Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 2, 2013
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 214 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
117
Mixed:
87
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
BHBarryAug 2, 2013
2Guns" stars Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg and was directed by Baltasar Kormakur (“Contraband”) with a cast including Bill Paxton and Edward James Olmos in this too slick action/ comedy. There is an artificial chemistry that the writers2Guns" stars Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg and was directed by Baltasar Kormakur (“Contraband”) with a cast including Bill Paxton and Edward James Olmos in this too slick action/ comedy. There is an artificial chemistry that the writers seek to create between Wahlberg and Washington to which the audience is constantly conscious of so that each line they deliver has the implied thought "boy will the viewers love this"
The plot to this film and the role of the lead characters are confusing and full of turns and twists that will make your head reel more than the constant overturning of the vehicles in the wild car chases and crashes.
There is nothing subtle about this film and it is obvious that the producers are attempting to create a franchise a la "Lethal Weapon".
The film is a good visual experience with a sound track that matches the fast action scenes and represents a strong attempt to attract the teen age and early 20's audience. Although the film will probably do well for that group, for the viewer looking for more, the film will be a disappointment. I give this film a 6. Simply put, the 2 guns weren’t loaded.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
GreatMartinAug 2, 2013
The only two things that differentiates “2 Guns” from dozens of other action movies are Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg whose bromance reminds one of the banter between Bruce Willis and Cybill Shepherd in “Moonlighting” and here you waitThe only two things that differentiates “2 Guns” from dozens of other action movies are Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg whose bromance reminds one of the banter between Bruce Willis and Cybill Shepherd in “Moonlighting” and here you wait for the two guys to walk off into the sunset, holding hands, into “2 Guns 2”. There are a lot of crotch jokes, certainly double entendres, but done with an ease between the guys that keeps you continuously smiling,

At one point I thought I may have walked into “White House Down” or “Lethal Weapon 10” as there are cops, robbers, the CIA, FBI, the Navy, houses being blown up, car races and crashes, windows smashing all over, a drug lord, double crosses, helicopters crashing, lots of gunfire, a fairly high body count and everything else you have seen before in action movies.

One of the new things in this movie is Washington and Wahlberg wrestling in the desert that is very funny and at the same time sexier than anything you saw in “Brokeback Mountain”. These two actors obviously enjoyed working together and in many scenes share that joyful play with the audience.

The story is really immaterial but there is one by the screenwriter Blake Masters that at times is blurred but he certainly knows how to write one liners. The director Baltasar Kormakur keeps the action going, interesting and has an excellent cast, In addition to the two stars there are Edward James Olmas, Bill Paxton, James Marsden, Fred Ward and Paula Patton.

“2 Guns” is far from a classic but anyone who likes the two leads shouldn’t miss this and the ending of the old Hollywood, “Happily Ever After”!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sanyrubApr 17, 2014
Entertaining movie with two leading actors who display great chemistry. There are several plot twists which keep the movie alive and make it a nice watch if you´re not asking for much. But it´s just that. It is the typical action movie madeEntertaining movie with two leading actors who display great chemistry. There are several plot twists which keep the movie alive and make it a nice watch if you´re not asking for much. But it´s just that. It is the typical action movie made for male audiences (and straight) where women show their bodies more than males for no reason and a lot of violence happens. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJSep 8, 2013
Decent movie with great action! It's just not my type, if you wanna know my favorite movies, check out my profile. Otherwise i didn't like it but i think that most people WILL. So my score is 5/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
PStakhivAug 17, 2013
Standard action film with good acting and interesting plot. But is doesn't offer anything original. Most of the details are predictable. So, overall it's a decent action movie, with some plot holes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Fireball22Aug 13, 2013
Not bad, precisely what you would expect from a light-hearted action buddy movie.

The character stuff was alright, a little heavy handed with how over the top Wahlberg's character was written at times. Denzel's character was a little lost
Not bad, precisely what you would expect from a light-hearted action buddy movie.

The character stuff was alright, a little heavy handed with how over the top Wahlberg's character was written at times. Denzel's character was a little lost frankly, never really materialized as a complete person... but who cares, this is a buddy action movie, right? If that sentence was palatable to you then you are well equiped to watch this movie :)

The plot tried to be good, but failed. The evil characters were all one dimensional cliches and if they ever get someone that ridiculous to run ANYTHING in the CIA I'll eat my hat.

Best part of the movie is watching Wahlberg basically do what Wahlberg does. The worst part was trying to swallow a man dropping a helicopter with a 9 millimeter. Typical stuff.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Dimitris01Nov 24, 2013
'2 Guns' is entertaining at the beginning thanks to the plot surprises, the humor and the charisma of Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. Unfortunately the second half is not as creative as the first and the action is mediocre (except for'2 Guns' is entertaining at the beginning thanks to the plot surprises, the humor and the charisma of Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. Unfortunately the second half is not as creative as the first and the action is mediocre (except for the chase in the desert). Furthermore the sequence at the navy base is implausible and adds nothing to the plot, there is a dramatic event which doesn't suit the movie's light atmosphere and the climax is unexciting.
argonautis.eu
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
harryisliveNov 29, 2013
Can you give me those 109 minutes and 15 seconds back, please? Definitely below average if you remove the excellent performance of the cast. I liked how it began and the way it ended, restaurant dialogues with a wink n punch, but everythingCan you give me those 109 minutes and 15 seconds back, please? Definitely below average if you remove the excellent performance of the cast. I liked how it began and the way it ended, restaurant dialogues with a wink n punch, but everything in between was unnecessary. thumbs down. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Knicksfan7Aug 21, 2013
Not perfect but also not bad. Fun shoot em up action with 2 good actors in the lead roles. The plot had quite a few holes but nobody should see a movie like 2 Guns for a perfect story but I enjoyed myself. Good action with good humor. Not aNot perfect but also not bad. Fun shoot em up action with 2 good actors in the lead roles. The plot had quite a few holes but nobody should see a movie like 2 Guns for a perfect story but I enjoyed myself. Good action with good humor. Not a movie to rush and see but definitely check it out when it's on rental. Overall a good time. 5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
a7xfanAug 5, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film had a pretty good chemistry between Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg for what little time they were actually together. The story didn't really make sense, it just seemed like a plot where a bunch of people from the Navy, CIA, and Mexican Drug Cartels wanted a share of $43 million but the story was going in a million different directions so it was really hard to keep up. The action was very old school in my opinion but it didn't disappoint in that department. I'd consider renting this when it comes out on Redbox instead of seeing it in theaters Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ricksrosesSep 12, 2013
Not an academy award movie but I must say very entertaining... interesting story line and good acting with good dialog between the actors... well worth seeing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SmeeNov 8, 2013
Movie is let down by script.clearly script was writers has no idea about DEA ,CIA or how drug lords operate.Its like someone who never seen sea write a poem about sea.Acting is all right and action scenes also quite good and reliable.MovieMovie is let down by script.clearly script was writers has no idea about DEA ,CIA or how drug lords operate.Its like someone who never seen sea write a poem about sea.Acting is all right and action scenes also quite good and reliable.Movie had the potential to be a good movie but witters made the mess of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oblique15Sep 24, 2014
It was a let down. Mark Wahlber plays the same guy he is on every movie, and it was one of Denzels least appealing characters. The movie just has nothing memorable about it. It`s an ok watch, but nothing new.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Nesbitt10Nov 19, 2013
Based on the ultra-violent comic-book miniseries by Steven Grant, "2 Guns" director Baltasar Kormákur hits all the right notes stylistically, but comes up short on everything else. Don't anticipate a hard-hitting drama or an edge-of-the-seatBased on the ultra-violent comic-book miniseries by Steven Grant, "2 Guns" director Baltasar Kormákur hits all the right notes stylistically, but comes up short on everything else. Don't anticipate a hard-hitting drama or an edge-of-the-seat thriller because the real focus of the movie is on the ever so slightly humorous relationship between its two main characters: Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. Both interact well enough together, but the film falls flat when they're separated, and sometimes it's for long stretches. However, director Baltasar Kormákur shows a great deal of improvement over the last time he worked with Wahlberg in the disappointing, and uninspiring "Contraband" (2012).

"2 Guns" is about a pair of undercover agents, neither of whom is aware of his partner's real identity. Bobby Trench (Denzel Washington) is a DEA agent and Stig (Mark Wahlberg) is Navy Intelligence, but both are playing the role of a legitimate crook. Their mutual goal is to take down the cartel headed by Lord Papi Greco (Edward James Olmos). Their plan to do this, which is never really explained in a way that the audience can truly understand, has something to do with robbing a bank where Papi's money is supposedly stashed in safe deposit boxes.

After the robbery takes place, however, it comes to light that the stolen money belongs to the CIA and their enforcer Earl (Bill Paxton), and he wants it back. The DEA intends to use it in a trial against Papi because getting a search warrant would be too much of a hassle. Naturally, our heroes end up being targets for what they know, having to finally work together to piece together your standard run-of-the-mill double cross extravaganza.

The real business of "2 Guns" is the camaraderie between the two bickering leads, which comes across a lot like flirting. They finish each other's sentences, order each other's breakfast, chat about "Les Misérables," and even have a scene where they stroll into the sunset arm in arm. There are chases, shootouts, and explosions, but there is nothing here you haven't seen before. With the exception of the final shootout sequence, the cinematography rarely impresses. There is limited amount of fun had in watching how Bobby and Stig survive a variety of seemingly inescapable situations, but sadly the predictable plot keeps getting in the way of all the action.

The elements gel well enough to make "2 Guns" an enjoyable summer cinematic experience. However, it is never any doubt how things will play out, and it's nothing likely to resonate after the dust has settled.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SimpleMethodAug 2, 2013
2 Guns is really only okay, just like Contraband. Unlike Contraband, it's really not that interesting. It has good action sequences that would be made even better if tied cohesively together into the plot. It wasn't terrible, Mark Wahlberg2 Guns is really only okay, just like Contraband. Unlike Contraband, it's really not that interesting. It has good action sequences that would be made even better if tied cohesively together into the plot. It wasn't terrible, Mark Wahlberg and Denzel have great chemistry, but the director can't seem to decide if he wants a gritty thriller, or an action comedy, and the result is a jumbled movie with hard-to-follow plotting. Again, it's not terrible, it just wasn't very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WikileaksWhoAug 2, 2013
An overal movie. It has surprises but it also has clichés. Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg are a good team, not perfect or bad. I give it a 6 stars, like it's supposed to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BrianMcCriticNov 21, 2013
This film only works because of the chemistry between Washington and Wahlberg. The script and the overall plot just fall short. In the long run this just adds up to a mediocre film. C+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dyshpoSep 24, 2013
You know how it's goin to end right off the bat. it was not all it could have been but it was fun few laughs there could have been more but i guess they ran out of time filming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mlk960Aug 30, 2013
Was I the only one who felt like the movie was funded by a liberal lobbying group? I'm not trying to post my own political opinion here, but it felt like there were multiple plot points where issues paralleled hot political topics right now.Was I the only one who felt like the movie was funded by a liberal lobbying group? I'm not trying to post my own political opinion here, but it felt like there were multiple plot points where issues paralleled hot political topics right now. These were then resolved with a liberal standpoint. For example: The ridiculous plot structure of having both a very corrupt and money lusting Navy/ CIA (On top of the cartel). Each of these organizations betrayed their single agents because they stood to reveal their bad nature. In turn, the "2 guns" went rogue and committed acts that would be deemed 'terrorist.' Of course, the audience is supposed to root for them, so everything they do is ok. This was just one of the political topics hit out of many I saw, including the debate on welfare (The ridiculously long and unneeded scene where they argue over tipping), and the morality of betrayal in relationships (Denzel and the Latino chick.) I saw others, but they don't come to mind. Maybe I'm just flipping out over a whole lot of nothing, but I still don't see the point in having a plot that tries to carry so many different things in it. It was ridiculously varying and had no need for such complex and unbelievable structure. Aside from what I viewed as a political agenda (probably for an increasingly democratic audience), I would give the movie a 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrBigBossSep 7, 2013
Before I entered the theatre, I had a pretty good idea of what I was about to see. A prototypical shoot-em-up with a couple of high-profile leads that would have to really steal the show to make this one worth a second watch. Although DenzelBefore I entered the theatre, I had a pretty good idea of what I was about to see. A prototypical shoot-em-up with a couple of high-profile leads that would have to really steal the show to make this one worth a second watch. Although Denzel & Mark delivered above average performances, I don't think this is them at their best. There were some funny moments, some cliches here and there, and a lot of violence. The plot twists can be easily sniffed out early on if you've seen your fair share of action movies, and the over-the-top ending provides for some laughs. If you're lookin for a pretty good action flick to take your girlfriend/boyfriend to, and you're not expecting to see an award-winning show, 2 Guns is worth a watch. However, when it hits the shelves in a few months, I'll be passing on seeing it twice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JoseloSep 21, 2013
Cuando fui a ver esta película fui sin expectativas, lo cual me ayudó mucho a pasar un mejor tiempo. 2 Guns no es un filme que recordaremos de aquí a un año, pero tampoco es uno que odiaremos al instante. Pues su historia no es tanCuando fui a ver esta película fui sin expectativas, lo cual me ayudó mucho a pasar un mejor tiempo. 2 Guns no es un filme que recordaremos de aquí a un año, pero tampoco es uno que odiaremos al instante. Pues su historia no es tan compleja, como tampoco es ridícula y esto la convierte en algo fácil de ver. En cuanto a las actuaciones me parecen que los actores principales disfrutaron su tiempo, porque hicieron un buen trabajo pero definitivamente no estaban buscando un Oscar con ello. Las escenas de acción no fueron acelerante, y su ritmo se encargaba de que no nos sintiéramos de esta forma. Buen negocio sin riesgos tomados. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FordPrefectJan 20, 2014
There's not much to say about 2 Guns. With such a poor script, Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg can't really be blamed for giving mostly charmless performances. The main plot "twist" comes out of left field and is absurdly random to theThere's not much to say about 2 Guns. With such a poor script, Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg can't really be blamed for giving mostly charmless performances. The main plot "twist" comes out of left field and is absurdly random to the point of just being stupid, which pretty much sums up this movie. It's filled with guns and death but that's about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheFilmDoctorMar 22, 2016
Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg are great company. You'd want to have a beer with them, trade war stories and laugh your ass off. But that's a fantasy. The only way you get to hang with these two big guns is to see 2 Guns, and it's not aDenzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg are great company. You'd want to have a beer with them, trade war stories and laugh your ass off. But that's a fantasy. The only way you get to hang with these two big guns is to see 2 Guns, and it's not a fair trade-off. Icelandic director Baltasar Kormakur, who worked with Wahlberg on 2012's Contraband, knows how to move action along. He's so good at it that you believe the tired old B-movie plot might actually spring to life and relevance. No such luck. What can I say about the story? That Washington's Bobby Trench and Wahlberg's Stig Stigman rob banks together. I could say that, but it wouldn't be true exactly. And if I say any more I'll be pilloried for being a spoiler sport. So I'll say this: the supporting cast, especially Bill Paxton and Edward James Olmos as baddies, comes up aces. So does Oliver Wood's sleek cinematography. But you can't tell me a B-movie can't be exciting and smart. Why? Because Washington and Ethan Hawke proved it could be Antoine Fuqua's Training Day. Washington has a nice, noirish line to his romantic interest, a cop played sexily by Paula Patton: "I really meant to love you." Hell, I really meant to at least like 2 Guns. But I couldn't. The movie just didn't make the extra effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Crime buddy movie. Washington & Wahlberg team up and ride the waves of a complicated plot-line while winding each other up. Bill Paxton turns in a quality villain performance. There's violence, but nothing gratuitous until the finale,Crime buddy movie. Washington & Wahlberg team up and ride the waves of a complicated plot-line while winding each other up. Bill Paxton turns in a quality villain performance. There's violence, but nothing gratuitous until the finale, there's swearing without it taking over the script. It's all a bit like a Lethal Weapon re-boot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews