The Thing Xbox

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonH.
    Oct 8, 2002
    7
    A good game, excellent graphics and a lot of puzzle solving.
  2. FernandoA.
    Sep 22, 2002
    9
    This is a great game and is better that its ps2 counterpart. Also, better adicting game not a buy though. Better to rent because it is too short. I beat it in less than a week in normal difficulty.
  3. TarikT.
    Sep 25, 2002
    2
    This game really sucks, terrible story good puzzles, but probobaly one of the worst combat systems i have ever come across. Yea the combat system really brings the game down 8 points, basically all you do is shoot the aliens and then use your flame thrower, it may seem cool at first but it actually gets exteremly lame. This is a good rental if you were a fan of the movie the thing, which This game really sucks, terrible story good puzzles, but probobaly one of the worst combat systems i have ever come across. Yea the combat system really brings the game down 8 points, basically all you do is shoot the aliens and then use your flame thrower, it may seem cool at first but it actually gets exteremly lame. This is a good rental if you were a fan of the movie the thing, which i must say was sooo dope, i loved the movie. If not you should not waste your money on junk like this. Expand
  4. JussiL.
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    I give it a good 8. it's great and really manages to catch the movie feeling quite well. I enjoyed playing the thing but some issues dropped points. for example when you die you have to go to mainframe to load your last save and the game doesn't save between levels so it's frustrating to automatically hit the main menu button when you should have restarted the level. ingame I give it a good 8. it's great and really manages to catch the movie feeling quite well. I enjoyed playing the thing but some issues dropped points. for example when you die you have to go to mainframe to load your last save and the game doesn't save between levels so it's frustrating to automatically hit the main menu button when you should have restarted the level. ingame everything is just fine, the trust factor is interesting and could have been in bigger role. the small things were frustrating in numbers and in challenge. less monsters with more challenge would have been better. also the player is unable to move when in FPS mode, which was stupid in my opinion. overally, really good game with minor mistakes, which don't spoil the experience at all. Expand
  5. JosephW.
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    Great game, but could have been so much more, I don't believe they took full advantage of the trust and who can you trust thing. Also I didn't like most of the bosses I fought, it was a tad cheesy when they tried to mix strategy type gameplay in an action game. Who the hell thought that it would be fun? To fight the thing bosses as in using intelligence than using action?
  6. AlexB.
    Oct 22, 2002
    10
    This is a game u should get because it will scare u to sh#t. never play this game at night. some parts are a little hard AT TIMES but very fun. but sometimes your squad will blow their heads off but its all good.very very addicting. i wish u could slow down time like in max payne. DONT BUY THIS GAME IF U ARE A PUSSY. IF U ARE U WILL HATE IT AND MAYBE TRY TO BLOW YOUR HEAD OFF LIKE THAT GUYThis is a game u should get because it will scare u to sh#t. never play this game at night. some parts are a little hard AT TIMES but very fun. but sometimes your squad will blow their heads off but its all good.very very addicting. i wish u could slow down time like in max payne. DONT BUY THIS GAME IF U ARE A PUSSY. IF U ARE U WILL HATE IT AND MAYBE TRY TO BLOW YOUR HEAD OFF LIKE THAT GUY THAT GAVE THIS GAME A 2..... i hope u liked my report. Expand
  7. JamesH.
    Dec 31, 2003
    7
    Based on the idea behind the sci-fi, horror film of the same name, The Thing picks up the plot some 20 years after the end of the film. The designers have attempted to re-create the same kind of edgy, are they The Thing or aren't they?, tension by developing a kind of trust/fear team system. You can gain trust by killing monsters or performing a blood test on yourself, however your Based on the idea behind the sci-fi, horror film of the same name, The Thing picks up the plot some 20 years after the end of the film. The designers have attempted to re-create the same kind of edgy, are they The Thing or aren't they?, tension by developing a kind of trust/fear team system. You can gain trust by killing monsters or performing a blood test on yourself, however your team mates will cease to help you or even fight you if they lose trust in you (i.e dont give them a gun/ammo or shoot them). Whilst this is a really nice idea in principle it actually fails to re-create the tension of the film as almost everyone you meet will turn into the thing once they have fulfilled their use in the game. This takes the tension away in my opinion and the lack of any meaningful NPC interaction means that you are never really surprised or shocked when a team-mate 'changes'. That all said, this is still an enjoyable game with a story arc not dissimilar to Half Life. In spite of a few quibbles, this game held my interest all the way through. It has limited replay value though so you may want to consider renting or buying it used. Expand
  8. NickV.
    Apr 16, 2004
    7
    Going into this game i feared the worst. a licensed game, team play and that look that says trouble. but give it a chance and the thing will be there. first thing that showed me that was the incredibly realistic voice acting and an amazing faithfulness to the movie. however its not all peaches and cream. the difficulty cant make up its mind, one minutes its cakewalk easy the next it hairGoing into this game i feared the worst. a licensed game, team play and that look that says trouble. but give it a chance and the thing will be there. first thing that showed me that was the incredibly realistic voice acting and an amazing faithfulness to the movie. however its not all peaches and cream. the difficulty cant make up its mind, one minutes its cakewalk easy the next it hair pulling hard and with such an emphasis on team play there isnt much of it. it dosent help that when your not with a team your either fighting enoying crackshot humans or extremly frustating boss battles(which odly dont have any medpacks to pick up after they die.) however if you have the patience the thing will definetly give you a good time! Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Given the importance of the flamethrower, the fire effects are splendid and are consistent with excellent lighting throughout.
  2. It packs a good measure of original gameplay concepts; it just suffers a few missteps that keep it from ranking in the upper echelon of Xbox titles. [Winter 2002, p.95]
  3. The voiceovers are also crushingly generic, featuring the kind of stereotypical scripts that gamers ought to be well and truly sick of by now.