Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Xbox

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattR.
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    At times infuriatingly difficult (CIA level, anyone), this game is also the most rewarding. The graphics are stunning, and arguably the best on any platform, ever. The lighting is incredible, and adds what Metal Gear lacks: realistic tension. I also enjoyed the real-life mood of the game, from the one-shot one -kill approach, to the concept of sound being a give-away, to the lack of At times infuriatingly difficult (CIA level, anyone), this game is also the most rewarding. The graphics are stunning, and arguably the best on any platform, ever. The lighting is incredible, and adds what Metal Gear lacks: realistic tension. I also enjoyed the real-life mood of the game, from the one-shot one -kill approach, to the concept of sound being a give-away, to the lack of idiotic level-end bosses. When will the Metal Gear series (and Nintendo, for that matter) grow up and realize that an espionage thriller loses all luster when after skulking around with your mullet, you have to shoot a certain character 243 times in the head in order to keep playing? That is SO 1988! Expand
  2. JesperN.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    This is Game of the Year.
  3. VitalyK.
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    One of the best games for X-box out there the visuals are awesome if not the best ever the story mode is complex and really deep once you get into the game. There are many gadgets and weapons that changes gaming in every espect possible. The levels are long if not huge and deeply designs along with the most beautiful lightning affects ever. You could play with the curtains for hours. The One of the best games for X-box out there the visuals are awesome if not the best ever the story mode is complex and really deep once you get into the game. There are many gadgets and weapons that changes gaming in every espect possible. The levels are long if not huge and deeply designs along with the most beautiful lightning affects ever. You could play with the curtains for hours. The control is easy and not hard to get everything alse about the game that i mentioned is also great. i think this is a must have game for the year and for the holiday season. Expand
  4. BubbaFresh
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    8.4 user rating with 62 votes is an insult to this spectacular game.
  5. MatthijsOtterden
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    It's just a top game!!
  6. DerekO.
    Jan 11, 2004
    10
    Awesome.
  7. CarloL.
    May 6, 2004
    10
    If you give this game a rating lower than a 10, then you suck balls.
  8. AdamR.
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    This game is really good. It is so realistic.
  9. TomC.
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    This is truly a great game!!! 2 bad I only have the demo. I am getting the real game very very very very very soon!!!I play the demo like 5 times a day!!!
  10. CraigP.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    In one word: amazing.
  11. PatI.
    Dec 8, 2002
    10
    Can't imagine a much better game. It's the game I've been waiting for - Stealth, action, and realistic environments. I thought Metal Gear Solid 2 was the King of Stealth/Action but Splinter Cell has definitely unseated it - - very convincingly I might add. Whilt Halo was an excellent shooter, this game hits all the right buttons. (I like the dark environments and story line Can't imagine a much better game. It's the game I've been waiting for - Stealth, action, and realistic environments. I thought Metal Gear Solid 2 was the King of Stealth/Action but Splinter Cell has definitely unseated it - - very convincingly I might add. Whilt Halo was an excellent shooter, this game hits all the right buttons. (I like the dark environments and story line better -But Halo is great for multiplayer) Expand
  12. AndrewZ.
    Apr 29, 2003
    10
    Perfect game. Stealth simulation taken to the extreme! Definitely a "must have".
  13. J.Hill
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    It is awesome, pure and simple. Those who complain about the clipping and physics (bodies going through walls) are ignorant as to software development. Is it irritating? Yes. Is it a worth-while trade off for what the devs spent their time and energy on? ABSOLUTELY! Same thing with the linearity issue. I don't like it either, but I am educated enough on games and software in general It is awesome, pure and simple. Those who complain about the clipping and physics (bodies going through walls) are ignorant as to software development. Is it irritating? Yes. Is it a worth-while trade off for what the devs spent their time and energy on? ABSOLUTELY! Same thing with the linearity issue. I don't like it either, but I am educated enough on games and software in general to understand that it was a design choice, not a short coming. When you see what the designers and devs have done in this game, it is pretty obvious to anyone with common sense why they had to design it in a linear fasion (perhaps to release it sometime this decade?). If you are tentative and may not like stealth/spy genre, go rent it. If you are into the black-ops genre, quite thinking and go get this game, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  14. JeffM.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    This game rocks it changed the way I look at stealth gaming and I still have yet to play Pandora Tomorow but I know it will be good.
  15. MaccaMan
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    What a great game this is. The graphics are far superior to any game on any console. This game rocks. It?s better than mettle gear solid easily. This is a must buy for any XBOX owner. I love the fact that this game uses stealth excellently in conjunction with brute force. You are able to meddle with anything in the game, from radios to walls. Amazingly realistic and incredibly fun and What a great game this is. The graphics are far superior to any game on any console. This game rocks. It?s better than mettle gear solid easily. This is a must buy for any XBOX owner. I love the fact that this game uses stealth excellently in conjunction with brute force. You are able to meddle with anything in the game, from radios to walls. Amazingly realistic and incredibly fun and thinking game-play. :) Expand
  16. BradS.
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Thanks a lot gamespot! I can't beleive you published that review! I am very disappointed in you, please go unf.... yourselves.
  17. HarryJ.
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Splinter Cell is just MAGNIFICENT!
  18. JordanC.
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    I played the demo, best game I have ever played.
  19. BurnBit
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Amazing! This is better than any James Bond movie!!
  20. MikelK.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    This game is so cool.
  21. [Anonymous]
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Deeper, more satsifying stealth experience than MGS. Unreal graphics and sound. Highly reccomended.
  22. JeiEl
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    F***ing cool game!! Game of year!!
  23. TomS.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I haven't played the full version, but I have a demo, and boy is it great. I thought Metal Gear Solid was revoultionary in all of the abilities that you have; this blows it away. Not only is Sam Fisher more of a bad ass than Solid Snake, he looks a hell of a lot better too. This game has the best graphics of any game before it. Any game! And the stealth action is the best to date; if I haven't played the full version, but I have a demo, and boy is it great. I thought Metal Gear Solid was revoultionary in all of the abilities that you have; this blows it away. Not only is Sam Fisher more of a bad ass than Solid Snake, he looks a hell of a lot better too. This game has the best graphics of any game before it. Any game! And the stealth action is the best to date; if you're not hiding you will almost certainly be killed. What a game! Expand
  24. AnishK.
    Dec 15, 2002
    10
    Splinter Cell is by far the greatest game ever created. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the sound is spectacular. The game is incredibly imersive and the level design is better than anything else out there. This is what videogames are all about. In a word: FLAWLESS.
  25. JoshB.
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    J. Smile says that Splinter Cell is too linear, and then pines for Halo 2 - Well, the original Halo had arrows on the floors telling you which way to go, and locked doors that you weren't supposed to go through - hows that for linear? Don't get me wrong - I have both games and fully believe they are the two best games ever made. I'm just bothered that people knock this game J. Smile says that Splinter Cell is too linear, and then pines for Halo 2 - Well, the original Halo had arrows on the floors telling you which way to go, and locked doors that you weren't supposed to go through - hows that for linear? Don't get me wrong - I have both games and fully believe they are the two best games ever made. I'm just bothered that people knock this game for being linear, when the game type doesn't really lend itself to open-endedness? If you or I worked for the NSA, do you think they'd tolerate us working in our own manner or at our own pace? HELL NO!!!!! You get an objective, and you go out there and accomplish it, that's the way it works. As for the game itself, it is beautiful, stunning, and all of my PS2 & Vice City-owning friends are jealous and constantly begging to play it. Splinter Cell is a work of genius, congratulations to the people who made this, and good luck to Sony, you can only hope that some day, you can get a game that looks half as good and plays half as smoothly!!!!! Expand
  26. GregO.
    Dec 8, 2002
    10
    This game is what every video game needs to have, action, 10/10 graphics, great gameplay, and sweet story.
  27. BlaD.
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    Good game buy it now!
  28. BruceF.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    Its great.
  29. SeanoB.
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    It's worth the $$$!!
  30. JuanC.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    Played the demo and I having been playing the demo over and over again because a lot of times you notice new ways to finish and to unlock extra lock doors with a limited lock picks.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2002
#1 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2002
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 84
    If ever there was a game to show off the Xbox, this is it.
  2. This is a very linear game, and... one can't but feel it's a wasted opportunity to limit the player's freedom in choosing how to approach a situation.
  3. 100
    Realistic scenarios in realistic environments add to Splinter Cell’s tantalizing world of covert operations. With a strong overall package of incredible features, the stealth/action genre has a new hero.