Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Island Thunder Xbox

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Aug 6, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobJ.
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    Who ever thinks this game sucks is horribly wrong, best game on LIVE since the original ghost recon.
  2. KillAEnvy
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    Since Ghost Was The Best game On live... We can Only imagine how Great this will be! Played the Demo & OMG, Graphics are way-better, Weapons are alot better, The 1-map was also Kool, ect. Can't wait!!!!! *Best Online Game*
  3. Greg
    Aug 20, 2003
    9
    I love this game to death! The only complaint I have about it is that there is no third-person view. I really liked that option in the "SOCOM: US Navy Seals"
  4. Hello
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    This game is great, that moron that said he beta tested a xbox game is an idiot, people dont beta test xbox games. and rainbow six 3 is nothing like this game.
  5. FSWMaster
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    This is a great piece of software. Probably the greatest since the first Ghost Recon. Rainbow 6 is all about moving indoors and trying to keep your bone-headed team mates from getting killed. They are nothing alike. Also the graphics were not re-done but do look better with less draw-in, the sound is still up there with the best and plenty of atmoshere, although the game is a little This is a great piece of software. Probably the greatest since the first Ghost Recon. Rainbow 6 is all about moving indoors and trying to keep your bone-headed team mates from getting killed. They are nothing alike. Also the graphics were not re-done but do look better with less draw-in, the sound is still up there with the best and plenty of atmoshere, although the game is a little short. Too bad Ghost Recon 2 won't be set on the events of the Middle East: that would make it as great as FSW or Close Combat, if not better. As for Greg, I know you were probably hung up on the lackluster PS2 with it's dead-ass graphics and sound hardware, as most PS2 geeks, I mean freaks, are, but please don't ever compare a good but arcadey PS2 "game" to any great XBOX "experience". In real life you don't see yourself from behind so first-person views will always be more realistic. Expand
  6. SimonT.
    Jul 8, 2004
    8
    Another merciless outing into the world of Tom Clancy's Ghost recon which plunges you deep into the hear of Cuba. This game offers a wide range of team members with the cool capacity of upgrading them as the game progresses not a bad game at all especially with online firefights and downloadable content via xbox live.
  7. Justin
    Aug 13, 2003
    10
    This Game Is Awesome!.....Whoever thinks this game Sucks, Can Go Back to playing Mario.....A++++++ Awesome
  8. BOrluk
    Aug 16, 2003
    10
    The best FPS for grown-ups. An absolutely fantasic and multi-hour addictive game. If you have Xbox Live! you have to play this game. A must have until we get a true sequel to the original Ghost Recon for Xbox.
  9. IainM.
    Sep 8, 2003
    8
    Too short compared to the first ghost recon,only 8 missions.it also seems easier as it only took me 6 hours to complete.i hear a lot of people going on about weather effects and lighting,but it all comes down to one thing....is it any good? i would say yes,the multiplayer on it is fun and can make the game last longer,also the fact that to unlock other characters you have specific targetToo short compared to the first ghost recon,only 8 missions.it also seems easier as it only took me 6 hours to complete.i hear a lot of people going on about weather effects and lighting,but it all comes down to one thing....is it any good? i would say yes,the multiplayer on it is fun and can make the game last longer,also the fact that to unlock other characters you have specific target to do so (i have only unlock 9 of the targets so far) which adds to replay value. having not payed it online i wont comment on that except to say if it is anywhere near as good as its previous game then it will be awesome. Expand
  10. UiUi
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Best game ever besides the first ghost recon.

Awards & Rankings

46
47
#47 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 7 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 796; 19 Mar 2004]
  2. Other than the less-than-perfect graphics, there's nothing to complain about in Ghost Recon's emphasis on undercover method and leadership.
  3. May not be the best-looking tactical shooter ever made, nor does it bring anything to the genre in terms of progress, but there's little else on Xbox worth looking at in the genre until "Rainbow Six 3" shows up.