Unreal II: The Awakening Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. QuincyB.
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Solid game, not a disappointment! Compared to other xbox shooters (Mace Griffen, Jedi Knight 2, Timesplitters...ect.) Unreal 2 is fun and beautiful throughout. The gameplay is simply solid and fun throught out (a throwback to the quake era of well-done shooters and fun if not complex missions.) Unreal 2 doesn't try to innovate, instead it offers to fill out the xbox library with a Solid game, not a disappointment! Compared to other xbox shooters (Mace Griffen, Jedi Knight 2, Timesplitters...ect.) Unreal 2 is fun and beautiful throughout. The gameplay is simply solid and fun throught out (a throwback to the quake era of well-done shooters and fun if not complex missions.) Unreal 2 doesn't try to innovate, instead it offers to fill out the xbox library with a very good shooter. Don't compare it to the PC version (you would need $$$ to get a rig for it, my P4 9700pro/1GB chugged running it!), instead compare it to other console shooters and its value and quality become immediately apparent, there are no annoyances, gameplay is balanced, the mission environments are creepy and varied and the soundtrack/storyline is good and solid 2nd to Thief, 3rd after the Halo and still absolutely in the top 4 best Xbox shooters ever at the end of this year! A solid, intact, and genuinly fun port of the PC original. Expand
  2. KarlK.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    This game is FANTASTIC!!!!!! XMP is the most fun I've EVER had on my XBOX!! Single player rox 2. It has one of the best stories of any FPS ever! Co-op mode and system link make this game great for people that dont have Xbob live 2. Go out and buy it now!!!!!
  3. RogerB.
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    I thought it was really good especially the bit with the space monkeys. I really liked the flamethrower.
  4. BobO.
    Feb 22, 2004
    10
    This game's online mode takes a while to get used to but after a while you'll find it really rocks because it is nothing like unreal championship and more like tribes or something like that. i like the defense levels in the campaign mode too because they are alot like the online mode but they are different and i find they make this game much better than halo.
  5. Moe
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    The single player game is not bad, perhaps not as good as the original Unreal. They should have just followed the old game's story line with updated weaponry, but they decided to do a ground up makeover with mixed results. PC is much better than XBox for the FPS. However, the multiplayer mode, "XMP," is by far the best team game ever made. Period. It is so addicting. It is so The single player game is not bad, perhaps not as good as the original Unreal. They should have just followed the old game's story line with updated weaponry, but they decided to do a ground up makeover with mixed results. PC is much better than XBox for the FPS. However, the multiplayer mode, "XMP," is by far the best team game ever made. Period. It is so addicting. It is so realistic and if it seems slow its because of this very reason, you feel like you are really there. You actually hear every footstep and jump you make. The small but avid community that remains are still to this day discovering new tricks and techniques such as the Gunner's lateral conc. jump, that you just dont get in other games. Team members really depend on eachother for health, cover, energy, etc. and there are players who have developed amazing skills not available anywhere else such as wall jumping, midair sniping. Even Halo 2 can be considered an unworthy rival to Unreal's XMP. There are still plenty of dieharders playing every day and several servers running 24/7, we don't need a lot of noobs gumming up the works, nevertheless all are welcome. Expand
  6. CharlesT.
    Feb 26, 2004
    9
    Wow! I was really blown away by this game! Single player has a really powerful story that keeps you hooked until the end. As you may have heard though, XMP is the main draw of this game. I've been playing it for a least an hour a day since it came out, and it still keeps me thrilled. Don't listen to the negative reviews, this game is worth every cent!

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
#40 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. The game's first few hours are dreadfully boring, full of genre cliches and pointless firefights. [Apr 2004, p.84]
  2. As a single-player experience, Unreal 2 is undoubtedly one of the more forgettable shooters on the Xbox; joining the likes of "Jedi Academy" and "Soldier of Fortune 2" in that club of below par PC ports that have been unceremoniously dumped on owners of this capable machine.
  3. Ugly, jerky, and all round poorly presented characters culminate in cut scenes that you’d wish you could just skip right on.