User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 514 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 514
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ManolisS.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    I think this is the first and last time that cinema escaped the theater and became part of our mythological collective unconscious.
  2. JordanH.
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as fresh as the day it was released.
  3. KyleA.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    This movie is one of the most intellectually stimulating films i've ever seen. Kubrick actually trusts the audience's intelligence and ability to ascertain the films ideals--a refreshing departure from most modern films. This element is essential in this film because its main point is the evolution of human intelligence--Arthur C. Clarke merely uses science-fiction aspects such This movie is one of the most intellectually stimulating films i've ever seen. Kubrick actually trusts the audience's intelligence and ability to ascertain the films ideals--a refreshing departure from most modern films. This element is essential in this film because its main point is the evolution of human intelligence--Arthur C. Clarke merely uses science-fiction aspects such as space travel and alien discoveries as a vehicle to drive these ideas. Beautifully directed--the best Sci-fi film ever created. Expand
  4. RobS.
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    A Classic that still holds up after 40+ years. One of my favorites however, I had read the book before seeing the film, so the story makes sense.
  5. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    This is one of the greatest of all time!
  6. YoonMinC.
    May 11, 2004
    10
    Kubrick tossed the bones of sci-fi conventions into the air, liberating cinema from the formula of genre demands and from highminded subservience to other arts considered innately superior. one of the quantum leaps in film history, where with a single film kubrick advanced filmic potential across an eon.
  7. DaveS
    May 1, 2009
    10
    A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's contemporaries. It's biggest failures were not predicting the demise of Ma Bell and Pan Am and believing that landing on the moon actually was A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's contemporaries. It's biggest failures were not predicting the demise of Ma Bell and Pan Am and believing that landing on the moon actually was just a "small step". Expand
  8. AlonsoC
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Pink Floyd in movie form.
  9. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is revealed, the moon landing, HAL, the incredible and ambiguous conclusion, the viewer feels increasingly amazed and stunned. Few other films create the Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is revealed, the moon landing, HAL, the incredible and ambiguous conclusion, the viewer feels increasingly amazed and stunned. Few other films create the same haunting effect that 2001 achieves, and I do not think there is a single more philosophical film in existance. 2001 must be seen by everyone. Whether you may find it slow, tedious or pretentious, 2001 succeeds in making something bigger of our existances than the day to day lives we currently live. Films simply do not get any better. Expand
  10. JimfromChicago
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more unforgetable images. As a movie bad guy, compare Hal to, say, Darth Vader. Isn't Hal a profoundly more chilling character? Do you, like me, find When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more unforgetable images. As a movie bad guy, compare Hal to, say, Darth Vader. Isn't Hal a profoundly more chilling character? Do you, like me, find yourself in difficult situations where the first thing entering your mind is, "Open the pod bay door, Hal." After 25 years of advances in movie special effects, space flight has still never been more beautifully portrayed. Yup, I like thlis flick. Expand
  11. Ken-StianO.
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    Fantastic! The best cinematic and visual experience in the history of cinema.
  12. tornwalda.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the best films ever made. Stephen Hunter from the Washington Post is a complete idiot if he rates this film with 10 out of 100. A timeless classic.
  13. PatC.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    A presentation without conclusions where the viewer must do all the thinking, and a solid reassurance that man's ultimate place in the universe is, at least for a time, a very lonely one. But for every level it attempts, no film excels better.
  14. KennyH.
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Timeless masterpiece!
  15. ChudG.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Aside from a couple nagging technical things, the tech and atmosphere depicted in the film is among the best in any movie ever. Extremely deep, enjoyable and uplifting. 11/10.
  16. MarcW
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put it's one of those movies you almost feel obliged to pay homage to once a year. You hunker down in your armchair with a cup of tea, sandwiches, Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put it's one of those movies you almost feel obliged to pay homage to once a year. You hunker down in your armchair with a cup of tea, sandwiches, crisps a choco bar or two (it is a long film), dim the lights, lock the door and just devour the imagery. Its a wonderful movie, but I completely understand those who claim it's more like watching a screen saver than a movie, but that's what the cup of tea's for. There are moments when you just feel so completely at ease watching what is essentially artwork, others when you're provoked into thought's like no other movie can provide. It's a journey, sorry to be melodramatic, not a movie watching experience. And one everyone should make, it's not dated, despite it being, what? 40+ years old. Expand
  17. EdC
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    A movie for the ages. Gets your attention early and never lets go. A movie I can watch a hundred times and still get fascinated by. The Best movie of All Time.
  18. JohnS
    May 23, 2009
    10
    The best audio-visual mediation on the origins, the now and the future of man. The depth of this movie is only revealed over successive viewings. Still waiting for kubrick's successor in the celluloid format.
  19. JimT.
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    Is there a rating greater than 10? This movie would have it. A work of true genius. And much more, a spiritual journey. Kubrick went for it and hit a home run, for all time.
  20. JakeB.
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true artistic genius and I believe the term aptly applies to him. Film is our most modern form of art. It is a learned craft in the same vein as painting I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true artistic genius and I believe the term aptly applies to him. Film is our most modern form of art. It is a learned craft in the same vein as painting or music composition. Yes, I'm saying a film can be on the same level as a Debussy symphony or a Dostoevsky novel, for examples. The operative word is "can" or "may." Its collaborative nature doesn't exclude it as an art form. When Michaelangelo painted the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, he couldn't have done it without carpenters and assistants. But, it was his vision, and a film can be the spawn of one person's imagination and efforts and that person is the director. A director free from the control of a studio, who involves him or herself in every aspect of the filmmaking process, particularly the script, photography and the editting, is just like a painter or composer. There are few filmmakers with this level of power, skill and knowledge. Stanley Kubrick was one of the few. And, 2001: A Space Odyssey is truly a work of art. Time, the true measure by which these things are judged, will tell. When historians of the future analyze the accomplishments of man (of this epoch) from an artistic perspective, this film will be an example of our capabilities, and I'm not sure we could present a better one. Expand
  21. DavidR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest film ever made. Kubrick's masterpiece and one of the great works of art of the 20th century. A phenomenal testament to creative genius.
  22. IanR.
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force of time and the transitional stages it brings. The director tacitly demonstrates the central concept of this allegorical film with a combination of Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force of time and the transitional stages it brings. The director tacitly demonstrates the central concept of this allegorical film with a combination of elements uncommon in modern film making. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Expand
  23. NathanH
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    No science fiction film has ever come close to this. Haters: go watch Transformers and stop criticizing something you don't understand.
  24. DanielR
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to be as this film focuses more on machines and the beauty and mystery of space which is shown beautifully and mysteriously here. The plot may be hard to This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to be as this film focuses more on machines and the beauty and mystery of space which is shown beautifully and mysteriously here. The plot may be hard to follow by a lot of viewers but there is no denying that is cinematic art at it's very best and most probably the best film of kubrick's career and possibly the best film ever made. Prepare to be amazed. Expand
  25. TonyB.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times in theatres with variously sized screens and on video and still maintain there has never been anything like it. (And it was made by This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times in theatres with variously sized screens and on video and still maintain there has never been anything like it. (And it was made by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, not Warner Brothers, despite what the Metacritic people say!) Expand
  26. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This is movie as art in its fullest and most stunning format. How Kubrick made this look so futuristic in the year of 1968 it beyond me and probably most people on this planet. How much is covered in the short span of this film. It might just be the only film that seems to cover the whole history of the universe in a film. Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, KUBRICK.
  27. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    An amazing film, a masterpiece, and easily the best science-fiction film of alltime. Kubrick never did any better than this unbelievable film, which does a rare thing; it looks as if it was made yesterday, but it challenges you intellectually like the rarest films from the distant past. This is my personal favorite film of alltime, and I would argue that it might be THE greatest film of alltime.
  28. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Kubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after). Anyone who does not like this movie truly has an attention span so high that it could, alone, make them seem ridiculously immature. It is also worthKubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after). Anyone who does not like this movie truly has an attention span so high that it could, alone, make them seem ridiculously immature. It is also worth noting that the film was so scientifically accurate. This is still an amazing film today, one of the best of all time. But it could still be very modern. If someone even had seen portions of this film before they knew the title, he/she would predict its initial release as probably somewhat recent because of how advanced every detail in it is. Genius. Collapse
  29. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    2001: A Space Odyssey is a 1968 science fiction film by Stanley Kubrick (who happens to be my favourite director as well). Being my favorite film, I have recommended this it to almost everyone I know. This review is more like an answer to those who found this film slow-paced, and for those yet to watch it, you may continue to read this as a disclaimer to the film-

  30. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Stanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. AndStanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. Expand
  31. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. ConstantThe greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. Constant becoming through endless mediation. What will become of you when the credits finally roll? I, for one, became a pretentious film critic. Expand
  32. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece unlike any other movie. The multiple stories and themes combine to make an experience that really does feel like an odyssey. This is a movie about evolution, progression and existence, although it may fly over some viewers heads. The beginning and ending sequences were particularly impressive due to the reliance on imagery to tell the story in the absence of dialogue. TheA masterpiece unlike any other movie. The multiple stories and themes combine to make an experience that really does feel like an odyssey. This is a movie about evolution, progression and existence, although it may fly over some viewers heads. The beginning and ending sequences were particularly impressive due to the reliance on imagery to tell the story in the absence of dialogue. The brilliant cinematography beautifully captures the grace and majesty of traveling in space but also of the vast nothingness that fills it. Anyone with even a vague interest in cinema should see this movie. Expand
  33. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    I had the good fortune of seeing 2001 in its first release at a fully decked-out cinerama theater when I was 11 years old --really the perfect age of wonder for such an imagination inspiring movie. It blew my mind along with everyone else's, and even at that young age I knew that with this film everything about motion picture storytelling had suddenly changed. Amazingly, the movie stillI had the good fortune of seeing 2001 in its first release at a fully decked-out cinerama theater when I was 11 years old --really the perfect age of wonder for such an imagination inspiring movie. It blew my mind along with everyone else's, and even at that young age I knew that with this film everything about motion picture storytelling had suddenly changed. Amazingly, the movie still holds up, particularly visually. It doesn't suffer the fate of most science fiction films --2001 will never be seen as "retro". Expand
  34. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Kubrics epic masterpiece is one of the Greatest films of all time. It examines humanity's insignificance in the vastness of the universe. If you haven't seen this film, do so immediately. My advise? watch it in a dark room, on a big screen, with the volume up loud.
  35. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Best philosophical sci-fi movie ever ! It's amazing how it isn't outdated yet (except from some cloth-designs and haircuts); the slowness of the film is perfectly justified here (the pace of it reminds me of "Moon" ), and not a trick to mask the complete lack of ideas like in "Monsters" for instance..I saw it when I was 17, and was blasted away, and I still am.
  36. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Very much one of the best Sci-Fi movies of the past decades. Amazing film and mind boggling ending. Definitely a must see film for every self-proclaimed film lover.
  37. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    This is by far, the greatest film ever created. It is not even a film as much as it is a work of art. It is the classic Sc-Fi masterpiece. Far superior to other films said to have started Sci-Fi such as Star Wars, 2001 actually did it. Timeless, and great, 2001 is a masterpiece. It is like the Mona Lisa of movies.
  38. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    The film works as a transcendent of genre. It is a true art film! Space Odyssey attempts to give us a sense of awe through it's great audio visual experience. To quote Ebert loosely it works in a similar way as music!
  39. Fan
    Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I would just like to comment on the amount of dumbasses out there. I just watched this movie tonight which was made in 1968 by the way, and I am so blown away by this movie, that I am just really in awe of the amount of people that gave bad reviews. They just dont get it. Its probably not the best movie made in terms of effects but the message,captivation, the perspective , and intrigueI would just like to comment on the amount of dumbasses out there. I just watched this movie tonight which was made in 1968 by the way, and I am so blown away by this movie, that I am just really in awe of the amount of people that gave bad reviews. They just dont get it. Its probably not the best movie made in terms of effects but the message,captivation, the perspective , and intrigue of this movie by the best director who has ever lived (in my opinion) is so awesome, that Im still crapping my pants about it. To all of you idiots out there open your freaking eyes! Thanks Stanley.. Expand
  40. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    A cool film that I very much enjoyed watching. Exeptional directing from Stanley Kubrick and also exellent acting from Kier Dullela. It is very real considering in the scenes in space it is completely silent and the spacesuits are brilliant.
  41. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    kubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of my favorite films. it's utterly hypnotic and that tremendous sense of everything that is unfathomable is all through the film. i really liked hal, thekubrick's 2001 is a film that when i first saw it, i hated it. i think it's the kind of film that you have to... speak it's language to understand what the hell is going on. having said that, watching the film now i have to say it's one of my favorite films. it's utterly hypnotic and that tremendous sense of everything that is unfathomable is all through the film. i really liked hal, the artificial intelligence and found it profoundly disturbing when they "killed" him. as far as the ending goes, i have my own interpretation of it, but a definite answer as to what it "means", i have no idea. but i'm not sure i want to know. it's as mysterious as the universe. Expand
  42. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    This movie is a real piece of art, every movie director should watch this movie and realize that, make a movie is more than special effects or great actors
  43. Oct 8, 2011
    10
    This film is one of the cinema masterpieces. The soundtrack is sublime and besides the plot has a significance that few films have. Good special effects too.
  44. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    What I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe even more. I fell in love with HAL 9000. He(it) had a rather dull feel to his personality. The film did mention that HAL 9000 had feelings. Which was perfectWhat I found wrong with this film? Absolutely nothing. Everything was very well produced. The acting, directing, writing they where all perfect. I rarely give a film a perfect five star rating. This film deserves the stars and maybe even more. I fell in love with HAL 9000. He(it) had a rather dull feel to his personality. The film did mention that HAL 9000 had feelings. Which was perfect for building up the plot. Did anyone else notice that technology was predicted in this film? Technology such as video phone, and ipads. The whole time I was viewing this film I was confused. I should have read the book. But after watching the film I did some reading online. I was like, now I get it. Genius pure genius. The monolith made me think very hard, especially at the end. My favorite part had to be the colors at the end, very artistic. With a very slow paced plot and no flaws I recommend this to anyone that is a movie literate. Expand
  45. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    Its greatness lies in the fact that it raises many questions, but never answers any of them. The best dialogues in the film come in the form of silence - the sheer volumes they speak. 2001 is not meant to be understood. It's meant to be felt.
  46. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Beautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less like watching a story unfold than like having part in a strange and beautiful experience, a journey into the unknowable. Simply put, I have never seen a filmBeautiful, mesmerising, dazzling, astonshing, there really aren't enough adjectives in the world with which to successfully describe Kubrick's Sci-Fi masterpiece. Few films, if any, take the viewer on a trip like this one; it is less like watching a story unfold than like having part in a strange and beautiful experience, a journey into the unknowable. Simply put, I have never seen a film that had such a profound, emotional effect on me, and it is, quite possibly, the greatest movie ever made. Expand
  47. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Don't kid yourself. It isn't for everybody. Kubrick wasn't interested in mass appeal by any stretch of the imagination. He wanted to explore the depths of mans technological capacity, which meant highlighting his inherent flaws. In essence, this is a film about error, about questions. And, in the end, it leaves us bewildered.
  48. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    A brilliant sci-fi epic about the evolution and devolution of mankind, 2001: A Space Odyssey is filled with haunting imagery, nuanced performances, and a profound agenda wrapped around the ambiguity of space and the unknown.
  49. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    I give this film the highest rating, but I am still not sure if I like it. This film is intriguing, visually spectacular, and one of the most ambiguous I have seen. Its lack of dialogue can make a viewer seem disconnected, and some sequences with humans are disturbing in their lack of emotion, but maybe that was a point Kubrick was attempting to make. In the film, humankind is shown toI give this film the highest rating, but I am still not sure if I like it. This film is intriguing, visually spectacular, and one of the most ambiguous I have seen. Its lack of dialogue can make a viewer seem disconnected, and some sequences with humans are disturbing in their lack of emotion, but maybe that was a point Kubrick was attempting to make. In the film, humankind is shown to have essentially taken the place, emotionally, of their machines, who seem to be more human than they. Maybe, in conclusion, the philosophy of this film is that man cannot improve himself, but only bestow higher qualities on its creations, which they can never achieve. If this holds true, perhaps those who made the monoliths were conscious of this, and tried to elevate themselves by elevating man. Hard to like, but fantastic nonetheless (if that makes any sense). Expand
  50. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    2001 is the best science fiction film ever made, because rather than showing us the typical sound and light show, it instead pulls us into a world of wonder and imagination and aspires our awe.
  51. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Clássico máximo da ficção científica, um dos filmes mais emblemáticos do cinema.
  52. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.

    The movie starts around the time humans came into being. Two tribes of apes clash over a pond of water. One is driven away. They discover something
    2001 is a visual and audio marvel. The visual effects and the set design were decades ahead of its time, and still look exquisite in the twenty-first century. Many of its techniques were imitated, and a greater number were inspired by it.

    The movie starts around the time humans came into being. Two tribes of apes clash over a pond of water. One is driven away. They discover something that perhaps gives them intelligence, which they use to defeat their rivals. The plot jumps into the future where a similar object, which might have been left behind by intelligent beings some four million years earlier, is discovered on the moon. A team is sent to Jupiter to further investigate the matter.

    A number of themes are explored in the movie, the chief among them is our curiosity to find beings who are at the same level of intelligence, if not more, than us. In that pursuit, the humans of this future world have invented a supercomputer to assist in the voyage to the distant planet, but which eventually malfunctions and is prone to consider its logic superior. This is an early example of technological singularity depicted on the big screen.

    The technology of the future world (which we still have not arrived at more than a decade after the year 2001) is dominated in outer space by the Americans and the Russians. The spacecraft carry passengers to and fro from space stations where research is being carried on.

    All this mystery would have created a sense of urgency, but Kubrick downplays it and concentrates on the narrative instead of resorting to cheap tricks. This movie is not about tension and drama. It is quite clear that Kubrick, by deliberately keeping the pacing in check, wants us to have a look around the world he has created and reflect. The images are original but the music is classical, and they blend so well I couldn't help feel engrossed in the narrative.

    In the genre of science fiction, there is no parallel, chiefly because other movies have concerned itself with complex ideas, and though they may have succeeded, can only be watched a limited number of times. But 2001 is such a basic sci-fi flick that it never aged. Even after more than forty years since it came out, 2001 still manages to hold its own against other films in the genre in the departments of visual effects and art direction. By keeping the story simple, Kubrick has ensured that its ideas do not become outdated, and succeeded in bestowing a timeless quality upon the movie.

    He said somewhere along the lines that everyone will take its own meaning from the movie, and has made no attempt to explain the ending. This is the same approach he later applied with another movie of his, The Shining, but which in my opinion suffered because I could not see the coherence in it. But here, by keeping his ambition in check, and showing only what is necessary to the onward flow of the narrative, he has excelled. 2001: A Space Odyssey is my favourite Stanley Kubrick film.
    Expand
  53. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Outstanding use of everything that has to do with film. Cinematography, scenery, direction, pace, dialectics, score and especially narrative. The most fascinating and thought provoking film I have ever seen. Way past 10/10
  54. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

    It's obvious to say nothing looked like this before in 1968, the moon landing was still a year away and no one knew what the earth looked like from up there. That model
    My favourite Science-Fiction movie of all time, Stanley Kubrick began making something that would change the face of the movie going experience, and represent a growth in the industry that only comes once in a lifetime

    It's obvious to say nothing looked like this before in 1968, the moon landing was still a year away and no one knew what the earth looked like from up there. That model space station circling that painting of the earth is burned into my brain and perfectly transcends beyond the scope of any average Hollywood movie

    The First 20 mins alone is a silent masterpiece, When at a time the world was growing so rapidly, Kubrick rewound time and showed you something so prehistoric that I also don't think there has been anything else quite like it, suddenly you're shot thousands of years into space and it's obvious that this movie really is just an accompany piece to some incredibly large scale music pieces (if that wasn't so obvious from the title sequence). The Monolith is so Arthur C. Clarke, to this day it's identity is still shrouded in mystery, does it grant knowledge or just appear at pivotal events? regardless the mystery has endured the objects charm and legacy.

    Towards the final act, astronaut David Bowman fights for control over the spaceship against the HAL 9000, in a harrowing display of humanity's reliance in computers, symmetrical rooms unnerving silence all eventually builds towards the trippy Jupiter and Beyond sequence, I very much recommended Pink Floyd's "Echoes" for something truly mind blowing.

    Despised on release but later praised by so many critics this film will probably never be fully understood, but whatever the hell it's suppose to be it is something truly mysterious and beautiful much like the idea of space exploration itself, it's so obvious the film is built to accompany a series of classical music pieces than it is storytelling, watching 2001 is proof respect can be brought to the science fiction genre with staggering results, dare I say science eventuality?

    Final Verdict: Beautiful music, Stunning visuals and a story set throughout the years and stars themselves... Only Kubrick could have pulled this off.
    Expand
  55. May 25, 2014
    10
    Arguably Stanley Kubrick best film I have found that when it comes to 2001: A Space Odyssey people either love it or hate it I am on the side that loves it. If out of all the movies I haved watched in my life this film seems more like art then a movie. It has a beautiful soundtrack that sets the tone of the movie the ambient space tones are raw and chilling and it touted amazing visualArguably Stanley Kubrick best film I have found that when it comes to 2001: A Space Odyssey people either love it or hate it I am on the side that loves it. If out of all the movies I haved watched in my life this film seems more like art then a movie. It has a beautiful soundtrack that sets the tone of the movie the ambient space tones are raw and chilling and it touted amazing visual effects for its time. The Story is a mind boggling adventure that leaves you dumbfounded.

    Of course like many others I was young when I first watched this film now back then it was hard to even watch a 2 hour film id either fall asleep or just get bored of it. This movie though had another effect on me I was engulfed with awe and wonder id say it was the film that made me become the sci-fi junkie a am today. Stanley Kubrick's cinematography was simplistic yet masterful having long drawn out scene letting you embrace the full meaning of it was artistic.

    For the people that don't like this film I call them "weak minded" this film takes quite a lot of thought to understand it and seeing how stupid most people are nowadays i can see why teenagers and young adults can't wrap their head around this film and films like it unless it has guns, explosions and hot chicks. Even now the film still leaves me wondering about the black monoliths.

    Overall I give it a solid 10 This is Stanley Kubrick masterpiece and for good reason even today this film still holds its ground as the best sci-fi movie ever made and I think it will be sometime before a film will surpass it.
    Expand
  56. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Forgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with a very well-thought out HAL character. The idea of a computer being ironic and being able to beg for it's life is brilliant and unfathomable. It is theForgive me for being corny, but the movie is cinematically flawless, it's effects are shocking for 1968. The first authentic sci-fi about the physics of space. Stanley Kubrick imagined and eventually created a masterpiece of cinema, with a very well-thought out HAL character. The idea of a computer being ironic and being able to beg for it's life is brilliant and unfathomable. It is the archetype of the modern science fiction film. Expand
  57. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    Totally took me surprise this movie. It's so different from any movie you've seen. The pacing is slow make no mistake but for me at least it was so interesting.
  58. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    The first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinity of space. When you watch it, then you must absorb the atmosphere.

    This movie shows Hollywood, that a really good space movie should have an
    The first time I've seen this movie, I was boored and disappointed, because I had false expectations, but after awhile I understood the idea behind it: This movie tells a story of the development of mankind and shows the beauty and infinity of space. When you watch it, then you must absorb the atmosphere.

    This movie shows Hollywood, that a really good space movie should have an experience, which makes you speechless, when you think about it!

    Apart from some scenes, which are a bit too long for me, this movie is wonderful. When it came out, this technology revolutionized the filmmaking!
    Expand
  59. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    some people nowadays would say that this movie is really boring and slow,i just say then because this movie is the best film that happens in the space of all time(and i guess it will stay in this post for a long time),it's just a great classic that influencesses this generation.
  60. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    This is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along so well. Great performances, great screenplay, great soundtrack, marvelous cinematography, brilliant directing and a lot, a lot more. A masterpiece, aThis is, hands down, one of the best sci-fi films ever, and a very beautiful one as well. Not for everyone, this slow paced, with little dialogue, but stunning visuals. Who would've thought that Strauss and flying satellites would go along so well. Great performances, great screenplay, great soundtrack, marvelous cinematography, brilliant directing and a lot, a lot more. A masterpiece, a piece of art. Kubrick at his best. Expand
  61. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    2001 (not to be confused with the year) is a mind-blowing motion picture that blows the stars outer space with it's artistic production
    ..............
  62. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Absolutely astonishing. Fantastic film, despite being over 40 years old, albeit a tad slow. Very few films can stand at the level of sci-fi greatness that this films achieves.
  63. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    In my opinion the greatest achievement in film-making, as even today it remains a standout in terms of its cinematography. "2001: A Space Odyssey" embarks you on a journey not only pleasing to the eye but equally stimulating for the mind, engaging it with philosophical questions regarding our existence, evolution and progress towards the future. A pioneer in the sci-fi genre, it remainsIn my opinion the greatest achievement in film-making, as even today it remains a standout in terms of its cinematography. "2001: A Space Odyssey" embarks you on a journey not only pleasing to the eye but equally stimulating for the mind, engaging it with philosophical questions regarding our existence, evolution and progress towards the future. A pioneer in the sci-fi genre, it remains unique in content and unmatched in visual effects, making it a timeless masterpiece. Expand
  64. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    This film is surely the greatest accomplishment in the history of cinema both on a technical level and a storytelling level from the hands down the greatest filmmaker that America has ever produced. A film that demands to be seen on the biggest screen possible. Kubrick has practically destroyed the entire science fiction genre.
  65. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    2001: A Space Odyssey is slow, meditative, poetic and philosophical. It's artistry in its purest form. 2001 unfolds like an enchanting symphony in which each note lingers long enough for us to contemplate its significance and appreciate its allure. It feeds the soul and strikes a chord of affinity within our beings. 2001 encourages us to ask big questions about the birth of intelligence,2001: A Space Odyssey is slow, meditative, poetic and philosophical. It's artistry in its purest form. 2001 unfolds like an enchanting symphony in which each note lingers long enough for us to contemplate its significance and appreciate its allure. It feeds the soul and strikes a chord of affinity within our beings. 2001 encourages us to ask big questions about the birth of intelligence, first contact, the usefulness of tools and our place in the universe. But it doesn't always give us answers; it rather proposes we search for them in our own subconscious. People need to watch this film with an open mind; only then they'll be able to uncover the genius behind it.
    While reading a captivating book, we picture the events described in our heads. The book just draws the lines on the paper, it proposes that we fill in the colors ourselves. And each person fills the page with different colors; everyone conceives the incidents differently. Kubrick takes this idea a notch further. He gives us a page filled with colors and he entreats us to draw the lines, he's asking us to interpret the storyline as we wish. No matter how many times you view it, no matter how much you scrutinize it, the curtains of mystery never fall and the novelty never wears off. 2001 breaks new grounds outshining previous titles and remains unsurpassed today. If great artists such as Picasso, Beethoven and Shakespeare would've watched this film, I'm sure they'd smile. 2001 may lack dialogue but who cares? 'Words' are overrated. It may not win hearts but it wins over the soul. It's a gem that needs to be treasured not dug under the soil. Why? Let's just say because it deserves it.
    Expand
  66. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    After watching this movie for the first time, i was mesmerized. It's a very simple movie, yet very in depth, some may say it's boring. From start to finish you will see art at it's finest. In 1991, this film was deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant" by the United States Library of Congress and selected for preservation in the National Film Registry
  67. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    How do I begin to describe this film? It's too good for words, and it always will be! Stanley Kubrick gives us this provocative and interesting film about who we are and where we're going. It truly shows us what it is like to actually be human, and the mistakes we make.

    A flawless science fiction (or science fact) film so enigmatic and chilling, its legacy still impacts our world today.
    How do I begin to describe this film? It's too good for words, and it always will be! Stanley Kubrick gives us this provocative and interesting film about who we are and where we're going. It truly shows us what it is like to actually be human, and the mistakes we make.

    A flawless science fiction (or science fact) film so enigmatic and chilling, its legacy still impacts our world today. 2001: A Space Odyssey is the big bang of sci-fi and will always be the greatest of the genre.
    Expand
  68. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Absolutely a classic of film. The rich story does not give what it is about. It symbolizes that us humans are still evolving and that in order to achieve greater things, we must overcome what we know and keep dreaming. A movie that everyone one should see.
  69. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    2001:A Space Odyssey manages to intrigue you every way by telling a story in a very unconventional way.With hidden messages and meanings, Stanley Kubrick's vision improved the material and gave it an artistic value.
  70. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    Masterpiece stanley kubrick does a great job and hall is really scary one of the best films everin hollywood and for those people who think its overrated you just are impacient this film is amazing and a must see
  71. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    The best movie that I've ever seen.

    The cinematography is beautiful, HAL 9000 is the best sci-if villain that I've seen in ages, the meanings are well told, and everything about it is just.....amazing.
  72. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To start with, I can definitely say that 2001 A Space Odyssey is a film with great potential and premise, deals with a big amount of important themes and achieves to remain a film of great importance.

    Stanley Kubrick worked pretty hard on this film and managed to create some of the best visual effects ever made. His direction is amazing and he gives to the film an eerie atmosphere.

    Some dismissed the film as boring and incomprehensible. Well If you consider 2001 boring you must definitely have really small imagination. Of course it is like a silent film but Kubrick supports the point of the film with great artistry and leaves us think and search in our mind and our hearts.

    2001 A Space Odyssey is a spellbinding and absorbing adventure in secret paths that we may never find out in our lives because they are too short.

    To end I can definitely say that 2001 is not only one of the best sci-fi movies ever made but also one of the best generally. It is one of the most thought provoking films (like all the sci-fi should be) and inspires our awe in every minute of it.

    Of course there is an openness in the film's meaning especially in the ending shots which have an allegorical and philosophical meaning. For me 2001 is not a religious film but it's about science, discovery and mainly for evolution.

    It's a film for adults and mature teenagers because it could be extremely weird and disturbing for younger audiences. But it's a must-see for every cinephile around the world.
    Expand
  73. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    2001 was a great film. I think it's Stanley Kubrick's best film, but I haven't seen enough of his films to be sure of it. Definitely a film everyone should see before they die.
  74. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Stanley Kubrick's great and grand masterpiece, 2001: A Space Odyssey, is perhaps his most hated and his most loved. People either love it (5 star ratings) or hate it (no star ratings). Debate around this film has been going on since its release in 1968. But the vast percentage of the controversy has played out over the last several years. It seems the new generation does not like this filmStanley Kubrick's great and grand masterpiece, 2001: A Space Odyssey, is perhaps his most hated and his most loved. People either love it (5 star ratings) or hate it (no star ratings). Debate around this film has been going on since its release in 1968. But the vast percentage of the controversy has played out over the last several years. It seems the new generation does not like this film because of its slow pace and outdated visual effects (which in my opinion are some of the best in history).

    But behind the swayed images, is a story of humanity, the things that we go through and much more. This is a truly genius work of art. This is one of the greatest (if not THE greatest) film that has ever been made.
    Expand
  75. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    The perhaps greatest movie ever conceived by humanity, masterfully directed by Stanley Kubrick, expresses beautifully what Arthur C. Clarke envisioned with his epic four book trilogy. Transcendental, pleasant, smart, interesting, thought-provoking, this is all the evolution of film making is about. With an awe-inducing soundtrack by Strauss, combined with the cold, dark atmosphere ofThe perhaps greatest movie ever conceived by humanity, masterfully directed by Stanley Kubrick, expresses beautifully what Arthur C. Clarke envisioned with his epic four book trilogy. Transcendental, pleasant, smart, interesting, thought-provoking, this is all the evolution of film making is about. With an awe-inducing soundtrack by Strauss, combined with the cold, dark atmosphere of outer space, where no one can hear you scream and where evolution and creation's secrets lie. The Monolith spreads secrets to all ears; few are bound to truly listen. "It's full of stars!" Expand
  76. Apr 29, 2015
    10
    Perhaps it takes the passage of time to gain the perspective to call some films great. Certain movies, despite being ridiculed upon their initial release, have been "re-discovered" years later and labeled as forgotten classics. It's a universal truth that art isn't always immediately recognized as such - this is why so many revered painters, authors, and composers have died in poverty andPerhaps it takes the passage of time to gain the perspective to call some films great. Certain movies, despite being ridiculed upon their initial release, have been "re-discovered" years later and labeled as forgotten classics. It's a universal truth that art isn't always immediately recognized as such - this is why so many revered painters, authors, and composers have died in poverty and relative obscurity. Filmmakers face some of the same challenges - in a business climate, courage is the number one characteristic needed by anyone with the goal of fashioning a work that is deliberately thought-provoking but lacking in mass appeal. Such idealistic intentions won't inflate any director's bank account, but they may make an enduring statement. That brings us to the subject of this review: Stanley Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey. Despite gaining additional adherents and growing more respected with each passing day, 2001 would likely be a failure if shown to a typical, MTV-weaned group of multiplex patrons. Watching this film demands two qualities that are sadly lacking in all but the most mature and sophisticated audiences: patience and a willingness to ponder the meaning of what's transpiring on screen. 2001 is awe inspiring, but it is most definitely not a "thrill ride." It is art, it is a statement, and it is indisputably a cinematic classic.

    I was around in 1968 when 2001 was first released, but I wasn't old enough to be concerned with anything more substantive than bottles and sleep. However, in the intervening years, I have spoken to several individuals who attended premieres of the film. The level of anticipation surrounding 2001 was as high as that to accompany any cinematic event before or after. Not only had Kubrick developed the project in complete secrecy, but, with the space race in its final laps, the world was ready to inhale any whiff of science fiction. But 2001 did not satisfy everyone. In fact, the initial reaction could charitably be called mixed. While a minority of those in early audiences recognized that they had witnessed the birth of a masterpiece, many movie-goers were nonplused and confused. Several influential mainstream publications panned the film, and, while it was successful at the box office, it was not the blockbuster some had expected it to be. Yet 2001 did not die. Instead, its reputation grew, and, by the mid-'70s, it had become a Goliath.

    It's questionable which element of 2001 stands out the most clearly: the pacing, the music, or the visuals. In truth, the three are inseparable. Like a skilled chef, Kubrick blended them together to form a dish of incomparable excellence. They are unique ingredients, yet, once mixed, they can no longer be reconstituted into their original forms. For most movies, this is not the case, but that's one of many areas in which 2001 is an exception. Listening to a soundtrack of this film provokes an avalanche of images in the mind's eye. Can anyone who has seen 2001 listen to the Johann Strauss' "Blue Danube Waltz" and not think of the shuttle docking at the space station? And Richard Strauss' rousing, unforgettable "Also Spoke Zarathustra" has become synonymous with this picture. (In fact, "Zaruathustra" is often referred to as the "Theme from 2001".)

    As is true of every Kubrick film, the meticulous attention to detail is evident. Working in close concert with co-screenwriter Arthur C. Clarke and other scientific advisors, Kubrick made sure that every aspect of the film conformed to known scientific fact. His vision is eerily accurate, and, even though we have not attained Clarke's prophesied advancements, we are on the same track. Additionally, there isn't a moment in 2001 that seems dated. The film could just as easily have been made in the '90s as in the '60s.

    The Academy Award-winning special effects represent some of the most impressive model work ever committed to screen. They are at least the equal, if not superior to, George Lucas' efforts in Star Wars. Today, visual effects are all about pushing the digital envelope, but there are times when it's worth looking back to how things were done in a simpler era, when technological limitations demanded greater creativity. Douglas Trumbull's accomplishments in 2001 represent an innovative pinnacle.

    2001 needs to be experienced to be appreciated. It loses something on a TV screen; even the best home video setup can't replicate what it's like to see the movie in a theater. 2001 does not build bonds between the viewers and the characters or set up a straightforward, linear storyline. Instead, it challenges the audience and inspires wonder. Proponents argue that this is Kubrick's best film; regardless of whether or not that is true, there's no doubting that this movie represents the product of a great director at the height of his powers. 32 years after its release, 2001 has lost none of the qualities that make it an acknowledged masterwork.
    Expand
  77. RobertR.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best was the slowness, and how there were 5-minute scenes just of a space pod departing from the ship. Kubrick is able to realistically portray outer This movie is probably the only of its kind. It is the kind of movie that combines wacky ideas with serious and realistic scenes. An incredible picture. Nobody could have done this better than Stanley Kubrick. One of the things I liked best was the slowness, and how there were 5-minute scenes just of a space pod departing from the ship. Kubrick is able to realistically portray outer space, and to create a beautiful film. Expand
  78. WakoJ.
    May 7, 2006
    9
    Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more after doing some reading on it, guess I'm not smart enough to figure everything out by myself. Perhaps that is the point of the movie, and the best Finally saw this flick and finally understand what all the fuss is about, from those who love it and from those who hate it. For my part, I mostly appreciated this as one is apt to appreciate an awe inspiring work of art. I liked it more after doing some reading on it, guess I'm not smart enough to figure everything out by myself. Perhaps that is the point of the movie, and the best advice I can give: don't try to figure it out too much. In time things will sink in and bring different meanings to different people, the way all great art does. Expand
  79. DakotaP.
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    Visually, no one can deny this film. It is the reason they invented Widescreen. When you see this film, and consider it in the context of it's visuals, it's hard to imagine what all the hub-bub was about almost *ten years* later, when STAR WARS came out. That said, the film itself is about human progression (or, evolution, if you please), and "crawls" at it's pace Visually, no one can deny this film. It is the reason they invented Widescreen. When you see this film, and consider it in the context of it's visuals, it's hard to imagine what all the hub-bub was about almost *ten years* later, when STAR WARS came out. That said, the film itself is about human progression (or, evolution, if you please), and "crawls" at it's pace deliberately for effect. But in each moment of advancement, man is met with the Monolith. Understanding human nature, and this film, isn't an instant, to be brushed off with a first or second attempt. I laughed when the film finished, upon my first viewing, but couldn't get it out of my head until I had it figured out. Years later, I'm still discovering elements and implications -- once man reaches each new stage, high powers egg us on, until finally.... we evolve. Starchild. It's a great film, visually, and intellectually. Expand
  80. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    2001: A Space Odyssey is an amazing science fiction film with astonishing, timeless effects. The movie manages to be quite terrifying without the use of action sequences or monsters (as is the want of modern sci-fi). Fear and wonder of the unknown makes for quite the potent mix. I love the fact that the ending is so inscrutable. It leaves you startled and uneasy with a total lack of2001: A Space Odyssey is an amazing science fiction film with astonishing, timeless effects. The movie manages to be quite terrifying without the use of action sequences or monsters (as is the want of modern sci-fi). Fear and wonder of the unknown makes for quite the potent mix. I love the fact that the ending is so inscrutable. It leaves you startled and uneasy with a total lack of understanding. But that's the way the universe is; totally beyond our understanding. Expand
  81. Apr 9, 2014
    9
    The grandaddy of sci-fi, an incomparable experience of sense and of mind. Best to approach the revelationary details of the book afterwards, allowing Kubrick's sense of style and majesty to pervade the inner mind.
  82. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    It doesnt make any sense!!!! It's hard to understand the story, and it's too long and it has some unnecessary parts, therefore it looks like they prefer the worst scenes. I just gave it a 9 becuase this is not a movie, it is a psychdelic experience, a outrageous epiphany. It must be aprecciated with patience and open-mind.
  83. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    Beautiful, deep and mind-blowing, "2001: A Space Odyssey" is definitely a film that needs reconsideration before blind criticism over its plot. The story is not linear and simple, but piled with lots of metaphors and symbols. The use of music is absolutely fantastic. I recommend it to everyone who loves to argue about philosophical topics and to everyone who just really like movies.
  84. Sep 2, 2014
    9
    "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a very complex film. The first segment is somewhat boring to watch until the monolith shows up. After that, it's actually a very entertaining and intriguing film... until the last segment. The film just goes completely overboard and overly complicated when it really didn't need to be, and the Star Gate sequence, well, it's difficult to say how drawn out that part"2001: A Space Odyssey" is a very complex film. The first segment is somewhat boring to watch until the monolith shows up. After that, it's actually a very entertaining and intriguing film... until the last segment. The film just goes completely overboard and overly complicated when it really didn't need to be, and the Star Gate sequence, well, it's difficult to say how drawn out that part was. If the film was about 20 minutes shorter, cutting out the more boring parts of the beginning and making the Star Gate sequence shorter, it would have been a perfect experience. Expand
  85. FrederickS.
    Apr 4, 2005
    8
    Even if you don't understand it, just enjoy the wonderful imagery.
  86. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    A film way ahead of it's time, it's scarcely beleivable it was made in 1968. The pace is slow and there is an excess of kubrickian unease, but for originality and visual impact this is a winner. There is a lot of thought-povoking material here
  87. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    Such a Interesting idea, Jupiter and the infinite, and the mission and all those segments, unfortunately, when this was passed to a movie, it got a little bit boring and without action, I mean don't get me wrong i liked the movie, for that time, this was a very big step into the industry, but it should have been more interesting, like not only showing a lot of images and stuff, but like aSuch a Interesting idea, Jupiter and the infinite, and the mission and all those segments, unfortunately, when this was passed to a movie, it got a little bit boring and without action, I mean don't get me wrong i liked the movie, for that time, this was a very big step into the industry, but it should have been more interesting, like not only showing a lot of images and stuff, but like a little bit more action . I though the dialogues between Bowman & Hal were very well written, the idea of a automatically computer was awesome and very well structured. So once again Stanley Kubrick did a very good job, and this time he did the whole thing, not only the writing and the directing, but also the special effects, like wow. Expand
  88. Oct 6, 2011
    8
    Acclaimed director Stanley Kubrick's SF masterpiece "2001: A Space Odyssey" is a conservative movie, asking the audience not to be amazed by the extraordinary visuals but the maturity and growth of a universal subject. The climax of the movie speeds up consistently and precisely with the breath taking cinematography of silence,and in the end....the movie itself becomes the universal subject.
  89. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some parts were extremely interesting, some were hard to sit through. The color sequence that lasted ten minutes and the long first stage of evolution with the primates were definitely both my favorite parts of the film. The ending was confusing and awful, in my opinion. It left me wondering why they would end a film with that much potential like a premature fetus. Expand
  90. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    An amazing cinematic experience that engages the viewer with its visuals. Blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
  91. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    This film is fantastic. Now, it is very, very slow and can be a tad dull for sure, but for the most part, it is wraps you up and refuses to let go. The imagery is immaculate and you can see Kubrick's trademark cinematography here and it is absolutely gorgeous. It was hard to pick my jaw up from the floor at times when seeing the beautiful images he managed to construct. In addition, theThis film is fantastic. Now, it is very, very slow and can be a tad dull for sure, but for the most part, it is wraps you up and refuses to let go. The imagery is immaculate and you can see Kubrick's trademark cinematography here and it is absolutely gorgeous. It was hard to pick my jaw up from the floor at times when seeing the beautiful images he managed to construct. In addition, the special effects are phenomenal. For 2014 they are great, let alone for 1968. Just absolutely stunning to watch. The sets are also brilliantly put together. In terms of sound, the soundtrack is phenomenal and is a great companion to the images. The acting here is solid, but that was all that was required, as there is not that much dialogue where acting is crucial, but they were competent and in the more dialogue carried sequences did well. This film is undoubtedly tough to grasp after watching it, but there is certainly more going on than meets the eye. However, what does meet the eye is the brilliant imagery and amazing "future" (past now) that Stanley Kubrick put on screen. Just truly a brilliant work of art. Expand
  92. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

    It is not perfect however. It is slow, has little dialogue, and is cryptic. But these gripes of mine are offset my great cinematography and a powerful soundtrack. I'm glad to have
    This truly is the fantastic film everyone says it is... almost. Yes it was ahead of it's time, yes it was groundbreaking in many areas and yes it is memorable. It is the brilliant film people say it is.

    It is not perfect however. It is slow, has little dialogue, and is cryptic. But these gripes of mine are offset my great cinematography and a powerful soundtrack.

    I'm glad to have finally seen it and recommend this defining film. Just be aware it is not going to be what you expect as it is unique.
    Expand
  93. clyde
    Dec 28, 2009
    7
    This movie was good.. anyone who thinks otherwise does not know a good movie.I think if you watched it at the time it should of gotten a 8 but for the modern generation i will be giving it a 7.
  94. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Stanley Kubrick's epic sci-fi tale involving monkeys, space, monoliths & a Russian Leonard Rossiter.
    The first two hours of the film are fine, yes it does drag a little here & there, but builds the story up nicely.
    The parts with HAL & Dave & Frank are, for me, just fantastic. You get a great sense of claustrophobia with the space suit scenes & the breathing being the only soundtrack.
    Stanley Kubrick's epic sci-fi tale involving monkeys, space, monoliths & a Russian Leonard Rossiter.
    The first two hours of the film are fine, yes it does drag a little here & there, but builds the story up nicely.
    The parts with HAL & Dave & Frank are, for me, just fantastic.
    You get a great sense of claustrophobia with the space suit scenes & the breathing being the only soundtrack. There's also something very sinister about HAL singing Daisy Daisy, with his voice getting lower & lower.
    Then the last half hour. I watched it again just to make sure I hadn't missed anything. Looking at some of the other reviews, it seems I'm not alone in missing the point of it. Total nonsense.
    Anyway, aside from that, it is still a good film which has stood the test of time 40 years on. Great visuals, brilliant soundtrack & very influential in the way sci-fi films were made afterwards.
    Expand
  95. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Its tempting to consider 2001 a companion piece to Arthur C. Clarke's novel only, as its visual narrative can be hard to grasp for many. Is it boring? Yes, but will it blow your mind? Probably.
  96. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Despite its sluggish pace, Kubrick's sci-fi epic "2001: A Spacey Odyssey" is still powerful, thought-provoking, chock full of "how-the-hell-did-they-do-that" shots, and a must-watch.
  97. Aug 16, 2013
    7
    This film expects the viewer to be a philosopher in order to understand the enigmatic allegory Kubrick is trying to convey. Despite the excruciatingly slow pace, parts that feel irrelevant and/or drag on too long, and the extremely pretentious message, 2001: A Space Odyssey remains an avant-garde experience that deserves a watch/interpretation from everyone.
  98. Jul 21, 2014
    7
    Que difícil es hacer una crítica de esta película... la odio y me gusta a la vez. Una película muy compleja, buena para la época en la que se hizo, ya que si la hubieran hecho el año pasado puede que le bajara dos o tres puntos. De Kubrick hay obras mejores pero esta al fin y al cabo es una buena película.
  99. Apr 2, 2014
    6
    A well crafted piece of art. Incredibly unusual last act! From "Open the pod bay doors, HAL" unleash the thrills and mystery of an influential, mind blowing adventure unlike any other, from prehistoric ape-ancestry into uncharted realms of space. Personally, I loved the middle, HAL was terrifying and unpredictable villain. Not everyones type of movie. The film ends leaving more questionsA well crafted piece of art. Incredibly unusual last act! From "Open the pod bay doors, HAL" unleash the thrills and mystery of an influential, mind blowing adventure unlike any other, from prehistoric ape-ancestry into uncharted realms of space. Personally, I loved the middle, HAL was terrifying and unpredictable villain. Not everyones type of movie. The film ends leaving more questions than answers. Expand
  100. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    First thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to give philosophical and dramatic touch.
    Overall this is a combination of Failure and success and both are so much mixed up with each other that one can’t classify
    First thing first, this is not a movie; this is a piece of art completely focused on realism, logics and detailing of complicated space science of expected future. Additionally some imaginations are also added in the movie to give philosophical and dramatic touch.
    Overall this is a combination of Failure and success and both are so much mixed up with each other that one can’t classify them.
    Still elements of success and failure are as under:-

    SUCCESS POINTS
    • Most detailed and realistic picturization of outer space and technology.
    • Realistic acting.
    • No attempt to create any kind of thrill, a completely different approach for a Sci-Fi movie.
    • Beautiful use of Music.

    FAILURES POINTS

    • Lack of connectivity through entire movie between the different phases.
    • Lack of conclusiveness. (Either thrill or conclusiveness, one is must).
    • Poor ending.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. This is the way this ground-breaking monument was meant to be seen: in mind-boggling 70mm.
  2. Its special effects are used so seamlessly as part of an overall artistic strategy that, as critic Annette Michelson has pointed out, they don't even register as such, and thus are almost impossible to trivialize, a feat unmatched in movies.
  3. 100
    Only a few films are transcendent, and work upon our minds and imaginations like music or prayer or a vast belittling landscape...Alone among science-fiction movies, 2001 is not concerned with thrilling us, but with inspiring our awe.