Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: April 2, 1968
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 814 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
640
Mixed:
46
Negative:
128
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ManolisS.Oct 1, 2006
I think this is the first and last time that cinema escaped the theater and became part of our mythological collective unconscious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JordanH.Dec 20, 2008
This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as This movie is in a league of it's own. No movie throughout the history of film can come close to this. By far the most intense drama ever. A movie that comments on evolution, technology, time and space. Oh yeah, after 40 years, still as fresh as the day it was released. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KyleA.Jul 6, 2004
This movie is one of the most intellectually stimulating films i've ever seen. Kubrick actually trusts the audience's intelligence and ability to ascertain the films ideals--a refreshing departure from most modern films. This This movie is one of the most intellectually stimulating films i've ever seen. Kubrick actually trusts the audience's intelligence and ability to ascertain the films ideals--a refreshing departure from most modern films. This element is essential in this film because its main point is the evolution of human intelligence--Arthur C. Clarke merely uses science-fiction aspects such as space travel and alien discoveries as a vehicle to drive these ideas. Beautifully directed--the best Sci-fi film ever created. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Mar 2, 2010
A Classic that still holds up after 40+ years. One of my favorites however, I had read the book before seeing the film, so the story makes sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 14, 2004
This is one of the greatest of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.May 11, 2004
Kubrick tossed the bones of sci-fi conventions into the air, liberating cinema from the formula of genre demands and from highminded subservience to other arts considered innately superior. one of the quantum leaps in film history, where Kubrick tossed the bones of sci-fi conventions into the air, liberating cinema from the formula of genre demands and from highminded subservience to other arts considered innately superior. one of the quantum leaps in film history, where with a single film kubrick advanced filmic potential across an eon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveSMay 1, 2009
A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's A beautiful and mesmerizing film. I'm surprised by the two comments suggesting it's outdated. 40 years after release the special effects and settings hold up better then most newer films and certainly better then any of it's contemporaries. It's biggest failures were not predicting the demise of Ma Bell and Pan Am and believing that landing on the moon actually was just a "small step". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
AlonsoCApr 2, 2010
Pink Floyd in movie form.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is Like Kubrick's own A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey is striking, hypnotic and masterfully directed. Unlike that film, however, 2001 is less direct and allows it's true motives to slowly unfold. As each amazing event is revealed, the moon landing, HAL, the incredible and ambiguous conclusion, the viewer feels increasingly amazed and stunned. Few other films create the same haunting effect that 2001 achieves, and I do not think there is a single more philosophical film in existance. 2001 must be seen by everyone. Whether you may find it slow, tedious or pretentious, 2001 succeeds in making something bigger of our existances than the day to day lives we currently live. Films simply do not get any better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimfromChicagoDec 9, 2005
When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more When a prehistoric ape, having used a bone as a primitive tool, tosses it in the air, and suddenly it changes into a white spacecraft in Earth orbit, one of cinema's greatest movie moments has struck you square. This movie has many more unforgetable images. As a movie bad guy, compare Hal to, say, Darth Vader. Isn't Hal a profoundly more chilling character? Do you, like me, find yourself in difficult situations where the first thing entering your mind is, "Open the pod bay door, Hal." After 25 years of advances in movie special effects, space flight has still never been more beautifully portrayed. Yup, I like thlis flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Ken-StianO.Apr 17, 2005
Fantastic! The best cinematic and visual experience in the history of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tornwalda.Apr 26, 2005
This is without a doubt one of the best films ever made. Stephen Hunter from the Washington Post is a complete idiot if he rates this film with 10 out of 100. A timeless classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Apr 3, 2006
A presentation without conclusions where the viewer must do all the thinking, and a solid reassurance that man's ultimate place in the universe is, at least for a time, a very lonely one. But for every level it attempts, no film excels better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyH.Sep 18, 2006
Timeless masterpiece!
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ChudG.May 9, 2008
Aside from a couple nagging technical things, the tech and atmosphere depicted in the film is among the best in any movie ever. Extremely deep, enjoyable and uplifting. 11/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarcWNov 11, 2009
Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put Watched it as a young kid, obviously thought it was just about the most tedious thing I'd ever sat through (ok I only got a third of the way through)......watched it again when I was 24, and haven't looked back since. Simply put it's one of those movies you almost feel obliged to pay homage to once a year. You hunker down in your armchair with a cup of tea, sandwiches, crisps a choco bar or two (it is a long film), dim the lights, lock the door and just devour the imagery. Its a wonderful movie, but I completely understand those who claim it's more like watching a screen saver than a movie, but that's what the cup of tea's for. There are moments when you just feel so completely at ease watching what is essentially artwork, others when you're provoked into thought's like no other movie can provide. It's a journey, sorry to be melodramatic, not a movie watching experience. And one everyone should make, it's not dated, despite it being, what? 40+ years old. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EdCNov 23, 2009
A movie for the ages. Gets your attention early and never lets go. A movie I can watch a hundred times and still get fascinated by. The Best movie of All Time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnSMay 23, 2009
The best audio-visual mediation on the origins, the now and the future of man. The depth of this movie is only revealed over successive viewings. Still waiting for kubrick's successor in the celluloid format.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimT.Aug 19, 2009
Is there a rating greater than 10? This movie would have it. A work of true genius. And much more, a spiritual journey. Kubrick went for it and hit a home run, for all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeB.Aug 12, 2006
I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true I'm always fascinated by the mixed reviews of this film. There's basically no middle ground. You either love it or hate it. Not surprisingly, most of the works of Stanley Kubrick receive similar treatment. Such is the price of true artistic genius and I believe the term aptly applies to him. Film is our most modern form of art. It is a learned craft in the same vein as painting or music composition. Yes, I'm saying a film can be on the same level as a Debussy symphony or a Dostoevsky novel, for examples. The operative word is "can" or "may." Its collaborative nature doesn't exclude it as an art form. When Michaelangelo painted the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, he couldn't have done it without carpenters and assistants. But, it was his vision, and a film can be the spawn of one person's imagination and efforts and that person is the director. A director free from the control of a studio, who involves him or herself in every aspect of the filmmaking process, particularly the script, photography and the editting, is just like a painter or composer. There are few filmmakers with this level of power, skill and knowledge. Stanley Kubrick was one of the few. And, 2001: A Space Odyssey is truly a work of art. Time, the true measure by which these things are judged, will tell. When historians of the future analyze the accomplishments of man (of this epoch) from an artistic perspective, this film will be an example of our capabilities, and I'm not sure we could present a better one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.Nov 26, 2007
This is the greatest film ever made. Kubrick's masterpiece and one of the great works of art of the 20th century. A phenomenal testament to creative genius.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
IanR.May 18, 2007
Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force Masterfully done. Every aspect of the film, from the slow build up of anticipation, the overtone of visual and audio, to the audacious and hypnotic ending, adds to the overall depiction of mans inability to manipulate the unstoppable force of time and the transitional stages it brings. The director tacitly demonstrates the central concept of this allegorical film with a combination of elements uncommon in modern film making. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanHNov 20, 2009
No science fiction film has ever come close to this. Haters: go watch Transformers and stop criticizing something you don't understand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielRMar 19, 2009
This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to This film is simply just art. The film includes phemomenal use of music; mankind's best music played against the backdrop of outer space where there is no mankind, the acting present is flawless while never shining, nor does it have to be as this film focuses more on machines and the beauty and mystery of space which is shown beautifully and mysteriously here. The plot may be hard to follow by a lot of viewers but there is no denying that is cinematic art at it's very best and most probably the best film of kubrick's career and possibly the best film ever made. Prepare to be amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Nov 25, 2005
This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times This is, quite simply, among the greatest of films. What it does is to seamlessly and brilliantly mesh science fiction, philosophy, religion, and political and social commentary and satire into one grand design. I have seen it numerous times in theatres with variously sized screens and on video and still maintain there has never been anything like it. (And it was made by Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, not Warner Brothers, despite what the Metacritic people say!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
This is movie as art in its fullest and most stunning format. How Kubrick made this look so futuristic in the year of 1968 it beyond me and probably most people on this planet. How much is covered in the short span of this film. It might justThis is movie as art in its fullest and most stunning format. How Kubrick made this look so futuristic in the year of 1968 it beyond me and probably most people on this planet. How much is covered in the short span of this film. It might just be the only film that seems to cover the whole history of the universe in a film. Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Oscar Wilde, KUBRICK. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
An amazing film, a masterpiece, and easily the best science-fiction film of alltime. Kubrick never did any better than this unbelievable film, which does a rare thing; it looks as if it was made yesterday, but it challenges you intellectuallyAn amazing film, a masterpiece, and easily the best science-fiction film of alltime. Kubrick never did any better than this unbelievable film, which does a rare thing; it looks as if it was made yesterday, but it challenges you intellectually like the rarest films from the distant past. This is my personal favorite film of alltime, and I would argue that it might be THE greatest film of alltime. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewUltimateJul 13, 2011
Kubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after).Kubrick is undoubtedly one of the masters who made cinema with this classic film. The professionalism of the special effects note that what was used in 1968 could make something seem amateur even in 2011 (note that is a long 43 years after). Anyone who does not like this movie truly has an attention span so high that it could, alone, make them seem ridiculously immature. It is also worth noting that the film was so scientifically accurate. This is still an amazing film today, one of the best of all time. But it could still be very modern. If someone even had seen portions of this film before they knew the title, he/she would predict its initial release as probably somewhat recent because of how advanced every detail in it is. Genius. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SouravDec 31, 2010
2001: A Space Odyssey is a 1968 science fiction film by Stanley Kubrick (who happens to be my favourite director as well). Being my favorite film, I have recommended this it to almost everyone I know. This review is more like an answer to2001: A Space Odyssey is a 1968 science fiction film by Stanley Kubrick (who happens to be my favourite director as well). Being my favorite film, I have recommended this it to almost everyone I know. This review is more like an answer to those who found this film slow-paced, and for those yet to watch it, you may continue to read this as a disclaimer to the film-

Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AmriT240892Jul 31, 2011
Stanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as theStanley has proved that no other director can stand next to him by this movie.The greatest epiphany? That the monolith represents the film screen itself, with its black rectangular appearance. And that the monolith is also depicted as the catalyst for change only encourages the notion that we actually evolve as we watch ourselves on the screen, and furthermore, BECOME what we see. And that's what 2001 is ultimately about; becoming. Constant becoming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews