User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 230

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    as a sequel i dont think this provided the perfect story but it was a satisfactory one and there was some good character development between the 2 protagonists. the action and suspense is ok and the cast perform well
  2. Sep 25, 2011
    7
    I remember when I was a kid and I loved it. Now that I'm older, I still like it. I know that it's not the best Fast and Furious movie but it's still enjoyable. The movie itself acknowledges that it's not supposed to be very serious or deep and that's fine because the way the action is executed is fantastic. So with all that said 2 Fast 2 Furious has great action and is a very enjoyable movie.
  3. May 21, 2011
    10
    WOW. I am seriously surprised by the low critic score here. Must not be fans of cars and racing. This was the second best movie in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie for the racing and actors.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    3
    The film image has always been Vin Diesel. Without Vin Diesel movie seems to represent a completely different direction and before the movie stops making sense. After watching this movie several questions are asked by the audience.
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    I'd go so far as to say that if you really liked this film, you have a career working in fast food to look forward to. Get it? Fast food? 2 Fast 2 Furious takes it for granted that the audience is comprised of morons. And maybe we are-all those bad video games have gone to our head. If the souped up, day-glo cars could have driven themselves, the movie could easily have done without the actors. Beautiful people and beautiful cars in a movie that won't tax the brain cells. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    3
    Other than the sweet cars, this is a predictable mess that fails to thrill filled with stereotypical and annoying characters. Makes it even worse when the only person who could lift at least a bit more the series is absent.
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    One of the worst films you will ever see. The acting is terrible and the action scenes suck as well. I had high hopes for this film consider the previous film in the series but this film was just an epic failure.
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    If you like souped up cars ripping up streets then you'll love this. If you don't you won't. Behind all the cars is a mediocre action movie with average acting and a poor plot.
  9. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    2 Fast 2 Furious is almost as good as the original. It has great action moments and a decent story. It has some great performances as well. It is 2 good 2 furious.
  10. Dec 20, 2011
    2
    It lacks the awesome experience of its predecessor and the mediocrity of the story does not create anything fast and furious at all. Though I'm impressed with the car racing scenes but it all lacks a good concept.
  11. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    This isn't a movie it's an auto show. There's not much to this movie except the cars. Which is the last thing I want to see in a movie. The movie starts out with a illegal street race right away. This is just what I don't like in movies. At least Vin Diesel wasn't in this one which probably makes it my favorite out of the series. Vin Diesel isn't a good actor he's just cast in these movies for show. The plot was okay, which is the reason why I didn't give this the lowest score possible. If your a teenager and you love cars then watch this. Just don't take all the action and racing scenes to serious because you are aware that there just fiction right. Expand
  12. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    2 Fast 2 Furious isn't quite as good as the first film but it's still a really good movie in its own right. The cast was great once again with Paul Walker returning to his role as Brian O'Connor and Tyrese Gibson and Eva Mendes adding new character dynamics. Tyrese in particular was great. If there's one thing the first film lacked it's that there wasn't much humor. It was a very serious film and while that's great, Tyrese's character, Roman Pearce, added some great laughs at some unexpected moments. The cinematic effects were much better in this film also. The only negatives were that some of the action sequences were a little overboard (Dukes of Hazard jump for example) and the dialogue had too much street car jargon to the extent that some of it felt forced. "That Yenko will snap a speedo in 5 seconds" is an example of the type of dialogue that doesn't actually feel genuine in its placement in the film. Nonetheless, a really good movie with solid acting and great action. Expand
  13. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    Everything good about the first movie has gone out the window for the second. Tyrese Gibson was a terrible cast imo. Overall, It was just an awful movie that I would not recommend at all.
  14. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    excellent movie. I liked the fast and the furious part 2 a lot. The cars have great bright colors, good action scenes. Locations, good actors, and they are somewhat criminal characters, they are still good guys compared to the real bad guys. They are also working with the fbi, to put a mafia kingpin away. So for this movie they are on the good side. I really liked this movie a lot, and i watched it many times over. It does not glorify criminals. It's a kick ass movie. Great locations such as Miami. Great chase scenes, and racing scenes. Some funny moments with that black guy from Barstow. "I'm not going back to Barstow!" Expand
  15. Mar 8, 2014
    4
    It's just like its predecessor. This sequel is filled with plenty of silly car races and crazy car chases - you'll probably forget this movie in a couple of days.
  16. Nov 8, 2012
    2
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but this second dose of crazed, yet redundantly formulaic testosterone is even worse than the first Fast failure.
  17. Dec 10, 2012
    4
    Definitely fun to watch, but the script is very lame, there's no actual plot, and the characters selection was bad as well. The first movie had a lot of character (Vin Diesel) and an actual story. If I just wanted to look at nice cars I could have googled for some pictures and videos. Disappointing.
  18. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Good film but the this film has too many clichés in it. I liked it when i was a kid but now i dont like it soo much anymore. The whole theme is just bling bling, heres my girl, my car and iam the best. Thats not really what i want from a film.
    The story isn´t boring but not really interesting. The first one had a better story. And the cars in the second are quiet bad thats
    not what iam expecting of a underground streetracing league. Expand
  19. May 30, 2013
    1
    2 Fast 2 Furious is nothing compared to the first movie. It lacks thrill and is more attractive in looks, 2 Fast 2 Furious is just your regular brain dead film with absolutely no point at all.
  20. Sep 7, 2013
    6
    This film is possibly the worst film of the series, although it is not bad, the plot is less than involving, and withought the whole crew it does't feel right. Good, but ain't got nothing on the first film.
  21. Dec 14, 2013
    2
    It feels like a B movie and it is. This cash grab sequel runs on a lame plot featuring one dimensional characters blabbering out terrible dialogue from a very weak script. The chase sequences were fun... but that's about it.
  22. chw
    Jul 20, 2014
    6
    2 Fast 2 Furious is not as bad as the critics say it is, but it's not as good as every other Fast and Furious movie besides the 2009 motion picture. (that one sucked!)
  23. Jun 9, 2014
    5
    2 Fast 2 Furious: 5/10: Okay so it's car porn. It's rather well done car porn. Stunningly brainless but rather fun in places 2 Fast 2 Furious gives us a candy colored version of street racing with a plot that is best not even discussed.

    After all you don't watch this for the plot. You watch it for the cars. A giant product placement for Mitsubishi among others the cars and characters
    are right out of a video game (the paint jobs match the personalities) and kudos to the filmmakers for keeping the CGI to a minimum. The movie made me want to trick out my old Dodge Dart.(Electric Blue paint job with matching neon on yeah baby).

    Director John Singletary moves the cars around like he has been directing Burt Reynolds's movies all his life. (This is not a criticism and the fact he avoids Cannonball Run style humor is another plus.) Singletary who usually films much more important movies, (what's next Scorsese's Jaws 5 or Spike Lee's Ella Enchanted 2 Ella in Da Hood? Actually the way some of Spike's recent films have gone this may not be a bad idea) keeps the pace tight and the actors attractive.

    However all is not peachy keen. For example I haven't seen African American hairstyles this bad since Cotton came to Harlem. The Tyrese character comes across as a complete idiot almost sinking the movie once or twice. (Now I know Tyrese can act I saw Baby Boy.) Another quick note I have driven cars with nitrous oxide and they give you a burst of acceleration not warp speed effects from Star Trek. (And lets face it the Mitishibishi cars are pretty but not fast. These cars are dragging down a strip after a minute and the speedometer finally moves from 90 to 120 my Dart has better acceleration after 60 sixty seconds.

    The movie, to its credit, acknowledges when the cars get whooped by some old American muscle. I know I promised not to discuss the plot but one thing. If you needed someone to drive a couple of million dollars from Miami to Key West (all of 2 hours on Interstate 95 and Route 1), would you A: hire and old couple in a RV B: Drive it yourself or C: Hire two ex-cons in the flashiest cars you have ever seen and who had to this point been incapable of rounding the block without causing an accident and attracting various state and local agencies. I guess that's why we are not criminal masterminds.
    Expand
  24. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    The Fast and the Furious is a great and effortlessly entertaining movie, i highly recommend it and the cast perform very well, I can't believe how bad the critic reviews are for this movie, because, nice cars, girls, money, street race, actor !
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 35
  2. Negative: 14 out of 35
  1. My hand trembles slightly as I type these words, but the truth is that while watching 2 Fast 2 Furious, the follow-up to the pleasurably cheap-thrills sleeper "The Fast and the Furious," I realized just how much I miss Vin Diesel.
  2. 42
    The best thing about 2 Fast 2 Furious is Tyrese (terrific in Singleton's "Baby Boy"), whose charisma, looks and charm supply the picture with much-needed spark. It's too bad he's stuck in this spotty video game.
  3. 63
    A lark for anyone who's willing to check their brains at the concession stand for 100 minutes.