Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: April 2, 1968
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 878 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
699
Mixed:
50
Negative:
129
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ManolisS.Oct 1, 2006
I think this is the first and last time that cinema escaped the theater and became part of our mythological collective unconscious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JordanH.Dec 20, 2008
This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as fresh as the day it was released. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Mar 2, 2010
A Classic that still holds up after 40+ years. One of my favorites however, I had read the book before seeing the film, so the story makes sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertR.Dec 9, 2006
This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best was the slowness, and how there were 5-minute scenes just of a space pod departing from the ship. Kubrick is able to realistically portray outer space, and to create a beautiful film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
WakoJ.May 7, 2006
Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more after doing some reading on it, guess I'm not smart enough to figure everything out by myself. Perhaps that is the point of the movie, and the best advice I can give: don't try to figure it out too much. In time things will sink in and bring different meanings to different people, the way all great art does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnthonyP.Jul 1, 2008
After hearing all this acclaim for this movie I thought it was going to be a spectacular movie. Instead I was submitted to 25 minutes of monkeys screaming at eachother, over an hour total of scenes of space with just music or breathing, and After hearing all this acclaim for this movie I thought it was going to be a spectacular movie. Instead I was submitted to 25 minutes of monkeys screaming at eachother, over an hour total of scenes of space with just music or breathing, and and a sparse half hour total of actual dialogue. The concept is great, the execution is painfully slow and boring. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
davidbApr 19, 2009
This movie made me so mad I went on the internet and searched for worst movie ever so I could vote for it.
0 of 9 users found this helpful
10
DaveSMay 1, 2009
A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's contemporaries. It's biggest failures were not predicting the demise of Ma Bell and Pan Am and believing that landing on the moon actually was just a "small step". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AlonsoCApr 2, 2010
Pink Floyd in movie form.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is revealed, the moon landing, HAL, the incredible and ambiguous conclusion, the viewer feels increasingly amazed and stunned. Few other films create the same haunting effect that 2001 achieves, and I do not think there is a single more philosophical film in existance. 2001 must be seen by everyone. Whether you may find it slow, tedious or pretentious, 2001 succeeds in making something bigger of our existances than the day to day lives we currently live. Films simply do not get any better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimfromChicagoDec 9, 2005
When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more unforgetable images. As a movie bad guy, compare Hal to, say, Darth Vader. Isn't Hal a profoundly more chilling character? Do you, like me, find yourself in difficult situations where the first thing entering your mind is, "Open the pod bay door, Hal." After 25 years of advances in movie special effects, space flight has still never been more beautifully portrayed. Yup, I like thlis flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tornwalda.Apr 26, 2005
This is without a doubt one of the best films ever made. Stephen Hunter from the Washington Post is a complete idiot if he rates this film with 10 out of 100. A timeless classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Apr 3, 2006
A presentation without conclusions where the viewer must do all the thinking, and a solid reassurance that man's ultimate place in the universe is, at least for a time, a very lonely one. But for every level it attempts, no film excels better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyH.Sep 18, 2006
Timeless masterpiece!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
JamesB.Aug 21, 2007
I must have seen a different 2001: A Space Odyssey than everyone else. Mine was a two hours long screen saver. I watched it a week ago and I'm still furious about how mind-numbingly boring it was. Critics, if this was an elaborate I must have seen a different 2001: A Space Odyssey than everyone else. Mine was a two hours long screen saver. I watched it a week ago and I'm still furious about how mind-numbingly boring it was. Critics, if this was an elaborate practical joke, you win. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful
10
ChudG.May 9, 2008
Aside from a couple nagging technical things, the tech and atmosphere depicted in the film is among the best in any movie ever. Extremely deep, enjoyable and uplifting. 11/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcWNov 11, 2009
Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put it's one of those movies you almost feel obliged to pay homage to once a year. You hunker down in your armchair with a cup of tea, sandwiches, crisps a choco bar or two (it is a long film), dim the lights, lock the door and just devour the imagery. Its a wonderful movie, but I completely understand those who claim it's more like watching a screen saver than a movie, but that's what the cup of tea's for. There are moments when you just feel so completely at ease watching what is essentially artwork, others when you're provoked into thought's like no other movie can provide. It's a journey, sorry to be melodramatic, not a movie watching experience. And one everyone should make, it's not dated, despite it being, what? 40+ years old. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
LachlanSNov 10, 2009
If you fast forward through all non-dialogue portions of this 130 minute movie, it distills down to a mediocre 20 minute sci-fi story. If you don't fast forward, you're guaranteed to fall asleep.
3 of 10 users found this helpful
10
EdCNov 23, 2009
A movie for the ages. Gets your attention early and never lets go. A movie I can watch a hundred times and still get fascinated by. The Best movie of All Time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StanleyK.Mar 9, 2009
Slowest movie ever made and of course its outdated, hence the title.
3 of 12 users found this helpful
10
JohnSMay 23, 2009
The best audio-visual mediation on the origins, the now and the future of man. The depth of this movie is only revealed over successive viewings. Still waiting for kubrick's successor in the celluloid format.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EthanRMay 28, 2009
Recently, I stayed at a hotel that had a very interesting art style. They had flatscreen TV's running nonstop with strange, enigmatic videos, as a sort of "moving art." This movie would fit perfectly on to one of those screens. Where it Recently, I stayed at a hotel that had a very interesting art style. They had flatscreen TV's running nonstop with strange, enigmatic videos, as a sort of "moving art." This movie would fit perfectly on to one of those screens. Where it does not fit is in a movie theater. As a movie, it is horrible. Immensely boring and repetitive, it lacks character development, relevance between scenes, and any respectable acting. It gives no explanation for any of its many random plot changes, leaving the interpretation up to the viewer, a cop-out way of passing off what was not even artistic as deep and meaningful. I give it a 1 because, for its time, the special effects are wholly impressive. But other than that, this movie is excruciating. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful
0
AdamN.Aug 19, 2009
If I were a US soldier who held a terrorist captive and wanted to receive valuable or any source of information from him, but the sergent refuses to give me any, make him watch this horrible film in a dark chamber. He'll be pleading for If I were a US soldier who held a terrorist captive and wanted to receive valuable or any source of information from him, but the sergent refuses to give me any, make him watch this horrible film in a dark chamber. He'll be pleading for mercy to get him out of there. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
JimT.Aug 19, 2009
Is there a rating greater than 10? This movie would have it. A work of true genius. And much more, a spiritual journey. Kubrick went for it and hit a home run, for all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 12, 2006
I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true artistic genius and I believe the term aptly applies to him. Film is our most modern form of art. It is a learned craft in the same vein as painting or music composition. Yes, I'm saying a film can be on the same level as a Debussy symphony or a Dostoevsky novel, for examples. The operative word is "can" or "may." Its collaborative nature doesn't exclude it as an art form. When Michaelangelo painted the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, he couldn't have done it without carpenters and assistants. But, it was his vision, and a film can be the spawn of one person's imagination and efforts and that person is the director. A director free from the control of a studio, who involves him or herself in every aspect of the filmmaking process, particularly the script, photography and the editting, is just like a painter or composer. There are few filmmakers with this level of power, skill and knowledge. Stanley Kubrick was one of the few. And, 2001: A Space Odyssey is truly a work of art. Time, the true measure by which these things are judged, will tell. When historians of the future analyze the accomplishments of man (of this epoch) from an artistic perspective, this film will be an example of our capabilities, and I'm not sure we could present a better one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Nov 26, 2007
This is the greatest film ever made. Kubrick's masterpiece and one of the great works of art of the 20th century. A phenomenal testament to creative genius.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanR.May 18, 2007
Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force of time and the transitional stages it brings. The director tacitly demonstrates the central concept of this allegorical film with a combination of elements uncommon in modern film making. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanHNov 20, 2009
No science fiction film has ever come close to this. Haters: go watch Transformers and stop criticizing something you don't understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielRMar 19, 2009
This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to be as this film focuses more on machines and the beauty and mystery of space which is shown beautifully and mysteriously here. The plot may be hard to follow by a lot of viewers but there is no denying that is cinematic art at it's very best and most probably the best film of kubrick's career and possibly the best film ever made. Prepare to be amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Nov 25, 2005
This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times in theatres with variously sized screens and on video and still maintain there has never been anything like it. (And it was made by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, not Warner Brothers, despite what the Metacritic people say!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful