Unreal II: The Awakening Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeS.
    Mar 18, 2004
    4
    Its not that good, and UT04 is MUCH better than XMP. Why is UT04 better? because IT IS WHAT WAS ORIGINALLY INTENDED FOR THE GAME! Atari only added XMP in because they realized how much Unreal 2 SUCKED without a multiplayer.
  2. JesseS.
    Jun 19, 2005
    1
    What a terrible game! The graphics are some of the WORST I have seen on any console in this generation. You'll agree when you see some of the first enemies in the game, as well as almost anything you will see, as a matter of fact. The gameplay is clunky, and worst than most first person shooters. I haven't played the PC version, but I can tell you to avoid this for Xbox at all What a terrible game! The graphics are some of the WORST I have seen on any console in this generation. You'll agree when you see some of the first enemies in the game, as well as almost anything you will see, as a matter of fact. The gameplay is clunky, and worst than most first person shooters. I haven't played the PC version, but I can tell you to avoid this for Xbox at all costs. There are many other FPS games out there for you to enjoy. Expand
  3. ParmsB
    Aug 5, 2004
    1
    I loved the original Unreal. I thought it was one of the best games i had ever played. I prefered it to Quak2 and Half Life which were the big 2 at the time. So you can imagine how looking forward i was to Unreal 2. I absolutely hated the game. I stopped playing it about half way through. I had a good enought system to cope with it. I just did not enjoy it and i really think The Unreal I loved the original Unreal. I thought it was one of the best games i had ever played. I prefered it to Quak2 and Half Life which were the big 2 at the time. So you can imagine how looking forward i was to Unreal 2. I absolutely hated the game. I stopped playing it about half way through. I had a good enought system to cope with it. I just did not enjoy it and i really think The Unreal Brand took some (and still do) serious damage from allowing this very very poor game to be released. It was totally unrelated to the original Unreal, so why did they call it unreal at all. Expand
  4. KyleK.
    Aug 16, 2005
    0
    This is the most pathetic game i have ever played. it is so boring with all the levels. most of the levels are 2 minutes long and only have four bad guys. Bad graphics and just dont play it. wouldnt spend 50 cents on it.
  5. Uter
    Feb 17, 2004
    4
    I love Unreal, but there's really no excuse for releasing something this poor. The graphics are BAD, there's no 4 player splitscreen, and the loading times are way way too long. The game feels like a cash in on the Unreal brand name.
  6. MichaelC.
    Feb 25, 2004
    2
    Yippeee!!!!!!!!! Another crappy fps to use as a coaster for my den! This game defines the phrase piss-poor. The graphics are so dated I had to check my calendar to see if I wasn't having a flashback of a bad experience in 1998. And where did they record these voice actors at? Was it via satellite? This game has a wretched score and the grainiest voice clips I've heard on XBox. Yippeee!!!!!!!!! Another crappy fps to use as a coaster for my den! This game defines the phrase piss-poor. The graphics are so dated I had to check my calendar to see if I wasn't having a flashback of a bad experience in 1998. And where did they record these voice actors at? Was it via satellite? This game has a wretched score and the grainiest voice clips I've heard on XBox. Controls are awful, the single-player missions are completely unoriginal, and the multiplayer experience is unworthy of the "Unreal" title. In summation, this game brings nothing to the table that hasn't been done 900 times, and is just poorly executed. Expand
  7. Qjones
    Jul 24, 2004
    1
    Poor AI, really blocky graphics, predictable gameplay. bad controls. and long load times. even the load times have load times. its terrible.
  8. Randommutumbo
    Feb 17, 2004
    1
    Wow this game is horrible. XMP is the worst. unreal was good until atari acrewed it up.

Awards & Rankings

24
#24 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
64
#64 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. The game's first few hours are dreadfully boring, full of genre cliches and pointless firefights. [Apr 2004, p.84]
  2. As a single-player experience, Unreal 2 is undoubtedly one of the more forgettable shooters on the Xbox; joining the likes of "Jedi Academy" and "Soldier of Fortune 2" in that club of below par PC ports that have been unceremoniously dumped on owners of this capable machine.
  3. Ugly, jerky, and all round poorly presented characters culminate in cut scenes that you’d wish you could just skip right on.