User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CharlotteP
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Any one who has bad things to say about this movie has missed to point completly! stop reading into things so much. just enjoy a movie dont try to find its faults. the story line was insane, but it was a fun movie that didn't need a lot of thought! very enjoyable.
  2. SallyB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing video... Amazing acting... a real classic in the mind of a normal person!
  3. KatherineP.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    This is the most amazing movie I've ever seen. The special effects were very realistic!!!
  4. GermanB.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    I feel sorry for the people whom seem to doesn't enjoy this... although forgetting the historical inaccuracies, this is such a great fantasy/epic/love story that move the audience to an adventure, it capture my attention the entire movie... it's very entertaining and recommendable if you are not looking for an Academy contender.
  5. DaleM.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities rather than for its adherence to fact. It's too bad that some "smart" people seem to have no understanding of mythic value. The movie is fun and I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities rather than for its adherence to fact. It's too bad that some "smart" people seem to have no understanding of mythic value. The movie is fun and action-packed. It has a real epic feel and some genuine tension about personal versus cultural values. the movie is also rather well-made. Expand
  6. AlexanderC.
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects in the environment and animals looked almost real). Also, the storyline does have a good balance of a little romance, and tons of action and Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects in the environment and animals looked almost real). Also, the storyline does have a good balance of a little romance, and tons of action and adventure, not the killer machine slaughterhouse bulls**t I've seen in other movies. The cast with Strait, Belle, Mona Hammond, and Cliff Curtis all did a great job with the parts. But in terms of historical accuracies, not only did pyramids and pack animals were problems, but the technology was greatly innacurate. I'm quite sure that the dhals (sailboats) used in the movie and domestication of horses definitely didn't exist in 10,000 B.C. Also, look at the clothing the antagonists, wore (c'mon, color dye was already invented then - There's NO WAY). Yet Besides the historical inaccuracies that would make history teachers, professors, and scholars greatly disappointed at Hollywood, the film did a wonderful job for a fictional based story. It's worth the watch. Expand
  7. Sean
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    OK this is a FANTASY. Do not expect historical accuracy. Do expect the most original story those bastards in Hollywood have come up with in a very long time. Go have fun. It rocks.
  8. ZeeM
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I was shocked, This is the last time I'm ever gonna trust critics, this movie was absolutely incredible! Like come on! It was Intense, genius, Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I was shocked, This is the last time I'm ever gonna trust critics, this movie was absolutely incredible! Like come on! It was Intense, genius, thrilling, some parts were funny that were not supposed to be like the way people shacked and looked! Amazing Movie from start to finish, It was breath taking. There were some stupidity though. Well overall great movie, highly recommend teens from age 13-17 that take small humors and big suspense and don't take movie critics 100% serious!!! Expand
  9. TusharV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This picture is very crazy and amazing film it is very nice and must is picture's lockecan is very very good film this film is world no 1 film and great film 1oooo BC.
  10. LukeG.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a lion, which some believe it originally was, later recarved by the Egyptians with the face of the pharaoh), along with perhaps the legend of Atlantis - Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a lion, which some believe it originally was, later recarved by the Egyptians with the face of the pharaoh), along with perhaps the legend of Atlantis - "they flew across the water when the land sank". Very enjoyable film, but you really need to know about some of the more 'fringe' theories about atlantis and a 10,000bc date for the sphinx in order to understand the subtle references. Expand
  11. DavidS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    Clearly a remake of 100000 BC but tries to rectify the historical inaccuracies of the original by incorporating a bunch of modern crackpot theories while keeping it just as fun.
  12. KyleT
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    You'll really need an open mind for this movie.I think that it was wonderful and the connection between the two lovers is really touching. For the battle scenes, I think they were among the best for an ancient movie. Its actually a matter of opinion, whether u think the movie is good or not.
  13. YosuaP.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to create a prehistoric world with semi-fictional races based on our own past, and letting them coexist with each other. I think that it was an I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to create a prehistoric world with semi-fictional races based on our own past, and letting them coexist with each other. I think that it was an interesting glimpse into the history of mankind from a new perspective and quite worth watching, not only for hobby historians like me. Expand
  14. JanaeM
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects weren't phenomenal, I loved the plot and the journey through ancient civilization, no matter who accurate/inaccurate it was! We don't watch I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects weren't phenomenal, I loved the plot and the journey through ancient civilization, no matter who accurate/inaccurate it was! We don't watch these movies for a history lesson though, do we? If we did maybe I'd be super cynical like those critics, but I thoroughly enjoyed the movie myself! Expand
  15. FredP.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave enormous drive and push to the plot. No one expects the best acting in this type of film, and no one will be disappointed. The attractive cast drew one in I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave enormous drive and push to the plot. No one expects the best acting in this type of film, and no one will be disappointed. The attractive cast drew one in and for me, the greatest disappointment was that the "pharo"figure was not revealed at the end to be a scaley ET, like the space creature in "Star Gate". All in all, good value for money! PS The film score was excellent as was the editing! Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Great Plot, Great Cinematography, Great Picture, Great Characters, Great Historical Graphic, GREAT MOVIE!!!!
  17. JoeBlow
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    The critics have this all wrong. The special effects are fantastic and the saber tooth tigers nasty. See this movie.
  18. DanC.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    This is this years 300. But from my vantage point has way better special affects and concepts. It is the only movie in a while that you will see really really ancient settings. And the elephants I just thought looked spectacular, I don't know about anyone else but I thought this film was great. Not the best acting, but superb contexts, intense images, and really amazing effects and visuals.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 17 out of 29
  1. Emmerich has no time for poetry or magic, even when the director and his digital wizards (here doing wildly variable work) are trying to dazzle. He’s a taskmaster and a field marshall, not a visionary. But I enjoyed 10,000 B.C. more and more, and more than just about anything Emmerich’s done before.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Conventional where it should be bold and mild where it should be wild, 10,000 BC reps a missed opportunity to present an imaginative vision of a prehistoric moment.
  3. 42
    "The Day After Tomorrow" was kind of stupidly fun, and 10,000 B.C. might be too, if it weren't so stupidly dull.