Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 499 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: 127 HOURS is the true story of mountain climber Aron Ralston's remarkable adventure to save himself after a fallen boulder crashes on his arm and traps him in an isolate canyon in Utah. (Fox Searchlight)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Nov 24, 2010
    100
    127 Hours -- just like "Slumdog Millionaire" -- is a masterful slice of four-star cinema, featuring an irresistible performance by James Franco, breathtaking cinematography, and the kind of deep, searching soul that is absent from so much of what comes out of Hollywood.
  2. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Nov 4, 2010
    100
    Mr. Boyle has a knack for tackling painful, violent or unpleasant subjects with unremitting verve and unstoppable joie de vivre.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 24, 2010
    91
    It's gory and gut-wrenching but strangely life-affirming.
  4. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Nov 18, 2010
    83
    Before it traps Ralston, 127 Hours gives us ample evidence of his energy, zest and boyish charm and wit.
  5. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 27, 2010
    80
    With a tour-de-force performance from James Franco and an imaginative shooting style that relies on two cameras and inventive angles, what could have been static and deadly dull comes blazingly to life in this powerful and compelling story of one man's will to survive.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 3, 2010
    75
    This is a fascinating story of determination and survival that deserves to be told. It is ultimately uplifting but it's tough going to get to that point.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Nov 11, 2010
    50
    127 Hours, about an unimaginably unbearable experience, is pretty much an unbearable experience of its own. And yet, it must be said, it's exceptionally well made.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 114
  2. Negative: 15 out of 114
  1. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Althought this film mainly sustains itself by the editor's work, James Franco delivers the performance of a lifetime. Finally Boyle'sAlthought this film mainly sustains itself by the editor's work, James Franco delivers the performance of a lifetime. Finally Boyle's versatility has paid off. Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Never before has a movie made me so emotional. You feel as if you're with Aaron Ralston the whole time, feeling his pain and everything he isNever before has a movie made me so emotional. You feel as if you're with Aaron Ralston the whole time, feeling his pain and everything he is going through. I swear I cried a river. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    RyanGee and many reviewers have pinpointed the reason this film will be so successful and a contender for the Oscars. Add equal parts of DannyRyanGee and many reviewers have pinpointed the reason this film will be so successful and a contender for the Oscars. Add equal parts of Danny Boyle's energetic concept, cinematography, editing and Rahman's music, stir and splash in a hefty portion of James Franco's incredible acting chops. I consider this to be part of the upper tier of 2010's top 10. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    Franco is revelatory in what might be the year's finest performance. Boyle's style is very clearly infused into all aspects of the film, butFranco is revelatory in what might be the year's finest performance. Boyle's style is very clearly infused into all aspects of the film, but ultimately its story is what makes it truly worthwhile. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2011
    8
    Fast paced and high intensity throughout the movie. Would have been far better had they kept to the actual story a little closer. I hadFast paced and high intensity throughout the movie. Would have been far better had they kept to the actual story a little closer. I had already read on the subject and had seen a Discovery Channel show on the story. The part where he goes swimming with the girls and dreams of drinking is a bit off character if you ask me. All in all, a good film that will keep you entertained. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    7
    Although i didn't like the sadism for cutting his hand, I like the plot and the story. And it's truly inspire me to appreciate life that beenAlthough i didn't like the sadism for cutting his hand, I like the plot and the story. And it's truly inspire me to appreciate life that been given by God for me. This film shows great hard work to escape the danger and it pays by the result. Great movie! Collapse
  7. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    go to work and stop climbing rocks like a baby! immature guy!
    Expand

See all 114 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  2. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  3. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we