even the horrible Fallout:Brotherhood of steel had more RPG elements. AVOID! Expand
  5. RazlugA.
    Aug 7, 2005
    0
    Ever play a game where u want to throw it away 2 minutes in? i felt that i played knights of te old republic and i played this kotor was at leest 3 million times better.
  6. EdM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Monotonous with no character interaction. Cut away scenes narrated nicely by Gandalf which barely fit the story being told and are often out of order. Wait for KOTOR II.
  7. NathanH.
    May 27, 2005
    8
    The game does faithfully recreate Tolkein's Middle Earth and the graphics are nice. On the other hand, the game seems limited for an RPG, especially one based on FFX. Since I am a huge LOTR fan, I enjoyed the game and would recommend it to other fans but for anyone else I would recommend Final Fantasy X over this game.
  8. ChrisW.
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    As a long-time LOTR fan, I was sure this was a guaranteed good game; boy, was I wrong! The turn-based combat is incredibly boring and repetitive, the graphics are weak, and the characters are not even Tolkien's! Sacrilege! A shallow, gutless rip-off of a classic tale.
  9. MattP.
    Dec 8, 2004
    8
    Kinda whimsical, but over all very fun.
  10. J.S.
    Jan 27, 2005
    5
    Tolkien would roll over in his grave if he knew how far fetched his universe had been stretched. Over the top effects and poor writing make this a "must not have" for any true fan. Gameplay and graphics are average.
  11. PeteC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    I personally thought that this was a pretty fun game. The non-storyline inclusion of characters was inventive nad i thought that the combat was good however the larger fights could get very very repetitive. The graphics definatlely could have been better. People say this is an RPG when its more of a cross between an RPG and an advenutre game. Overall i liked this game. good addition to I personally thought that this was a pretty fun game. The non-storyline inclusion of characters was inventive nad i thought that the combat was good however the larger fights could get very very repetitive. The graphics definatlely could have been better. People say this is an RPG when its more of a cross between an RPG and an advenutre game. Overall i liked this game. good addition to the lord of the rings videogames. Expand
  12. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2004
    8
    Pretty cool rpg. almost repetitive game. nice graphics.
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    7
    A moderately fun turn-based RPG that felt somewhat held back from reaching its full potential. It was fun to follow just behind the fellowship's great adventure and see some of the sights of Middle-Earth, but I feel it could have been more successful if it had been designed as a real-time hack and slash game (such as Lord of the Rings: Return of the King) rather than the turn-based randomA moderately fun turn-based RPG that felt somewhat held back from reaching its full potential. It was fun to follow just behind the fellowship's great adventure and see some of the sights of Middle-Earth, but I feel it could have been more successful if it had been designed as a real-time hack and slash game (such as Lord of the Rings: Return of the King) rather than the turn-based random encounter engine. Still a good game though. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#36 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#30 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. AceGamez
    80
    A stylish RPG that authentically represents Middle Earth from the book and the film trilogy. Whilst the gameplay is both enjoyable and addictive, it is also very traditional in style and does nothing at all to further the genre.
  2. It's too easy. Yes, there's a Hard mode, and Evil mode if you can be bothered to play through it that many times, but if you've got a solid grounding in role-playing games, you'll walk through it.
  3. games(TM)
    70
    Sadly, the adventure itself is far too linear; there's little in the way of side-quests, and you have no freedom over where you go or what you do. If you can overlook this, though, The Third Age does mix a neat battle system with a great franchise to provide a surprisingly enjoyable adventure. [Dec 2004, p.107]