User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Timesplitters 2 is quite simply the greatest FPS ever made. They certainly do not make shooters like this anymore, absolute masterpiece. Perfect. 10/10
  2. JohnD.
    Feb 6, 2005
    0
    Quite honestly one of the worst designed games I've ever played. Bought it because it scored fairly high with the critics, including one site listing it among one of the best coop games around. But it's absolutely brutal! Story is weak, graphics and music are lame, control interface is awkward, and game play is awful. Coop play is ridiculous... if one person dies, they Quite honestly one of the worst designed games I've ever played. Bought it because it scored fairly high with the critics, including one site listing it among one of the best coop games around. But it's absolutely brutal! Story is weak, graphics and music are lame, control interface is awkward, and game play is awful. Coop play is ridiculous... if one person dies, they CAN'T be respawned, and either have to wait until the other person dies or else finishes off the level. Worse, that usually means you have to start the level all over again (best case scenario there's ONE checkpoint for the level you can restart from). I can't figure why so many critics rated it so highly, but comparisons to Halo are definitely not warranted.... Stay away from this turkey! If you still want to check it out, rent it before you buy it or you'll be sorry. Expand
  3. MetalInc
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    To compare this game to Halo is like saying an orange is different than an apple. Of course they are different. Halo is more realism, TS2 is more arcade action. In Halo you can run around and litterally hide from your enemies until you pop them from behind....TS2 you can try that...but with the speed of movement and the way the maps are created make this much harder to do. Run shoot, duck To compare this game to Halo is like saying an orange is different than an apple. Of course they are different. Halo is more realism, TS2 is more arcade action. In Halo you can run around and litterally hide from your enemies until you pop them from behind....TS2 you can try that...but with the speed of movement and the way the maps are created make this much harder to do. Run shoot, duck and pray is what TS2 is all about. We had alot of fun with this one multiplayer but it gets even better when a system link is activated....pure carnage. Expand
  4. Don
    Oct 17, 2002
    10
    EW..is on crack. This is a video game.. not "War and Peace". The gang from Golden-Eye have done it again.. with a beautiful and highly polished FPS extravagnaza..that is easily the ebst FPS on Gamecube or Ps2 and even rivals the mighty Halo. Taking a totally different visual approacg, Free Radical has projected their own twisted sense of humor into the project in many ways..such as death EW..is on crack. This is a video game.. not "War and Peace". The gang from Golden-Eye have done it again.. with a beautiful and highly polished FPS extravagnaza..that is easily the ebst FPS on Gamecube or Ps2 and even rivals the mighty Halo. Taking a totally different visual approacg, Free Radical has projected their own twisted sense of humor into the project in many ways..such as death match modes where the last place person is helped out by a squad of monkeys with guns..to the enver before tried "Shrink" mode..where your size varies based on your ranking. In this mode.. the biggewst baddest player onthe map. will LITERALLY be the BIGGEST character on the map as well. With tons of secrets and unlockables, 4 player split screen, 16 player via system link, 2 player co-op, a built in map maker and Xbox HD the fun never has to end! Expand
  5. AkhilK.
    Mar 9, 2003
    10
    Don't listen to anyone wo says this is a bad game. if you like FPSs or action games in general, you'll find that this is the best value ever for money!!
  6. MattT.
    Jul 23, 2004
    0
    I was expecting great things of this game - the 2nd i purchased for my xbox after Halo. I must have read 20 reviews hailing Time Splitters 2 as the best FPS ever. . . was i playing the same game? the graphics, the sound, the animation, the level design, weaponry - but above all the actual controls and aiming system were so poor i felt i had been tricked of my money. I took my copy back to I was expecting great things of this game - the 2nd i purchased for my xbox after Halo. I must have read 20 reviews hailing Time Splitters 2 as the best FPS ever. . . was i playing the same game? the graphics, the sound, the animation, the level design, weaponry - but above all the actual controls and aiming system were so poor i felt i had been tricked of my money. I took my copy back to the shop the very next morning. Take note, this is no 'goldeneye beater', this isnt even as good as turok - and no way comes close to Halo. I just dont understand how anyone can enjoy this badly designed, hurried and average looking waste of time. Are you so desperate to believe the hype that you convince yourselves this is fun? On the Xbox controller, with its twin thumbpads i would never have expected to have to use the same thumbpad to move and aim. . . unbelievable. If you like first person shooters - good ones - then this is definitely not for you. Expand
  7. JoshW.
    Jun 3, 2006
    0
    Worst coop game i've ever played!
  8. KurtR.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly the best shooting game ever. The story is deep, challenging, and addictive. The multiplayer has a ton of different game modes to offer. The aiming can be improved but its over criticized and actually deserves praise for the realisticness (its impossible to hold a gun COMPLETELY still, so the aim marker is moving). I've been waiting for a game like this for a long Quite possibly the best shooting game ever. The story is deep, challenging, and addictive. The multiplayer has a ton of different game modes to offer. The aiming can be improved but its over criticized and actually deserves praise for the realisticness (its impossible to hold a gun COMPLETELY still, so the aim marker is moving). I've been waiting for a game like this for a long time... give this game a chance and it won't disappoint. Expand
  9. John
    Oct 26, 2002
    9
    There are two games here: the single/combo-player story and the multiplayer game. I give the story game an 8 (fairly standard and not surprising; graphics and gameplay are so-so. Although 2 player co-op mode is an idea more games should follow) but give the multiplayer a 10 (incredible variety, many innovative ideas, bots, multiple characters, a mapmaker, customizable levels). This game There are two games here: the single/combo-player story and the multiplayer game. I give the story game an 8 (fairly standard and not surprising; graphics and gameplay are so-so. Although 2 player co-op mode is an idea more games should follow) but give the multiplayer a 10 (incredible variety, many innovative ideas, bots, multiple characters, a mapmaker, customizable levels). This game sets the standard for multiplayer FPS's, and I hope it will lead the competition to follow. I'll likely finish the story levels in a week and never play them again. But I'll certainly keep it for the multiplayer aspect, which will enable my pals to play against (or with) bots in many different missions and many different maps that can be customized to our liking. That alone makes this a "keeper". Expand
  10. M.D.
    Mar 31, 2003
    9
    Added features of Arcade mode, and Challenge mode make this the best replay value out there. Yes single player does lack story line but who really cares about the story after a few days anyway. Aiming took time to get use to but what good game doesn't have challenges. Overall one of the best games out there.
  11. Uter
    Jun 16, 2003
    9
    It's not perfect, but there's a lot of fun to be had here in both it's single and multiplayer gameplay. In single player, it'll take a person a long time to unlock everything. And since the challenge is rather high, you may never finish the game. In multiplayer there's so many great modes. Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Domination, Shrink, Regeneration, and others. It's not perfect, but there's a lot of fun to be had here in both it's single and multiplayer gameplay. In single player, it'll take a person a long time to unlock everything. And since the challenge is rather high, you may never finish the game. In multiplayer there's so many great modes. Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Domination, Shrink, Regeneration, and others. The negatives are 1. The story is pretty lame, 2. The characters animate very unnaturally, 3. Story mode could use more length, 4. There's no online play as was promised, 5. Occasionally the goals are unclear in challenge mode, 6. The stats aren't nearly as detailed as I would have liked - especially considering it forces you to enter your identity if you want to play. To sum, it's a really good game but could have been super awesome with some relatively minor tweaks. Expand
  12. MatthewS.
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    The original Timesplitters had awesome multiplayer but the single player options were laughable. TS2 brings back and improves on the multiplayer mode and adds a massive single player story mode. This game lets you play as about 120 characters once they are all unlocked and gives you a bundle of levels to use them on. You play in areas ranging from the wild west to a robot factory. The The original Timesplitters had awesome multiplayer but the single player options were laughable. TS2 brings back and improves on the multiplayer mode and adds a massive single player story mode. This game lets you play as about 120 characters once they are all unlocked and gives you a bundle of levels to use them on. You play in areas ranging from the wild west to a robot factory. The story mode takes you through several levels spanning different time periods. These areas include Siberia, Wild West, Planet X, Notre Dame and more. TS2 also has a co-op mode in which 2 players play through the game's story. As if the levels in the game arent enough you can make your own for both vs and story. If you want a real massive deathmatch hook up 4 systems and play with 16 players over system link. While not as good as Halo this game is still a great buy and is worthy of a 9. Expand
  13. Pecetpocot
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    Wow...what a beautiful games...the gameplays are stunning and fun...go and buy this game..now!!
  14. ChadC.
    Mar 2, 2004
    5
    This game is alright playing alone, but playing with a friend in co-op sucks. It is hard to tell who is who and if one person dies on co-op there is no way to come back to life. When you die, you just sit and watch your friend pass the rest of the level by him/her self. BORING!
  15. Timmy
    Jun 3, 2004
    10
    I must say if you like a game with plot then this ins't that good but its a great multiplayer game thats good good at partys and the like.
  16. Alex
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    This may not be the best game on the market right now, but it still is one hell of a trip. nice graphics accompany a smooth shooter with some nice bits of subtle humor thrown in. the Multiplayer rivals that of Halo for pace, and has about 10x the functionality. the mapmaker ensures that you don't get bored with just the same old set of maps, even though they are all excellentlyThis may not be the best game on the market right now, but it still is one hell of a trip. nice graphics accompany a smooth shooter with some nice bits of subtle humor thrown in. the Multiplayer rivals that of Halo for pace, and has about 10x the functionality. the mapmaker ensures that you don't get bored with just the same old set of maps, even though they are all excellently desgined. an absolute must for any hard-core FPS fanatic. Expand
  17. EstherE.
    Apr 29, 2006
    0
    This greatly overrated exercise in frustration is was not worth the ten bucks I spent on it. If you are a fan of fps, _do not buy this game_. The save system is horrible, which was likely intentional to force chronic replay of the wee maps. The professional reviewers must have been graft-laden fanboys.
  18. SuperFreak
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    The best FPS ever. No question about it.
  19. NadeemI.
    Dec 9, 2002
    0
    This game gives me motion sickness after playing the game for more than three minutes so unfortunatley I am unable to give this game any suitable rating.
  20. ZakW.
    Nov 26, 2003
    9
    An excellent game all around. Very nice single player that almost makes the Goldeneye days return. All of the extras and the ungodly amount of unlockables make Timesplitters 2 one of those games you don't trade-in.
  21. JustinM.
    Feb 14, 2004
    8
    Pretty good game, but plot sucks.
  22. GabeR.
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    Great game... the story may not be up to par .. but with great 007 goldeneye like controls and fun muti-player I would have to say that this is one of my favorite games on X-box and PS2 if you like this game.. I say play red dead revolver!!!
  23. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be fair Timesplitters 2 was a lot fun with friends as there is lots to do on this game.

    make your own levels challenge your friends at them make a story mode through them only for 1 player though
    cool sound/music in some levels that are not annoying to listen to
    plenty of modes that's what we like about games if they got modes and well this game has plenty must be like over 12 modes to pick
    it has a story mode in it for two players
    controls yeah they are kind of easy to know what type of button is meant to press

    After all this Timesplitters 2 was my fave game with my friends we just enjoyed the levels, the characters and the modes and virus mode too.

    The game was to look like a Goldeneye type game with fun with friends.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A nicely balanced, infinitely controllable and visually distinctive ride that simply feels right. [Fall 2002, p.100]
  2. It is quite simply the best multiplayer value you can find anywhere. That's including the all mighty "Halo."
  3. As if the a great single player experience wasn’t enough there are some incredible multiplayer games happening here.