The Thing Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While investigating the enigmatic deaths of American scientists in the Antarctic, a military rescue team encounters a strange shape-shifting alien life-form that assumes the appearance of the people it kills. As the team leader, you must forget everything you ever learned about obliteratingWhile investigating the enigmatic deaths of American scientists in the Antarctic, a military rescue team encounters a strange shape-shifting alien life-form that assumes the appearance of the people it kills. As the team leader, you must forget everything you ever learned about obliterating aliens simply with a barrage of violent ammunition--this monster is difficult to see, hard to kill, and seemingly impossible to evade. In the midst of this lurking terror, you must convince your squad to cooperate and complete tasks essential to both the success of the mission and your own survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Incredibly atmospheric (it makes great use of flickering lights, icy landscapes, and foreboding corridors) without skimping on the screams, The Thing is a terrifying battle to the finish.
  2. A good game that isn’t ground-breaking; however, it does add some interesting considerations with the Trust and Fear of your squad-mates and it creates a terrific atmosphere.
  3. By far the most unique and interesting portion of The Thing is the controls and gameplay.
  4. 80
    Like a truly interactive horror movie, The Thing unfolds at a suspenseful pace...One of the most unique and compelling story-driven games to hit console systems in some time.
  5. Given the importance of the flamethrower, the fire effects are splendid and are consistent with excellent lighting throughout.
  6. The right mixture of intrigue, fright, and gore make for the best survival/horror game currently out for the Xbox.
  7. Its focus is clunky, and the disparate connection to your teammates sabotages the elements that game does get right. [Aug 2002, p.71]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. AlexB.
    Oct 22, 2002
    10
    This is a game u should get because it will scare u to sh#t. never play this game at night. some parts are a little hard AT TIMES but veryThis is a game u should get because it will scare u to sh#t. never play this game at night. some parts are a little hard AT TIMES but very fun. but sometimes your squad will blow their heads off but its all good.very very addicting. i wish u could slow down time like in max payne. DONT BUY THIS GAME IF U ARE A PUSSY. IF U ARE U WILL HATE IT AND MAYBE TRY TO BLOW YOUR HEAD OFF LIKE THAT GUY THAT GAVE THIS GAME A 2..... i hope u liked my report. Expand
  2. FernandoA.
    Sep 22, 2002
    9
    This is a great game and is better that its ps2 counterpart. Also, better adicting game not a buy though. Better to rent because it is too This is a great game and is better that its ps2 counterpart. Also, better adicting game not a buy though. Better to rent because it is too short. I beat it in less than a week in normal difficulty. Expand
  3. JosephW.
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    Great game, but could have been so much more, I don't believe they took full advantage of the trust and who can you trust thing. Also I Great game, but could have been so much more, I don't believe they took full advantage of the trust and who can you trust thing. Also I didn't like most of the bosses I fought, it was a tad cheesy when they tried to mix strategy type gameplay in an action game. Who the hell thought that it would be fun? To fight the thing bosses as in using intelligence than using action? Collapse
  4. SimonH.
    Oct 8, 2002
    7
    A good game, excellent graphics and a lot of puzzle solving.
  5. NickV.
    Apr 16, 2004
    7
    Going into this game i feared the worst. a licensed game, team play and that look that says trouble. but give it a chance and the thing willGoing into this game i feared the worst. a licensed game, team play and that look that says trouble. but give it a chance and the thing will be there. first thing that showed me that was the incredibly realistic voice acting and an amazing faithfulness to the movie. however its not all peaches and cream. the difficulty cant make up its mind, one minutes its cakewalk easy the next it hair pulling hard and with such an emphasis on team play there isnt much of it. it dosent help that when your not with a team your either fighting enoying crackshot humans or extremly frustating boss battles(which odly dont have any medpacks to pick up after they die.) however if you have the patience the thing will definetly give you a good time! Expand
  6. JamesH.
    Dec 31, 2003
    7
    Based on the idea behind the sci-fi, horror film of the same name, The Thing picks up the plot some 20 years after the end of the film. The Based on the idea behind the sci-fi, horror film of the same name, The Thing picks up the plot some 20 years after the end of the film. The designers have attempted to re-create the same kind of edgy, are they The Thing or aren't they?, tension by developing a kind of trust/fear team system. You can gain trust by killing monsters or performing a blood test on yourself, however your team mates will cease to help you or even fight you if they lose trust in you (i.e dont give them a gun/ammo or shoot them). Whilst this is a really nice idea in principle it actually fails to re-create the tension of the film as almost everyone you meet will turn into the thing once they have fulfilled their use in the game. This takes the tension away in my opinion and the lack of any meaningful NPC interaction means that you are never really surprised or shocked when a team-mate 'changes'. That all said, this is still an enjoyable game with a story arc not dissimilar to Half Life. In spite of a few quibbles, this game held my interest all the way through. It has limited replay value though so you may want to consider renting or buying it used. Expand
  7. TarikT.
    Sep 25, 2002
    2
    This game really sucks, terrible story good puzzles, but probobaly one of the worst combat systems i have ever come across. Yea the combat This game really sucks, terrible story good puzzles, but probobaly one of the worst combat systems i have ever come across. Yea the combat system really brings the game down 8 points, basically all you do is shoot the aliens and then use your flame thrower, it may seem cool at first but it actually gets exteremly lame. This is a good rental if you were a fan of the movie the thing, which i must say was sooo dope, i loved the movie. If not you should not waste your money on junk like this. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews