Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 1999
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
145
Mixed:
36
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AliceM.Mar 24, 2008
Relates to children of this era and tells them the story of Taming of the Shrew in a modern world. If Shakespeare was here today he would of approved most probably!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
KayeC.Jun 6, 2007
It was funny and not bad for a chick flick, I liked most of the music.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SpencerD.Oct 27, 2008
What Brings It Up: Simply put, it's funny. What Brings It Down: Like most teen movies, it's kind of a silly plot. Overall, I'm not too fond of the teen genre, but this film sets an example that other ten films should strive to What Brings It Up: Simply put, it's funny. What Brings It Down: Like most teen movies, it's kind of a silly plot. Overall, I'm not too fond of the teen genre, but this film sets an example that other ten films should strive to achieve. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HelenJan 2, 2009
Love the film, but agree with the San Francisco Chronicles review, the charachters change far to much and it just seems to unrealistic. still a great film!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Andys_ReviewsJan 25, 2013
This film works because the audience are given a group of well rounded characters; many of which are quite likable, which helps. These are then put into a sequence of situations that resolve themselves into a satisfactory conclusion. OfThis film works because the audience are given a group of well rounded characters; many of which are quite likable, which helps. These are then put into a sequence of situations that resolve themselves into a satisfactory conclusion. Of course we are taken on quite a journey before this conclusion and I can see how some may find the plot a little hard to follow. Fortunately I have read the Shakespeare play and even seen it performed and so am familiar with all its twists and turns. I love the way it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheChaser1985Jun 12, 2015
Classic teen movie. Who could not love this movie? One of the best ever, with a great cast and an interesting story... (for what it is) Purely enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanJul 17, 2012
I resisted seeing this film for a long time, and to be honest I've no idea why. 10 Things I Hate About You is relatively self-aware for a highschool rom-com, and affectionately pokes fun at some of the genre's most annoying cliches. It alsoI resisted seeing this film for a long time, and to be honest I've no idea why. 10 Things I Hate About You is relatively self-aware for a highschool rom-com, and affectionately pokes fun at some of the genre's most annoying cliches. It also has a wacky comic energy and some hilarious dialogue which is the perfect mix of the bright and verbally dexterous and the very, very crude. There are decent performances across the cast, particularly from the effortlessly natural Julia Stiles and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and Heath Ledger as a borderline sociopathic rebel-turned-lover-boy. Allison Janney is also brilliant as the entertainingly filthy school counsellor and aspiring erotica writer. It makes a refreshing change for a teenage comedy film to have a believably-aged cast, though the key players were aged 18-20 when the film was made, at least they weren't in their late twenties or early thirties as they sometimes are in Hollywood highschool films. Where the film pleasingly has its own identity for most its run-time, it does disappointingly sink to the level of every other teenage romantic comedy in its final act. At this point it feels a little like screenwriting pair Karen McCullah Lutz and Kirsten Smith ran out of interesting ideas and just delivered all the soppy stuff you come to expect from this kind of film. And though Ledger is delivers a good performance, his accent is all over the place, and this is accounted for with some clumsy exposition about his character spending his early life in Australia. It might have been a little less jarring if Ledger stuck to one dialect or the other. Despite a generic ending and a couple of story elements that don't quite work, 10 Things I Hate About You is a smart, fun, heart-warming and hilarious romantic comedy, and this is coming from someone who doesn't really like romantic comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
danielb1982Sep 29, 2011
I'm not normally one for Romantic teen movies, but I really enjoyed this movie.

The whole cast do a great job, but special praise has to go to Heath Ledger, who sadly is no longer with us. He's great in this movie, as is the rest of the
I'm not normally one for Romantic teen movies, but I really enjoyed this movie.

The whole cast do a great job, but special praise has to go to Heath Ledger, who sadly is no longer with us. He's great in this movie, as is the rest of the cast.

Larisa Oleynik looks absolutely stunning in this movie, and you can see why its a case of love at first site for Cameron.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GreatbealloFeb 2, 2012
I just really enjoy this movie. It's fun to see some well known actors (Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles, and Joseph-Gordon Levitt) in earlier roles. It's a fun adaptation of the beloved Bill Shakespeare play. A good date movie, because both manI just really enjoy this movie. It's fun to see some well known actors (Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles, and Joseph-Gordon Levitt) in earlier roles. It's a fun adaptation of the beloved Bill Shakespeare play. A good date movie, because both man and woman can get something out of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joncool65Jun 4, 2012
Excellent movie full of great characters. The late Heath Ledger was very good in this (as well as everything else he did) as was Julia Stiles. It requires you to not think too much of course, but most good movies are like that, that's whatExcellent movie full of great characters. The late Heath Ledger was very good in this (as well as everything else he did) as was Julia Stiles. It requires you to not think too much of course, but most good movies are like that, that's what they are for after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJun 19, 2015
This one is a ton of fun. Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles are really good here and the writing is witty and funny throughout. As far as teen comedies go, 10 Things I Hate About You is a very good one due to its fun story, funny moments, and theThis one is a ton of fun. Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles are really good here and the writing is witty and funny throughout. As far as teen comedies go, 10 Things I Hate About You is a very good one due to its fun story, funny moments, and the way it just feels so high school. This film just feels high school, which works well in its favor, because it gives it an authentic feeling. Thanks to the comedy here, some actually quite powerful moments, and just pure enjoyment one can derive from this one, 10 Things I Hate About You is a success. However, it is not without its shortcomings. For one, plausibility of many things that happen here is up for debate. Based on what I know about high school, some of the stuff depicted here won't happen. For one, non-spoiler here, but you can't just decide to go to prom the night of, you have to pay well in advance for that stuff. Little things like that add up and really throw the whole thing into question. However, the characters do feel real, from Heath Ledger and Julia Stiles' mysterious, often rumored about characters to Joseph Gordon-Levitt's whiny little loser. An interesting twist on the Shakespeare play, 10 Things I Hate About You is a fun high school film that should manage to entertain you and get you to laugh numerous times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJNov 5, 2016
If you like movies like "Mean girls", "Freaky Friday" and etc - you wil definitely enjoy this one! This will remain as one of the classic comedy teenage movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FredMertzMar 23, 2013
Classic teen flick accurately representing the late 90s. I'm still writing because they said this has to be 150 characters long, so im still writing because apparently i haven't reached that yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
applesandorangeSep 17, 2013
This film can be watched in any generation whether it's the 90's or now and it still raises relevant problems for teenagers. It's exactly what all teenagers go through, problems with relationships which will be relevant in any day and age
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
heeldavidJul 17, 2014
This is one of my favorite Teen Comedies, it's very wise and great modern day Shakespeare Adaptation. Heath Ledger puts on a charming performance, Stiles And Levitt put on great performances too
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HaithamBSep 12, 2014
10 Things I Hate About You might be the most authentic and humorous hight school movie ever made. It is not so raunchy and not too sweet, they now where to stop. It is really good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
timrichieOct 18, 2014
Featuring what is to this day considered one of Julia Stiles finest performances (if not her finest), as well as a remarkably brilliant performance by Heath Ledger, making this teen flick one of the best teen movies to come out of the 90s.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reijiroApr 29, 2015
I watched this again about a year ago and I still enjoyed the movie. Laugh out loud moments, and waves of nostalgia for my younger years.

Heath Ledger was funny and entertaining (and so young!).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CarlosigonioMar 1, 2017
10 Things I hate about You is a 1999 American comedy film directed by Gil Junger. The main actresses are Julia Stiles as Katharina “Kat” Stratford and Luisa Oleynik as Bianca the younger of the Stratford sisters. The main actors are heath10 Things I hate about You is a 1999 American comedy film directed by Gil Junger. The main actresses are Julia Stiles as Katharina “Kat” Stratford and Luisa Oleynik as Bianca the younger of the Stratford sisters. The main actors are heath Ledger as Patrick Verona and Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Cameron James. The film was inspired by Shakespeare’s comedy The Taming of the Shrew. The screenwrited hinted at this in the family name of the two protagonists, who are named after William Shakespeare’s hometown Stratford-upon-Avon.
The film tells about two sisters, Bianca and Kate, who are very different from each other. In fact while Bianca is very sweet and girly, Kate is determined and rebellious. Their father will only allow Bianca to date boys when her sister Kate goes out with a boy herself. Cameron, a new and nerdy schoolmate, falls in love with Bianca and to go out with her he pays another boy, the tough and mysterious Patrick, to ask Kate out. Will they get engaged in spite of their differences? This film showcases 11 upbeat and lively songs played by bands that are not well known in Italy. The genres are rock and punk. Some actors starring in this movie became famous, like Julia Stiles and late Heath Ledger. The film is set in the 1990’s and the actors are all good-looking. Especially the male ones who are particularly charming. The best scene of this film is when Bianca gave Joey, a guy she was dating, a punch in the face to avenge both her sister and herself for being such a jerk. Another good scene is when Kate reads out her sonnet in the English Lit. class. Very romantic indeed! The film tells about teenagers and their love life. Its is a good movie to see because it portrays a true-to-life story with some romance and comedy. Although the plot is sometimes a bit granted and cheesy, it is an entertaining movie with a pinch of poetry and some nice gags.It is great for teenagers and “ex” teenagers who want to dream on about the foregone high-school days.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews