Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is fiercely organized and ferociously secret. It attracts depraved gamblers and desperate men. And tonight, one naïve young player will mistakenly become a numbered participant in a deadly world of power, violence and chance where the ultimate bets are decided by a squeeze of the trigger. (Anchor Bay Entertainment) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 8 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Aside from some character-defining flashbacks, a godawful score and sweat-enhancing color photography, it's the same movie as before - a divertingly tense yet superficial time-waster.
  2. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Oct 28, 2011
    38
    While the original was an art-house success, this English-language redo, now getting a one-week run after sitting on the shelf for a year and a half, doesn't measure up.
  3. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Oct 29, 2011
    35
    This is a lumpy, dumb, suspenseless thing that sometimes scarcely feels finished.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Oct 26, 2011
    30
    Lumbers, stumbles, and blows all its secrets at the outset.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Oct 28, 2011
    30
    As leaden as the bullets whose random behavior it revolves around, Géla Babluani's 13 fails to recapture the sweaty tension of his original 13 Tzameti, a French import that reeked of style and first-timer ambition.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 27, 2011
    30
    What does it add up to? Nothing much. A tense, paranoid nightmare with a chilly metaphysical overview has been trampled into a blustering, bad cartoon.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Oct 26, 2011
    25
    The filmmakers are so generally clueless about getting the most out of a provocative concept that it's like running into a subtextual brick wall.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    9
    Superb movie...chilling and riveting. It's one horrible Gugolian joke..or as Churchill said an enigma wrapped in a mystery...Statham plays against type is a deadbeat. Sam Riley is perfect. A great indictment against the medical system but a wonderful redeeming story about loyalty and family featly. Shot in tense macros. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    2
    It's worst on every bad way you wanna say it, neither of the actors stands up and at the end of the line, you can't praise him for nothing. I guess it could have been a little bit more fine if it was directed by Guy Ritchie, al least it would have been funnier. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    When I saw it's trailer and cast I said: 'Wow, it gotta be a great movie.' But after I watched the film I realised without a doubt this is one of the dumbest movies ever. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    i must be dreaming. This thing cant be a movie its too terrible. I regret wasting my time watching this movie. i rather be at school than watch this movie. all the actors are terrible. BAD MOVIE Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    I don't understand why this thing (Not Movie) has been made!
    Its a complete **** which waste your time for 1.5 hours. I hope you won't watch it!
  6. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    What happen when we do a really bad thriller? We have a boring movie. 13 is bad, the story is regular, but the development is horrible. The cast have a terrible performances, theis movie is stupid. Collapse

Trailers