Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 27, 1996
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 106 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
66
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
I know that this film is an epic, but I will not be influenced by this or I will base my critique on the fact that a film is epic or not. I actually think the movie a big failure in cinematic terms. But for watching with family at times likeI know that this film is an epic, but I will not be influenced by this or I will base my critique on the fact that a film is epic or not. I actually think the movie a big failure in cinematic terms. But for watching with family at times like Christmas or Easter is perfect, and the kids do not dislike. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Nov 6, 2010
not terrible, but not that good.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
FaiKJan 28, 2007
i just like the part that all the dogs barks to send news about the puppies
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RikiegeDec 23, 2012
Entertaining film but surreal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WriteFilmLive21Mar 16, 2013
This, for me, is truly something of a unique film. It has all the corniness and cheap slapstick of a plethora of other comedies cashing in on popular trends which in this case, was "Home Alone" while otherwise being painfully sappy. Yet,This, for me, is truly something of a unique film. It has all the corniness and cheap slapstick of a plethora of other comedies cashing in on popular trends which in this case, was "Home Alone" while otherwise being painfully sappy. Yet, for some reason, "101 Dalmatians" doesn't bother me when it's corny. And I think it's because it's so thoroughly and consistently corny that you just end up buying into this strange pseudo-cartoon world they build. It knows how silly it is and just enjoys itself nonetheless, and the result is a movie you really just can't help but like. It's so innocent and fluffed with lighthearted chuckle that it's very hard to call it unenjoyable, no matter how bad one might consider it. And of course, you have Glenn Close turning in a gleefully over-the-top performance as Cruella DeVil who, by the way, turns everything she touches into some awesome piece of art direction and an affectionately charming and humorous Hugh Laurie as one of her bumbling dognappers. This was never meant to be taken seriously. That's clear from the start. And I honestly have to call it a guilty pleasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DibbHansenJul 16, 2013
A very entertaining film that has some hilarious stuff to share and some great acting (especially from Glenn Close). Overall, the film is very entertaining and it sticks to the Disney's animated film very well. I really enjoy this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 22, 2014
101 Dalmatians was a heartwarming, enjoyable Disney movie in 1961. This version doesn't smother the name, but it takes a more sinister angle that is trying to be more than it is. Perhaps Cruella's antics just didn't translate well from101 Dalmatians was a heartwarming, enjoyable Disney movie in 1961. This version doesn't smother the name, but it takes a more sinister angle that is trying to be more than it is. Perhaps Cruella's antics just didn't translate well from animation to live action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SparklinDiamondApr 27, 2014
This movie is a classic! Maybe I am the only one who actually prefers this version to the animated one, but I am a Disney lover and think this one has more depth. Glenn Close was perfect casting for Cruella De Vil. She is actually evil, andThis movie is a classic! Maybe I am the only one who actually prefers this version to the animated one, but I am a Disney lover and think this one has more depth. Glenn Close was perfect casting for Cruella De Vil. She is actually evil, and really brings the character to life. Plus the dogs are so much cuter in real life! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonNov 17, 2014
Despite a superb performance from Glenn Close as Cruella de Vil 101 Dalmatians never achieves more than any other mid-level Disney film like Beethoven. It's far from terrible but almost everything in it has been seen before and you'd be muchDespite a superb performance from Glenn Close as Cruella de Vil 101 Dalmatians never achieves more than any other mid-level Disney film like Beethoven. It's far from terrible but almost everything in it has been seen before and you'd be much better off watching the more entertaining cartoon version. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
homer4presidentMar 29, 2015
This is one of the most boring, dull, annoying and most unnecessary live action remakes of all time. Honestly, who wants to watch some trashy remake when they can watch the original heartwarming animated classic. There's a good CruellaThis is one of the most boring, dull, annoying and most unnecessary live action remakes of all time. Honestly, who wants to watch some trashy remake when they can watch the original heartwarming animated classic. There's a good Cruella performance but apart from that all I can say is. Why? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeJan 3, 2016
For such a remake to the animation one, it's pretty much okay. Nothing bad about it, but nothing good about it either. 101 Dalmatians will either pass away the time or you'll eject the disc out of the Blu-ray/DVD player depending on yourFor such a remake to the animation one, it's pretty much okay. Nothing bad about it, but nothing good about it either. 101 Dalmatians will either pass away the time or you'll eject the disc out of the Blu-ray/DVD player depending on your taste in movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorMar 23, 2016
The film tries to be a "good-friend" of the original animated classic, but it fails on his boring story-telling and it also tries quickly to make unforgettable characters, but its failure is a big as his direction and interpretations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews