Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 7, 2008
4.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 295 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
85
Negative:
120
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
R.EmmerichSucksMar 7, 2008
Two hours of TV commercials would have a more compelling plot, and more complex/likable characters. Just like Emmerich's other films (and all of Michael Bay's films except Transformers), this is a few hours of eye candy with Two hours of TV commercials would have a more compelling plot, and more complex/likable characters. Just like Emmerich's other films (and all of Michael Bay's films except Transformers), this is a few hours of eye candy with lifeless characters you couldn't care less about. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EnriqueMar 12, 2008
A big, resounding bomb!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KatieMar 22, 2008
I just hope this piece of crap won't brainwash our already ignorant teenagers about what really happened in prehistory. Some examples, some obvious, some not so obvious: -mammoths were never used as draft animals -the earliest Egyptian I just hope this piece of crap won't brainwash our already ignorant teenagers about what really happened in prehistory. Some examples, some obvious, some not so obvious: -mammoths were never used as draft animals -the earliest Egyptian pyramid wasn't built until about 2600 BC -chiles and corn are native to the New World (i.e. the Americas) -the Egyptian Pharaohs were not white And of course, after the advent of agriculture, we all lived happily ever after, never hungered or warred or even had to sh*t again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarioDMar 5, 2008
Ugh, what a snoozefest. I knew I was in trouble when I lost interest 10 minutes into this film. Everyone spoke with a different English accent and the bad guys were subtitled. What I really wanted to know when watching was how they made Ugh, what a snoozefest. I knew I was in trouble when I lost interest 10 minutes into this film. Everyone spoke with a different English accent and the bad guys were subtitled. What I really wanted to know when watching was how they made pants in 10,000 BC and what kind of workout routine does Steven Strait have. And were the mamoths computer generated or were the elephants made up by the costume department? These were the only things I cared about... and there was still an hour and a half left. Yuck! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveCMar 8, 2008
This should be listed as a comedy, I laughed more at the movie's stupidity more than being impressed at the action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanaL.Mar 8, 2008
Horrible Movie...what else can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TenfyrAug 1, 2008
Easily the worst movie I've seen. I haven't got the time or the inclination to list what's wrong with it. Some good effects which saved it from getting a 0 from me. If you have a choice between watching this and cleaning Easily the worst movie I've seen. I haven't got the time or the inclination to list what's wrong with it. Some good effects which saved it from getting a 0 from me. If you have a choice between watching this and cleaning behind the fridge, choose the latter, you'd have more fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Mar 10, 2008
"10,000 B.C." is "Apocalypto" for bright toddlers(dummies is too harsh and insulting to the bright toddlers). Mel Gibson may have issues with the chosen people, but give the guy some credit. The Mayans didn't speak English. Neither did "10,000 B.C." is "Apocalypto" for bright toddlers(dummies is too harsh and insulting to the bright toddlers). Mel Gibson may have issues with the chosen people, but give the guy some credit. The Mayans didn't speak English. Neither did people who lived during the Paleolithic period. But in "10,000 B.C.", they do. And it's distracting. Especially so when another tribe speaks a dissimilar language. This difference reminds me of the animated animals in Disney films. Goofy talks. Pluto talks like a dog. It makes no intellectual sense. It's all arbitrary. Just like the assignment of languages to the warring tribes. "10,000 B.C." might as well be a cartoon, a cartoon by Hanna Barbera, that is. As previously stated, this movie will entertain bright toddlers, or the bright toddler in the television-addled viewer. For pete's sake, a narrator? Really? Communicating through hieroglyphics, not expressive enough? And the half-hearted(PG-13 sanctioned) human sacrifices to the gods made me yearn for the Grand Guginol scale of decapitations in "Apocalypto". Gibson knows how to photograph a rolling head. He also knows a thing or two about keeping it real. Any historical film is capable of withstanding an anachorism, here and there, but "10,000 B.C." never comes close to establishing time and place. Although "Quest for Fire" looks the worst production of "Cirque du Soleil" you ever saw, give that film its props for inventing their own language. Rae Dawn-Chong, where are you? "10,000 B.C." needs you, not that Lindsey Lohan-lookalike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrandonC.Mar 12, 2008
I would advise that you wait for this movie to come out on DVD, so you can skip it again. This movie has literally nothing going for it. The acting is poor. the plot is full of holes bigger than George Bush's presidency. Though the CG I would advise that you wait for this movie to come out on DVD, so you can skip it again. This movie has literally nothing going for it. The acting is poor. the plot is full of holes bigger than George Bush's presidency. Though the CG effects are good, all the action sequences are spoiled by terrible dialouge and screenplay. If this movie was a comedy, it would be great, but because it takes itself so seriously, it goes from laughably bad to annoying. You'll laugh, you'll cry. and you can kiss your money goodbye! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BuzzBMar 18, 2008
You know how it's possible to enjoy a dumb movie if you make a pact with your brain to disengage most of your brain cells and sit back and enjoy the action. Well you can't do that with 10,000 BC because it's too stupid with You know how it's possible to enjoy a dumb movie if you make a pact with your brain to disengage most of your brain cells and sit back and enjoy the action. Well you can't do that with 10,000 BC because it's too stupid with absolutely no redeeming features whatsover. To have any chance at all of enjoying this film you would need to be mentally retarded and, even then, you'd probably still want your money back. How studio people can sit around and give the green light to the production of complete dross such as this really beggars belief. Rent a copy of 2 Million Years BC with Raquel Welch instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HamMar 5, 2008
Where to start? Okay - first. Don't see this film - it is that bad. The first half of the film is close to the worst I've ever seen on screen. I nearly walked out. The second part gets marginally better but I've seen better Where to start? Okay - first. Don't see this film - it is that bad. The first half of the film is close to the worst I've ever seen on screen. I nearly walked out. The second part gets marginally better but I've seen better action scenes in a hundred films other films. The plot is contrived, confused. Not to mention the daft sounding accent they all have been told to speak with. Once again...don't bother watching this film!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeT.Mar 6, 2008
I'd like to point out that civilization did not exist in the real 10,000 B.C. -- you know, the one that happened 12,008 years ago. Why has no one mentioned this? And why did anyone decide to make this in the first place? Hypothetical I'd like to point out that civilization did not exist in the real 10,000 B.C. -- you know, the one that happened 12,008 years ago. Why has no one mentioned this? And why did anyone decide to make this in the first place? Hypothetical questions -- the hallmark of a bad film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JackW.Mar 8, 2008
Dismal. Early reviews made this sound like it would be good (better than typical Emmerich) but it isn't. Aside from the occasional good special effects, its awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
nozclankMar 8, 2008
Akin to Apocalypto and The 13th Warrior but worse, ripping off elements from a dozen or more better adventure/action/fantasy films including to name but a few: King Arthur (OK, not much better but better all the same), 300, Stargate, Lord of Akin to Apocalypto and The 13th Warrior but worse, ripping off elements from a dozen or more better adventure/action/fantasy films including to name but a few: King Arthur (OK, not much better but better all the same), 300, Stargate, Lord of the Rings, Jurassic Park, Gladiator and Troy. A steaming turd of a film. Here's a blank space, fill it with a list of fun you can have in 109 mins: ... ... ... Pick one and remember it when someone suggests you watch 10,000 BC. Also remember the words 'vomit', 'prison', 'stench', 'pain', 'plague' and 'insurance company'. In the meantime you can join the mounting campaign to have Roland Emmerich captured and thrown to hungry pigs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KD.Mar 9, 2008
Utterly Dreadful! This movie is so boring, stupid and cliche - and it had so much promise! Very disappointing. The movie is just a big "You can't tell me they're going to pull THAT old movie trick again" - 10 times.... four two Utterly Dreadful! This movie is so boring, stupid and cliche - and it had so much promise! Very disappointing. The movie is just a big "You can't tell me they're going to pull THAT old movie trick again" - 10 times.... four two hours. So dreadfully predictable and badly written. The visuals are great, but the script is just so dreadful, it absolutely kills all sense of enjoyment this movie has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidMay 26, 2008
The fact that we know that not all of this existed in 10,000BC just adds to the lameness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristopherH.May 28, 2008
Should be watched next in 10,000 more years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst film I've seen ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisZMay 4, 2008
This is pure garbage and probably the worst movie I've ever seen. Every supposed "big" moment in the movie is just stupid and there is so little shown that you can't even get what's going on. When I went with my friends to see This is pure garbage and probably the worst movie I've ever seen. Every supposed "big" moment in the movie is just stupid and there is so little shown that you can't even get what's going on. When I went with my friends to see this, they said they liked it.. but couldn't even explain what happened. It just shows you so little about the plot (if there is one) that you just get bored and ask yourself "Why the hell did I see this movie?". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottW.May 9, 2008
Absolutely horrible. There are so many aspects of the movie that the creators and editors obviously overlooked. The "languages" sounded like the actors were told to speak gibberish; the CGI looks horrendous; the acting is sickening. Almost Absolutely horrible. There are so many aspects of the movie that the creators and editors obviously overlooked. The "languages" sounded like the actors were told to speak gibberish; the CGI looks horrendous; the acting is sickening. Almost definitely the worst movie I've ever seen. I will give it this: you CAN have fun if you make fun of everything. I still wouldn't recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BrandonT.Jun 27, 2008
Bad. Some of the special effects were decent and I came away thinking about the plot somewhat but the movie was extremely poor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarieJun 30, 2008
I just finished watching 10,000 BC and I fear that it's going to take me a week to regrow my brain. First of all, where the heck were they?? Why were they wearing sandals in freezing weather? Where did he get the rope to make a litter I just finished watching 10,000 BC and I fear that it's going to take me a week to regrow my brain. First of all, where the heck were they?? Why were they wearing sandals in freezing weather? Where did he get the rope to make a litter with which to carry his injured leader? I didn't know that people made woven cloth in 10,000 BC. Why did the wooden manacles jingle like they were made of metal? And where did they get corn in Egypt?? I tried. I really tried to suspend my disbelief for this movie, but it was just too much. I'd rather watch Beastmaster a dozen times than to subject myself to another 100 minutes of this badly-done, retarded crap again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonH.Jun 4, 2008
It is sooo boring and entertaining, I honestly couldn't finish this movie, it was very, very bad and anticlimactic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EverythingIAmJul 14, 2008
Crap. That's the only word you need if you are considering seeing this movie. Every aspect of the movie is crap. Easily the worst movie of the year so far. People say that its fun just to look at the special effects, yeah, I guess if Crap. That's the only word you need if you are considering seeing this movie. Every aspect of the movie is crap. Easily the worst movie of the year so far. People say that its fun just to look at the special effects, yeah, I guess if you're stoned this movie is pretty cool, but if you want to see cool visuals just watch Planet Earth, at least that mini-series will help regrow some of your braincells that were lost while watching this piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackC.Jul 27, 2008
The worst movie I have seen in a long, long time. To be honest, aside from some incredibly bad Grade B horror flicks or Sci-Fi channel movies, it's hard to think of a movie worse than this. It's awful. Character development is The worst movie I have seen in a long, long time. To be honest, aside from some incredibly bad Grade B horror flicks or Sci-Fi channel movies, it's hard to think of a movie worse than this. It's awful. Character development is completely non-existent. Dialogue is trite and horrible. Immediately from the start, when the gravelly Omar Sharif narration starts and he starts rambling some cliched monologue about "legends" and every historical epic cliche you can imagine, you know it's going to be bad. The movie never, ever engages. It's as if it's been in progress for a few hours already when it begins.The special effects are not necessarily bad, but they are completely uninteresting. Acting is wooden. It is a shame that there are screenwriters and potential directors who are starving because Hollywood won't take a chance on them, and yet crap like this gets put out. What a piece of garbage. If I sound angry, I am. I'm angry I wasted any amount of time on this film; films this bad should not be allowed. Stay far away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JudeMar 10, 2008
This movie sucks. Of all the movies I've watched, this was the only movie that I walked out on. I regretted wasting my money on this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoseO.Mar 14, 2008
This is the worst movie of the last century, I lost my money, my time and shame going to see this piece of...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
J.D.L.Mar 16, 2008
Plenty of sweeping vistas, but far too many historical, ethnic, technological, and geographic inconsistencies and outright falsehoods, longwinded narrations, stilted, wooden performances, and unimpressive special effects. Also WAY too much Plenty of sweeping vistas, but far too many historical, ethnic, technological, and geographic inconsistencies and outright falsehoods, longwinded narrations, stilted, wooden performances, and unimpressive special effects. Also WAY too much use of the line combination "This Way!", "Move move move!", and "Hurry!" By the end of the film, me and my friends didn't even remember any of the silly made-up names of anyone, nor did we care a whit about what happened to them throughout the movie. And the fact that it takes a white guy to unite and lead a force of black and brown (how they can communicate with one another is beyond me) is a bit goofy and demeaning. If this is the best Roland Emmerich can do, he has NO business writing or directing films, especially on such large budgets. And in an age where so many Americans are ignorant or stupid or both, throwing all this pseudohistory at them is not helpful. The great pyramids weren't built until 2300 B.C., they weren't that big, and they didn't use mammoths to build them! I could go one forever with the silliness, but in the end all I can do is scratch my head and wonder WHY they did such a bad job with this. Finally, the PG-13 rating totally neutered the excitement and/or realism a movie about prehistory requires. 10,000 B.C. was a bloody, brutal age, but we hardly see any violence, and NO sex! WTFH? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DawnMar 18, 2008
I felt sympathetic to the old blind man that spent his days in a dark hole after I walked out of the theater of 10,000 B.C.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JoeCMar 4, 2008
This film is all CGI looks and no substance. To make things worse its that CGI that doesn't even try to make people not notice...Every time you see you recognize it. The story is laughable since people did not have the technology they This film is all CGI looks and no substance. To make things worse its that CGI that doesn't even try to make people not notice...Every time you see you recognize it. The story is laughable since people did not have the technology they use so readily throughout the movie. They could not build the structures you see rampant in the film and lastly the animals they love to feature in this move were long extinct at the time they show. Yet with all of this they are trying to pass it off as some sort of realistic historic film. If anything wait till its on netflix or comes on at 2:30am on a Tuesday night with all the other horrid movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielM.Mar 5, 2008
Terrible, terrible movie. Drab cinematography, cut-rate special effects, choppy editing, dull action, bad acting. Rolan Emmerich has made bad movies before, but I don't know if he's made one this ugly. They transport us to ten Terrible, terrible movie. Drab cinematography, cut-rate special effects, choppy editing, dull action, bad acting. Rolan Emmerich has made bad movies before, but I don't know if he's made one this ugly. They transport us to ten thousand years before the birth of Christ and this was the best they could do? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful