Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 8 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Oct 29, 2011
    35
    This is a lumpy, dumb, suspenseless thing that sometimes scarcely feels finished.
  2. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Oct 28, 2011
    38
    While the original was an art-house success, this English-language redo, now getting a one-week run after sitting on the shelf for a year and a half, doesn't measure up.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Oct 26, 2011
    25
    The filmmakers are so generally clueless about getting the most out of a provocative concept that it's like running into a subtextual brick wall.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 26, 2011
    33
    For a film about a "sport" where every competition is literally a matter of life and death, the oddly inert, suspense-free 13 is strangely lacking in urgency.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Oct 28, 2011
    30
    As leaden as the bullets whose random behavior it revolves around, Géla Babluani's 13 fails to recapture the sweaty tension of his original 13 Tzameti, a French import that reeked of style and first-timer ambition.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 27, 2011
    30
    What does it add up to? Nothing much. A tense, paranoid nightmare with a chilly metaphysical overview has been trampled into a blustering, bad cartoon.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Aside from some character-defining flashbacks, a godawful score and sweat-enhancing color photography, it's the same movie as before - a divertingly tense yet superficial time-waster.
  8. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 26, 2011
    30
    A starry cast and glossier production values simply work against the black-and-white original's strengths in this stillborn thriller about a deadly game of chance.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Oct 26, 2011
    30
    Lumbers, stumbles, and blows all its secrets at the outset.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    When I saw it's trailer and cast I said: 'Wow, it gotta be a great movie.' But after I watched the film I realised without a doubt this is oneWhen I saw it's trailer and cast I said: 'Wow, it gotta be a great movie.' But after I watched the film I realised without a doubt this is one of the dumbest movies ever. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    I don't understand why this thing (Not Movie) has been made!
    Its a complete **** which waste your time for 1.5 hours. I hope you won't watch it!
  3. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Superb movie...chilling and riveting. It's one horrible Gugolian joke..or as Churchill said an enigma wrapped in a mystery...Statham playsSuperb movie...chilling and riveting. It's one horrible Gugolian joke..or as Churchill said an enigma wrapped in a mystery...Statham plays against type is a deadbeat. Sam Riley is perfect. A great indictment against the medical system but a wonderful redeeming story about loyalty and family featly. Shot in tense macros. Full Review »