User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 478

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    127 Hours is a horrific yet uplifting film that depicts the fragility of the "one-man army" mindset of human and how the possession of valiance can overcome personal flaws. Coming from an award winning Slumdog Millionaire, director Danny Boyle returns with a film based on the true story of Aron Ralston, a mountain climber who was forced to amputate his arm after his arm had been trapped by a boulder. Portrayed by James Franco, the film recreates Ralston's "127 hours" of isolation and how he was able to survive by expressing self-control and personal motivation. Danny Boyle's film, in my opinion, surpasses his somewhat overrated Slumdog Millionaire, due to the fact that Boyle tried to break limits without losing the reality of the story, something that was flawed in his previous effort. But drawing from the success of his Slumdog, Boyle uses the same brilliant style of cinematography within this film. This aspect of the film provides a modern essence to the film and adds a fast-pace to an otherwise lengthy story. Comparisons set aside, 127 Hours is a brilliant film that can stand alone from its directorial background. The build-up of pressure and suspense essentially drives the film. At first glance, 127 Hours's task to create an interesting experience from a single setting and character would seem too daunting. But Boyle is able to set the momentum through flashblacks and personal insights; but because of the restrained limit of the story, the engagement of the film experiences its own monotonous flaws. The film relies on pressure, and that is formed by the audience's connection with Franco and the urgency of the character's fate. James Franco's (who turned down a role in Inception for this film) character is practically the sole individual of the film, yet he makes no mistakes. Franco is able to integrate a subtle breakdown while able to suffice restraint, creating emotion that the audience attaches itself to. 127 Hours is an outstanding film that is emotional up to its final conclusion. The final scene is one of the more memorable scenes I have seen this year, as it is a rupture of sentiment that is built up by the whole film. Even though at times it has its moments of repetitiveness, Boyle's film is one of this decade's landmark due to the fact that it was able to create an emotional roller coaster from an one-angled story. Grade: A Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Surely one of the best films of the year, Boyle's effort I believe is a triumphant and revolutionary new take in film of a person that is in complete solitude, an upbeat soundtrack and by blending fear, tension, and humor all into one. I think that probably what is the most moving though is that this film is able to take hold of you and when you're let go in the end; the only thing you can think of is that you are just glad to be alive. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    With bizarre cinematography and a talk show like environment, what Danny Boyle announces to the audience in "127 Hours" is not James Franco as the winner (Still, he was cool). He presents to us that, between all those blood, sweat, and urine spilled, its the perseverance of man that claims victory.
  4. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    RyanGee and many reviewers have pinpointed the reason this film will be so successful and a contender for the Oscars. Add equal parts of Danny Boyle's energetic concept, cinematography, editing and Rahman's music, stir and splash in a hefty portion of James Franco's incredible acting chops. I consider this to be part of the upper tier of 2010's top 10.
  5. Jan 31, 2011
    5
    This was pretty interesting bio-pic!!! I couldn't image going through something like this!!! Even though this film felt a little "Hollywood" in spots, it still was great story. Also a great performance by James Franco.
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    What an inspirational story. I had high hopes for this movie, and it delivered. Anyone not seeing this film because of the "money shot" needs to see it. Yes, it happens and is necessary, but it doesn't dominate the film. It truly puts your trivial daily problems in perspective. Franco is outstanding, and Danny Boyle delivers yet again.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    6
    This is a well made movie given the limits of the story. Unfortunately, this is not a story that really interested me. My rating is biased by that. Boyle is a great director and I applaud his work. The film did spark a heated theological debate between the three of us who saw it. The Christian among us thought that God saved him. The Buddhist among us thought that his misfortune was caused by his lack of connection or respect for nature. The agnostic who is yours truly thought that God did not have anything to do with the boulder falling on him or his cutting off his arm. I saw it as a random event. Expand
  8. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    After seeing this film I was impressed by how James Franco captivated my interest and even made me cry. Is not easy watching a film in which is there is only one person, accompanied by flashbacks and illusions. But I have to say it was brutally amazing. How the tension, desperation, and sadness reflects on one person thinking he is going to die for shore and the end is spectacular, I really couldn't expect more of it. This is definitely one of the best movies I have ever seen. Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    In the past 16 years he's made Shallow Grave, Trainspotting, The Beach, 28 Days Later, Millions, Sunshine, Slumdog Millionaire, and now 127 Hours. Danny Boyle is not human, he is the God of Cinema! In my lifetime I thought I would never see another Kubrick, I was wrong. Boyle is Kubrick on speed. I only wish I could be around for his entire career as I was priviledged to be with Kubrick, but to quote Warren Zevon - "Enjoy every sandwich" I will Mr. Boyle, I will. Expand
  10. Feb 3, 2011
    8
    127 Hours is brutal, relentless and heartbreaking. It's incredibly sad that it takes a life altering accident to wake us up from despotic darkness. The turmoil that ensues is absolutely remarkable, and the way the story unfolds is brilliantly produced.
  11. Dec 8, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aron Ralston(James Franco) wasn't always a loner, the anomic man we see shouting "me, the music, and the night" as he rides toward the Utah mountains, on a bike, all by his lonesome and loving it. Aron's solitary trek to Bluejohn is juxtaposed against shots that depict large masses of people which preceded his frenzied peddling into oblivion. He's running away from something. But what? The free spirit can't hardly wait to leave civilization behind, preferring the outback to the city, and the people who reside there, and possibly, the people who don't reside there anymore. How Aron got to this extremity is a mystery. That's the heart of "127 Hours", which is adapted from his 2004 memoir "A Rock and a Hard Place". The flashbacks that the film provides calculatingly leaves out the particulars which would account for his solitary ways. Aron is avoiding something painful. The narrative that his reflections form leaves a lot to the imagination. When the self-proclaimed superhero isn't musing over the mother he ignores, interspersed with fantasies about food and drink, and, of course, escape, the suddenly thoughtful man reminisces about the relationship he had carelessly abdicated from. Aron fixates on the moment after sex, not the sex itself, since by all appearances, sex no longer interests him(the two hikers, played by Amber Tamblyn and Kate Mara, go unmolested), but perhaps, intimacy does, in which he remembers a woman's touch at the same time an ant traverses over the same cheek as that fingertip. As Aron brushes off the offending insect, perhaps, the error of his ways(loving nature more than people) finally dawns on him, realizing too late that this love for the outdoors can't be reciprocated. The dismissal of the ant is representational of the way he brushed aside his college girlfriend, who he first locked eyes with, ironically enough, in an area dense with warm bodies, a car crammed full of young libertines, stripping down to nothing with the snow falling just outside their fogged-up windows. Aron's memories are selective ones, but the moviegoer can hazard a guess as to to how this seemingly normal man, so at ease in mixed company, packed like sardines, could end up feeling estranged from the crowd at a basketball game. Aron entered that arena as part of a couple, but he left alone, and presumably, has been single from that moment on. What happened? Although the father is referred to at the outset of "The King of Comedy"-inspired interview that Aron conducts with himself, the elder Ralston is, more than likely, dead, since the father figures only in his childhood reflections, and ultimately, gets no final "I love you" from the prodigal son during that last entry in his video log. Something changed the trajectory of Aron's life, a galvanizing event that led him to the outback, but the filmmaker shrewdly withholds the particulars behind this fundamental transmutation in the man through omission. Like Scooby-Doo(seen twice in the film), the moviegoer is confronted with a mystery, a solvable one, because the clues provided by Aron's psyche indicates a familial tragedy. Quite pointedly, he tells the girls, "Can't take off my face," like all those Scooby-Doo villains who were unmasked at the end of every episode. They weren't monsters, after all, but Aron is, that's how he feels. When he leaves the two hikers, one of them says, "I don't think we figured in his day at all," and she's probably right. Aron is f*cking the pain away. In a sense, he's f*cking the rock formation. Penetrating the cut, Aron runs his hand across the flat surfaces as if he was caressing skin. All that touching, though, comes back to bite him. Arguably, the boulder that traps his hand can be construed as a metaphor for "vagina dentata", the toothed vagina myth. Humiliated by the rock formation's rebuffing of his overtures, Aron gets ready to utilize the free hand on himself as revenge sex against nature, but because he's a gentleman at heart, the spurned lover turns off the video camera, in which a freeze-frame of some prime cleavage would have served as his inspiration. This lust, however, makes him human again. Aron is over the mountain. She's a biter. Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent story. Beautifully shot. Great acting by James Franco. Uplifting theme. Very, very intense. The guy the seat next to me passed out from the intensity. Not for the squeamish.
  13. Dec 4, 2010
    7
    This movie should have been a lot better than it is. The story is interesting and gripping. What prevents this movie from being great is the screenplay. The first 30-40 minutes is great and the the last 15-20 minutes is great. The 20-30 minutes in the middle is the problem. We should be feeling more scared and claustrophobic than we are. We shouldn't be distracted by a "game show" sequence that is so phony and contrived that it kind of ruins the mood. But, it is not long and starts and finishes well. It just could have been much better. Expand
  14. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Surreal movie with a nearly flawless performance by Franco. The magic of the book was captured in gripping detail. Inspiring and beautiful to watch. Really no negative criticisms. Simply divine.
  15. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Visually compelling with a stunning acting performance by Franco. He plays an average American, a outdoor jock, self absorbed, funny, foolish, smart, passionate, young, and yes heroic. it is a raw story but done glossy, moving, dramatic, and tastefully gory. A risky gut wrenching scene that well scare away the faint of heart, pity though., Finally, one powerfully emotional ending that soared.
  16. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Danny Boyle's filmmaking skills turn a relatively static situation into dynamic cinema. This film is based on the true story of Aron Ralston (played by James Franco), who was hiking alone in Utah, when his arm got trapped under a bolder. To keep it involving, his attempts to free himself are intercut with his survival efforts, flashes of imagination, and even humor. The exceptional editing and Franco's compelling performance solidify the effect. The self-amputation scene isn't so harrowing that it should keep you away. Expand
  17. Jan 4, 2011
    9
    In the end, Boyle and Franco create a masterpiece. â
  18. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    Not too many movies have moved me quite like this one. This film mainly deals with the psychological roller coaster that Aron Ralston was forced to ride and not necessarily on actual escape. It forces you to examine how you might handle this horrific experience, which can be quite disturbing as there are really no good options. Careful if you have a weak stomach. Many in the theater were taking a break outside the door, ghost white and sweaty. Expand
  19. Feb 7, 2011
    1
    I feel so sorry for James Franco being stuck with such horrible direction. I felt like I was seeing a 60s movie with the sepia tones over the flashbacks. How ridiculous. The shot through the bottom of the water bottle was so trite (and also a little disgusting). I guess it was hard to make a movie about stupid guy getting caught in bad situation because of his own stupidity but a director might have made a difference. The movie is horrible and a waste of money. Expand
  20. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Incredible story. Incredible performance. Franco is automatically an Oscar contender, if not winner, with this one. A testimony to the human spirit and will to survive. Glad we saw it at the theater.
  21. Nov 26, 2010
    3
    I don't usually go to movies where I know the ending unless I have read the book and the book was great. This is a interesting story with a message. The message however was blurred for me by what seem to be overreaching attempts to be creative. The crowded hustle and bustle flashes were out of place and could have been done much better to fit the film. Instead they are just a distraction. James Franco is very good in his role as Aron Ralston which is fortunate for the filmmaker because he's really the only character in the film. Expand
  22. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    This is a really good movie and the movie and James Franco deserve nominations. It's beautifully shot and captures the full experience. This is a hard movie to sit through in some parts and the "cutting off of the arm" scene doesn't help. My only problem is that this movie is based on a man who did an unbelievably stupid thing and it was a freak accident. This is a bit of a problem because even though he made it out alive the movie portrays him as more af a hero. This isn't entirely bad, but this is just my take on it. Still, go see the movie. You won't regret it. Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    I like to judge movies based on how long after the credits I am still thinking about the film. I saw this nearly two weeks ago and I still cannot wait to see it again. Danny Boyle really pulls out all the stops for this one as a fusion of style and story that make the film far more entertaining than it should be. You may know the ending before you see it, but you have know idea of the journey that will take you there. Expand
  24. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Ask yourself before going into this film, am I prepare to watch a guy cutting off his arm (slowly), am I prepare to see James Franco face throughout the entire film? Well, if you're not, see it anyways. Directed by Danny Boyle and starring James Franco, 127 Hours is really another masterpiece after Boyle's Slumdog Millionare. With flashy images and colors, Danny Boyle's style is showing up more in his films. 127 Hours is about a guy cutting off his arm. That is the plot, basic and simple. Aron Ralston is a hardcore biker who loves to climb and one day, just as you predicts, he got trapped. Being stuck in between a rock for 5 days with limited food, little water, no heat, and no restroom can really change a person's point of view. Seeing how he survives the five days feels like I'm watching a camping film. But 127 Hours is more than that, it has this hidden feeling that you feel bad for this guy. With his charming personality, James Franco was able to portray Aron Ralston accurately. This guy was really funny throughout the film even though he had to cut off his own hand. But whenever the movie focuses on how Aron survives, it becomes a movie about survival. This film is strictly about the art of cutting one's hand. 127 Hours gathers all the style of Danny Boyle and put it all together. And with James Franco playing the lead, it couldn't have been better. Expand
  25. Nov 30, 2010
    7
    Danny Boyle is back, with another inspirational flick filled with charming directorial tricks. However, unlike his other recent films, he finally gives us a fleshed out character whose struggles we actually care about. Because of this, I believe it's fair to say that 127 Hours is the best Danny Boyle film of the last ten years, and one of the best films of 2010.
  26. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    127 Hours is a film that defines connection. The message is similar to that of Into the Wild, Sean Penn's masterpiece, but this film has Danny Boyle and more importantly James Franco's amazing touch added on it. The editing, the style, are both beautifully attached to overarching story. The use of flashback although with minimal images was brilliantly played out and brought everything together. This movie is a must see, there are very few films that I have seen this year that I would say that for as well. James Franco's portrayal of Aron is enough to go see this movie. The last 10 minutes are some of the most epic and was unbelievably well done. My overall view is GO SEE THIS MOVIE, there aren't very many comparable out right now like this. Expand
  27. Sep 8, 2012
    6
    127 Hours is a fine film. That said, once you've seen it there is nothing to really draw you back. I enjoyed the respectable performance from James Franco and Danny Boyle's sharp directing. And that tendon tweaking scene... OOooowwwwww!
  28. Jan 10, 2011
    0
    Guy is roaming around canyons. Meets 2 chicks randomly and establishes himself as a bad ass by being a quirky but funny and amusing wackjob. They invite him to a party later. Oh how bad ass you are, canyon-biker-adventurer guy. Guy randomly taking pictures of things. Guy jumps down dangerous crevice for no reason, and immediately gets arm jammed. Rest of movie is guy yelling about his arm jammed, and trying to get his arm unstuck. Memories, nightmare and premonitions as filler in between his trying to get his arm unstuck. Pretty much a lot of the same stuff you see from survival adventure movies/books. Reminds me of the "stuck in mt everest" survival stories, but much more boring. A lot of it relies on shock and gore. People who have lurked the internets for too long will not find this interesting. Expand
  29. Feb 6, 2011
    0
    I found it to be extremely boring and actually and a struggle to keep from leaving midway through. Perhaps if one is stricly looking for "artistic content" or some philosophical extension on the :meaning of life" perhaps one can see the interest. Have a movie about a half wit who does a series of stupid mistakes and shows off to a couple oif girls, and then get an Oscar nomination for this! Bottom line a complete waste of time and money even to see it as a rental! Expand
  30. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    A waste of time - reading a five line storyline is just as rewarding as seeing this film. Sure, it's a true and painful story, but you don't have to give high scores out of sympathy for a guy stupid enough to get himself into that situation. And, there's no higher meaning to this film/story and no fundamental truth to be learned. There's even not enough beautiful scenery to make it worthwhile.
  31. Aug 5, 2011
    3
    I didn't like this movie. Honestly it is pretty much boring. The acting is good but it is totally wasted here. There are only a few parts were it gets interesting and then after a few minutes it gets boring again. i don't know why this movie has positive reviews.
  32. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Combining Danny Boyle's inspired directing with a stand-out performance from James Franco, "127 Hours" is a harrowing, heartfelt but uplifting experience.
  33. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This is a deeply moving film. It is one of those films that can change your life when you watch it, and that my friends, it what makes a movie truely great.
  34. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Althought this film mainly sustains itself by the editor's work, James Franco delivers the performance of a lifetime. Finally Boyle's versatility has paid off.
  35. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
  36. Lyn
    Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Certainly merits its place in the Amazing True Stories category. James Franco earns his Oscar nomination with a terrific performance in a story that's even more narrowly focused than Tom Hanks's was in "Castaway." I'm sure I squeezed my eyes shut a few times, but along with the stomach-churning intensity there also are times of humor and great beauty. I especially liked the way Danny Boyle handles the moments when Aron contemplates death and his (inevitable) misgivings -- they are touching without being heavy-handed or preachy. Collapse
  37. Apr 10, 2011
    8
    Fast paced and high intensity throughout the movie. Would have been far better had they kept to the actual story a little closer. I had already read on the subject and had seen a Discovery Channel show on the story. The part where he goes swimming with the girls and dreams of drinking is a bit off character if you ask me. All in all, a good film that will keep you entertained.
  38. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable. I'm absolutely speechless. The viewer is witness to Aron's disintegration over time perfectly. Conceptually, this movie had the makings of a boring story. It was anything but. I was riveted each minute.
  39. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    "Intense , Brilliant , one of the most spectacular and powerful films you will ever seen , about a man stuck between a rock and a hard place , boldly goes where no film has gone before , dare you not to be moved or Touch this film just cracked one of my fav movies of all time!" .. A++
  40. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    Danny Boyle describes through an incredible Franco, the ordeal with vivid, intimate details. You feel everything from the visceral agony to the utter triumph. He once again proves how versatile of a director he can be and why he is considered one of the best of his generation.
  41. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/127-hours.html

    I have been wanting to see this movie for a while, it had an interesting premise and it starred James Franco. Who could resist? I especially couldn't resist after the praise it got and the nominations at the Academy Awards.

    So I finally had some spare time to watch it with my girl. I'll say straight out that I did enjoy it, a
    lot. But..it still had some problems to me. Well actually only one minor problem. I found the story to progress kind of slowly, I mean I know that the whole movie essentially is him stuck under a rock so not much can go on but hey the movie Buried is sort of the same thing and they kept the pace going high strung throughout. But I guess I can forgive the slow pace as they used their time in other ways. You really feel for the guy as he evaluates what he has on him and how he tries to get out and eventually does. So in that sense you really get the feel that you are him, trying everything in your mind to get out and having to conserve food and water as well.

    Like I said, minor problem. But to me what made this movie so great was the cinematography. They did an awesome job with it. From the scenes were he is dreaming up scenarios, to where he is hallucinating things, to how they set up a camera in his camalbak and you could see the water flow, to how they did three panels to show different scenes and dreams at once. This was all great and really gave a scale for the movie and further exemplified what was going through his mind.

    Great movie, must see!
    Expand
  42. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Franco is revelatory in what might be the year's finest performance. Boyle's style is very clearly infused into all aspects of the film, but ultimately its story is what makes it truly worthwhile.
  43. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best films I have ever seen. If you didnt like it its because you didnt get it, and because you are completely retarded. Knowing the premise of the film gives you absolutely no idea as to what this film is actually about.
  44. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    What a true inspiring movie based on the mountain climber named Aron Ralston (played by James Franco), witch is arm got trapped by a fallen bolder in an isolated canyon in Utah. The next days, he goes throw misery will trying to escape, also reviewing his life and express his deep feeling to his love ones by filming himself. Wow, I gotta say, this is one outstanding movie ! All the emotions and expressions are so realistic and true, even the story itself. You don't need millions of effects to make a good movie. '' 127 Hours '' proves it. An Oscar worthy right here, thanks to the performance of James Franco. It's also well written and directed of course. Definitely a must see ! Expand
  45. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    After watching the first 15 minutes, during which not one meaningful word or sentence had been uttered, but which nauseated me because of the horrible fast-switch editing (it felt like a commercial for Nike), I fast forwarded because everything was just so extremely predictable and boring. In addition, in the first 5 minutes of the movie, there are at least 20 brand names clearly visible. That is usually not done, unless you get paid for it the brands.
    I cannot believe that this flick was nominated for an Oscar...how low can you go ?
    Expand
  46. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    A very good screen play and outstanding performing by james franco. The acting in this movie was outstanding. Great job James Franco. Very good movie. I was drawn into the movie from beginning. This movie was good from beginning to end. Outstanding director. I think everybody should watch this movie. One of 2010 finest movie. Another outstanding movie by the director. A must see.
  47. CBZ
    Mar 10, 2011
    7
    Its a good movie, with great acting and beautiful landscapes.
    The movie tries to convey the anxiety the main character is going through, and it does it so well (too well imo), i felt pretty uncomfortable at some points of the movie.
    If you want to watch a movie that makes you feel things for a change, this is a good break from the typical Hollywood movies.
  48. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Never before has a movie made me so emotional. You feel as if you're with Aaron Ralston the whole time, feeling his pain and everything he is going through. I swear I cried a river.
  49. Feb 8, 2011
    9
    This is probably the best movie I have seen this year. It is absolutely amazing!!! It is a masterpiece. Once the movie starts you don't want it to ever end. Danny Boyle really did a amazing job on this one. And actor James Franco did a outstanding job. Overall I can't find really any flaws. Great movie!!! Go see it.
  50. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    A solid film with flaws. Upon the rolling of the credits, I could not help but feel that I learned very little about the man. The flashbacks do absolutely nothing to flesh out the protagonist and prove to be mere distractions for the infinitely more interesting struggle in the canyon. Some additional development to the character would have improved the experience for me as it would have provided more meaning to the ending. I can assume that Aron discovered a new appreciation and maturation in regards to life. However, the film seems to imply this rather than make it wholly manifest. Some may claim that this dynamic is an example of the film's subtlety and is one of it's strengths. However, I disagree and believe it to be a flaw brought on by the narrow scope of the narrative and it's brief running time. I feel that with a stronger sense of growth the film could have produced a more meaningful character arc and, consequently, reaped greater emotional payoff. Expand
  51. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    127 Hours is a fantastically flawless film. Director Danny Boyle has brought us from the zombie infested streets of London to the slum-filled streets of Mumbai, combining stellar acting and outstanding stories to create a unique experience with each. With 127 Hours, he uses those same aspects but in turn creates an absolutely cherishable film that manages to stick with you long after the first viewing. The plot involves the true story of Aron Ralston (James Franco) who, while hiking solo in the deserts of Utah, managed to find his way into a crevice where his arm became pinned against a rock wall by a large boulder. 5 days after the incident, he manages to finally amputate his arm with a dull knife and tries to find a way to escape the hellish conditions of the desert. During that 5 day period, Aron manages to scramble through his bad past memories with his father, mother, sister, and his girlfriend and he tries to figure out what problems occurred with each of them, and if he was able to fix them at the time. He also tries to stay alive as best as possible through various events that test his remaining strength. The climax which is both shocking and upsetting, truly resembles what a man would put himself through in order to survive the inevitable. The finished product is so relentlessly breathtaking that you're literally at a loss of words when the credits roll by. Danny Boyle's directing is top-notch that include scenes of the beautiful Utahan deserts to the jaw dropping visuals of the graphic amputation scene that combines itself with ear piercing music that signifies that pain and agony of the whole act. Boyle makes it feel as if the audience is also trapped with Ralston, helping him fight as a means of survival and feeling each emotion he experiences. The film takes the majority of its time in the crevice with the boulder, but it releases the tension of the aspect by showing the flashbacks with Ralston's loved ones, which are actually always welcomed to help steer away from the incoming doom that Ralston will likely have to face. James Franco is simply phenomenal. Never have I ever witnessed an actor portray a character as broken, emotional, and as hurt as James Franco has. His flawless and beautiful performance is definitely Oscar worthy, if that. The story flows quickly and steadily, never jumping ahead or back at a pace that's difficult to follow. Its climax is a hard one to come by and you'll be able to tell of Ralston's coming doom as he takes his first steps into the deep crevice. 127 Hours is a incredibly flawless film. Its location is beautiful to the occasion of Ralston's predicament, ironically. Its directing is superb with its lingering camera angles and fast paced cuts. Finally, James Franco's performance is indeed one for the books and you'll become more and more attached to the character of Aron Ralston over time. 127 Hours is a beautifully written and beautifully shot film that pushes the limits and delivers one tour de force that's unlikely to be forgotten. Expand
  52. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    I've seen this twice in the past week, I've watched a lot of documentary footage about the real Aron Ralston, and I have "Between a Rock and a Hard Place" requested from my local library. I can't stop thinking about this incredible story. The movie is absolutely amazing - enjoyable and exceptionally well made. Bravo, Danny Boyle. And James Franco's performance is so realistic and on point it's almost impossible to keep a straight face while watching - I found myself cringing, holding onto the edge of my seat even though I well knew what was going to happen, crying and grinning ear to ear when he finally found himself free. The amputation scene was gruesome, but totally necessary (and actually tastefully done, or as tastefully as an impromptu amputation with a blunt instrument can be). All in all a great story of the feats humanity can accomplish when truly tested. Expand
  53. Jan 21, 2011
    8
    The movie is based on an autobiography book BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE (2004) by Aron Ralston, and you can see the movie title is 127 HOURS. Without tell you any further, you can conclude yourself, he will survive after all, rite? The golden question will be: How did he survive? British Director, Danny Boyle is one of my favorites Directors of all-time, as I noted he is always good with the number on his movie titles, such as: 28 DAYS LATER.. (2002) and MILLIONS (2004). After telling a great story in India through SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE (2008), he takes us back to United States. The incident that occurred in Blue john Canyon (the Utah desert) where solitary mountaineer Aron Ralston was falling into canyon and being trapped under a boulder. Aron played by James Franco. The movie starts with a great mood and spirit, with stylish split screen and exhilarating music as well. As long as I remember, Boyle always could make an enjoyable adventure experience with his proper music attached to every scene he made, and he did it thiz time either. James Franco takes on responsibility for his one-man-show very well. My favorite act is when he imitates the host of Morning Live Show and pretends to interview himself. He is very convincing by delivering nail-biting and captivating performances all at once, just like what Ryan Reynold did recently when he was being BURIED (2010). Once again, Boyle shows his capability of capturing human despair by mixing hallucination scenes and flashback sequences. Overall, it was 8 minutes of great music and 1 hour 27 minutes of pure thrills. In the end, I can assure you the situation that Aron experienced is not simple as you think. When you were being trapped like him, it is just okay if you know you are going to survive in 127 Hours ahead, maybe you can manage something to get through of that. But the real situation is not that simple, Aron did not know for how long he would be stuck in there or even whether or not he was going to survive at that moment. Last time, Danny Boyle introduced us the exotic of Phi Phi Leh Island (near Phuket , Thailand) through THE BEACH (2000), after that movie, thousands of people thronged that place. Thiz time, Boyle shows us the beautifulness of Utah Canyon, I am pretty sure people will go there as well. Cannot wait what place he will take us next time. Just remember, before you go please tell someone where are you going to ^_^



    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  54. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My waiting to see this film started when i heard it mentioned on a podcast i listen to. Straight away i was in. I must of watched the trailer one hundred times, it was like music to me. I was a big fan of buried so i pretty much knew i would like this film as well. James Franco is always a fave of mine and he did pretty much everything right in this movie. I found it sum what surprising that slumdog millionaire was called the feel good movie of the year to me this was a million times more feel good than Boyles previous film ever was. It made me appreciate life. Like Buried i got choked up a bit but unlike buried i was cheering at the end knowing he was finally free. Expand
  55. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Like no other movie this one achieves to recount inner feelings and moods that are hardly describable with words. It is a really great movie, but at one point very hard to watch because of its intensity. What to learn from it: Do not ever go anywhere alone without telling someone about it, or without leaving a note.
  56. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    Its a good one time watch worth watch for music and acting. The story holds as to let know how he will get out of the trouble. A positive attitude example is been shown.
  57. Jan 17, 2011
    10
    masterpiece!!!! incredible acting and directing... when the boulder first landed on his arm I thought "what now... we still have an hour left". Very creative, th only thing is that it should have gotten a wider release.
  58. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Better than Slumdog Millionaire, it isn't 'just a guy stuck in a rock for the whole film', the acting from Franco, as well as the struggle he faces and the time he reflects upon his decisions, is brilliantly well conceived. The music from A.J Rahman is completely immaculate for the setting, and hearing Bill Wither's 'Lovely Day' is one of the few times irony has been used so effectively in recent film-making. I was shocked that Danny Boyle wasn't nominated for an Academy Award, because this surpasses his previous film. To me, it's fantastic. Expand
  59. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    A memorable movie that might leave a cringing mark on your soul. A survival movie at its best based on a true story and what makes it even better is the authenticity of the movie.
  60. Jan 25, 2011
    5
    A simple one line movie. I only enjoyed the last 5 min of it thats where the juice is rest the movie is as straight as a line, no twist totally predictable. I guess this is not the sort of work that on expects from such a distinctive director. From my perspective wasting your time just to watch the 70 min of the movie which only contain a person trying to free himself is not that attractive. In one word.. Boring Expand
  61. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    The film is so deliciously entertaining and so real that your eyes never wonder off the screen, you experiancing aarons pain and what he learns about his life, from academy award winner Danny boyle, a director who tries to make his movies so endearing and watchable-and succseeds admirably.
  62. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Ah, 90 minutes of pure enjoyment. acting, directing, whole package. creepy movie with soul, thats all that is needed to say. must see, 10 points without hesitation, thats what movies are all about.
  63. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    James Franco's acting is exceptionally believable in this film. Even though he is primarily the only character throughout the film, which could draw comparisons to "Cast Away" and "I Am Legend", there is never a dull moment in the film. This can be credited to Franco's fine acting skills and to Danny Boyle's creative and taught directing style. Boyle knows just how long to let a scene run before he moves onto the next intriguing sequence, he knows the focus is on Aron Ralston's (James Franco's character) dilema, but he never reverts to Ralston just screaming and swearing at the end of every scene. Ralston has emotional flashbacks and some funny comments in the film, which caught me off gaurd because his situation was anything but funny. There are some bloody scenes, but they were more like doctor's office bloody than "Saw" bloody; plus within the context of the film (assuming you have a strong stomach) they are not unbearable and do not feel forced or unnecessary. The movie only runs for and hour and a half, but it was probably one of the most powerful survival films I have ever seen. In the end, it is a testimony to the power of relationships and the preciousness of life. 10/10 SS Expand
  64. May 21, 2011
    1
    The thing about Aaron Ralston is - thereâ
  65. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    Danny Boyle's beautiful direction, great performance by James Franco, wonderful music, superb cinematography. Love the ending . 127 Hours terrific and inspirational.
  66. May 6, 2011
    10
    When Danny Boyle said that this movie was uplifting, I could not predict how right he was. The music adds so many feelings (mainly happiness) and the fantastic performance by Franco who I don't normally like but could watch over and over in this movie. To sum it up you leave the cinema with a smile that means you di not waste your money and that you just saw a great film.
  67. Jan 3, 2012
    7
    Franco's performance is believable and respectable. The natural limitations of the set and cast-of-characters meant that Boyle took some liberties to stretch the film into a feature length. Given the subject matter I'm not sure a better film could have been made but it is still not a great film, merely great for what it is.
  68. Feb 18, 2011
    3
    This feels like a long Music Video. The could be much more focus on storytelling and skip the creative play with new camera functions. There was so much more potential to tell a great adventure story with lots of "real" flashbacks as well some more information about the rescue at work. Movies like these should also not be afraid to provide a much longer epilogue to give perspective to the events and the life of a nut case. Expand
  69. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    Everything in the film is well balanced and executed in a safe and clean way. The steering is responsive and always creative by Danny Boyle, the interpretation of James Franco is amazing and charismatic, the editing and screenplay by Jon Harris Boyle and Simon Beaufoy are perfectly consistent with the proposal: transmit agony, despair, emotion besides playing the spectator â
  70. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 127 Hours is the harrowing account of one man, Aron Ralston, and his six day battle with nature. This true story documents the time Aron spent pinned by the arm to the wall of an isolated Utah canyon until he is able to, horrifically and with great sacrifice, free himself. If the thought of 92 minutes of cinema set predominantly in three square metres of sunless canyon seems a little too heavy, I implore you do not be put off. Danny Boyle is at his finest here, and conjures from the sterility of the situation a thoroughly entertaining and uplifting journey. Quite a task this must have been too, one can only applaud Boyle for not slipping into the kind of tooth grinding, headache inducing endurance test such enclosing subject matter often brings forth from directors - Rodrigo Cortésâ Expand
  71. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    Not a single negative review by critics? Looks so strange to me.None even acquainted with the story by Jack London "Love of life"?.Ok Ok everybody just doing his job-critics,producers and movie goers.The bottom line?I am sorry for all aforementioned ..and actors as well..
  72. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    I watched this movie while comparing it to other films the whole time which may have lessened its effect. 127 Hours was one of the 10 films nominated for Best Picture and it's the last one I saw in that company; therefore, I spent a good amount of time likening it to Black Swan, The King's Speech, and the Social Network. Bad idea. Just let the movie stand by itself and you can get to comparisons later. Also, I started comparing it to other films with similar story arcs (action in the beginning, action in the end, long dry spell in the middle). I thought of the Shawshank Redemption. Both of these films have long dry spells in the middle which serve to advance time in a methodical manner. Unfortunately, not an effective movie watching method.

    Overall, it is a very good film. A.R. Rahman wrote great music and the visual effects were realistic and effective. When you think about cutting off your arm, you don't really consider the mechanics involved in such an action. It is not just an arm. There are nerves, tendons, and bones. In fact, you would have to consider that breaking the bones would be more effective than just sawing through them. I never planned to put so much thought in this process, but it appears there are times when these follow through actions are really important.
    Expand
  73. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    It was exceedingly "cheesy" for the first 20 minutes but the movie slowly became better and better. It had beautiful images and scenery. It really made you feel James Franco's pain and how unbearable that situation would be. Overall a good movie, I think it deserved to be nominated for best picture but was not even close to winning it, however, I think Franco had a pretty good chance for winning best actor. Expand
  74. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    127 Hours is a character study of a man who is tested by the elements, time, and a boulder crushing his arm. We watch as a man descends into virtual insanity as his life becomes increasingly compromised the longer he lasts without human contact and vital resources necessary for survival. It's worth watching at least once.
  75. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    The first I heard of 127 Hours was when I saw the poster of it. I expected the film to be a documentary of some sort by just looking at the poster, for no reason whatsoever. But then I heard about it some more online, and so I researched it. Turns out, it was much more than I assumed. Itâ
  76. May 31, 2011
    10
    Fantastic film! Amazing story! Franco gives the best performance of his career to date! Boyle is a masterful director and knows how to make a film resonate with his audience. Indeed, this is a tough film to watch, but an incredibly uplifting one as well.
  77. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Exhilarating,life-affirming and provocative.127 hours is probably the best movie of the year.James Franco gives a tour-de-force performance and Danny Boyle offers the perfect amount of kinetic energy to compliment the harrowing story.However the humanity and bravery of Ralston are never lost within the hyper-active scenes nor are they over-the-top in the reflective ones.Boyle has crafted a visually stunning,gut-wrenchingly visceral and unforgettable movie.I'm sure this story of human strength against all the odds will continue to inspire and entertain for years. Expand
  78. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Visually engaging, emotionally gripping, strangely aesthetically pleasing and has a bizarre feel-good factor towards the end. Danny Boyle has shown that he is still a master at his craft and James Franco has cemented himself as a credible actor and star.
  79. Jun 11, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is it watchable? No. Plot: Super-duper idiot steps on loose boulder wedged between canyon. Falls down. Nothing happens for 1.5 hours apart from him doing stupid stuff like drinking all his water instantly. Looks at knife. Knife is blunt. Checks again 1 second later. Is sharp as can be. Cuts arm off (takes suprisingly long.). Puts wound in bag which he urinated in. Runs off. Helicopter spawns out of nowhere to whisk him off. The end! Review: it sucks badly. Expand
  80. Jun 30, 2011
    7
    It is not the best movie I have ever seen, but it is still pretty good. It is incredibly painful to watch the climax of the movie, the cutting off of the arm. Between when he first gets trapped, and when he starts to cut, the movie is a semi-boring character study. It is very technically well made, and well acted, but it is kind of boring watching 45 minutes of being trapped by the rock. Besides that I liked it. The acting was of course phenomenal, and the score was surprisingly good. Overall, a pretty good movie. Worth seeing, but be prepared for both gruesomeness, and possibly a little bit of boredom (not necessarily). Expand
  81. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic movie of survival and how far humans will go to survive. I was impressed with Danny Boyle's direction and James Franco's heroic performance.
  82. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    This Movie Really Upped My Expectations. I Thought I Would Be Bored Because It Was A One-Man Show, But It Was Purely... EPIC! The Invigorating Story Of Aron Ralston And His AmAzing Journey (In One Spot XD). This Movie, Like Many Others, Shows That You Always Tell Someone Where You Are Going.
  83. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    You know what this movie is about. If the premise of it interests you, the movie will deliver exactly what you are expecting out of it. It is intense, raw, and intimate, and the direction is fantastic. It is so perfectly pieced together in such a way that allows the viewer to feel like he or she is there too. The viewer starts to feel the same emotions as James Franco's character feels. That is due in no small part to his acting skills. Colin Firth deserved his Oscar this year, but I wouldn't have been upset if James got it instead. The music is also brilliant. The variety of musical styles featured within the score mirrors the variety of emotions that are expressed throughout this movie, and all of that comes together brilliantly. This was easily one of my two or three favorite movies of the year. Expand
  84. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    Only a filmmaker as frenetic and joyous as Danny Boyle could have created a film so lively on a stale narrative, and a film as disgusting as it is powerfully life-affirming.
  85. Oct 7, 2011
    2
    Insanely dull, highly linear storyline (if there's even a storyline) that gives no surprise - i knew how it was going to end right at the start of the incident... And the protagonist claims he's an engineer in front of a real engineer that is me? With his various stupid, un-engineering acts? C'mon, a very very bad move. To invoke empathy & **** With its ****ty, 'incoherent' rock music soundtrack? i dun think so... Expand
  86. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    127 Hours is one of the best drama film I've seen in years! I really can't say much probably because there's so much to tell but I will say that you may want to prepare yourself into a very graphical scene during the film.
  87. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    127 Hours is good, but I was disappointed. The acting was good, but there were some parts in the film that I thought were a bit stupid. The film could have been better.
  88. Jan 2, 2012
    8
    Brutal, intense and sometimes too much to watch. James Franco leads this movie to safety with a mind blowing performance. I give this DISTURBING movie 84%.
  89. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Danny Boyle has created a truely amazing film. You would think that a film almost entirely set in small hole wouldn't work but thanks to Danny Boyle's brilliant direction and James Franco's amazing performance, I could not take my eyes away from the film the whole time it lasted, and yes even during the amputation scene. It did loose momentum slightly around the middle of the film but it more than made up for it with such an inspiring final act that you will remember for a long time. It's not for everyone but if it remotely interests you, watch it, i'm sure you will not be disappointed. Expand
  90. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    Wow. Such a mind-blowing movie. The quality of the screenplay was really good. Almost like HD-like-movie. I thought the movie flows beautifully... From how detailed what Aron saw, felt and experienced. It is almost like a real documentary show, but amazingly, turned out to be a dramatical movie. Like what Boyle described this movie; "an action movie with a guy who can't move." = precisely correct. I loved how accurate & genuine James Franco's acting was. I love how the scenes are beautifully taken. Definitely reflect nature's beauty. The climax part - where he amputated his arm was unimaginely painful, but portrayed very well by Franco. Very good film. Kudos to the whole team esp. Danny Boyle & James one-man-star Franco Expand
  91. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    I am not affraid to say 127 hours is better than Slumdog Millionaie. This film by Danny Boyle is a masterful slice of 4 star cinema. James Franco is remarkable and without the usual cliches of survival movies. the movie's ending is emotional with its moral of to never give up and to think about the ones you love most.
  92. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a 9/10 movie. Well acted. James Franco does a good job.score is good and so is the story. There are a few parts where it just seems weird and stupid, but that's rarely. The story of survival is just great. Overall, this a good movie, that shows never give up, never surrender. Expand
  93. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    What a shame. After such a glorious win for Danny Boyle for Slumdog, this is unfortunately a piece of trash. I give credit where credit is due though. The directing style was different, and it was an unusual story from the rest of Hollywood crap. However, in the end it did nothing for me. James Franco was annoying and mediocre at best. It was dreadful to watch and the second time I saw it was worse. Expand
  94. May 8, 2012
    9
    127 hours
    It starts out energetic. The pulsating music, the whispering lyrics, all high energy getting you ready for what turns out to be a rather quiet movie. The character of Aron Ralston, played with such intensity from the always enjoyable James Franco, is running around gathering equipment. His phone rings and he doesnâ
  95. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Although i didn't like the sadism for cutting his hand, I like the plot and the story. And it's truly inspire me to appreciate life that been given by God for me. This film shows great hard work to escape the danger and it pays by the result. Great movie!
  96. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    A very good film, Danny Boyle took a huge risk when under-taking a film like this straight after winning his Oscar. James Franco showed once again that he is a fantastic, versatile actor having done comedies like Pineapple Express, action films like Spider-man and now dramas too. Having to hold a film practically single-handedly is very difficult but he executes it almost to the same standard as Tom Hanks in Castaway. Definitely worth a watch but not quite up in the elite echelons of film. Expand
  97. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    It can't help but be a little monotonous given the location, but Boyle and Franco don't disappoint. Incredibly uplifting film that shows the human spirit's will to survive.
  98. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    The film is original on the way it is filmed. The claustrophobic environment sucks the audience in and truly makes them feel for the hero, Franco, who's performance is undeniably good.
  99. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    127 Hours 7/10........................................................................................................................................
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Jan 3, 2011
    80
    A surprisingly fun, effervescent against-the-odds drama that offers an upbeat moral without the usual punishing survival-story clich├ęs. Not for the faint-hearted, mind.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 24, 2010
    91
    It's gory and gut-wrenching but strangely life-affirming.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 24, 2010
    100
    127 Hours -- just like "Slumdog Millionaire" -- is a masterful slice of four-star cinema, featuring an irresistible performance by James Franco, breathtaking cinematography, and the kind of deep, searching soul that is absent from so much of what comes out of Hollywood.