User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 4 out of 57

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dakidskia
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    Sweet sweet framerate.
  2. FabioM.
    Jul 7, 2006
    9
    This is a really good game, the graphics r excellent,SPECIALLY with a 40" lcd hd tv (im notsaying the brand, but its the best tv on the market) i think its the best military game ever. Your soldiers r kind of stupid, they just jump in front of u when your shooting! There are milions of vietcongs and u are only in 4! The weapons r good, besie the grenaes that get thrown about 50 feet. all This is a really good game, the graphics r excellent,SPECIALLY with a 40" lcd hd tv (im notsaying the brand, but its the best tv on the market) i think its the best military game ever. Your soldiers r kind of stupid, they just jump in front of u when your shooting! There are milions of vietcongs and u are only in 4! The weapons r good, besie the grenaes that get thrown about 50 feet. all the rest is AMAZING! Expand
  3. SeymourButtz
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    If you like Rainbow 6 III, you'll love GR2. The team is a lot smarter than Ding's team mates. The backgrounds and environments are extreamly realistic. check out the water you'll sware its real. Game play is not easy and ordering teams to flank left or right by using your headset communicator is emersion on a grand scale. The online games are fun and you communicate with If you like Rainbow 6 III, you'll love GR2. The team is a lot smarter than Ding's team mates. The backgrounds and environments are extreamly realistic. check out the water you'll sware its real. Game play is not easy and ordering teams to flank left or right by using your headset communicator is emersion on a grand scale. The online games are fun and you communicate with the 16 other players during the entire game and lobby. (unlike the mess calles Star Wars Battlefront). Highly recommend as a purchase. Expand
  4. PaulJ.
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Awesome game! This adds the depth and realism that I was looking for on Ghost Recon! Tremendous graphics, realism and AI make this as close to combat as I can imagine without risking my life or fixing bayonettes!!!
  5. MichaelC.
    Jan 2, 2005
    9
    While it definitely breaks away from the theme of the first Ghost Recon, GR2 stands as one of the best third-person shooters to grace the XBox console. The squad-based dynamics are remarkably smooth, and work much better than any of the prior Clancy games. In general, controls are nice and tight. Graphics are beefed up, but still have their flaws here and there. Character animation is While it definitely breaks away from the theme of the first Ghost Recon, GR2 stands as one of the best third-person shooters to grace the XBox console. The squad-based dynamics are remarkably smooth, and work much better than any of the prior Clancy games. In general, controls are nice and tight. Graphics are beefed up, but still have their flaws here and there. Character animation is still pretty lacking. The sound is great, and adds to the level of realism. Fans of the first GR might be a bit let down by some of the major changes, but, in general, shooter fans will be quite pleased with both the solo and multiplayer game modes. Expand
  6. TeddyS.
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    This game is really good, hard and fun.
  7. Jean-GuyL.
    Jan 20, 2005
    7
    As some previous critics have said, Ghost Recon 2 is kinda like GR1 meets Rainbow Six 3, but this is only partly true. The responsiveness of the weapons and the effects of the bullets hitting the terrorists just don't have the same feel as they do in the closer-quarters combat of RS3. Graphics are better in GR2, than GR1, but really not by much and I would say not as good as RS3. As some previous critics have said, Ghost Recon 2 is kinda like GR1 meets Rainbow Six 3, but this is only partly true. The responsiveness of the weapons and the effects of the bullets hitting the terrorists just don't have the same feel as they do in the closer-quarters combat of RS3. Graphics are better in GR2, than GR1, but really not by much and I would say not as good as RS3. What really ticks me off about this game, and prevents me from giving it an 8, is a serious flaw in multiplayer co-operative mode. Playing "mission" or "story" mode with a friend is becomming an ever-increasing feature of FPS' (see Time Splitters 2, RS3 Black Arrow, MOH Risinig Sun). GR2 also has this great feature; but my beef is that there's no way to save the game or regain health while playing 2-person cooperative mode. This defect makes the already high challenge level, which is good, unnecessarily difficult. It took my friend and I about 8-10 hours to co-operatively finish RS3 Black Arrow, but after 5 hours on the first level of GR2, "airfield," we had just barely made it to the end of the stage after countless restarts from the beginning. GR2 is a great improvemnet over its precursor, but is no RS3. Try it, but be sure to rent it before you buy it. Expand
  8. JohnE.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Honestly, the best video game I've ever played. Incredibly realistic and addicting.
  9. ScottC.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Everyone told me this game was the best they have played.. As usual i didnt want to believe it..This game rocks! I've been looking for a team based game like this forever! love the play and the feel. It is by far the most real in game play! I've been very sad to see so many live games thqat are so weak coming out lately! This is a must buy.
  10. Josh
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    The most realistic military game ever.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2004
    10
    This game rocks! If you liked the original and Rainbow Six, you will love this game. Everything works well and the graphics will blow you away. It is also cool that you can finally blow up things like buildings and helicopters. I don't know what these early reviews are thinking, but it is worth the money. Thank you Red Storm!
  12. C.Branch
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite games so far. I am a big fan of the other Ghost Recon like Ghost Recon Island Thunder®. If you like gorilla fighting type games than you should buy this game right away.!!!
  13. BlueFalcon
    Dec 18, 2004
    8
    This game has the coolest war atmosphere since Full Spectrum Warrior (that game had the best war atmosphere ever). Except the difference with Ghost Recon, is that you actually get to control where your guys shoot. That alone makes it a better game than Full Spectrum Warrior. But a couple things hold it back from greatness. The ai is kinda dumb, and they always appear in spawned bunches. This game has the coolest war atmosphere since Full Spectrum Warrior (that game had the best war atmosphere ever). Except the difference with Ghost Recon, is that you actually get to control where your guys shoot. That alone makes it a better game than Full Spectrum Warrior. But a couple things hold it back from greatness. The ai is kinda dumb, and they always appear in spawned bunches. They also have crappy death animations. Maybe they're toned down to qualify for a teen rating. But there's really no excuse for looking so unnatural. Expand
  14. SimonP.
    Dec 4, 2004
    7
    I loved GR and Island Thunder for the strategic aspect. Loved Full Spectum for its revolutionary mechanics. I was expecting more of the same in GR 2 but they've changed it way to much. It is just another run and shoot game now. Too bad...Glad I only rented it. Bring back the strategic element please!!!
  15. ToddS.
    Dec 7, 2004
    9
    Wheres the blood? i thought the ghost recon series was supposed to be realistic.
  16. Brad
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    I've played many so called realistic shooters and this one has to be by far the best .....keep up the good work ubisoft.
  17. PhilL.
    Jan 7, 2005
    8
    Great Game. Some of the most addicting multiplayer out there. Graphics are much improved. All in all, a great break for those Halo 2 fans. (Albeit a short break).
  18. JohnG.
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    Great shooter. One gripe, though. When playing split screen, the messgaes that pop up take a huge amout of viewing area and always seem to happen when you are being attacked. Get the messages off the main viewing areas!
  19. Dave
    Jan 22, 2006
    0
    I'm still trying to figure out how many people on this board are getting paid to give this game high marks. Everyone seems to be focusing on the really cool graphics and combat realism. I have played GR and GR2. GR is about as close to tactical simulated squad combat as there ever was. It was all about being able to granularly control your team and GR allowed that functionality I'm still trying to figure out how many people on this board are getting paid to give this game high marks. Everyone seems to be focusing on the really cool graphics and combat realism. I have played GR and GR2. GR is about as close to tactical simulated squad combat as there ever was. It was all about being able to granularly control your team and GR allowed that functionality flawlessly. In GR2 your best chances for survival in single mode would be to frag your team first and go it alone. The AI in GR was fair but the AI in GR2 is horrid. I would not give this game to my worst enemy. Expand
  20. JoshuaB.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Im still trying to figure out what is wrong with Dave, you son of a bitch how could you give it a 0 the A I is way better that frecken GR1. The comands are much better and simplar then Gr1.
  21. EfeB.
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    I am a game veteran for over 20 years, and i dont know what the critics above were playing to give this game such low scores. simply put GR 2 blows any other shooting game away by a mile! comparisons to rainbow 3 is true, thank god. for, that is a good game too. but GR 2 really feels like a new generation xbox game, the graphics are simply mind blowing and the action is exactly what isI am a game veteran for over 20 years, and i dont know what the critics above were playing to give this game such low scores. simply put GR 2 blows any other shooting game away by a mile! comparisons to rainbow 3 is true, thank god. for, that is a good game too. but GR 2 really feels like a new generation xbox game, the graphics are simply mind blowing and the action is exactly what is promised, a realistic clancy game. the rag doll effects on bodies, explosion, guns, environments, missions...good god!...if you are wearing a hat, hold on to it. go buy this game, hell....get two and keep one still in package just in case for safe keeping!!! and you know what?...i played only the first level. if it was just one level...i would have still paid 50 bucks for it, its that good. i dont have live either...so, there is alot in this package folks, many, many forms of play...lone wolf is like rambo meets splinter cell...wow.....halo who? Expand
  22. ScottD.
    Dec 29, 2004
    8
    Well, I'm biased towards these types of games to begin with. So, naturally I love this game, but it does have flaws. To start, you people are nuts if you think GR2 has better graphics than Halo 2. The teammates on this game look great (and the over-the-shoulder view is a HUGE improvement), and I love the authentic weaponry, but the graphics for everything else is just mediocre. The Well, I'm biased towards these types of games to begin with. So, naturally I love this game, but it does have flaws. To start, you people are nuts if you think GR2 has better graphics than Halo 2. The teammates on this game look great (and the over-the-shoulder view is a HUGE improvement), and I love the authentic weaponry, but the graphics for everything else is just mediocre. The enemies do not look good at all. When you shoot an enemy, you don't even know that you've hit him until he sort of lays down. There's no blood, and theres really no rag doll effect either. The people on here that said this game has ragdoll effect need to check out Max Payne 2. Also, the explosions are pretty lame as well. For once, I'd like to see a game that accurately depicts an exploding tank. Hmmm.... lets see, what else... Oh, it sorta sucks that the sniper is a woman, but oh well. Also, reloading and switching weapons is a bit slow. These are supposed to be spec ops guys, surely they can perform a mag change or draw their sidearm faster than that!! The options for commanding your team could be a bit more intuitive as well (think SOCOM). Honeslty, I've jsut started playing this game so I will probably find a lot more things to nit-pick about. I just wish someone would pull everything together and make a COMPLETE spec-ops/milsim game for X-Box. Expand
  23. Alex
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    very fun, very fast pased, and extremely difficult. the really cool part is the realism with the technology and the tactics.
  24. JackRJC.
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    I have to say this game is so under-rated by gaming criitcs. As far as I'm concerned, GR2 is the best shooter game for the xbox (better that Halo2!). Very engaging , like playing in virtual combat scenes. The level of diffuculty of the game's stages actually add to its appeal and effect of realism. In real military gunfights, it only takes one bullet to kill or be killed. I have to say this game is so under-rated by gaming criitcs. As far as I'm concerned, GR2 is the best shooter game for the xbox (better that Halo2!). Very engaging , like playing in virtual combat scenes. The level of diffuculty of the game's stages actually add to its appeal and effect of realism. In real military gunfights, it only takes one bullet to kill or be killed. GR2's very realistic gameplay lets you experience the same kind of tense atmosphere. Unlike in Halo2 where you can charge forward with blazing guns and take out a dozen aliens.., in GR2 you always have to be steadfast , behind cover, just like in the real world. -- I guess UBIsoft opted not to show blood and gore in the game for marketing reasons .. but other than that , the game rocks. I almost wanna sign up in the army! Expand
  25. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 17, 2004
    10
    Except for the same targeting reticule and no blood, everything is light years better than any Ghost Recon before it. I guess there is no blood so parents will buy it for their kids around the holidays, but oh well, at least it still is great in every other way. Graphics are great, even better than Halo 2's since there is no glitching. If you want to believe Bungie and MS when they Except for the same targeting reticule and no blood, everything is light years better than any Ghost Recon before it. I guess there is no blood so parents will buy it for their kids around the holidays, but oh well, at least it still is great in every other way. Graphics are great, even better than Halo 2's since there is no glitching. If you want to believe Bungie and MS when they say the XBOX can't handle these style of graphics, normal mapping, that's fine. But all you, and they, have to do is play this and you can see that when TIME and EFFORT are put into a new graphics engine, instead all efforts being put into XBOX LIVE, it can turn out great with no glitching and pop-up. Sounds, animations and A.I. for friendlies and enemies is spot on. No need to worry if third person view is good or not, as it easily is better than only first person views could have been. It still has first person for any oldies that don't like change, but you don't see your gun like orginally planned. Four man team instead of two 3 man teams doesn't hurt gameplay like some thought it would. At least now I have something to play that feels polished and COMPLETELY FINISHED, unlike the rushed mess that was Halo 2. This entire game is great, and all it took was some effort put into the game itself instead of all efforts put into online modes, forgetting SP. Thank you Ubisoft, screw you MS and Bungie! Expand
  26. AaronB
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    I totally agree with Buried in the box (below). I love this game after only 2 levels. The graphics blow Halo2 (massive disappointment- the story is just tedious and glitchy) out of the water. Then you have Lone Wolf mode which is just awesome. If you liked the concept behind KillSwitch then you will be in heaven. I really enjoyed the first 2 GR's and there are some small issues I can I totally agree with Buried in the box (below). I love this game after only 2 levels. The graphics blow Halo2 (massive disappointment- the story is just tedious and glitchy) out of the water. Then you have Lone Wolf mode which is just awesome. If you liked the concept behind KillSwitch then you will be in heaven. I really enjoyed the first 2 GR's and there are some small issues I can totally overlook in the new game, mainly the enemies who die sitting up and the slightly iffy 'advance' option (just not used to it yet probably). This game totally rocks. ITS ALL ABOUT THE SINGLE PLAYER GAME AND STORY. THIS GAME HAS NAILED BOTH PERFECTLY. Haven't tried multiplayer yet but am sure it will be awesome as well- I'm just not that excited about multiplayer unless its LAN parties. Oh and by the way- I gave Men of Valor a 9 also. I have now finished it and it was great. I now mark it an 8. I did notice some of the AI issues second time through. Expand
  27. KentM.
    Nov 23, 2004
    9
    This game would be a perfect 10 in my book once they fix the Xbox Live bugs such as being dropped from a game, scrolling the Friends list resets to the top, disk error occuring when accessing the Freinds list and the Clan/Team support is missing. Oh and I would have hoped that they fixed the goofiness of the menus, for example just like in the original GR you can't tell who's This game would be a perfect 10 in my book once they fix the Xbox Live bugs such as being dropped from a game, scrolling the Friends list resets to the top, disk error occuring when accessing the Freinds list and the Clan/Team support is missing. Oh and I would have hoped that they fixed the goofiness of the menus, for example just like in the original GR you can't tell who's talking and they could have made switching squad colors when playing seige a lot easier. Annoying problems! Thankfully the gameplay and upgraded graphics saves the game bigtime, in my opinion. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 90
    The multiplayer is the best part of the game on or offline. The levels of co-op tension within the game is unmatched by any other title.
  2. "Ghost Recon" was not a bad game but what Red Storm have done this time around is definitely more action packed and the online play really tops it all off to make Ghost Recon 2 one of the best tactical shooters of the year, if not the best.
  3. The gameplay this time around is much more refined, and even more mainstream one could argue, in an effort to appeal to a broader range of gamers. The missions are much more hectic, intense and dynamic.