Thief: Deadly Shadows Xbox

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 4 out of 13
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 11, 2017
    4
    On pourrait grossièrement le résumer à un Splinter Cell au Moyen Age, un Moyen Age alternatif avec quelques teintes discrètes de magie et de technologie (Garrett a tout un lot de gadgets comme son oeil mécanique, ses flèches à mousse et à eau, les bombes éblouissantes...). Ambiance très sombre garantie (et réussie) à la manière du film "Le Nom de la Rose". L'histoire n'est pas avare enOn pourrait grossièrement le résumer à un Splinter Cell au Moyen Age, un Moyen Age alternatif avec quelques teintes discrètes de magie et de technologie (Garrett a tout un lot de gadgets comme son oeil mécanique, ses flèches à mousse et à eau, les bombes éblouissantes...). Ambiance très sombre garantie (et réussie) à la manière du film "Le Nom de la Rose". L'histoire n'est pas avare en complots et les missions maintiennent un intérêt très intrigant.

    Heureusement qu'on peut sauvegarder quand on veut, car le jeu est d'une difficulté plutôt élevée. Elevés aussi les temps de chargement (!) : on a le temps de couler plusieurs bronzes. C'est très correct graphiquement mais ça rame souvent. Pas rédhibitoire puisque qu'en vue à la troisième personne, on peut bien appréhender l'environnement et ses (nombreuses) menaces... et la maniabilité au pad est sans souci.

    Reste que l'ensemble du jeu est d'une rare lourdeur avec pour seules cartes des gribouillis d'un enfant de 3 ans. Quand on ajoute à cela les niveaux qu'il faut explorer au pixel près pour ne pas rater un levier insidieusement caché ou un livre qui donne une information capitale pour la suite, on ne peut que lever les yeux au ciel et soupirer de lassitude. Si les Splinter Cell étaient parfois crispants, ce n'est rien en comparaison de ce Dark Project 3 qui en dépit d'évidentes qualités d'infiltration se fout de votre gueule en souriant sur tout le reste.

    Proche de la fin et ayant raté un passage secret -LE passage secret- j'ai décidé d'arrêter les frais : tourner en rond dans tout le niveau en essayant d'échapper à des machins qu'on ne peut pas tuer, ni arrêter (oui, oui, des Terminators déjà à l'époque...) ce n'est pas du jeu : juste une inutile perte de temps. Dommage quand même.
    Expand
  2. StephanK.
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    All I can say is...holy crap...this game blew me away. From it's great graphics and lighting system to the wonderful sound, Thief is one heluva game. And many people will disagree with me, but Thief leaves Splinter Cell (even though it is a great game) in the dust.
  3. RobinH.
    Aug 15, 2004
    9
    Thief 3 is a stealth game that differs from Splinter Cell in many aspects. You are Garrett, a master thief and must steal from the guys in The City. You've got a lot more freedom, can buy your own gear and have a city like in GTA. Bad point vs. Splinter Cell: PT is that it doesn't have (XBL) multiplayer. Excellent Game!
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    Thief just got both better and more addicting!!!
  5. BenjaminH.
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    Ignore all the misdirected FUD that Dakidski and others have posted about this great game. Seldom have I ever been so captivated by a game. As a casual gamer, I don't devote more than a few hours a week to gameplay, so I appreciate quality more than quantity. Thief plays wonderfully on the Xbox with the very rare exception of a few slowdowns, and is very appealing visually. The Ignore all the misdirected FUD that Dakidski and others have posted about this great game. Seldom have I ever been so captivated by a game. As a casual gamer, I don't devote more than a few hours a week to gameplay, so I appreciate quality more than quantity. Thief plays wonderfully on the Xbox with the very rare exception of a few slowdowns, and is very appealing visually. The controls are great, and while they don't meet the standards of say, Splinter Cel, they're more than adequate. The sounds and atmosphere are blended nicely, and the voice acting is top-notch. I get great amounts of satisfaction from clubbing a thug on the back of the head and dragging his body around. True, things get a bit repetitive toward the end (enter place, steal all stuff, leave, repeat) but the quality of gameplay more than compensates for the monotony. Somehow, it just never gets old! This is definitely one of the first games an Xbox owner should buy, if you don't already have it on PC. Expand
  6. GaryC.
    Jun 12, 2004
    9
    A great game,yes there are some frame rate issues but the core gameplay is fantastic.
  7. G.Cayton
    May 31, 2004
    8
    Very happy with the purchase. Xbox owner and long time PC gamer. I bought the Xbox so I didn't have to keep upgrading my PC. Anyways, seems to capture the spirit of the last Thief games. Definitely feels like a more single threaded (steal steal steal) game than Deus Ex: IW was. Great atmosphere. So far, pretty good storyline and gameplay. Not as ticked off about this game as I was Very happy with the purchase. Xbox owner and long time PC gamer. I bought the Xbox so I didn't have to keep upgrading my PC. Anyways, seems to capture the spirit of the last Thief games. Definitely feels like a more single threaded (steal steal steal) game than Deus Ex: IW was. Great atmosphere. So far, pretty good storyline and gameplay. Not as ticked off about this game as I was about how consolish Deus Ex felt. Same small levels, but... they work better in a medieval castle setting. Good game. Worth the money. Very happy with it. Great controls. Expand
  8. JuanR.
    May 30, 2004
    10
    This game is sooo worth the money, the story is awesome!
  9. Dakidski
    May 28, 2004
    0
    I will punish all game developers that develop shoddy ports with bad framerates, by not ever buying any of their products again. I will never forget or forgive Ion Storm for Deus Ex 2 on Xbox.

Awards & Rankings

#59 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Stands as a stark contrast to this normal guns-a-blazin' attitude, due to its meticulous stealth-based gameplay that demands patience, strategy and more than a little ingenuity on the gamer's part. This uniqueness of gameplay combined with great presentation and engrossing story makes Deadly Shadows a true gem.
  2. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    If you're willing to stick it out through a couple of slow-paced early levels, it quickly hooks you and won't let go. [Aug 2004, p.95]
  3. There's something so pleasingly honed about the overall structure of Deadly Shadows and how that integrates with the gameplay mechanic - and in terms of getting your money's worth, there are few games that suck you in quite as much.