Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: April 2, 1968
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 831 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
657
Mixed:
48
Negative:
126
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ManolisS.Oct 1, 2006
I think this is the first and last time that cinema escaped the theater and became part of our mythological collective unconscious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JordanH.Dec 20, 2008
This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as fresh as the day it was released. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Mar 2, 2010
A Classic that still holds up after 40+ years. One of my favorites however, I had read the book before seeing the film, so the story makes sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best was the slowness, and how there were 5-minute scenes just of a space pod departing from the ship. Kubrick is able to realistically portray outer space, and to create a beautiful film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WakoJ.May 7, 2006
Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more after doing some reading on it, guess I'm not smart enough to figure everything out by myself. Perhaps that is the point of the movie, and the best advice I can give: don't try to figure it out too much. In time things will sink in and bring different meanings to different people, the way all great art does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnthonyP.Jul 1, 2008
After hearing all this acclaim for this movie I thought it was going to be a spectacular movie. Instead I was submitted to 25 minutes of monkeys screaming at eachother, over an hour total of scenes of space with just music or breathing, and After hearing all this acclaim for this movie I thought it was going to be a spectacular movie. Instead I was submitted to 25 minutes of monkeys screaming at eachother, over an hour total of scenes of space with just music or breathing, and and a sparse half hour total of actual dialogue. The concept is great, the execution is painfully slow and boring. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
davidbApr 19, 2009
This movie made me so mad I went on the internet and searched for worst movie ever so I could vote for it.
0 of 9 users found this helpful
10
DaveSMay 1, 2009
A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's contemporaries. It's biggest failures were not predicting the demise of Ma Bell and Pan Am and believing that landing on the moon actually was just a "small step". Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AlonsoCApr 2, 2010
Pink Floyd in movie form.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is revealed, the moon landing, HAL, the incredible and ambiguous conclusion, the viewer feels increasingly amazed and stunned. Few other films create the same haunting effect that 2001 achieves, and I do not think there is a single more philosophical film in existance. 2001 must be seen by everyone. Whether you may find it slow, tedious or pretentious, 2001 succeeds in making something bigger of our existances than the day to day lives we currently live. Films simply do not get any better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimfromChicagoDec 9, 2005
When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more unforgetable images. As a movie bad guy, compare Hal to, say, Darth Vader. Isn't Hal a profoundly more chilling character? Do you, like me, find yourself in difficult situations where the first thing entering your mind is, "Open the pod bay door, Hal." After 25 years of advances in movie special effects, space flight has still never been more beautifully portrayed. Yup, I like thlis flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tornwalda.Apr 26, 2005
This is without a doubt one of the best films ever made. Stephen Hunter from the Washington Post is a complete idiot if he rates this film with 10 out of 100. A timeless classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Apr 3, 2006
A presentation without conclusions where the viewer must do all the thinking, and a solid reassurance that man's ultimate place in the universe is, at least for a time, a very lonely one. But for every level it attempts, no film excels better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyH.Sep 18, 2006
Timeless masterpiece!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JamesB.Aug 21, 2007
I must have seen a different 2001: A Space Odyssey than everyone else. Mine was a two hours long screen saver. I watched it a week ago and I'm still furious about how mind-numbingly boring it was. Critics, if this was an elaborate I must have seen a different 2001: A Space Odyssey than everyone else. Mine was a two hours long screen saver. I watched it a week ago and I'm still furious about how mind-numbingly boring it was. Critics, if this was an elaborate practical joke, you win. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful
10
ChudG.May 9, 2008
Aside from a couple nagging technical things, the tech and atmosphere depicted in the film is among the best in any movie ever. Extremely deep, enjoyable and uplifting. 11/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcWNov 11, 2009
Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put it's one of those movies you almost feel obliged to pay homage to once a year. You hunker down in your armchair with a cup of tea, sandwiches, crisps a choco bar or two (it is a long film), dim the lights, lock the door and just devour the imagery. Its a wonderful movie, but I completely understand those who claim it's more like watching a screen saver than a movie, but that's what the cup of tea's for. There are moments when you just feel so completely at ease watching what is essentially artwork, others when you're provoked into thought's like no other movie can provide. It's a journey, sorry to be melodramatic, not a movie watching experience. And one everyone should make, it's not dated, despite it being, what? 40+ years old. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LachlanSNov 10, 2009
If you fast forward through all non-dialogue portions of this 130 minute movie, it distills down to a mediocre 20 minute sci-fi story. If you don't fast forward, you're guaranteed to fall asleep.
3 of 10 users found this helpful
10
EdCNov 23, 2009
A movie for the ages. Gets your attention early and never lets go. A movie I can watch a hundred times and still get fascinated by. The Best movie of All Time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StanleyK.Mar 9, 2009
Slowest movie ever made and of course its outdated, hence the title.
3 of 12 users found this helpful
10
JohnSMay 23, 2009
The best audio-visual mediation on the origins, the now and the future of man. The depth of this movie is only revealed over successive viewings. Still waiting for kubrick's successor in the celluloid format.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EthanRMay 28, 2009
Recently, I stayed at a hotel that had a very interesting art style. They had flatscreen TV's running nonstop with strange, enigmatic videos, as a sort of "moving art." This movie would fit perfectly on to one of those screens. Where it Recently, I stayed at a hotel that had a very interesting art style. They had flatscreen TV's running nonstop with strange, enigmatic videos, as a sort of "moving art." This movie would fit perfectly on to one of those screens. Where it does not fit is in a movie theater. As a movie, it is horrible. Immensely boring and repetitive, it lacks character development, relevance between scenes, and any respectable acting. It gives no explanation for any of its many random plot changes, leaving the interpretation up to the viewer, a cop-out way of passing off what was not even artistic as deep and meaningful. I give it a 1 because, for its time, the special effects are wholly impressive. But other than that, this movie is excruciating. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful
0
AdamN.Aug 19, 2009
If I were a US soldier who held a terrorist captive and wanted to receive valuable or any source of information from him, but the sergent refuses to give me any, make him watch this horrible film in a dark chamber. He'll be pleading for If I were a US soldier who held a terrorist captive and wanted to receive valuable or any source of information from him, but the sergent refuses to give me any, make him watch this horrible film in a dark chamber. He'll be pleading for mercy to get him out of there. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JimT.Aug 19, 2009
Is there a rating greater than 10? This movie would have it. A work of true genius. And much more, a spiritual journey. Kubrick went for it and hit a home run, for all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 12, 2006
I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true artistic genius and I believe the term aptly applies to him. Film is our most modern form of art. It is a learned craft in the same vein as painting or music composition. Yes, I'm saying a film can be on the same level as a Debussy symphony or a Dostoevsky novel, for examples. The operative word is "can" or "may." Its collaborative nature doesn't exclude it as an art form. When Michaelangelo painted the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, he couldn't have done it without carpenters and assistants. But, it was his vision, and a film can be the spawn of one person's imagination and efforts and that person is the director. A director free from the control of a studio, who involves him or herself in every aspect of the filmmaking process, particularly the script, photography and the editting, is just like a painter or composer. There are few filmmakers with this level of power, skill and knowledge. Stanley Kubrick was one of the few. And, 2001: A Space Odyssey is truly a work of art. Time, the true measure by which these things are judged, will tell. When historians of the future analyze the accomplishments of man (of this epoch) from an artistic perspective, this film will be an example of our capabilities, and I'm not sure we could present a better one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Nov 26, 2007
This is the greatest film ever made. Kubrick's masterpiece and one of the great works of art of the 20th century. A phenomenal testament to creative genius.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanR.May 18, 2007
Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force of time and the transitional stages it brings. The director tacitly demonstrates the central concept of this allegorical film with a combination of elements uncommon in modern film making. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanHNov 20, 2009
No science fiction film has ever come close to this. Haters: go watch Transformers and stop criticizing something you don't understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielRMar 19, 2009
This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to be as this film focuses more on machines and the beauty and mystery of space which is shown beautifully and mysteriously here. The plot may be hard to follow by a lot of viewers but there is no denying that is cinematic art at it's very best and most probably the best film of kubrick's career and possibly the best film ever made. Prepare to be amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Nov 25, 2005
This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times in theatres with variously sized screens and on video and still maintain there has never been anything like it. (And it was made by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, not Warner Brothers, despite what the Metacritic people say!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ThomasB.Dec 28, 2008
The worst film I've ever seen. What does the film want to be? This is no art it's only crap. Please dont see this film, every euro you would spend on it is lost, lost, lost.
0 of 18 users found this helpful
7
clydeDec 28, 2009
This movie was good.. anyone who thinks otherwise does not know a good movie.I think if you watched it at the time it should of gotten a 8 but for the modern generation i will be giving it a 7.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
This is movie as art in its fullest and most stunning format. How Kubrick made this look so futuristic in the year of 1968 it beyond me and probably most people on this planet. How much is covered in the short span of this film. It might justThis is movie as art in its fullest and most stunning format. How Kubrick made this look so futuristic in the year of 1968 it beyond me and probably most people on this planet. How much is covered in the short span of this film. It might just be the only film that seems to cover the whole history of the universe in a film. Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, KUBRICK. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
An amazing film, a masterpiece, and easily the best science-fiction film of alltime. Kubrick never did any better than this unbelievable film, which does a rare thing; it looks as if it was made yesterday, but it challenges you intellectuallyAn amazing film, a masterpiece, and easily the best science-fiction film of alltime. Kubrick never did any better than this unbelievable film, which does a rare thing; it looks as if it was made yesterday, but it challenges you intellectually like the rarest films from the distant past. This is my personal favorite film of alltime, and I would argue that it might be THE greatest film of alltime. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
DemiourgosAug 17, 2010
This movie is so bad I can't even explain it, I was shocked when I saw it, people told me it was a masterpiece but it's one of the most overrated movies ever because it's just terrible, there is nothing in this movie that actually makes it aThis movie is so bad I can't even explain it, I was shocked when I saw it, people told me it was a masterpiece but it's one of the most overrated movies ever because it's just terrible, there is nothing in this movie that actually makes it a movie. The monkeys scene is the most epic fail scene in the history of cinematography. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
Stanley Kubrick's epic sci-fi tale involving monkeys, space, monoliths & a Russian Leonard Rossiter.
The first two hours of the film are fine, yes it does drag a little here & there, but builds the story up nicely.
The parts with HAL & Dave &
Stanley Kubrick's epic sci-fi tale involving monkeys, space, monoliths & a Russian Leonard Rossiter.
The first two hours of the film are fine, yes it does drag a little here & there, but builds the story up nicely.
The parts with HAL & Dave & Frank are, for me, just fantastic.
You get a great sense of claustrophobia with the space suit scenes & the breathing being the only soundtrack. There's also something very sinister about HAL singing Daisy Daisy, with his voice getting lower & lower.
Then the last half hour. I watched it again just to make sure I hadn't missed anything. Looking at some of the other reviews, it seems I'm not alone in missing the point of it. Total nonsense.
Anyway, aside from that, it is still a good film which has stood the test of time 40 years on. Great visuals, brilliant soundtrack & very influential in the way sci-fi films were made afterwards.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
tonyGreenJul 15, 2011
A film way ahead of it's time, it's scarcely beleivable it was made in 1968. The pace is slow and there is an excess of kubrickian unease, but for originality and visual impact this is a winner. There is a lot of thought-povoking material here
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewUltimateJul 13, 2011
Kubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after).Kubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after). Anyone who does not like this movie truly has an attention span so high that it could, alone, make them seem ridiculously immature. It is also worth noting that the film was so scientifically accurate. This is still an amazing film today, one of the best of all time. But it could still be very modern. If someone even had seen portions of this film before they knew the title, he/she would predict its initial release as probably somewhat recent because of how advanced every detail in it is. Genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
History-DudeNov 27, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A random, slow movie with no definite plot, the twenty minute screensaver at the end was, and is, not a necessary part of any movie. I don't want to insult anyone's love for sci-fi movies, but it was a terrible movie. The only positive thing was the science behind spinning to create gravity with several other scientific ideas and the digital animation for it's period. Expand
10 of 33 users found this helpful1023
All this user's reviews
5
billrullerApr 14, 2012
Honestly, I couldn't handle this movie at all. I only watched about 15 minutes of it, and after the second time I couldn't handle it. It just seemed very very boring. All I saw were monkeys going abe sh*t because there's a giant black...IHonestly, I couldn't handle this movie at all. I only watched about 15 minutes of it, and after the second time I couldn't handle it. It just seemed very very boring. All I saw were monkeys going abe sh*t because there's a giant black...I don't know. A Bar? A Box? I don't know and I don't care. If this whole movie is gonna be quiet and weird than I don't think this is the movie for me. I'm just amazed that this was critically the best movie by Stanley Kubrick. I've seen some of his weird movies that I don't get and understand how people would actually like it. Like 'A Clockwork Orange' and 'The Shining'. The only movie I found very decent was Full Metal Jacket. I'm just gonna give this movie half credit for the popularity for the viewers and reviewers. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuOct 10, 2012
2001: A Space Odyssey is an amazing science fiction film with astonishing, timeless effects. The movie manages to be quite terrifying without the use of action sequences or monsters (as is the want of modern sci-fi). Fear and wonder of the2001: A Space Odyssey is an amazing science fiction film with astonishing, timeless effects. The movie manages to be quite terrifying without the use of action sequences or monsters (as is the want of modern sci-fi). Fear and wonder of the unknown makes for quite the potent mix. I love the fact that the ending is so inscrutable. It leaves you startled and uneasy with a total lack of understanding. But that's the way the universe is; totally beyond our understanding. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
SouravDec 31, 2010
2001: A Space Odyssey is a 1968 science fiction film by Stanley Kubrick (who happens to be my favourite director as well). Being my favorite film, I have recommended this it to almost everyone I know. This review is more like an answer to2001: A Space Odyssey is a 1968 science fiction film by Stanley Kubrick (who happens to be my favourite director as well). Being my favorite film, I have recommended this it to almost everyone I know. This review is more like an answer to those who found this film slow-paced, and for those yet to watch it, you may continue to read this as a disclaimer to the film-

Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AmriT240892Jul 31, 2011
Stanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as theStanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LanceRomanceFeb 1, 2011
The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as weThe greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. Constant becoming through endless mediation. What will become of you when the credits finally roll? I, for one, became a pretentious film critic. Expand
28 of 34 users found this helpful286
All this user's reviews
4
CritiqueGirlMar 1, 2011
It is way to long and drawn out. I suggest you read the book. There is no reason to sit through the process when you can curl up with a good read. It actually is like watching paint dry.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
ImUnavailableJul 10, 2011
A masterpiece unlike any other movie. The multiple stories and themes combine to make an experience that really does feel like an odyssey. This is a movie about evolution, progression and existence, although it may fly over some viewersA masterpiece unlike any other movie. The multiple stories and themes combine to make an experience that really does feel like an odyssey. This is a movie about evolution, progression and existence, although it may fly over some viewers heads. The beginning and ending sequences were particularly impressive due to the reliance on imagery to tell the story in the absence of dialogue. The brilliant cinematography beautifully captures the grace and majesty of traveling in space but also of the vast nothingness that fills it. Anyone with even a vague interest in cinema should see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EdwinApr 9, 2014
The grandaddy of sci-fi, an incomparable experience of sense and of mind. Best to approach the revelationary details of the book afterwards, allowing Kubrick's sense of style and majesty to pervade the inner mind.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
spacecaptainAug 4, 2011
I had the good fortune of seeing 2001 in its first release at a fully decked-out cinerama theater when I was 11 years old --really the perfect age of wonder for such an imagination inspiring movie. It blew my mind along with everyone else's,I had the good fortune of seeing 2001 in its first release at a fully decked-out cinerama theater when I was 11 years old --really the perfect age of wonder for such an imagination inspiring movie. It blew my mind along with everyone else's, and even at that young age I knew that with this film everything about motion picture storytelling had suddenly changed. Amazingly, the movie still holds up, particularly visually. It doesn't suffer the fate of most science fiction films --2001 will never be seen as "retro". Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kellanjApr 29, 2011
Kubrics epic masterpiece is one of the Greatest films of all time. It examines humanity's insignificance in the vastness of the universe. If you haven't seen this film, do so immediately. My advise? watch it in a dark room, on a big screen,Kubrics epic masterpiece is one of the Greatest films of all time. It examines humanity's insignificance in the vastness of the universe. If you haven't seen this film, do so immediately. My advise? watch it in a dark room, on a big screen, with the volume up loud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
drlowdonJan 11, 2014
I like to think that I'm pretty open minded when it comes to different film genre's but 2001: A Space Odyssey is one of those critically acclaimed films that has just never connected with me. Yes, I understand that there is hiding depth andI like to think that I'm pretty open minded when it comes to different film genre's but 2001: A Space Odyssey is one of those critically acclaimed films that has just never connected with me. Yes, I understand that there is hiding depth and meaning behind the (especially at the time) beautifully crafted scenes but the slow pace, and running time of over two and a half hours, made it a chore to sit through. I'm all for cinema that does something different but I watch movies to be entertained and in that regard 2001: A Space Odyssey just doesn't work for me. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
konkJul 2, 2011
Best philosophical sci-fi movie ever ! It's amazing how it isn't outdated yet (except from some cloth-designs and haircuts); the slowness of the film is perfectly justified here (the pace of it reminds me of "Moon" ), and not a trick to maskBest philosophical sci-fi movie ever ! It's amazing how it isn't outdated yet (except from some cloth-designs and haircuts); the slowness of the film is perfectly justified here (the pace of it reminds me of "Moon" ), and not a trick to mask the complete lack of ideas like in "Monsters" for instance..I saw it when I was 17, and was blasted away, and I still am. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
WerothegreatMay 21, 2011
This movie is simply an excuse to play Blue Danube in full, twice. The beginning and ending are utter tripe - just because something is confusing, that doesn't mean it's a masterpiece. It more likely is nonsense. Kubrick has done much better.
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
ZiggyStardustJul 3, 2011
Very much one of the best Sci-Fi movies of the past decades. Amazing film and mind boggling ending. Definitely a must see film for every self-proclaimed film lover.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtTheMoviesJun 18, 2011
This is by far, the greatest film ever created. It is not even a film as much as it is a work of art. It is the classic Sc-Fi masterpiece. Far superior to other films said to have started Sci-Fi such as Star Wars, 2001 actually did it.This is by far, the greatest film ever created. It is not even a film as much as it is a work of art. It is the classic Sc-Fi masterpiece. Far superior to other films said to have started Sci-Fi such as Star Wars, 2001 actually did it. Timeless, and great, 2001 is a masterpiece. It is like the Mona Lisa of movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaJul 16, 2012
The film works as a transcendent of genre. It is a true art film! Space Odyssey attempts to give us a sense of awe through it's great audio visual experience. To quote Ebert loosely it works in a similar way as music!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FanJul 17, 2011
I would just like to comment on the amount of dumbasses out there. I just watched this movie tonight which was made in 1968 by the way, and I am so blown away by this movie, that I am just really in awe of the amount of people that gave badI would just like to comment on the amount of dumbasses out there. I just watched this movie tonight which was made in 1968 by the way, and I am so blown away by this movie, that I am just really in awe of the amount of people that gave bad reviews. They just dont get it. Its probably not the best movie made in terms of effects but the message,captivation, the perspective , and intrigue of this movie by the best director who has ever lived (in my opinion) is so awesome, that Im still crapping my pants about it. To all of you idiots out there open your freaking eyes! Thanks Stanley.. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
AlienSpaceBatsJul 30, 2011
Its tempting to consider 2001 a companion piece to Arthur C. Clarke's novel only, as its visual narrative can be hard to grasp for many. Is it boring? Yes, but will it blow your mind? Probably.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
spielbrick90Oct 21, 2011
A cool film that I very much enjoyed watching. Exeptional directing from Stanley Kubrick and also exellent acting from Kier Dullela. It is very real considering in the scenes in space it is completely silent and the spacesuits are brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FIlmsareawesomeSep 22, 2011
Such a Interesting idea, Jupiter and the infinite, and the mission and all those segments, unfortunately, when this was passed to a movie, it got a little bit boring and without action, I mean don't get me wrong i liked the movie, for thatSuch a Interesting idea, Jupiter and the infinite, and the mission and all those segments, unfortunately, when this was passed to a movie, it got a little bit boring and without action, I mean don't get me wrong i liked the movie, for that time, this was a very big step into the industry, but it should have been more interesting, like not only showing a lot of images and stuff, but like a little bit more action . I though the dialogues between Bowman & Hal were very well written, the idea of a automatically computer was awesome and very well structured. So once again Stanley Kubrick did a very good job, and this time he did the whole thing, not only the writing and the directing, but also the special effects, like wow. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
Acclaimed director Stanley Kubrick's SF masterpiece "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a conservative movie, asking the audience not to be amazed by the extraordinary visuals but the maturity and growth of a universal subject. The climax of the movieAcclaimed director Stanley Kubrick's SF masterpiece "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a conservative movie, asking the audience not to be amazed by the extraordinary visuals but the maturity and growth of a universal subject. The climax of the movie speeds up consistently and precisely with the breath taking cinematography of silence,and in the end....the movie itself becomes the universal subject. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
cpt_zeep23Sep 7, 2011
kubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of mykubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of my favorite films. it's utterly hypnotic and that tremendous sense of everything that is unfathomable is all through the film. i really liked hal, the artificial intelligence and found it profoundly disturbing when they "killed" him. as far as the ending goes, i have my own interpretation of it, but a definite answer as to what it "means", i have no idea. but i'm not sure i want to know. it's as mysterious as the universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Delta_AssaultSep 28, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I recently rewatched 2001 to reassess it. Give it another fair shake. It's still just... not good. The pace is still excruciatingly slow, and that 15-20 minute MP3 visualizer sequence still looks dumb. You can tell that by the end, they aren't even trying anymore, and just started showing footage of the Grand Canyon with loopy colors. The monkey sequence at the beginning's probably the best part of the film, it's not quite as bad. It's not quite as slow and dull. The makeup work they did on those apesuits was great, you can stand back a bit from the television and if you didn't know it was a film, you might actually think it was documentary footage. I've read all four 2001 novels by Arthur C. Clarke. The 2001 novel's great. The story's very well told in that book. But Kubrick's storytelling just kills this story. Just kills it. It's an epic journey, a literal Space Odyssey. I just don't think Kubrick's storytelling conveys that in a satisfying manner. And again, nobody needs to sit in a theater and stare at a visualizer sequence for 15 minutes. That's just torture. It was just aimless, tedious and boring. Whereas I think a human being traveling through a stargate and observing the wonders of the universe, stars being birthed, supernovas exploding, interstellar exchange systems, etc, would be awed and amazed. I was not awed and amazed by what they showed me. It did not look like the wonders of the universe while traveling at a high speed. It looked like colorful garbage. Followed by some footage of the Grand Canyon and an ocean with color substitution. That's not the majesty of the universe. Wearing the audience down with tedious rubbish is not the same as wearing Bowman down with amazing galactic sights. The latter is what's supposed to be going on in the story. Some might argue that the rubbish is supposed to be rubbish because what Bowman is going through can't actually be processed, his mind won't accept it, and so it has to be shown as a jumble of rubbish. Well, that's just not good film-making. You can't just throw up your arms and declare it unfilmable, and show us a lot of **** onscreen. Film is a visual medium, we need to see stuff. That stuff should generally be interesting to watch. Showing us really awful visuals and declaring it to be the point and that it's supposed to be really awful visuals, well... that might be the intent, but it doesn't change the fact that the viewer has just seen really awful visuals. That's not fair to the audience. If your whole concept is to have something that's unimaginable and incomprehensible and unknowable, just stop right there. Don't make the **** film, at all. There's nothing to be done with that, just don't go on the endeavor. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
This movie is a real piece of art, every movie director should watch this movie and realize that, make a movie is more than special effects or great actors
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrantorOct 8, 2011
This film is one of the cinema masterpieces. The soundtrack is sublime and besides the plot has a significance that few films have. Good special effects too.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
What I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe evenWhat I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe even more. I fell in love with HAL 9000. He(it) had a rather dull feel to his personality. The film did mention that HAL 9000 had feelings. Which was perfect for building up the plot. Did anyone else notice that technology was predicted in this film? Technology such as video phone, and ipads. The whole time I was viewing this film I was confused. I should have read the book. But after watching the film I did some reading online. I was like, now I get it. Genius pure genius. The monolith made me think very hard, especially at the end. My favorite part had to be the colors at the end, very artistic. With a very slow paced plot and no flaws I recommend this to anyone that is a movie literate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some parts were extremely interesting, some were hard to sit through. The color sequence that lasted ten minutes and the long first stage of evolution with the primates were definitely both my favorite parts of the film. The ending was confusing and awful, in my opinion. It left me wondering why they would end a film with that much potential like a premature fetus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 11, 2013
Its greatness lies in the fact that it raises many questions, but never answers any of them. The best dialogues in the film come in the form of silence - the sheer volumes they speak. 2001 is not meant to be understood. It's meant to be felt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JLLorenJan 2, 2013
An amazing cinematic experience that engages the viewer with its visuals. Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Nov 16, 2014
From one of the dumbest opening scenes to an ending that can be describe as one of the worst in history, a 2001: A Space Odyssey is nothing but a dull pretentious film that for almost it's 3 hour length, had less to offer than a blank whiteFrom one of the dumbest opening scenes to an ending that can be describe as one of the worst in history, a 2001: A Space Odyssey is nothing but a dull pretentious film that for almost it's 3 hour length, had less to offer than a blank white wall. This is the worst science fiction movie I've ever seen. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
Trev29Nov 17, 2014
This movie did not impress me in the slightest. It is not as if the music is original. This "odyssey" is horribly incoherent and boring. I guess I just don't get it, nor do I want to.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
SherwoodReviewsApr 4, 2012
Beautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less likeBeautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less like watching a story unfold than like having part in a strange and beautiful experience, a journey into the unknowable. Simply put, I have never seen a film that had such a profound, emotional effect on me, and it is, quite possibly, the greatest movie ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MB1097Sep 18, 2013
Don't kid yourself. It isn't for everybody. Kubrick wasn't interested in mass appeal by any stretch of the imagination. He wanted to explore the depths of mans technological capacity, which meant highlighting his inherent flaws. In essence,Don't kid yourself. It isn't for everybody. Kubrick wasn't interested in mass appeal by any stretch of the imagination. He wanted to explore the depths of mans technological capacity, which meant highlighting his inherent flaws. In essence, this is a film about error, about questions. And, in the end, it leaves us bewildered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SilverManOct 7, 2012
It doesnt make any sense!!!! It's hard to understand the story, and it's too long and it has some unnecessary parts, therefore it looks like they prefer the worst scenes. I just gave it a 9 becuase this is not a movie, it is a psychdelicIt doesnt make any sense!!!! It's hard to understand the story, and it's too long and it has some unnecessary parts, therefore it looks like they prefer the worst scenes. I just gave it a 9 becuase this is not a movie, it is a psychdelic experience, a outrageous epiphany. It must be aprecciated with patience and open-mind. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
nabozny4Jun 18, 2012
A brilliant sci-fi epic about the evolution and devolution of mankind, 2001: A Space Odyssey is filled with haunting imagery, nuanced performances, and a profound agenda wrapped around the ambiguity of space and the unknown.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Krond2010Nov 8, 2012
This movie is very slow, and two hours of ships docking, apes and about 4 minutes of the monoliths that the movie is about. If I hadn't read the book first, I wouldn't know what the hell was happening. Read the book, not the movie.
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 9, 2014
This film is fantastic. Now, it is very, very slow and can be a tad dull for sure, but for the most part, it is wraps you up and refuses to let go. The imagery is immaculate and you can see Kubrick's trademark cinematography here and it isThis film is fantastic. Now, it is very, very slow and can be a tad dull for sure, but for the most part, it is wraps you up and refuses to let go. The imagery is immaculate and you can see Kubrick's trademark cinematography here and it is absolutely gorgeous. It was hard to pick my jaw up from the floor at times when seeing the beautiful images he managed to construct. In addition, the special effects are phenomenal. For 2014 they are great, let alone for 1968. Just absolutely stunning to watch. The sets are also brilliantly put together. In terms of sound, the soundtrack is phenomenal and is a great companion to the images. The acting here is solid, but that was all that was required, as there is not that much dialogue where acting is crucial, but they were competent and in the more dialogue carried sequences did well. This film is undoubtedly tough to grasp after watching it, but there is certainly more going on than meets the eye. However, what does meet the eye is the brilliant imagery and amazing "future" (past now) that Stanley Kubrick put on screen. Just truly a brilliant work of art. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PersinJan 11, 2013
I give this film the highest rating, but I am still not sure if I like it. This film is intriguing, visually spectacular, and one of the most ambiguous I have seen. Its lack of dialogue can make a viewer seem disconnected, and some sequencesI give this film the highest rating, but I am still not sure if I like it. This film is intriguing, visually spectacular, and one of the most ambiguous I have seen. Its lack of dialogue can make a viewer seem disconnected, and some sequences with humans are disturbing in their lack of emotion, but maybe that was a point Kubrick was attempting to make. In the film, humankind is shown to have essentially taken the place, emotionally, of their machines, who seem to be more human than they. Maybe, in conclusion, the philosophy of this film is that man cannot improve himself, but only bestow higher qualities on its creations, which they can never achieve. If this holds true, perhaps those who made the monoliths were conscious of this, and tried to elevate themselves by elevating man. Hard to like, but fantastic nonetheless (if that makes any sense). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
2001 is the best science fiction film ever made, because rather than showing us the typical sound and light show, it instead pulls us into a world of wonder and imagination and aspires our awe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Clássico máximo da ficção científica, um dos filmes mais emblemáticos do cinema.Clássico máximo da ficção científica, um dos filmes mais emblemáticos do cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Nov 14, 2013
Despite its sluggish pace, Kubrick's sci-fi epic "2001: A Spacey Odyssey" is still powerful, thought-provoking, chock full of "how-the-hell-did-they-do-that" shots, and a must-watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiDec 7, 2013
2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.

The movie starts around the time humans came into being. Two tribes of apes clash over a pond of water. One is driven away. They discover something that perhaps gives them intelligence, which they use to defeat their rivals. The plot jumps into the future where a similar object, which might have been left behind by intelligent beings some four million years earlier, is discovered on the moon. A team is sent to Jupiter to further investigate the matter.

A number of themes are explored in the movie, the chief among them is our curiosity to find beings who are at the same level of intelligence, if not more, than us. In that pursuit, the humans of this future world have invented a supercomputer to assist in the voyage to the distant planet, but which eventually malfunctions and is prone to consider its logic superior. This is an early example of technological singularity depicted on the big screen.

The technology of the future world (which we still have not arrived at more than a decade after the year 2001) is dominated in outer space by the Americans and the Russians. The spacecraft carry passengers to and fro from space stations where research is being carried on.

All this mystery would have created a sense of urgency, but Kubrick downplays it and concentrates on the narrative instead of resorting to cheap tricks. This movie is not about tension and drama. It is quite clear that Kubrick, by deliberately keeping the pacing in check, wants us to have a look around the world he has created and reflect. The images are original but the music is classical, and they blend so well I couldn't help feel engrossed in the narrative.

In the genre of science fiction, there is no parallel, chiefly because other movies have concerned itself with complex ideas, and though they may have succeeded, can only be watched a limited number of times. But 2001 is such a basic sci-fi flick that it never aged. Even after more than forty years since it came out, 2001 still manages to hold its own against other films in the genre in the departments of visual effects and art direction. By keeping the story simple, Kubrick has ensured that its ideas do not become outdated, and succeeded in bestowing a timeless quality upon the movie.

He said somewhere along the lines that everyone will take its own meaning from the movie, and has made no attempt to explain the ending. This is the same approach he later applied with another movie of his, The Shining, but which in my opinion suffered because I could not see the coherence in it. But here, by keeping his ambition in check, and showing only what is necessary to the onward flow of the narrative, he has excelled. 2001: A Space Odyssey is my favourite Stanley Kubrick film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dollarsignJul 5, 2016
Wow************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithNov 8, 2015
I'm going to get a lot of flack for saying this, but 2001 is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Sure, the effects are serviceable in 2015, the camerawork is stunning, and there are a few moments of transcendent beauty, but thatI'm going to get a lot of flack for saying this, but 2001 is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Sure, the effects are serviceable in 2015, the camerawork is stunning, and there are a few moments of transcendent beauty, but that amounts to like 15 good minutes total if I'm being generous. The rest of the movie is a meticulously constructed boredom. There were times when I wanted to scream with boredom. Kubrick seems to think holding shots on absolutely nothing interesting happening makes him a master, and apparently everyone else thinks this too, but it doesn't. I had moral objections to a clockwork orange and the second half was pretty slow, but overall that was a movie that could entertain, shock and fascinate. I also thought The Shining was one of the creepiest movies ever made. But this? As artful and visionary as it occasionally is, I could barely stand to finish it. I know I'm in the minority, but I have to call out pretension when I see it. Interstellar may have taken much inspiration from this movie, but that one was awe inspiring, heartbreaking and exciting. Gravity was also 1000 times more engaging than this while still containing moments of jaw dropping beauty. I love atmosphere and when a film is drenched in it I encourage slow pacing, but 2001 only has glimpses of atmosphere. 2001 may not be the worst movie ever, but it's one of the most boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bm2759Apr 14, 2013
This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

It is not perfect however. It is
This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

It is not perfect however. It is slow, has little dialogue, and is cryptic. But these gripes of mine are offset my great cinematography and a powerful soundtrack.

I'm glad to have finally seen it and recommend this defining film. Just be aware it is not going to be what you expect as it is unique.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Jul 21, 2015
Stanley Kubrick really likes to throw us for a loop. However, it doesn't work like I would have hoped. First off, there is no denying that this movie is straight up beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous to look at. The effects still hold up to thisStanley Kubrick really likes to throw us for a loop. However, it doesn't work like I would have hoped. First off, there is no denying that this movie is straight up beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous to look at. The effects still hold up to this day. The musical score is also beautifully orchestrated and unforgettable. I doubt that anyone will deny that. But the biggest problem with "2001: A Space Odyssey" is that it is excruciatingly slow. It pains me to say it, but this is the first Kubrick movie that got me bored at parts. There are sections in this movie that drag on for so long. And in those moments they really rely on the visual spectacle and beautiful score to cover up the progression of the story (at least I thought). At one point near the end when it was suppose to be super intense, I was trying to keep my eyes open. This movie could have easily been cut 30-40 minutes shorter.And honestly, you don't care about the characters. They seem kind of emotionless. The character you care about is the HAL - 9000. It was such an interesting antagonist and it really is what carries the weight of the movie on its shoulders. This is a hard movie to understand on a first viewing. It's not really a fault of the movie, however with the slow pace, it can distract you from what's going on in the story. Overall, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a masterpiece on a technical and orchestral level, but sadly nothing more than a painfully slow burn to endure with not so memorable characters. I give this a C! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
My_VenomFeb 23, 2014
Outstanding use of everything that has to do with film. Cinematography, scenery, direction, pace, dialectics, score and especially narrative. The most fascinating and thought provoking film I have ever seen. Way past 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WalkingDead5640Apr 2, 2014
A well crafted piece of art. Incredibly unusual last act! From "Open the pod bay doors, HAL" unleash the thrills and mystery of an influential, mind blowing adventure unlike any other, from prehistoric ape-ancestry into uncharted realms ofA well crafted piece of art. Incredibly unusual last act! From "Open the pod bay doors, HAL" unleash the thrills and mystery of an influential, mind blowing adventure unlike any other, from prehistoric ape-ancestry into uncharted realms of space. Personally, I loved the middle, HAL was terrifying and unpredictable villain. Not everyones type of movie. The film ends leaving more questions than answers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
SelnAdamsApr 30, 2013
When a film "requires" you to always wonder, it has failed.

A good movie should be able to stand on its own and not require one to interpret more than the bear meaning of it's content. The more a movie needs to be analyzed apart from
When a film "requires" you to always wonder, it has failed.

A good movie should be able to stand on its own and not require one to interpret more than the bear meaning of it's content.

The more a movie needs to be analyzed apart from its self, the more it becomes a subjective object in the mind of the viewer.

Why would I need to watch 2001 and ponder about life and the universe when I can ponder about the subject at anytime, anywhere?

Write something, or find a new profession.
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
George-rootsOct 13, 2013
My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

It's obvious to say
My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

It's obvious to say nothing looked like this before in 1968, the moon landing was still a year away and no one knew what the earth looked like from up there. That model space station circling that painting of the earth is burned into my brain and perfectly transcends beyond the scope of any average Hollywood movie

The First 20 mins alone is a silent masterpiece, When at a time the world was growing so rapidly, Kubrick rewound time and showed you something so prehistoric that I also don't think there has been anything else quite like it, suddenly you're shot thousands of years into space and it's obvious that this movie really is just an accompany piece to some incredibly large scale music pieces (if that wasn't so obvious from the title sequence). The Monolith is so Arthur C. Clarke, to this day it's identity is still shrouded in mystery, does it grant knowledge or just appear at pivotal events? regardless the mystery has endured the objects charm and legacy.

Towards the final act, astronaut David Bowman fights for control over the spaceship against the HAL 9000, in a harrowing display of humanity's reliance in computers, symmetrical rooms unnerving silence all eventually builds towards the trippy Jupiter and Beyond sequence, I very much recommended Pink Floyd's "Echoes" for something truly mind blowing.

Despised on release but later praised by so many critics this film will probably never be fully understood, but whatever the hell it's suppose to be it is something truly mysterious and beautiful much like the idea of space exploration itself, it's so obvious the film is built to accompany a series of classical music pieces than it is storytelling, watching 2001 is proof respect can be brought to the science fiction genre with staggering results, dare I say science eventuality?

Final Verdict: Beautiful music, Stunning visuals and a story set throughout the years and stars themselves... Only Kubrick could have pulled this off.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NitishJul 23, 2013
First thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to giveFirst thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to give philosophical and dramatic touch.
Overall this is a combination of Failure and success and both are so much mixed up with each other that one can’t classify them.
Still elements of success and failure are as under:-

SUCCESS POINTS
• Most detailed and realistic picturization of outer space and technology.
• Realistic acting.
• No attempt to create any kind of thrill, a completely different approach for a Sci-Fi movie.
• Beautiful use of Music.

FAILURES POINTS

• Lack of connectivity through entire movie between the different phases.
• Lack of conclusiveness. (Either thrill or conclusiveness, one is must).
• Poor ending.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ragekoiAug 16, 2013
This film expects the viewer to be a philosopher in order to understand the enigmatic allegory Kubrick is trying to convey. Despite the excruciatingly slow pace, parts that feel irrelevant and/or drag on too long, and the extremelyThis film expects the viewer to be a philosopher in order to understand the enigmatic allegory Kubrick is trying to convey. Despite the excruciatingly slow pace, parts that feel irrelevant and/or drag on too long, and the extremely pretentious message, 2001: A Space Odyssey remains an avant-garde experience that deserves a watch/interpretation from everyone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeAug 14, 2015
A spectacular and metaphorically masterpiece. But unfortunately slow and boring.

The first thing you notice while watching 2001: A Space Odyssey are the incredible visuals, that's so incredible. This movie is from the 60s, and I'm stunned
A spectacular and metaphorically masterpiece. But unfortunately slow and boring.

The first thing you notice while watching 2001: A Space Odyssey are the incredible visuals, that's so incredible. This movie is from the 60s, and I'm stunned by how awesome they made the film. We see astronauts in zero-gravity, spinning space ships and a lot more that I didn't think was possible in the 1960s. It's a deep and meaningful movie, that gives the audience a lot to think of, that's worth a lot! That, in combination with a mysterious feeling and much metaphorical scenes that means a lot makes this movie really unique. Those are the most important aspects of the film, but there are also many bad things. The worst thing is the second act, where nothing really happens and I was overall very bored. The space scenes in the second act are great but they're just too slow. It's the same with the characters, they are a bit vague and the conversations are boring. Even though the film is in my taste a bit too boring, is every scene important if you want to understand the bigger picture.

In fact, I do like this movie, but everyone knows that a boring and slow film might not work with every individual. Especially not with me. The opening scene is fantastic, but it's too slow, but interesting. The best parts of the film is actually the beginning and the ending, they are both spectacular and fascinating. They should on the other hand have laid much more focus on the middle of the movie, it's to slow there. Of course, imagine seeing this film in the 60s, a time when most people haven't seen our Earth from above, it must have been something extraordinary! Well; it's a new generation now, and we want more action, but I bet I would have loved this Kubrick-movie it in the 70s! The best aspect of the film I forgot to mention is the soundtrack, so incredible! The sad thing is that it disappeared in the second act.

2001: A Space Odyssey is overall a great film, but the boring scenes are just too much for me. I recommend everyone to see this film twice, because there're many fundamental aspects of the film that you don't perceive the first time. The boring scenes does unfortunately lower my rating considerably.

6.8/10
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Arguably Stanley Kubrick best film I have found that when it comes to 2001: A Space Odyssey people either love it or hate it I am on the side that loves it. If out of all the movies I haved watched in my life this film seems more like artArguably Stanley Kubrick best film I have found that when it comes to 2001: A Space Odyssey people either love it or hate it I am on the side that loves it. If out of all the movies I haved watched in my life this film seems more like art then a movie. It has a beautiful soundtrack that sets the tone of the movie the ambient space tones are raw and chilling and it touted amazing visual effects for its time. The Story is a mind boggling adventure that leaves you dumbfounded.

Of course like many others I was young when I first watched this film now back then it was hard to even watch a 2 hour film id either fall asleep or just get bored of it. This movie though had another effect on me I was engulfed with awe and wonder id say it was the film that made me become the sci-fi junkie a am today. Stanley Kubrick's cinematography was simplistic yet masterful having long drawn out scene letting you embrace the full meaning of it was artistic.

For the people that don't like this film I call them "weak minded" this film takes quite a lot of thought to understand it and seeing how stupid most people are nowadays i can see why teenagers and young adults can't wrap their head around this film and films like it unless it has guns, explosions and hot chicks. Even now the film still leaves me wondering about the black monoliths.

Overall I give it a solid 10 This is Stanley Kubrick masterpiece and for good reason even today this film still holds its ground as the best sci-fi movie ever made and I think it will be sometime before a film will surpass it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
Forgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with aForgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with a very well-thought out HAL character. The idea of a computer being ironic and being able to beg for it's life is brilliant and unfathomable. It is the archetype of the modern science fiction film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
Totally took me surprise this movie. It's so different from any movie you've seen. The pacing is slow make no mistake but for me at least it was so interesting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MichMartApr 6, 2014
The first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinityThe first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinity of space. When you watch it, then you must absorb the atmosphere.

This movie shows Hollywood, that a really good space movie should have an experience, which makes you speechless, when you think about it!

Apart from some scenes, which are a bit too long for me, this movie is wonderful. When it came out, this technology revolutionized the filmmaking!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroNov 20, 2013
some people nowadays would say that this movie is really boring and slow,i just say then because this movie is the best film that happens in the space of all time(and i guess it will stay in this post for a long time),it's just a greatsome people nowadays would say that this movie is really boring and slow,i just say then because this movie is the best film that happens in the space of all time(and i guess it will stay in this post for a long time),it's just a great classic that influencesses this generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KristianBKAug 16, 2014
This is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along soThis is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along so well. Great performances, great screenplay, great soundtrack, marvelous cinematography, brilliant directing and a lot, a lot more. A masterpiece, a piece of art. Kubrick at his best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SolipsistNov 18, 2013
I have no idea which movie you seen, but obviously I did not watch one. What I did watch, however, was a 2 hour long visual escapade of the void.

Character motivation; never established (or horribly rushed), Character development;
I have no idea which movie you seen, but obviously I did not watch one. What I did watch, however, was a 2 hour long visual escapade of the void.

Character motivation; never established (or horribly rushed),
Character development; non-existent,
Character depth; non-existent (2D personality; not even a shred of emotion, and with some astonishingly stupid characters. And yes, even Hal),
The plot; never fully established,
Scene transition (like from ancient times to post-modern times); non-existent, it is being cut so quickly it makes it seem like every single scene shouts "Retcon!"
Visual effects: The entire focus, this movie is just a mish-mash of visual effects. Just call it a demo-reel and be done with it. This is no movie. The way the effects blend in don't even make any sense.
The music score: The entire focus as well, but just like the visuals; no effort to connect the music to the scenes was taken. Apparently they just hoped it will work itself out, and they were so proud of the music they even allowed the final track to keep on playing for an extra 3 minutes after the credits had already disappeared just to fully use every single shred of dime they wasted on this film.

When you have to put all of your energies in order to save a movie, instead of being showered with content by the movie; you obviously put way too much into the medium. Just read a book, people.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
SmagsFeb 23, 2014
Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey" is often claimed to be the greatest and most influential Sci-Fi classic of all-time. Cases have been made for and against it, mainly whether the film is brilliant or boring. Which is it? Is it aStanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey" is often claimed to be the greatest and most influential Sci-Fi classic of all-time. Cases have been made for and against it, mainly whether the film is brilliant or boring. Which is it? Is it a brilliant, sacred jewel of cinema, or is it a dull, lifeless bore? In this case, it's not a matter of OR, but rather, a case of AND. "2001: A Space Odyssey" is both brilliant and boing, however not necessarily at the same time.

Before an examination of both sides, a few points must be made Crystal clear. There are two absolutely essential qualities that must be exhibited to attain enjoyment: A persistent patience, and a clear, conscious open mind. If neither of these two factors are present upon viewing, the film will come off as an instant failure, thus remaining as a frail, distant memory.

As I conclude this introduction, it must be noted that this movie is not any way, shape, or form a "bad" movie. There are spurts and shines of both brilliance and bore; however, it is up to the viewer to decide where and how these victories and faults outweigh the other. Now, onward to the actual review. Let's take a look at the cons first.

CONS:

Pace. Pace. Pace. Paint drying on a wall is faster than the pace that is demonstrated in this film. The momentum is excrutionally painful and abysmally slow, which serves as the prime reason for its downgrades. For those who require a constant, accelerated speed for pace, this would be an ill-suited movie. For those who don't mind a slower progressing, trance inducing plot, this is the quintessential film.

No emotional connection with any of the characters. At no point throughout the course of the film does the viewer feel any sort of liking, disliking, sympathy, suspicion, or annoyance for any character. They are all bland, with no exceptional quality. Kubrick should've known this, and it's an unfortunate shame that a movie as potentially great as this has this undeniable flaw.

PROS:

Excellency of 'Style over Substance': Despite the cons, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a beautifully and wonderfully constructed movie. It is the pinnacle of movies that was able to escape the grasp of the basic fundamental concept of substance over style. Where it lacks in substance, it makes up for - plus more - in style. The effects? To say these effects were way past its time would be an understatement.

The Famous Match-Cut: This, in my purest opinion, is the strongest suit for this movie's credentials. If unclear on what a Match-Cut is, Wikipedia defines it as "a cut in film editing between either two different objects, spaces, or compositions in which an object in the two shots graphically match" (this is often done to link a strong parallel between the two objects). Although the effects are seen by the general public as the film's greatest accolade, this Match-Cut can't be denied as the best in cinema history. The appraisal this sequence could receive should be endless, an even that wouldn't be enough. Starting with the opening of "The Dawn of Man" (literally), the segment spirals through the events of a tribe of apes being ruled by another, discovering the use of bones, and overcoming the tribe through the use of those bones. As the leader of the victorious tribe throws the bone in the air, it rotates in a clockwise rotation. Upon its coming down, the scene shifts from the falling bone to a satellite in outer space, 4 million years later. The scene that transpires is one that truly can not be put into words. The segment, along with the music implemented, unquestionably makes this one of the most appraised and memorable segments in all of cinema. Just that 5 minute work of art will make every viewer indulge deeply in thought to realize how far the human race has truly come.

Cinematography: Time and time again, Stanley Kubrick is able to achieve perfection when it comes to cinematography. Every shot and every angle is executed perfectly without any sort of fault. What else should we expect? There's a reason why he's often labeled as a perfectionist.

These are the pros and cons of the movie as I saw fit. This movie will not be viewed as awe-inspiring by all, but is definitely a journey that everyone must experience. As stated in the beginning of this review, "2001: A Space Odyssey" will be remembered either as a life-changing endeavor, or a time-wasting, disappointing tease of what could have been. 6.25/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews