World Series Baseball 2K3 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sega Sports™ World Series® Baseball 2K3 spent the off-season improving what was already the best baseball franchise by adding ESPN broadcast presentation, more classic uniforms for every team, historical ballparks, player-specific batting stances and pitching styles for Hall ofSega Sports™ World Series® Baseball 2K3 spent the off-season improving what was already the best baseball franchise by adding ESPN broadcast presentation, more classic uniforms for every team, historical ballparks, player-specific batting stances and pitching styles for Hall of Fame legends, and more. This year, World Series Baseball 2K3 is in a league of its own! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. 100
    Whether you want to build a major league franchise or just play two with your favorite team, competing in a complete game of Xbox baseball couldn't be easier or more fun.
  2. Sega Sports has made a few tweaks and improvements that push WSB 2K3 into a class all by itself.
  3. I love this game! I will be playing it a lot in the next 4 or 5 months. It’s the closest thing that I found to replicating that feeling of turning on the T.V. to watch Spring Training or heading down to “the corner” to watch my heroes play.
  4. It's not a vast improvement over 2K2 but it's going to surprise the hell out of anyone weaned on PSX baseball games.
  5. Complete in nearly every way and is a good bet for casual fans who just want to slap a few balls out of the infield and diehards who will settle for nothing less than a full career simulation.
  6. It comes with endless options and modes that are sure to keep you busy for hours and hours. With the Franchise mode alone, you could still be playing it in ten years with an unbelievable winning streak and setting new all-time records.
  7. Terrible batting collision and awkward fielding control are just a couple of things keeping Sega's hardball title from getting into the majors. [Apr 2003, p.70]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. GeorgeVas.
    Jul 10, 2003
    10
    I think that this game is mad hot but the base runners aren't as good as i thought it was going to be.
  2. PedroG.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I have not played a better baseball game in my lifel and I have played just about all since the days of Tony La Russa Baseball for the Sega - I have not played a better baseball game in my lifel and I have played just about all since the days of Tony La Russa Baseball for the Sega - Genesis. This game is beautiful (eye candy is always a must for sport-simulation). The gameplay and control is out of this world. Franchise is great, even better than lastyear's. The only thing I don't like about the game is the power swing option. When Barry Bonds comes to the plate he does not choses between a power and a contact swing. Collapse
  3. ToneyM.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    WSB for the Xbox last season was a really good game w/ a few pot holes. Visual Concepts & Blue Shift filled every pot hole and then some in WSB for the Xbox last season was a really good game w/ a few pot holes. Visual Concepts & Blue Shift filled every pot hole and then some in WSB2K3. The game plays so smooth it hard to complain about anything. If you're having trouble w/ something you can either adjust it or turn it off or on. It's the best looking and the best playing baseball game out there. It may not have all the little things some of these other baseball games have but the amount of stuff missing between all the games are so small you wouldn't miss it anyway. It has one thing all the other games are missing the ESPN license. The best in sports videogames and the world wide leader in sports = sports gaming heaven. Don't bother w/ the rest when you could be playing w/ the best WSB2K3. Expand
  4. RobertR.
    Mar 13, 2003
    9
    So life-like you may catch yourself falling asleep, and forget you're PLAYING the game. With 3 different batting modes, (Regular curser, So life-like you may catch yourself falling asleep, and forget you're PLAYING the game. With 3 different batting modes, (Regular curser, Curse and Power Meter, and Timing) you have all the competition games beat. Great graphics and crowd noise. Center field camera for when you are playing the CPU looks like television coverage and ESPN presentation are great innovations. Don?t rent, save the $6.00 and buy it! Expand
  5. JamesD.
    Apr 18, 2003
    9
    The only bad things i can say about this game is that it is to easy to steal bases,and there is no autofield which really dosent hurt the gameThe only bad things i can say about this game is that it is to easy to steal bases,and there is no autofield which really dosent hurt the game , but i have played about fifteen games and already have over 100 stolen bases some guys have 2 or 3 steals a game and yes i have the ai turned up to legend and my slowest guys steal at will ,my user team is the kansas city royals. Expand
  6. Dave
    Mar 17, 2003
    9
    WORLD SERIES BASEBALL 2K3 is definitely one of the best sports console games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The game plays true to WORLD SERIES BASEBALL 2K3 is definitely one of the best sports console games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. The game plays true to the sport of baseball while remaining extremely addictive in the gameplay. I highly recommend purchasing WS2K3 without hesitation. Graphics: 9 The only thing that prevented me from giving the graphics a perfect score was the crowd and dugout. Sound/Commentary: 9 It would have been nice to have have a more serious baseball dialogue between the announcers like All Star Baseball. Gameplay: 10 This is one of the most realistic gameplay experiences within a sports game. Longevity:10 I will be playing this game until the next edition of WS2K3 is released. This game is an absolute keeper. Buy it now. Expand
  7. CharlesP.
    Apr 2, 2003
    8
    This is definitely one of the best baseball titles I have come across in a very long time. I really have only one complaint: Where is the This is definitely one of the best baseball titles I have come across in a very long time. I really have only one complaint: Where is the Xbox Live support? I really expected to be able to play this online after every other Sega 2K3 game did. What gives? Anyway, it's still fun. I just wish I could play with people that won't raid my fridge and drink my beer (because they are 2000 miles away). Expand

See all 12 User Reviews