Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 495 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: 127 HOURS is the true story of mountain climber Aron Ralston's remarkable adventure to save himself after a fallen boulder crashes on his arm and traps him in an isolate canyon in Utah. (Fox Searchlight)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 24, 2010
    100
    127 Hours -- just like "Slumdog Millionaire" -- is a masterful slice of four-star cinema, featuring an irresistible performance by James Franco, breathtaking cinematography, and the kind of deep, searching soul that is absent from so much of what comes out of Hollywood.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 4, 2010
    100
    Mr. Boyle has a knack for tackling painful, violent or unpleasant subjects with unremitting verve and unstoppable joie de vivre.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 24, 2010
    91
    It's gory and gut-wrenching but strangely life-affirming.
  4. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Nov 18, 2010
    83
    Before it traps Ralston, 127 Hours gives us ample evidence of his energy, zest and boyish charm and wit.
  5. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 27, 2010
    80
    With a tour-de-force performance from James Franco and an imaginative shooting style that relies on two cameras and inventive angles, what could have been static and deadly dull comes blazingly to life in this powerful and compelling story of one man's will to survive.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 3, 2010
    75
    This is a fascinating story of determination and survival that deserves to be told. It is ultimately uplifting but it's tough going to get to that point.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 11, 2010
    50
    127 Hours, about an unimaginably unbearable experience, is pretty much an unbearable experience of its own. And yet, it must be said, it's exceptionally well made.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 114
  2. Negative: 15 out of 114
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    What a true inspiring movie based on the mountain climber named Aron Ralston (played by James Franco), witch is arm got trapped by a fallen bolder in an isolated canyon in Utah. The next days, he goes throw misery will trying to escape, also reviewing his life and express his deep feeling to his love ones by filming himself. Wow, I gotta say, this is one outstanding movie ! All the emotions and expressions are so realistic and true, even the story itself. You don't need millions of effects to make a good movie. '' 127 Hours '' proves it. An Oscar worthy right here, thanks to the performance of James Franco. It's also well written and directed of course. Definitely a must see ! Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    You know what this movie is about. If the premise of it interests you, the movie will deliver exactly what you are expecting out of it. It is intense, raw, and intimate, and the direction is fantastic. It is so perfectly pieced together in such a way that allows the viewer to feel like he or she is there too. The viewer starts to feel the same emotions as James Franco's character feels. That is due in no small part to his acting skills. Colin Firth deserved his Oscar this year, but I wouldn't have been upset if James got it instead. The music is also brilliant. The variety of musical styles featured within the score mirrors the variety of emotions that are expressed throughout this movie, and all of that comes together brilliantly. This was easily one of my two or three favorite movies of the year. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    RyanGee and many reviewers have pinpointed the reason this film will be so successful and a contender for the Oscars. Add equal parts of Danny Boyle's energetic concept, cinematography, editing and Rahman's music, stir and splash in a hefty portion of James Franco's incredible acting chops. I consider this to be part of the upper tier of 2010's top 10. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My waiting to see this film started when i heard it mentioned on a podcast i listen to. Straight away i was in. I must of watched the trailer one hundred times, it was like music to me. I was a big fan of buried so i pretty much knew i would like this film as well. James Franco is always a fave of mine and he did pretty much everything right in this movie. I found it sum what surprising that slumdog millionaire was called the feel good movie of the year to me this was a million times more feel good than Boyles previous film ever was. It made me appreciate life. Like Buried i got choked up a bit but unlike buried i was cheering at the end knowing he was finally free. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2011
    8
    Fast paced and high intensity throughout the movie. Would have been far better had they kept to the actual story a little closer. I had already read on the subject and had seen a Discovery Channel show on the story. The part where he goes swimming with the girls and dreams of drinking is a bit off character if you ask me. All in all, a good film that will keep you entertained. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Although i didn't like the sadism for cutting his hand, I like the plot and the story. And it's truly inspire me to appreciate life that been given by God for me. This film shows great hard work to escape the danger and it pays by the result. Great movie! Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and
    stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy! Expand

See all 114 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  2. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  3. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we