• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: May 19, 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    The gameplay is on-the-money with great baseball that ought to attract Xbox sports gamers and just plain baseball fans alike.
  2. No other baseball title performs so well in so many departments - from visuals and animation to control and replayability. Clearly, the World Series Baseball franchise has regained the luster of its days on the Saturn.
  3. WSB is an exhilarating experience whether it is talking about the graphics, audio, controls, or the longevity, this baseball game has it all.
  4. Even though some games do the create-a-player thing better, and some have better AI, WSB has the best gameplay and the best Franchise mode currently available and is, in my opinion, the best baseball game on the market.
  5. The franchise mode is so well done that it actually feels like a baseball RPG with a fantastic underlying, playable baseball engine.
  6. If realism is the ultimate goal of the game maker, then World Series Baseball is the Mona Lisa of games. [June 2002, p.84]
  7. 90
    The franchise mode is phenomenal and the animations and gameplay are superior to previous baseball releases.
  8. The defensive controls for World Series Baseball have to be the best out there, bar none.
  9. If you've ever wanted to manage a front office staff, have an evolving pool of minor leaguers to promote and still get to actually play some baseball, this is the game for you.
  10. The game is absolutely brilliant. [July 2002, p.74]
  11. Sega stuck to the fundamentals, such as great control, gameplay and graphics. The result: a baseball game that sucked me into the action right after the first pitch. [July 2002, p.124]
  12. Even with the flaws, this looks and feels like baseball and I look forward to playing it, and for me that is the mark of a good game.
  13. The AI is a mixed bag. As mentioned before, their pitch selection along with their swing selection are realistic. However, the AI base running is not good at all.
  14. As mind-blowing as the visual presentation may be, the gameplay is somewhat disappointing. [July 2002, p.88]
  15. The best baseball title on the XBOX right now. There are some things that can be improved, but a lot of gameplay is needed to find little bugs and errors in the game.
  16. Although World Series Baseball has all the modes baseball fans and sports gamers have been longing for, its awkward controls and mediocre graphics does not make this the ultimate baseball game to own.
  17. The game offers strong graphics and sound as well as a good variety of modes, but it's held back somewhat by its lack of polish.
  18. 70
    Although it features perhaps the most impressive visuals to appear in a baseball game to date, there are too many flaws in the infrastructure that prevent it from reaching the upper echelons of baseball gaming.
  19. WSB for the Xbox feels much more like an upgrade than a complete overhaul...This game is easily the best baseball game on the market, but as fans of the genre know, that's not really saying much.
  20. It's far from perfect, but Sega's franchise is finally back on track after a prolonged slump.
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. DavidK.
    Aug 15, 2002
    8
    This is the best baseball game out for the XBox bar none. But I still have a few beefs with it. The major one is, that you can't edit This is the best baseball game out for the XBox bar none. But I still have a few beefs with it. The major one is, that you can't edit your rosters, You have to play with the default roster. I can't add Durham to the A's damn it. The other one is your player can only dive and not jump. But both are pretty easy to look past if your a baseball nut. Full Review »
  2. CharlieP.
    Aug 8, 2002
    9
    Actually a 9.5. Possibly the best sports game ever made.
  3. JustinC.
    Jun 23, 2002
    9
    This game is the best baseball game i have ever played. Couple of minor adjustments and it would be a 10. Otherwise I give it a 2 thumbs up!!!