Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: April 2, 1968
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 869 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
693
Mixed:
49
Negative:
127
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
spielbrick90Oct 21, 2011
A cool film that I very much enjoyed watching. Exeptional directing from Stanley Kubrick and also exellent acting from Kier Dullela. It is very real considering in the scenes in space it is completely silent and the spacesuits are brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cpt_zeep23Sep 7, 2011
kubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of mykubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of my favorite films. it's utterly hypnotic and that tremendous sense of everything that is unfathomable is all through the film. i really liked hal, the artificial intelligence and found it profoundly disturbing when they "killed" him. as far as the ending goes, i have my own interpretation of it, but a definite answer as to what it "means", i have no idea. but i'm not sure i want to know. it's as mysterious as the universe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 26, 2011
This movie is a real piece of art, every movie director should watch this movie and realize that, make a movie is more than special effects or great actors
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
What I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe evenWhat I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe even more. I fell in love with HAL 9000. He(it) had a rather dull feel to his personality. The film did mention that HAL 9000 had feelings. Which was perfect for building up the plot. Did anyone else notice that technology was predicted in this film? Technology such as video phone, and ipads. The whole time I was viewing this film I was confused. I should have read the book. But after watching the film I did some reading online. I was like, now I get it. Genius pure genius. The monolith made me think very hard, especially at the end. My favorite part had to be the colors at the end, very artistic. With a very slow paced plot and no flaws I recommend this to anyone that is a movie literate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some parts were extremely interesting, some were hard to sit through. The color sequence that lasted ten minutes and the long first stage of evolution with the primates were definitely both my favorite parts of the film. The ending was confusing and awful, in my opinion. It left me wondering why they would end a film with that much potential like a premature fetus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 11, 2013
Its greatness lies in the fact that it raises many questions, but never answers any of them. The best dialogues in the film come in the form of silence - the sheer volumes they speak. 2001 is not meant to be understood. It's meant to be felt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SherwoodReviewsApr 4, 2012
Beautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less likeBeautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less like watching a story unfold than like having part in a strange and beautiful experience, a journey into the unknowable. Simply put, I have never seen a film that had such a profound, emotional effect on me, and it is, quite possibly, the greatest movie ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MB1097Sep 18, 2013
Don't kid yourself. It isn't for everybody. Kubrick wasn't interested in mass appeal by any stretch of the imagination. He wanted to explore the depths of mans technological capacity, which meant highlighting his inherent flaws. In essence,Don't kid yourself. It isn't for everybody. Kubrick wasn't interested in mass appeal by any stretch of the imagination. He wanted to explore the depths of mans technological capacity, which meant highlighting his inherent flaws. In essence, this is a film about error, about questions. And, in the end, it leaves us bewildered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
2001 is the best science fiction film ever made, because rather than showing us the typical sound and light show, it instead pulls us into a world of wonder and imagination and aspires our awe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Clássico máximo da ficção científica, um dos filmes mais emblemáticos do cinema.Clássico máximo da ficção científica, um dos filmes mais emblemáticos do cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiDec 7, 2013
2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.

The movie starts around the time humans came into being. Two tribes of apes clash over a pond of water. One is driven away. They discover something that perhaps gives them intelligence, which they use to defeat their rivals. The plot jumps into the future where a similar object, which might have been left behind by intelligent beings some four million years earlier, is discovered on the moon. A team is sent to Jupiter to further investigate the matter.

A number of themes are explored in the movie, the chief among them is our curiosity to find beings who are at the same level of intelligence, if not more, than us. In that pursuit, the humans of this future world have invented a supercomputer to assist in the voyage to the distant planet, but which eventually malfunctions and is prone to consider its logic superior. This is an early example of technological singularity depicted on the big screen.

The technology of the future world (which we still have not arrived at more than a decade after the year 2001) is dominated in outer space by the Americans and the Russians. The spacecraft carry passengers to and fro from space stations where research is being carried on.

All this mystery would have created a sense of urgency, but Kubrick downplays it and concentrates on the narrative instead of resorting to cheap tricks. This movie is not about tension and drama. It is quite clear that Kubrick, by deliberately keeping the pacing in check, wants us to have a look around the world he has created and reflect. The images are original but the music is classical, and they blend so well I couldn't help feel engrossed in the narrative.

In the genre of science fiction, there is no parallel, chiefly because other movies have concerned itself with complex ideas, and though they may have succeeded, can only be watched a limited number of times. But 2001 is such a basic sci-fi flick that it never aged. Even after more than forty years since it came out, 2001 still manages to hold its own against other films in the genre in the departments of visual effects and art direction. By keeping the story simple, Kubrick has ensured that its ideas do not become outdated, and succeeded in bestowing a timeless quality upon the movie.

He said somewhere along the lines that everyone will take its own meaning from the movie, and has made no attempt to explain the ending. This is the same approach he later applied with another movie of his, The Shining, but which in my opinion suffered because I could not see the coherence in it. But here, by keeping his ambition in check, and showing only what is necessary to the onward flow of the narrative, he has excelled. 2001: A Space Odyssey is my favourite Stanley Kubrick film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithNov 8, 2015
I'm going to get a lot of flack for saying this, but 2001 is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Sure, the effects are serviceable in 2015, the camerawork is stunning, and there are a few moments of transcendent beauty, but thatI'm going to get a lot of flack for saying this, but 2001 is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Sure, the effects are serviceable in 2015, the camerawork is stunning, and there are a few moments of transcendent beauty, but that amounts to like 15 good minutes total if I'm being generous. The rest of the movie is a meticulously constructed boredom. There were times when I wanted to scream with boredom. Kubrick seems to think holding shots on absolutely nothing interesting happening makes him a master, and apparently everyone else thinks this too, but it doesn't. I had moral objections to a clockwork orange and the second half was pretty slow, but overall that was a movie that could entertain, shock and fascinate. I also thought The Shining was one of the creepiest movies ever made. But this? As artful and visionary as it occasionally is, I could barely stand to finish it. I know I'm in the minority, but I have to call out pretension when I see it. Interstellar may have taken much inspiration from this movie, but that one was awe inspiring, heartbreaking and exciting. Gravity was also 1000 times more engaging than this while still containing moments of jaw dropping beauty. I love atmosphere and when a film is drenched in it I encourage slow pacing, but 2001 only has glimpses of atmosphere. 2001 may not be the worst movie ever, but it's one of the most boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bm2759Apr 14, 2013
This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

It is not perfect however. It is
This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

It is not perfect however. It is slow, has little dialogue, and is cryptic. But these gripes of mine are offset my great cinematography and a powerful soundtrack.

I'm glad to have finally seen it and recommend this defining film. Just be aware it is not going to be what you expect as it is unique.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Movie1997Jul 21, 2015
Stanley Kubrick really likes to throw us for a loop. However, it doesn't work like I would have hoped. First off, there is no denying that this movie is straight up beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous to look at. The effects still hold up to thisStanley Kubrick really likes to throw us for a loop. However, it doesn't work like I would have hoped. First off, there is no denying that this movie is straight up beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous to look at. The effects still hold up to this day. The musical score is also beautifully orchestrated and unforgettable. I doubt that anyone will deny that. But the biggest problem with "2001: A Space Odyssey" is that it is excruciatingly slow. It pains me to say it, but this is the first Kubrick movie that got me bored at parts. There are sections in this movie that drag on for so long. And in those moments they really rely on the visual spectacle and beautiful score to cover up the progression of the story (at least I thought). At one point near the end when it was suppose to be super intense, I was trying to keep my eyes open. This movie could have easily been cut 30-40 minutes shorter.And honestly, you don't care about the characters. They seem kind of emotionless. The character you care about is the HAL - 9000. It was such an interesting antagonist and it really is what carries the weight of the movie on its shoulders. This is a hard movie to understand on a first viewing. It's not really a fault of the movie, however with the slow pace, it can distract you from what's going on in the story. Overall, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a masterpiece on a technical and orchestral level, but sadly nothing more than a painfully slow burn to endure with not so memorable characters. I give this a C! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
My_VenomFeb 23, 2014
Outstanding use of everything that has to do with film. Cinematography, scenery, direction, pace, dialectics, score and especially narrative. The most fascinating and thought provoking film I have ever seen. Way past 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
George-rootsOct 13, 2013
My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

It's obvious to say
My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

It's obvious to say nothing looked like this before in 1968, the moon landing was still a year away and no one knew what the earth looked like from up there. That model space station circling that painting of the earth is burned into my brain and perfectly transcends beyond the scope of any average Hollywood movie

The First 20 mins alone is a silent masterpiece, When at a time the world was growing so rapidly, Kubrick rewound time and showed you something so prehistoric that I also don't think there has been anything else quite like it, suddenly you're shot thousands of years into space and it's obvious that this movie really is just an accompany piece to some incredibly large scale music pieces (if that wasn't so obvious from the title sequence). The Monolith is so Arthur C. Clarke, to this day it's identity is still shrouded in mystery, does it grant knowledge or just appear at pivotal events? regardless the mystery has endured the objects charm and legacy.

Towards the final act, astronaut David Bowman fights for control over the spaceship against the HAL 9000, in a harrowing display of humanity's reliance in computers, symmetrical rooms unnerving silence all eventually builds towards the trippy Jupiter and Beyond sequence, I very much recommended Pink Floyd's "Echoes" for something truly mind blowing.

Despised on release but later praised by so many critics this film will probably never be fully understood, but whatever the hell it's suppose to be it is something truly mysterious and beautiful much like the idea of space exploration itself, it's so obvious the film is built to accompany a series of classical music pieces than it is storytelling, watching 2001 is proof respect can be brought to the science fiction genre with staggering results, dare I say science eventuality?

Final Verdict: Beautiful music, Stunning visuals and a story set throughout the years and stars themselves... Only Kubrick could have pulled this off.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NitishJul 23, 2013
First thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to giveFirst thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to give philosophical and dramatic touch.
Overall this is a combination of Failure and success and both are so much mixed up with each other that one can’t classify them.
Still elements of success and failure are as under:-

SUCCESS POINTS
• Most detailed and realistic picturization of outer space and technology.
• Realistic acting.
• No attempt to create any kind of thrill, a completely different approach for a Sci-Fi movie.
• Beautiful use of Music.

FAILURES POINTS

• Lack of connectivity through entire movie between the different phases.
• Lack of conclusiveness. (Either thrill or conclusiveness, one is must).
• Poor ending.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 25, 2013
Forgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with aForgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with a very well-thought out HAL character. The idea of a computer being ironic and being able to beg for it's life is brilliant and unfathomable. It is the archetype of the modern science fiction film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichMartApr 6, 2014
The first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinityThe first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinity of space. When you watch it, then you must absorb the atmosphere.

This movie shows Hollywood, that a really good space movie should have an experience, which makes you speechless, when you think about it!

Apart from some scenes, which are a bit too long for me, this movie is wonderful. When it came out, this technology revolutionized the filmmaking!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroNov 20, 2013
some people nowadays would say that this movie is really boring and slow,i just say then because this movie is the best film that happens in the space of all time(and i guess it will stay in this post for a long time),it's just a greatsome people nowadays would say that this movie is really boring and slow,i just say then because this movie is the best film that happens in the space of all time(and i guess it will stay in this post for a long time),it's just a great classic that influencesses this generation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KristianBKAug 16, 2014
This is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along soThis is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along so well. Great performances, great screenplay, great soundtrack, marvelous cinematography, brilliant directing and a lot, a lot more. A masterpiece, a piece of art. Kubrick at his best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jonathan3204Dec 2, 2013
2001 (not to be confused with the year) is a mind-blowing motion picture that blows the stars outer space with it's artistic production
..............
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
simon_desJan 25, 2014
Absolutely astonishing. Fantastic film, despite being over 40 years old, albeit a tad slow. Very few films can stand at the level of sci-fi greatness that this films achieves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fracko333Apr 19, 2015
In my opinion the greatest achievement in film-making, as even today it remains a standout in terms of its cinematography. "2001: A Space Odyssey" embarks you on a journey not only pleasing to the eye but equally stimulating for the mind,In my opinion the greatest achievement in film-making, as even today it remains a standout in terms of its cinematography. "2001: A Space Odyssey" embarks you on a journey not only pleasing to the eye but equally stimulating for the mind, engaging it with philosophical questions regarding our existence, evolution and progress towards the future. A pioneer in the sci-fi genre, it remains unique in content and unmatched in visual effects, making it a timeless masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EnricoDandoloMar 23, 2014
Beautiful, deep and mind-blowing, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is definitely a film that needs reconsideration before blind criticism over its plot. The story is not linear and simple, but piled with lots of metaphors and symbols. The use of musicBeautiful, deep and mind-blowing, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is definitely a film that needs reconsideration before blind criticism over its plot. The story is not linear and simple, but piled with lots of metaphors and symbols. The use of music is absolutely fantastic. I recommend it to everyone who loves to argue about philosophical topics and to everyone who just really like movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
2001: A Space Odyssey is slow, meditative, poetic and philosophical. It's artistry in its purest form. 2001 unfolds like an enchanting symphony in which each note lingers long enough for us to contemplate its significance and appreciate its2001: A Space Odyssey is slow, meditative, poetic and philosophical. It's artistry in its purest form. 2001 unfolds like an enchanting symphony in which each note lingers long enough for us to contemplate its significance and appreciate its allure. It feeds the soul and strikes a chord of affinity within our beings. 2001 encourages us to ask big questions about the birth of intelligence, first contact, the usefulness of tools and our place in the universe. But it doesn't always give us answers; it rather proposes we search for them in our own subconscious. People need to watch this film with an open mind; only then they'll be able to uncover the genius behind it.
While reading a captivating book, we picture the events described in our heads. The book just draws the lines on the paper, it proposes that we fill in the colors ourselves. And each person fills the page with different colors; everyone conceives the incidents differently. Kubrick takes this idea a notch further. He gives us a page filled with colors and he entreats us to draw the lines, he's asking us to interpret the storyline as we wish. No matter how many times you view it, no matter how much you scrutinize it, the curtains of mystery never fall and the novelty never wears off. 2001 breaks new grounds outshining previous titles and remains unsurpassed today. If great artists such as Picasso, Beethoven and Shakespeare would've watched this film, I'm sure they'd smile. 2001 may lack dialogue but who cares? 'Words' are overrated. It may not win hearts but it wins over the soul. It's a gem that needs to be treasured not dug under the soil. Why? Let's just say because it deserves it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Crusty_CowboyJun 11, 2014
After watching this movie for the first time, i was mesmerized. It's a very simple movie, yet very in depth, some may say it's boring. From start to finish you will see art at it's finest. In 1991, this film was deemed "culturally,After watching this movie for the first time, i was mesmerized. It's a very simple movie, yet very in depth, some may say it's boring. From start to finish you will see art at it's finest. In 1991, this film was deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" by the United States Library of Congress and selected for preservation in the National Film Registry Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Critic0Jul 2, 2014
How do I begin to describe this film? It's too good for words, and it always will be! Stanley Kubrick gives us this provocative and interesting film about who we are and where we're going. It truly shows us what it is like to actually beHow do I begin to describe this film? It's too good for words, and it always will be! Stanley Kubrick gives us this provocative and interesting film about who we are and where we're going. It truly shows us what it is like to actually be human, and the mistakes we make.

A flawless science fiction (or science fact) film so enigmatic and chilling, its legacy still impacts our world today. 2001: A Space Odyssey is the big bang of sci-fi and will always be the greatest of the genre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenisManuOct 12, 2014
2001:A Space Odyssey manages to intrigue you every way by telling a story in a very unconventional way.With hidden messages and meanings, Stanley Kubrick's vision improved the material and gave it an artistic value.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mangonerfOct 26, 2014
Masterpiece stanley kubrick does a great job and hall is really scary one of the best films everin hollywood and for those people who think its overrated you just are impacient this film is amazing and a must see
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews