User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TusharV.
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This picture is very crazy and amazing film it is very nice and must is picture's lockecan is very very good film this film is world no 1 film and great film 1oooo BC.
  2. SallyB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing video... Amazing acting... a real classic in the mind of a normal person!
  3. CharlotteP
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Any one who has bad things to say about this movie has missed to point completly! stop reading into things so much. just enjoy a movie dont try to find its faults. the story line was insane, but it was a fun movie that didn't need a lot of thought! very enjoyable.
  4. LukeG.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a lion, which some believe it originally was, later recarved by the Egyptians with the face of the pharaoh), along with perhaps the legend of Atlantis - Absolute genius. Emmerich very cleverly and subtly worked in many myths, legends and more modern ideas into his film. Such as the 10,000bc date thought by some to be when the sphinx at giza was built (seen in the film with the head of a lion, which some believe it originally was, later recarved by the Egyptians with the face of the pharaoh), along with perhaps the legend of Atlantis - "they flew across the water when the land sank". Very enjoyable film, but you really need to know about some of the more 'fringe' theories about atlantis and a 10,000bc date for the sphinx in order to understand the subtle references. Expand
  5. Sean
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    OK this is a FANTASY. Do not expect historical accuracy. Do expect the most original story those bastards in Hollywood have come up with in a very long time. Go have fun. It rocks.
  6. DanC.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    This is this years 300. But from my vantage point has way better special affects and concepts. It is the only movie in a while that you will see really really ancient settings. And the elephants I just thought looked spectacular, I don't know about anyone else but I thought this film was great. Not the best acting, but superb contexts, intense images, and really amazing effects and visuals.
  7. JoeBlow
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    The critics have this all wrong. The special effects are fantastic and the saber tooth tigers nasty. See this movie.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Great Plot, Great Cinematography, Great Picture, Great Characters, Great Historical Graphic, GREAT MOVIE!!!!
  9. KatherineP.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    This is the most amazing movie I've ever seen. The special effects were very realistic!!!
  10. KyleT
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    You'll really need an open mind for this movie.I think that it was wonderful and the connection between the two lovers is really touching. For the battle scenes, I think they were among the best for an ancient movie. Its actually a matter of opinion, whether u think the movie is good or not.
  11. ZeeM
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I was shocked, This is the last time I'm ever gonna trust critics, this movie was absolutely incredible! Like come on! It was Intense, genius, Thats It..I'm not trusting these Critics anymore. I was shocked by the reviews and didn't want to go watch it anymore. But I just had the nerve to. I was worried it was gonna be terrible as It was rated. After the movie finished I was shocked, This is the last time I'm ever gonna trust critics, this movie was absolutely incredible! Like come on! It was Intense, genius, thrilling, some parts were funny that were not supposed to be like the way people shacked and looked! Amazing Movie from start to finish, It was breath taking. There were some stupidity though. Well overall great movie, highly recommend teens from age 13-17 that take small humors and big suspense and don't take movie critics 100% serious!!! Expand
  12. JanaeM
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects weren't phenomenal, I loved the plot and the journey through ancient civilization, no matter who accurate/inaccurate it was! We don't watch I thought that the movie was great... the reviewers up above are all too cynical to see what an interesting movie it was. I thought the prophesy's that were included made the movie so much more dynamic, and while the special effects weren't phenomenal, I loved the plot and the journey through ancient civilization, no matter who accurate/inaccurate it was! We don't watch these movies for a history lesson though, do we? If we did maybe I'd be super cynical like those critics, but I thoroughly enjoyed the movie myself! Expand
  13. DavidS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    Clearly a remake of 100000 BC but tries to rectify the historical inaccuracies of the original by incorporating a bunch of modern crackpot theories while keeping it just as fun.
  14. AlexanderC.
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects in the environment and animals looked almost real). Also, the storyline does have a good balance of a little romance, and tons of action and Overall, I think the movie was indeed a wonderful piece that had served its purpose. As a history intuitive thinker however, FACE IT, I will agree it's very much quite inaccurate. Yet the film did a great job with the CGI, (the effects in the environment and animals looked almost real). Also, the storyline does have a good balance of a little romance, and tons of action and adventure, not the killer machine slaughterhouse bulls**t I've seen in other movies. The cast with Strait, Belle, Mona Hammond, and Cliff Curtis all did a great job with the parts. But in terms of historical accuracies, not only did pyramids and pack animals were problems, but the technology was greatly innacurate. I'm quite sure that the dhals (sailboats) used in the movie and domestication of horses definitely didn't exist in 10,000 B.C. Also, look at the clothing the antagonists, wore (c'mon, color dye was already invented then - There's NO WAY). Yet Besides the historical inaccuracies that would make history teachers, professors, and scholars greatly disappointed at Hollywood, the film did a wonderful job for a fictional based story. It's worth the watch. Expand
  15. DaleM.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities rather than for its adherence to fact. It's too bad that some "smart" people seem to have no understanding of mythic value. The movie is fun and I feel sorry for all those who are too smart for this movie. Yes it has historical inaccuracies. So to do the Bible, the Iliad, the Three Musketeers, and numerous other great works. Sometimes the value of a work is from its mythic qualities rather than for its adherence to fact. It's too bad that some "smart" people seem to have no understanding of mythic value. The movie is fun and action-packed. It has a real epic feel and some genuine tension about personal versus cultural values. the movie is also rather well-made. Expand
  16. FredP.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave enormous drive and push to the plot. No one expects the best acting in this type of film, and no one will be disappointed. The attractive cast drew one in I felt this movie did almost everything it set out to do: impress, dazzle, move ones emotions. Even the clichee's of this genre were well handled and the sweep of the terrain (N.Zealand, Nambia, S.Africa) and varied settings gave enormous drive and push to the plot. No one expects the best acting in this type of film, and no one will be disappointed. The attractive cast drew one in and for me, the greatest disappointment was that the "pharo"figure was not revealed at the end to be a scaley ET, like the space creature in "Star Gate". All in all, good value for money! PS The film score was excellent as was the editing! Expand
  17. YosuaP.
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to create a prehistoric world with semi-fictional races based on our own past, and letting them coexist with each other. I think that it was an I can only agree with Janae, I just cannot understand why this film has received such terrible critic. I admit that the actor's acting abilities could have made it a bit more credible, but what I really enjoyed was how they managed to create a prehistoric world with semi-fictional races based on our own past, and letting them coexist with each other. I think that it was an interesting glimpse into the history of mankind from a new perspective and quite worth watching, not only for hobby historians like me. Expand
  18. GermanB.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    I feel sorry for the people whom seem to doesn't enjoy this... although forgetting the historical inaccuracies, this is such a great fantasy/epic/love story that move the audience to an adventure, it capture my attention the entire movie... it's very entertaining and recommendable if you are not looking for an Academy contender.
  19. DonaldT.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    Terrific special effects and cinema photography. Fast paced with few slow spots. Interesting and entertaining. A special world. Much better than the comic book hero movies which are all the same formula. Decent acting. Deserves a much better rating than the critics gave it. Maybe some of the critics didn't get bribed is the reason for the low rating.
  20. Bangell
    Mar 25, 2008
    8
    Surprisingly good! Sure, it may not be historicallly accurate, but everything was there to make 10000bc a mini-epic. A few slip-ups, including a dodgy ending, held it back a little, but on the whole it was very enjoyable. Thrilling, powerful, intense fun. Occasional spots of humour, which inspired a chuckle from the audience, but did nothing to detract from the epic feel of the movie. Surprisingly good! Sure, it may not be historicallly accurate, but everything was there to make 10000bc a mini-epic. A few slip-ups, including a dodgy ending, held it back a little, but on the whole it was very enjoyable. Thrilling, powerful, intense fun. Occasional spots of humour, which inspired a chuckle from the audience, but did nothing to detract from the epic feel of the movie. I'd recommend going to see this movie - don't assume it will suck just because the dumb critics say so. Expand
  21. JesusM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    Not the best movie ever but nowhere near as bad as its been rated.
  22. CoffinS.
    Mar 26, 2008
    8
    What the heck is wrong with these critics. Sure, there isn't much historical accuracy, but come on. It was very well made and enjoyable in all other aspects
  23. DanaM.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Very entertaining movie. Well worth the $10 entrance fee. Don't let the negative nay-sayers dissuade you from going if you like what you've seen in the previews.
  24. BenS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    This was an excellent movie. Though bits were silly or downright stupid, I don't get how people can dislike it that much.
  25. WilliamD.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    To all the future renters of this movie take notice: This movie is not a historical fact-based movie. It has been stated many times, but it seems that alot of the people who have reviewed here hadn't heard it, this movie is in no way related to any factual events. The story is completly fictional, like it's suppose to be, and therefor is in no way related to history. Ok now on To all the future renters of this movie take notice: This movie is not a historical fact-based movie. It has been stated many times, but it seems that alot of the people who have reviewed here hadn't heard it, this movie is in no way related to any factual events. The story is completly fictional, like it's suppose to be, and therefor is in no way related to history. Ok now on to the review. The main plot is not bad but not good. It is a simple love boy-girl love story. What separates this movie from the others love story is the surrounding actions and happenings(can't find the right word). The visual effects are more then amazing. Personally I watched this movie solely for the visual effects and was happy. All the creatures and the environment are almost perfectly rendered and well integrated. To summarise it all, I give 10,000BC a score of 8 out of 10 and I recommend it to anyone who wants to be amazed visualy. PS. To all the reviewers who critic the historical accuracy of this movie : Where and when has it been declared that 10,000BC was a movie based on real life events? No where. Expand
  26. ConnorH.
    Jul 9, 2008
    8
    Some of the lines were kind of funny because of how scripted/stupid they were, but I don't think the writers get enough credit for the story. What nobody ever mentions is the aspect of Fate and Prophecy in this movie. Every tribe has a completely different prophecy that happens to come true through a sequence of events. Like, the constellation scars come from the slave-driver Some of the lines were kind of funny because of how scripted/stupid they were, but I don't think the writers get enough credit for the story. What nobody ever mentions is the aspect of Fate and Prophecy in this movie. Every tribe has a completely different prophecy that happens to come true through a sequence of events. Like, the constellation scars come from the slave-driver rapist's lashings after Evolet tries to leave a trail. D'Leh doesn't earn the spear the first time, so he doesn't become a real leader until TicTic gives it to him. D'Leh can't really talk to sabertooth Tigers, but he ends up fulfilling exactly what the desert people's cave drawings predicted. When I saw this movie in theaters I was kinda emotionally weird because High School was ending, so I really got into the love element (helps that Camilla Belle is a perfect human being =D). The scene where the army came over the bank of the Nile was really cool, and the kiss scene at the end was heartwarming. I don't know...a lot of people who are calling this movie shallow really weren't considering the storyline at all, so I just thought I'd point it out. Anybody who cites random historical errors will never like this movie, because those errors will be all they'll be able to think about. I came into the theater with no expectations at all and I thought it was a great movie. Plus, I have a crush on Camilla Belle now! Expand
  27. JayK.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    it looks epic, it is epic. I don't know why there are so many bad reports on it. the movie takes us back to a time of early civilization whether it is 10000bc or 5000bc I don't care. just look at the movie for what it is.
  28. AndrewT
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Nothing new as storyline goes. It's a love story with wooley mammothes . Add a mystic medicine women to to make a happy ending come true. CG was good the action predictable but still fun to watch. Why an 8 I enjoyed it. Or was it just the food at the movie grill.
  29. JakeH.
    May 24, 2008
    8
    This movie was great! I found it had a good plot line and the storyboard was welly written and it actually looked like it was in 10,000 B.C and the foreign language and subtitles were really cool also but I don't why people gave it a bad score the movie was pretty good.
  30. TylerS.
    Jul 23, 2008
    8
    This movie had entertainment value and an actual story to it, i felt like they took me on a journey and made me apart of it, i would sugest a rent as you may only watch it once but it is one that you should watch!
  31. RichardW.
    Jul 7, 2008
    8
    Loved the special effects, especially the mastadon type animals. Scenery was awesome. Didn't care if it was "historically accurate"...who cares? Just enjoy the ride.
  32. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    I liked it. The action was immense and it had a likeable theme to it. The plot was not the most complex and it wasn't very original in terms of scope. However the acting was great and i like the characters. he ending ruined it, however
  33. GrahamS.
    May 7, 2008
    7
    I found this movie to start slow but soon got going, and had some great action scenes and spic vista's. Don't expect the movie to challenge you mentally, just sit back and enjoy the on rush of action scenes and epic vista's.
  34. DaveD.
    Mar 11, 2008
    7
    The basic plot is predictable, but the experience is enjoyable. Great special effects. I give it high marks for family friendliness. The violence is not gory. Most older grade schoolers would have no problems with it.
  35. TimP.
    Mar 12, 2008
    7
    Not the best movie for sure, but great for a fun escape movie. Would probably be more worth a rental than seeing on the big screen.
  36. RF
    Mar 22, 2008
    7
    Personally, i think the main characters spoke english to make it easier to follow the movie (subtitles take away from other things like the special effects.) and since the other languages were made up, how was one supposed to know there were different ones? easy, have one in english so the others sound different! All in all I think chosing english for the main tribe made the movie a lot Personally, i think the main characters spoke english to make it easier to follow the movie (subtitles take away from other things like the special effects.) and since the other languages were made up, how was one supposed to know there were different ones? easy, have one in english so the others sound different! All in all I think chosing english for the main tribe made the movie a lot more enjoyable. As for the rest of the movie.....it never claimed to be historically accurate so everyone should just settle down and take it as a fairytale ending. Expand
  37. UNReal101
    Mar 23, 2008
    7
    7. I gave it a solid 7 b/c I went in knowing full well that everyone said it sucked (Plus, Drillbit Taylor was soldout so I settled for this). Movie is horrifically, historically inaccurate, but fantasy wise, it's alright. Just turn off the brain cells walking into this one.
  38. DougR.
    Mar 9, 2008
    7
    Great visuals and special effects. You just have to suspend your disbelief and go along for the fun ride. It's not great, but my son and I enjoyed it !
  39. RichardL
    Nov 16, 2008
    7
    As a world history teacher, I realize this film is bubble gum for your brain. But to the average sixth grader, whom I teach, it's probably a visual scavenger hunt: hunter-gatherers, domesticators and cultivators, mammoths, sabre-tooths, raw meat, pyramids, boats, nomads in animal skins, villagers in cloth... I mean, come on, a realistic story about 10,000 B.C. would be as bad as As a world history teacher, I realize this film is bubble gum for your brain. But to the average sixth grader, whom I teach, it's probably a visual scavenger hunt: hunter-gatherers, domesticators and cultivators, mammoths, sabre-tooths, raw meat, pyramids, boats, nomads in animal skins, villagers in cloth... I mean, come on, a realistic story about 10,000 B.C. would be as bad as mammoth's breath. Lighten up! Expand
  40. J.B.
    Mar 26, 2008
    7
    Hey, common guys! so it was kinda stupid, but i had a really good time watching it. its the kind of movie where you cant be critical of things like historical accuracy and acting per se. its not that kind of movie!! and i liked how they incorporated Atlantean theories (not egyptian katie!!) of the hunter and the dogstar. this movie was 10000 times better than 300, the absolute worstHey, common guys! so it was kinda stupid, but i had a really good time watching it. its the kind of movie where you cant be critical of things like historical accuracy and acting per se. its not that kind of movie!! and i liked how they incorporated Atlantean theories (not egyptian katie!!) of the hunter and the dogstar. this movie was 10000 times better than 300, the absolute worst abomination of historical fiction. Expand
  41. Dec 16, 2011
    7
    I actually enjoyed this film, despite being terribly historically inaccurate. Great time waster, topped with great effects and decent acting. Worth watching, in my mind anyways.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 17 out of 29
  1. Emmerich has no time for poetry or magic, even when the director and his digital wizards (here doing wildly variable work) are trying to dazzle. He’s a taskmaster and a field marshall, not a visionary. But I enjoyed 10,000 B.C. more and more, and more than just about anything Emmerich’s done before.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    Conventional where it should be bold and mild where it should be wild, 10,000 BC reps a missed opportunity to present an imaginative vision of a prehistoric moment.
  3. 42
    "The Day After Tomorrow" was kind of stupidly fun, and 10,000 B.C. might be too, if it weren't so stupidly dull.