Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 7, 2008
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 295 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
85
Negative:
120
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
R.EmmerichSucksMar 7, 2008
Two hours of TV commercials would have a more compelling plot, and more complex/likable characters. Just like Emmerich's other films (and all of Michael Bay's films except Transformers), this is a few hours of eye candy with Two hours of TV commercials would have a more compelling plot, and more complex/likable characters. Just like Emmerich's other films (and all of Michael Bay's films except Transformers), this is a few hours of eye candy with lifeless characters you couldn't care less about. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
6
kublay0880Dec 10, 2012
I liked the tittle, the posters and the general idea of the movie but it seems that the pieces just don't fit, very disappointed with the final result but it was fun to watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SallyB.Sep 19, 2008
Amazing video... Amazing acting... a real classic in the mind of a normal person!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CharlottePSep 29, 2008
Any one who has bad things to say about this movie has missed to point completly! stop reading into things so much. just enjoy a movie dont try to find its faults. the story line was insane, but it was a fun movie that didn't need a lot Any one who has bad things to say about this movie has missed to point completly! stop reading into things so much. just enjoy a movie dont try to find its faults. the story line was insane, but it was a fun movie that didn't need a lot of thought! very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
EnriqueMar 12, 2008
A big, resounding bomb!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
Rev.R.Mar 10, 2008
Emmirch has given us an prehistoric version of "Apocolyto", with a touch of "Conan the Barbarian". It is true that fantasies are not based on truth; but, they should at least "feel true" if they are going to capture the audience. The trailer Emmirch has given us an prehistoric version of "Apocolyto", with a touch of "Conan the Barbarian". It is true that fantasies are not based on truth; but, they should at least "feel true" if they are going to capture the audience. The trailer led us to expect the next great visual and special effects film ala "300" However, we are deceived. The trailer is by far the most exciting glimpse at the film. The movie succeeds in moving me to the edge of my seat in anticipation. The grand vision promised never arrived, the action was impotent, and the story was too familiar and lifeless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DonaldT.Mar 10, 2008
Terrific special effects and cinema photography. Fast paced with few slow spots. Interesting and entertaining. A special world. Much better than the comic book hero movies which are all the same formula. Decent acting. Deserves a much better Terrific special effects and cinema photography. Fast paced with few slow spots. Interesting and entertaining. A special world. Much better than the comic book hero movies which are all the same formula. Decent acting. Deserves a much better rating than the critics gave it. Maybe some of the critics didn't get bribed is the reason for the low rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatieMar 22, 2008
I just hope this piece of crap won't brainwash our already ignorant teenagers about what really happened in prehistory. Some examples, some obvious, some not so obvious: -mammoths were never used as draft animals -the earliest Egyptian I just hope this piece of crap won't brainwash our already ignorant teenagers about what really happened in prehistory. Some examples, some obvious, some not so obvious: -mammoths were never used as draft animals -the earliest Egyptian pyramid wasn't built until about 2600 BC -chiles and corn are native to the New World (i.e. the Americas) -the Egyptian Pharaohs were not white And of course, after the advent of agriculture, we all lived happily ever after, never hungered or warred or even had to sh*t again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BangellMar 25, 2008
Surprisingly good! Sure, it may not be historicallly accurate, but everything was there to make 10000bc a mini-epic. A few slip-ups, including a dodgy ending, held it back a little, but on the whole it was very enjoyable. Thrilling, Surprisingly good! Sure, it may not be historicallly accurate, but everything was there to make 10000bc a mini-epic. A few slip-ups, including a dodgy ending, held it back a little, but on the whole it was very enjoyable. Thrilling, powerful, intense fun. Occasional spots of humour, which inspired a chuckle from the audience, but did nothing to detract from the epic feel of the movie. I'd recommend going to see this movie - don't assume it will suck just because the dumb critics say so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarioDMar 5, 2008
Ugh, what a snoozefest. I knew I was in trouble when I lost interest 10 minutes into this film. Everyone spoke with a different English accent and the bad guys were subtitled. What I really wanted to know when watching was how they made Ugh, what a snoozefest. I knew I was in trouble when I lost interest 10 minutes into this film. Everyone spoke with a different English accent and the bad guys were subtitled. What I really wanted to know when watching was how they made pants in 10,000 BC and what kind of workout routine does Steven Strait have. And were the mamoths computer generated or were the elephants made up by the costume department? These were the only things I cared about... and there was still an hour and a half left. Yuck! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveCMar 8, 2008
This should be listed as a comedy, I laughed more at the movie's stupidity more than being impressed at the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanaL.Mar 8, 2008
Horrible Movie...what else can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GrahamS.May 7, 2008
I found this movie to start slow but soon got going, and had some great action scenes and spic vista's. Don't expect the movie to challenge you mentally, just sit back and enjoy the on rush of action scenes and epic vista's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TenfyrAug 1, 2008
Easily the worst movie I've seen. I haven't got the time or the inclination to list what's wrong with it. Some good effects which saved it from getting a 0 from me. If you have a choice between watching this and cleaning Easily the worst movie I've seen. I haven't got the time or the inclination to list what's wrong with it. Some good effects which saved it from getting a 0 from me. If you have a choice between watching this and cleaning behind the fridge, choose the latter, you'd have more fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JesusM.Mar 10, 2008
Not the best movie ever but nowhere near as bad as its been rated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanaeMMar 10, 2008
I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects weren't phenomenal, I loved the plot and the journey through ancient civilization, no matter who accurate/inaccurate it was! We don't watch these movies for a history lesson though, do we? If we did maybe I'd be super cynical like those critics, but I thoroughly enjoyed the movie myself! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveD.Mar 11, 2008
The basic plot is predictable, but the experience is enjoyable. Great special effects. I give it high marks for family friendliness. The violence is not gory. Most older grade schoolers would have no problems with it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Mar 10, 2008
"10,000 B.C." is "Apocalypto" for bright toddlers(dummies is too harsh and insulting to the bright toddlers). Mel Gibson may have issues with the chosen people, but give the guy some credit. The Mayans didn't speak English. Neither did "10,000 B.C." is "Apocalypto" for bright toddlers(dummies is too harsh and insulting to the bright toddlers). Mel Gibson may have issues with the chosen people, but give the guy some credit. The Mayans didn't speak English. Neither did people who lived during the Paleolithic period. But in "10,000 B.C.", they do. And it's distracting. Especially so when another tribe speaks a dissimilar language. This difference reminds me of the animated animals in Disney films. Goofy talks. Pluto talks like a dog. It makes no intellectual sense. It's all arbitrary. Just like the assignment of languages to the warring tribes. "10,000 B.C." might as well be a cartoon, a cartoon by Hanna Barbera, that is. As previously stated, this movie will entertain bright toddlers, or the bright toddler in the television-addled viewer. For pete's sake, a narrator? Really? Communicating through hieroglyphics, not expressive enough? And the half-hearted(PG-13 sanctioned) human sacrifices to the gods made me yearn for the Grand Guginol scale of decapitations in "Apocalypto". Gibson knows how to photograph a rolling head. He also knows a thing or two about keeping it real. Any historical film is capable of withstanding an anachorism, here and there, but "10,000 B.C." never comes close to establishing time and place. Although "Quest for Fire" looks the worst production of "Cirque du Soleil" you ever saw, give that film its props for inventing their own language. Rae Dawn-Chong, where are you? "10,000 B.C." needs you, not that Lindsey Lohan-lookalike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonC.Mar 12, 2008
I would advise that you wait for this movie to come out on DVD, so you can skip it again. This movie has literally nothing going for it. The acting is poor. the plot is full of holes bigger than George Bush's presidency. Though the CG I would advise that you wait for this movie to come out on DVD, so you can skip it again. This movie has literally nothing going for it. The acting is poor. the plot is full of holes bigger than George Bush's presidency. Though the CG effects are good, all the action sequences are spoiled by terrible dialouge and screenplay. If this movie was a comedy, it would be great, but because it takes itself so seriously, it goes from laughably bad to annoying. You'll laugh, you'll cry. and you can kiss your money goodbye! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TusharV.Mar 17, 2008
This picture is very crazy and amazing film it is very nice and must is picture's lockecan is very very good film this film is world no 1 film and great film 1oooo BC.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JSMar 10, 2008
It was okay. Boring in some (okay, most) sections. The mammoths were cool, that seems to be universally accepted. I don't think the Egyptians were that advanced, if they even existed, in 10,000 b.c. But, heck, it's a movie, right?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JasonMMar 10, 2008
The acting was mediocre at best
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BuzzBMar 18, 2008
You know how it's possible to enjoy a dumb movie if you make a pact with your brain to disengage most of your brain cells and sit back and enjoy the action. Well you can't do that with 10,000 BC because it's too stupid with You know how it's possible to enjoy a dumb movie if you make a pact with your brain to disengage most of your brain cells and sit back and enjoy the action. Well you can't do that with 10,000 BC because it's too stupid with absolutely no redeeming features whatsover. To have any chance at all of enjoying this film you would need to be mentally retarded and, even then, you'd probably still want your money back. How studio people can sit around and give the green light to the production of complete dross such as this really beggars belief. Rent a copy of 2 Million Years BC with Raquel Welch instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoffinS.Mar 26, 2008
What the heck is wrong with these critics. Sure, there isn't much historical accuracy, but come on. It was very well made and enjoyable in all other aspects
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymousMCMar 30, 2008
What a disappointment... I was initially quite intrigued about this film when watching the trailers, but when I'd finished watching the film, I discovered that the trailers had been made well enough to cover up everything that is wrong What a disappointment... I was initially quite intrigued about this film when watching the trailers, but when I'd finished watching the film, I discovered that the trailers had been made well enough to cover up everything that is wrong with 10,000 BC. Most of the acting is terrible, the story is silly, the historical setting is totally inaccurate and some of the dialog is appalling. It's lucky that the special effects are quite decent, or it would be getting a rating much lower than 2 and a 1/2 from me. Don't waste your money on this. Watch it in a few years when it appears on TV. If you really want to... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HamMar 5, 2008
Where to start? Okay - first. Don't see this film - it is that bad. The first half of the film is close to the worst I've ever seen on screen. I nearly walked out. The second part gets marginally better but I've seen better Where to start? Okay - first. Don't see this film - it is that bad. The first half of the film is close to the worst I've ever seen on screen. I nearly walked out. The second part gets marginally better but I've seen better action scenes in a hundred films other films. The plot is contrived, confused. Not to mention the daft sounding accent they all have been told to speak with. Once again...don't bother watching this film!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattMcKeeverMar 5, 2008
Hate to say it, but this was a real stinker IMO. The story was filled with every movie cliche imagineable, and the climate changes the travelers go through throughout the movie are mind boggling. One minute they're in snowy mountains, Hate to say it, but this was a real stinker IMO. The story was filled with every movie cliche imagineable, and the climate changes the travelers go through throughout the movie are mind boggling. One minute they're in snowy mountains, the next they're in a rain forest, and the next they are in a desert. WHERE THE $#@* ARE THESE PEOPLE?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeT.Mar 6, 2008
I'd like to point out that civilization did not exist in the real 10,000 B.C. -- you know, the one that happened 12,008 years ago. Why has no one mentioned this? And why did anyone decide to make this in the first place? Hypothetical I'd like to point out that civilization did not exist in the real 10,000 B.C. -- you know, the one that happened 12,008 years ago. Why has no one mentioned this? And why did anyone decide to make this in the first place? Hypothetical questions -- the hallmark of a bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JackW.Mar 8, 2008
Dismal. Early reviews made this sound like it would be good (better than typical Emmerich) but it isn't. Aside from the occasional good special effects, its awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
nozclankMar 8, 2008
Akin to Apocalypto and The 13th Warrior but worse, ripping off elements from a dozen or more better adventure/action/fantasy films including to name but a few: King Arthur (OK, not much better but better all the same), 300, Stargate, Lord of Akin to Apocalypto and The 13th Warrior but worse, ripping off elements from a dozen or more better adventure/action/fantasy films including to name but a few: King Arthur (OK, not much better but better all the same), 300, Stargate, Lord of the Rings, Jurassic Park, Gladiator and Troy. A steaming turd of a film. Here's a blank space, fill it with a list of fun you can have in 109 mins: ... ... ... Pick one and remember it when someone suggests you watch 10,000 BC. Also remember the words 'vomit', 'prison', 'stench', 'pain', 'plague' and 'insurance company'. In the meantime you can join the mounting campaign to have Roland Emmerich captured and thrown to hungry pigs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Mar 9, 2008
Very entertaining movie. Well worth the $10 entrance fee. Don't let the negative nay-sayers dissuade you from going if you like what you've seen in the previews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KD.Mar 9, 2008
Utterly Dreadful! This movie is so boring, stupid and cliche - and it had so much promise! Very disappointing. The movie is just a big "You can't tell me they're going to pull THAT old movie trick again" - 10 times.... four two Utterly Dreadful! This movie is so boring, stupid and cliche - and it had so much promise! Very disappointing. The movie is just a big "You can't tell me they're going to pull THAT old movie trick again" - 10 times.... four two hours. So dreadfully predictable and badly written. The visuals are great, but the script is just so dreadful, it absolutely kills all sense of enjoyment this movie has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TomM.Mar 9, 2008
Very slow start but it gets better at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenS.Mar 9, 2008
This was an excellent movie. Though bits were silly or downright stupid, I don't get how people can dislike it that much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferK.Apr 17, 2008
I thought this film was a bit boring but it was filmed beautifully and represented human diversity well. My son really enjoyed it, but really thought that wooly mammoths help build the pyramids. I would have liked it a little more if the I thought this film was a bit boring but it was filmed beautifully and represented human diversity well. My son really enjoyed it, but really thought that wooly mammoths help build the pyramids. I would have liked it a little more if the story wasn't so "out there". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidMay 26, 2008
The fact that we know that not all of this existed in 10,000BC just adds to the lameness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristopherH.May 28, 2008
Should be watched next in 10,000 more years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst film I've seen ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisZMay 4, 2008
This is pure garbage and probably the worst movie I've ever seen. Every supposed "big" moment in the movie is just stupid and there is so little shown that you can't even get what's going on. When I went with my friends to see This is pure garbage and probably the worst movie I've ever seen. Every supposed "big" moment in the movie is just stupid and there is so little shown that you can't even get what's going on. When I went with my friends to see this, they said they liked it.. but couldn't even explain what happened. It just shows you so little about the plot (if there is one) that you just get bored and ask yourself "Why the hell did I see this movie?". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottW.May 9, 2008
Absolutely horrible. There are so many aspects of the movie that the creators and editors obviously overlooked. The "languages" sounded like the actors were told to speak gibberish; the CGI looks horrendous; the acting is sickening. Almost Absolutely horrible. There are so many aspects of the movie that the creators and editors obviously overlooked. The "languages" sounded like the actors were told to speak gibberish; the CGI looks horrendous; the acting is sickening. Almost definitely the worst movie I've ever seen. I will give it this: you CAN have fun if you make fun of everything. I still wouldn't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrandonT.Jun 27, 2008
Bad. Some of the special effects were decent and I came away thinking about the plot somewhat but the movie was extremely poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RebeccaH.Jun 28, 2008
Scenery's not bad. Good if you like plots involving trekking through the wilderness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarieJun 30, 2008
I just finished watching 10,000 BC and I fear that it's going to take me a week to regrow my brain. First of all, where the heck were they?? Why were they wearing sandals in freezing weather? Where did he get the rope to make a litter I just finished watching 10,000 BC and I fear that it's going to take me a week to regrow my brain. First of all, where the heck were they?? Why were they wearing sandals in freezing weather? Where did he get the rope to make a litter with which to carry his injured leader? I didn't know that people made woven cloth in 10,000 BC. Why did the wooden manacles jingle like they were made of metal? And where did they get corn in Egypt?? I tried. I really tried to suspend my disbelief for this movie, but it was just too much. I'd rather watch Beastmaster a dozen times than to subject myself to another 100 minutes of this badly-done, retarded crap again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonH.Jun 4, 2008
It is sooo boring and entertaining, I honestly couldn't finish this movie, it was very, very bad and anticlimactic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EverythingIAmJul 14, 2008
Crap. That's the only word you need if you are considering seeing this movie. Every aspect of the movie is crap. Easily the worst movie of the year so far. People say that its fun just to look at the special effects, yeah, I guess if Crap. That's the only word you need if you are considering seeing this movie. Every aspect of the movie is crap. Easily the worst movie of the year so far. People say that its fun just to look at the special effects, yeah, I guess if you're stoned this movie is pretty cool, but if you want to see cool visuals just watch Planet Earth, at least that mini-series will help regrow some of your braincells that were lost while watching this piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackC.Jul 27, 2008
The worst movie I have seen in a long, long time. To be honest, aside from some incredibly bad Grade B horror flicks or Sci-Fi channel movies, it's hard to think of a movie worse than this. It's awful. Character development is The worst movie I have seen in a long, long time. To be honest, aside from some incredibly bad Grade B horror flicks or Sci-Fi channel movies, it's hard to think of a movie worse than this. It's awful. Character development is completely non-existent. Dialogue is trite and horrible. Immediately from the start, when the gravelly Omar Sharif narration starts and he starts rambling some cliched monologue about "legends" and every historical epic cliche you can imagine, you know it's going to be bad. The movie never, ever engages. It's as if it's been in progress for a few hours already when it begins.The special effects are not necessarily bad, but they are completely uninteresting. Acting is wooden. It is a shame that there are screenwriters and potential directors who are starving because Hollywood won't take a chance on them, and yet crap like this gets put out. What a piece of garbage. If I sound angry, I am. I'm angry I wasted any amount of time on this film; films this bad should not be allowed. Stay far away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamD.Jul 4, 2008
To all the future renters of this movie take notice: This movie is not a historical fact-based movie. It has been stated many times, but it seems that alot of the people who have reviewed here hadn't heard it, this movie is in no way To all the future renters of this movie take notice: This movie is not a historical fact-based movie. It has been stated many times, but it seems that alot of the people who have reviewed here hadn't heard it, this movie is in no way related to any factual events. The story is completly fictional, like it's suppose to be, and therefor is in no way related to history. Ok now on to the review. The main plot is not bad but not good. It is a simple love boy-girl love story. What separates this movie from the others love story is the surrounding actions and happenings(can't find the right word). The visual effects are more then amazing. Personally I watched this movie solely for the visual effects and was happy. All the creatures and the environment are almost perfectly rendered and well integrated. To summarise it all, I give 10,000BC a score of 8 out of 10 and I recommend it to anyone who wants to be amazed visualy. PS. To all the reviewers who critic the historical accuracy of this movie : Where and when has it been declared that 10,000BC was a movie based on real life events? No where. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnH.Jul 4, 2008
It's not academy award material, but not bad DVD popcorn fare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ConnorH.Jul 9, 2008
Some of the lines were kind of funny because of how scripted/stupid they were, but I don't think the writers get enough credit for the story. What nobody ever mentions is the aspect of Fate and Prophecy in this movie. Every tribe has a Some of the lines were kind of funny because of how scripted/stupid they were, but I don't think the writers get enough credit for the story. What nobody ever mentions is the aspect of Fate and Prophecy in this movie. Every tribe has a completely different prophecy that happens to come true through a sequence of events. Like, the constellation scars come from the slave-driver rapist's lashings after Evolet tries to leave a trail. D'Leh doesn't earn the spear the first time, so he doesn't become a real leader until TicTic gives it to him. D'Leh can't really talk to sabertooth Tigers, but he ends up fulfilling exactly what the desert people's cave drawings predicted. When I saw this movie in theaters I was kinda emotionally weird because High School was ending, so I really got into the love element (helps that Camilla Belle is a perfect human being =D). The scene where the army came over the bank of the Nile was really cool, and the kiss scene at the end was heartwarming. I don't know...a lot of people who are calling this movie shallow really weren't considering the storyline at all, so I just thought I'd point it out. Anybody who cites random historical errors will never like this movie, because those errors will be all they'll be able to think about. I came into the theater with no expectations at all and I thought it was a great movie. Plus, I have a crush on Camilla Belle now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
2LiMar 10, 2008
The Egyptians did exist in 10 000 B.C--but blond hair and blue eyes..I don't think so, look it up--and neither did the Sabor-tooth which had LONG been extinct--this movie is way too inaccurate--but amusing enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayK.Mar 10, 2008
it looks epic, it is epic. I don't know why there are so many bad reports on it. the movie takes us back to a time of early civilization whether it is 10000bc or 5000bc I don't care. just look at the movie for what it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JudeMar 10, 2008
This movie sucks. Of all the movies I've watched, this was the only movie that I walked out on. I regretted wasting my money on this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidS.Mar 12, 2008
Clearly a remake of 100000 BC but tries to rectify the historical inaccuracies of the original by incorporating a bunch of modern crackpot theories while keeping it just as fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimP.Mar 12, 2008
Not the best movie for sure, but great for a fun escape movie. Would probably be more worth a rental than seeing on the big screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseO.Mar 14, 2008
This is the worst movie of the last century, I lost my money, my time and shame going to see this piece of...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeG.Mar 15, 2008
Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a lion, which some believe it originally was, later recarved by the Egyptians with the face of the pharaoh), along with perhaps the legend of Atlantis - "they flew across the water when the land sank". Very enjoyable film, but you really need to know about some of the more 'fringe' theories about atlantis and a 10,000bc date for the sphinx in order to understand the subtle references. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SamMar 15, 2008
Before I go into this review, I want it to be pointed out that I love dumb fun. I'd give Independence Day a 10 out of 10 for fuck's sake. I can enjoy movies with bad acting and writing. But, for the love of Christ, 10,000 B.C. has Before I go into this review, I want it to be pointed out that I love dumb fun. I'd give Independence Day a 10 out of 10 for fuck's sake. I can enjoy movies with bad acting and writing. But, for the love of Christ, 10,000 B.C. has such unforgivably terrible acting and writing that good action and pretty visuals can't come close to saving it. The movie is full of ridiculously awful lines (DO NOT EAT ME WHEN I LET YOU FREE), and the atrociously wooden acting doesn't help in the slightest. Were the action fantastic (not just good) and acting bad (not terrible), then I would have given the movie a 7 and maybe rented it again. I can safely say I don't really want to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
J.D.L.Mar 16, 2008
Plenty of sweeping vistas, but far too many historical, ethnic, technological, and geographic inconsistencies and outright falsehoods, longwinded narrations, stilted, wooden performances, and unimpressive special effects. Also WAY too much Plenty of sweeping vistas, but far too many historical, ethnic, technological, and geographic inconsistencies and outright falsehoods, longwinded narrations, stilted, wooden performances, and unimpressive special effects. Also WAY too much use of the line combination "This Way!", "Move move move!", and "Hurry!" By the end of the film, me and my friends didn't even remember any of the silly made-up names of anyone, nor did we care a whit about what happened to them throughout the movie. And the fact that it takes a white guy to unite and lead a force of black and brown (how they can communicate with one another is beyond me) is a bit goofy and demeaning. If this is the best Roland Emmerich can do, he has NO business writing or directing films, especially on such large budgets. And in an age where so many Americans are ignorant or stupid or both, throwing all this pseudohistory at them is not helpful. The great pyramids weren't built until 2300 B.C., they weren't that big, and they didn't use mammoths to build them! I could go one forever with the silliness, but in the end all I can do is scratch my head and wonder WHY they did such a bad job with this. Finally, the PG-13 rating totally neutered the excitement and/or realism a movie about prehistory requires. 10,000 B.C. was a bloody, brutal age, but we hardly see any violence, and NO sex! WTFH? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DawnMar 18, 2008
I felt sympathetic to the old blind man that spent his days in a dark hole after I walked out of the theater of 10,000 B.C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanMar 21, 2008
OK this is a FANTASY. Do not expect historical accuracy. Do expect the most original story those bastards in Hollywood have come up with in a very long time. Go have fun. It rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RFMar 22, 2008
Personally, i think the main characters spoke english to make it easier to follow the movie (subtitles take away from other things like the special effects.) and since the other languages were made up, how was one supposed to know there were Personally, i think the main characters spoke english to make it easier to follow the movie (subtitles take away from other things like the special effects.) and since the other languages were made up, how was one supposed to know there were different ones? easy, have one in english so the others sound different! All in all I think chosing english for the main tribe made the movie a lot more enjoyable. As for the rest of the movie.....it never claimed to be historically accurate so everyone should just settle down and take it as a fairytale ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexanderC.Mar 22, 2008
Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects in the environment and animals looked almost real). Also, the storyline does have a good balance of a little romance, and tons of action and adventure, not the killer machine slaughterhouse bulls**t I've seen in other movies. The cast with Strait, Belle, Mona Hammond, and Cliff Curtis all did a great job with the parts. But in terms of historical accuracies, not only did pyramids and pack animals were problems, but the technology was greatly innacurate. I'm quite sure that the dhals (sailboats) used in the movie and domestication of horses definitely didn't exist in 10,000 B.C. Also, look at the clothing the antagonists, wore (c'mon, color dye was already invented then - There's NO WAY). Yet Besides the historical inaccuracies that would make history teachers, professors, and scholars greatly disappointed at Hollywood, the film did a wonderful job for a fictional based story. It's worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
UNReal101Mar 23, 2008
7. I gave it a solid 7 b/c I went in knowing full well that everyone said it sucked (Plus, Drillbit Taylor was soldout so I settled for this). Movie is horrifically, historically inaccurate, but fantasy wise, it's alright. Just turn off 7. I gave it a solid 7 b/c I went in knowing full well that everyone said it sucked (Plus, Drillbit Taylor was soldout so I settled for this). Movie is horrifically, historically inaccurate, but fantasy wise, it's alright. Just turn off the brain cells walking into this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaleM.Mar 31, 2008
I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities rather than for its adherence to fact. It's too bad that some "smart" people seem to have no understanding of mythic value. The movie is fun and action-packed. It has a real epic feel and some genuine tension about personal versus cultural values. the movie is also rather well-made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Mar 4, 2008
This is this years 300. But from my vantage point has way better special affects and concepts. It is the only movie in a while that you will see really really ancient settings. And the elephants I just thought looked spectacular, I This is this years 300. But from my vantage point has way better special affects and concepts. It is the only movie in a while that you will see really really ancient settings. And the elephants I just thought looked spectacular, I don't know about anyone else but I thought this film was great. Not the best acting, but superb contexts, intense images, and really amazing effects and visuals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeCMar 4, 2008
This film is all CGI looks and no substance. To make things worse its that CGI that doesn't even try to make people not notice...Every time you see you recognize it. The story is laughable since people did not have the technology they This film is all CGI looks and no substance. To make things worse its that CGI that doesn't even try to make people not notice...Every time you see you recognize it. The story is laughable since people did not have the technology they use so readily throughout the movie. They could not build the structures you see rampant in the film and lastly the animals they love to feature in this move were long extinct at the time they show. Yet with all of this they are trying to pass it off as some sort of realistic historic film. If anything wait till its on netflix or comes on at 2:30am on a Tuesday night with all the other horrid movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielM.Mar 5, 2008
Terrible, terrible movie. Drab cinematography, cut-rate special effects, choppy editing, dull action, bad acting. Rolan Emmerich has made bad movies before, but I don't know if he's made one this ugly. They transport us to ten Terrible, terrible movie. Drab cinematography, cut-rate special effects, choppy editing, dull action, bad acting. Rolan Emmerich has made bad movies before, but I don't know if he's made one this ugly. They transport us to ten thousand years before the birth of Christ and this was the best they could do? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LamerichOMar 7, 2008
Emmerich is atrocious once again. How does this guy keep his job? His fantastic movies are 1)illogical 2) juvenile 3) fast food sugary let downs. He always has a nice "idea" for his movies but the execution turns into an 80's incoherent Emmerich is atrocious once again. How does this guy keep his job? His fantastic movies are 1)illogical 2) juvenile 3) fast food sugary let downs. He always has a nice "idea" for his movies but the execution turns into an 80's incoherent music video. This movie has so much CGI and effects that you'll be bedazzled until you quickly realize that your brain is screaming for a piece of "reality" to relate to this nonsense. What's with this guy's infatuation with pyramids? Too much Chariots of the Gods and cheesy 70s Sinbad movie feel for me. I'll watch Conan if I want clubs and loincloths, at least there's a story and interesting characters there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBlowMar 7, 2008
The critics have this all wrong. The special effects are fantastic and the saber tooth tigers nasty. See this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Mar 8, 2008
Great Plot, Great Cinematography, Great Picture, Great Characters, Great Historical Graphic, GREAT MOVIE!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FredP.Mar 8, 2008
I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave enormous drive and push to the plot. No one expects the best acting in this type of film, and no one will be disappointed. The attractive cast drew one in and for me, the greatest disappointment was that the "pharo"figure was not revealed at the end to be a scaley ET, like the space creature in "Star Gate". All in all, good value for money! PS The film score was excellent as was the editing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
skytimesMar 8, 2008
The special effects were good and was visually appealing, however the movie was an overall disappointment. it settled for a weak story line accompanied by little character development. I was expecting something a little more interesting and The special effects were good and was visually appealing, however the movie was an overall disappointment. it settled for a weak story line accompanied by little character development. I was expecting something a little more interesting and authentic, even from a director like Emmerich. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewTMar 9, 2008
Nothing new as storyline goes. It's a love story with wooley mammothes . Add a mystic medicine women to to make a happy ending come true. CG was good the action predictable but still fun to watch. Why an 8 I enjoyed it. Or was it just Nothing new as storyline goes. It's a love story with wooley mammothes . Add a mystic medicine women to to make a happy ending come true. CG was good the action predictable but still fun to watch. Why an 8 I enjoyed it. Or was it just the food at the movie grill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DougR.Mar 9, 2008
Great visuals and special effects. You just have to suspend your disbelief and go along for the fun ride. It's not great, but my son and I enjoyed it !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndrewB.May 22, 2008
The sweeping vistas found within the movie are good-looking but that is the only quarter I will give this terrible movie. Why do the other reviewers state that the movie is better in all other aspects besides the historical inadequacies when The sweeping vistas found within the movie are good-looking but that is the only quarter I will give this terrible movie. Why do the other reviewers state that the movie is better in all other aspects besides the historical inadequacies when there is little to defend? Every line spoken was predictable and the acting poorly executed. I felt nothing for the characters at any point and nearly hated the movie as I watched it. For the love of God stay away from this. The fact that garbage like this is selling well is a tragedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GregoryD.May 22, 2008
They spent more on the advertisements than they did on the movie script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JakeH.May 24, 2008
This movie was great! I found it had a good plot line and the storyboard was welly written and it actually looked like it was in 10,000 B.C and the foreign language and subtitles were really cool also but I don't why people gave it a This movie was great! I found it had a good plot line and the storyboard was welly written and it actually looked like it was in 10,000 B.C and the foreign language and subtitles were really cool also but I don't why people gave it a bad score the movie was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomWMay 5, 2008
Worst movie ever made. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimmyW.Jun 13, 2008
Pretty lame, That girl was hot though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcusA.Jun 25, 2008
Truly one of the worst movies I've ever witnessed. Please stop directing, please. Your movies aren't movies, they are special effects. Learn how to write dialoge because your budget will slowly start to decrease.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WilliamF.Jul 10, 2008
Simple. Boring. Formulaic. You've seen this movie a hundred times if you've seen it once. It is a blunder; a complete swing and miss on a great premise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DonL.Jul 13, 2008
I couldn't finish this piece of crap. One of the worst things I've ever seen. Your average Saturday afternoon SciFi channel made for tv movie has more depth and intelligence. Two big thumbs down.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerS.Jul 23, 2008
This movie had entertainment value and an actual story to it, i felt like they took me on a journey and made me apart of it, i would sugest a rent as you may only watch it once but it is one that you should watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
StuartMJul 27, 2008
Where do I start, poor acting, CG, script...avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichardW.Jul 7, 2008
Loved the special effects, especially the mastadon type animals. Scenery was awesome. Didn't care if it was "historically accurate"...who cares? Just enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ThomasP.Aug 16, 2008
Just horrible. Acting was horrible, writing horrible, directing was horrible. A terrible movie all the way around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineP.Aug 28, 2008
This is the most amazing movie I've ever seen. The special effects were very realistic!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LaurensJan 21, 2009
The movie had okay special effects, but forget about that. The movie itself is just so unbalanced, it really should have been a documentary on National Geographic. Plus, from another view point it's really about these two "villages" The movie had okay special effects, but forget about that. The movie itself is just so unbalanced, it really should have been a documentary on National Geographic. Plus, from another view point it's really about these two "villages" fighting, and of course, d'lay (the main charactor) really likes this girl (Camille Biel) who is called by the anicent mother [Spritual Leader/healer???) the blued eyed girl who will bring "hope". But, of course, the predictable 'knights' come and take away most of the tribe's people. [sorry,i forgot their name] so than 3 men, including D'ley must travel to find their people and bring them back... however most of the knight have either murdered most of them (at their tribe) or are now slaves. So the predictable thing happens, they are transfered to this Temple City (across a very deadly desert, oh my) and finally, god forbid, D'ley kills the emper, and gets the girl, but the anicent mother dies. Yeah, no matter how close i paid attention, the movie just is boring, despite the action. BORING. SNOOZzzzzzzz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardLNov 16, 2008
As a world history teacher, I realize this film is bubble gum for your brain. But to the average sixth grader, whom I teach, it's probably a visual scavenger hunt: hunter-gatherers, domesticators and cultivators, mammoths, sabre-tooths, As a world history teacher, I realize this film is bubble gum for your brain. But to the average sixth grader, whom I teach, it's probably a visual scavenger hunt: hunter-gatherers, domesticators and cultivators, mammoths, sabre-tooths, raw meat, pyramids, boats, nomads in animal skins, villagers in cloth... I mean, come on, a realistic story about 10,000 B.C. would be as bad as mammoth's breath. Lighten up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HinuerasDec 31, 2008
Potentially a good movie for the under 12's otherwise insulting. Big budget low intelligence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YosuaP.Mar 11, 2008
I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to create a prehistoric world with semi-fictional races based on our own past, and letting them coexist with each other. I think that it was an interesting glimpse into the history of mankind from a new perspective and quite worth watching, not only for hobby historians like me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleTMar 12, 2008
You'll really need an open mind for this movie.I think that it was wonderful and the connection between the two lovers is really touching. For the battle scenes, I think they were among the best for an ancient movie. Its actually a You'll really need an open mind for this movie.I think that it was wonderful and the connection between the two lovers is really touching. For the battle scenes, I think they were among the best for an ancient movie. Its actually a matter of opinion, whether u think the movie is good or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RandyC.Mar 12, 2008
I don't know what Mr. Emmerich got for directing this thing, but it should be life........YUCK.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMMar 17, 2008
Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I was shocked, This is the last time I'm ever gonna trust critics, this movie was absolutely incredible! Like come on! It was Intense, genius, thrilling, some parts were funny that were not supposed to be like the way people shacked and looked! Amazing Movie from start to finish, It was breath taking. There were some stupidity though. Well overall great movie, highly recommend teens from age 13-17 that take small humors and big suspense and don't take movie critics 100% serious!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PSMar 21, 2008
Unintentionally hilarious, but still the worst film I've seen in ages. The plot, actors, special effects, EVERYTHING was horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KeithD.Mar 23, 2008
This movie was kind of fun to watch, just don't take it too seriously. It seems this would be good movie for teenage boys (they seem to like it the best, at least). Perhaps even middle-aged men. ;-) But I agree as far as movies go, it This movie was kind of fun to watch, just don't take it too seriously. It seems this would be good movie for teenage boys (they seem to like it the best, at least). Perhaps even middle-aged men. ;-) But I agree as far as movies go, it was pretty bad. But still a nice escape to the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobH.Mar 24, 2008
I was expecting a more less true rendition of what happened 12k years ago, the first 30 minutes were ok, but once i saw people riding horses everything went downhill, the authors depicted in less than 2 hours what in reality happened in a I was expecting a more less true rendition of what happened 12k years ago, the first 30 minutes were ok, but once i saw people riding horses everything went downhill, the authors depicted in less than 2 hours what in reality happened in a span of 6 - 8 thousand years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
J.B.Mar 26, 2008
Hey, common guys! so it was kinda stupid, but i had a really good time watching it. its the kind of movie where you cant be critical of things like historical accuracy and acting per se. its not that kind of movie!! and i liked how theyHey, common guys! so it was kinda stupid, but i had a really good time watching it. its the kind of movie where you cant be critical of things like historical accuracy and acting per se. its not that kind of movie!! and i liked how they incorporated Atlantean theories (not egyptian katie!!) of the hunter and the dogstar. this movie was 10000 times better than 300, the absolute worst abomination of historical fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PaulC.Mar 29, 2008
I liked this movie better when it was called Encino Man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MiguelVApr 11, 2008
After realizing the film was not simply flawed by multiple (pre)historical incongruities but was a whole blunder itself, with mammoth hunting, incipient agriculture, horse-riding and Orion-oriented pyramid building all at a time, I hoped for After realizing the film was not simply flawed by multiple (pre)historical incongruities but was a whole blunder itself, with mammoth hunting, incipient agriculture, horse-riding and Orion-oriented pyramid building all at a time, I hoped for an appealing story that could turn the movie into what all movies ought to be: an entertaining session. But the poor-spirited plotline and dull dialogs quickly made that go too. Save the voice of Omar Sharif. This is not what most people will think but if we are not going to be the least faithful to what is known of human past, then what is the point of setting the action in 10000 BC? I find this important because the first contact of a young and non-specialist audience with remote past will be one full of misconceptions; in a time when our knowledge is in continuous progress Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GermanB.Apr 24, 2008
I feel sorry for the people whom seem to doesn't enjoy this... although forgetting the historical inaccuracies, this is such a great fantasy/epic/love story that move the audience to an adventure, it capture my attention the entire I feel sorry for the people whom seem to doesn't enjoy this... although forgetting the historical inaccuracies, this is such a great fantasy/epic/love story that move the audience to an adventure, it capture my attention the entire movie... it's very entertaining and recommendable if you are not looking for an Academy contender. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful