Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 13, 2009
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 625 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
250
Mixed:
203
Negative:
172
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
DaveHDec 7, 2009
I can't say it was an extremely amazing movie, but I can neither say it was a movie I didn't enjoy. The only problem was, of course, the multitude that went to the movies the same showing I did... God, I remember more the hisses I can't say it was an extremely amazing movie, but I can neither say it was a movie I didn't enjoy. The only problem was, of course, the multitude that went to the movies the same showing I did... God, I remember more the hisses they made than the movie characters' names. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RiaSNov 20, 2009
The effect in this movie is awesome. The storyboard is quite good, if i was a scientist, yes i would say that it can be happen on our world. But the things that disappointed me the most was the "LUCK" factor of the main character on this The effect in this movie is awesome. The storyboard is quite good, if i was a scientist, yes i would say that it can be happen on our world. But the things that disappointed me the most was the "LUCK" factor of the main character on this movie, i don't know why, i just feel they all was too lucky to be alive in that condition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
WilliamBApr 1, 2010
I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and if you don't like it why did u go c it. I saw this movie and sure I don't believe the I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and if you don't like it why did u go c it. I saw this movie and sure I don't believe the world is going to end in 2012, but I just liked the special effects and everything. GREAT MOVIE!!!! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
9
AlNov 20, 2009
Based on some of the reviews, my expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised! Maybe these harsh reviewers were expecting Shakespeare. This is a fun, entertaining movie that really delivers. Could have used a little editing at Based on some of the reviews, my expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised! Maybe these harsh reviewers were expecting Shakespeare. This is a fun, entertaining movie that really delivers. Could have used a little editing at the end - a bit too long. Other than that - great! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
SwitSwatSep 8, 2012
I definitely can't say that it was the best movie I had ever seen, but it was still a great watch! I don't know what's up with the other reviewers saying that it is "total crap," but, everyone's got their opinions. Great special effects, andI definitely can't say that it was the best movie I had ever seen, but it was still a great watch! I don't know what's up with the other reviewers saying that it is "total crap," but, everyone's got their opinions. Great special effects, and a good story. All the humor put into the movie made it better. Although, the acting was ok. Not terrible, but it was good. And, of course, the movie is totally unrealistic. Just like any other Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie. Unless you believe in 2012... But, I don't so... Again, pretty good movie. 9/10 from me. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
hacmiu36Jan 7, 2013
2012 is the nice movies. It describes the thing thay may come to us in 21-12-2012, it has earthquake, tsunami, volcano. It has nice effect,, but the story is just to familiar
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyLJan 2, 2010
I think it could be perfect! Ignore critics and stupid haters, you all must see this film! It's so so so amazing! Really... and the special effects were awesome!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Mar 21, 2010
I can not believe how low of a rating this movie has received. The movie was advertised as a huge super amazing special effect movie. And it was! The scenes with special effects (of grounds breaking or Yellowstone blowing) were simply I can not believe how low of a rating this movie has received. The movie was advertised as a huge super amazing special effect movie. And it was! The scenes with special effects (of grounds breaking or Yellowstone blowing) were simply stunning. Through most of those scenes I was holding my breathe and hoping the gang could make it through. And while I missed it in theatres, I can imagine those parts that must have had the entire room just silent. Even the scenes without death and destruction were good too though. There were a few chuckles and a couple awww moments. I thought everyone played their role well and personally I saw nothing wrong with the acting. Overall it was an amazing disaster movie with suspense and excitement throughout the movie. It was wonderfully done and I would easily recommend anyone check it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamR.Mar 23, 2010
I don't get why people are marking it down for bad acting or bad science - the movie is about the end of the world. Go into it expecting three hours of stuff blowing up and being destroyed, and you'll love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DaleC.Mar 5, 2010
Ok. Can we all put a moratorium on "Well, that was 2 and a half hours [or other amount of time] that I'll never get back..." Please. It's lame. Wasn't funny 10 years ago. And really, what did you expect from a movie called Ok. Can we all put a moratorium on "Well, that was 2 and a half hours [or other amount of time] that I'll never get back..." Please. It's lame. Wasn't funny 10 years ago. And really, what did you expect from a movie called "2012" with giant tidal waves and destruction on the movie poster? If you're in the mood for disaster, this is a fun movie. Forget the story, acting and especially dialogue. This isn't a Coen brothers movie. If you're more of a rom-com or groundbreaking documentary lover, then, yes, this will in fact be 2 and a half hours you'll never get back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JesseJMar 6, 2010
I can not believe people say this has a bad story line. It is friggin amazing, every one is hating on it because they claim it is just pure CGI and no story line, that is complete bs. This movie has an amazing story line and it is very I can not believe people say this has a bad story line. It is friggin amazing, every one is hating on it because they claim it is just pure CGI and no story line, that is complete bs. This movie has an amazing story line and it is very inspiring, and at the same time it packs a massive punch with the amazing CGI scenes, John Cusak is also friggin awesome. I recommend any one to watch it, including people who hate all the "modern movies". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulianAJan 6, 2010
I think this was one of the all-time best movies I ever saw. The CGI was great, the suspense had me holding my breath through the whole two hours, and the story was very moving. I don't care what the people who gave this movie 0's I think this was one of the all-time best movies I ever saw. The CGI was great, the suspense had me holding my breath through the whole two hours, and the story was very moving. I don't care what the people who gave this movie 0's say--it was outstanding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SpencerSJan 7, 2010
2012: By far the best end-of-the-world movies ever. John Cusack was once again awesome even though he didnt have much to work with seeing as the script was very boring. The CG was mind blowing and overall it was just one of the most bad ass 2012: By far the best end-of-the-world movies ever. John Cusack was once again awesome even though he didnt have much to work with seeing as the script was very boring. The CG was mind blowing and overall it was just one of the most bad ass movies of the year. If Emmerich had taken more time on the script instead of try...ing to blow as much stuff up as possible this movie would have been amazing. My grade: B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DrewFMar 2, 2010
All these people claiming "I don't go to the movies very often, but when i decided to i chose a Roland Emmerich movie!" really need to do better research on films they're going to see. Of course this movie is cheesy and ridiculous. All these people claiming "I don't go to the movies very often, but when i decided to i chose a Roland Emmerich movie!" really need to do better research on films they're going to see. Of course this movie is cheesy and ridiculous. It's not meant to be high-art. It is campy escapism. And to be honest this flick delivered the goods in spades. I would really rather probably give it a 7.5/10 overall, but rounded up to 8. Enjoyable, mindless fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnA.Mar 22, 2010
It is what it is, a SyFi flick! Enjoy it for that!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
daver.Mar 29, 2010
Order a pizza, grab a few beers, sit back and enjoy - perfect "old school" disaster movie ramped up tenfold - superbly enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
landonwMar 6, 2010
I'm Voting a 10 because it is an awesome scenes too see on BLURAY, yes the story had parts that could have better plot but its a future movie & thats not always sci-fi accurate. But way kool on bluray all the way!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanielSMar 7, 2010
It was pretty good for a 2 hour 40 minute movie. Some parts god me frightened and on the edge of the couch like "oh no are they going to make it?" But at the first half its all about lava, fire, and earthquakes, and the other half is all It was pretty good for a 2 hour 40 minute movie. Some parts god me frightened and on the edge of the couch like "oh no are they going to make it?" But at the first half its all about lava, fire, and earthquakes, and the other half is all about giant floods, what the ****?!?! And the Russian helicopters carrying 2 of every species in some suit tied to a rope hanging down 20 feet away from the helicopter was pretty stupid. Wouldn't they die from some blood rush or hypothermia? The effects were pretty good and realistic though, and I really liked the storyline, it was still a good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeffT.Apr 6, 2010
Great visual representation of the end of the world! I don't see why everyone says the movie was terrible. The special effects, acting, plotline and the humor made this movie a must-see! The only thing I didn't enjoy seeing was the Great visual representation of the end of the world! I don't see why everyone says the movie was terrible. The special effects, acting, plotline and the humor made this movie a must-see! The only thing I didn't enjoy seeing was the Bentley jumping out of the jet. There is no way that could ever happen. But, besides that, the movie was terrific!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanGJun 11, 2010
C'mon people! The average is 5.7?! Anyone who gave it below a 7 is an idiot! This movie was the bomb! One of my favorite movies of '09!!
0 of 6 users found this helpful
9
ZakirH.Nov 13, 2009
Big bang graphics with emotions of one family.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NabilSNov 14, 2009
With proper research.. awesome cgi, comedy, suspense, action, drama.. this movie has the works!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanaMNov 15, 2009
Enjoyed it thoroughly. Not sure what movie these reviewers were watchin, but we felt it was well worth our scare entertainment dollars. Go see it on the big screen!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChrisDNov 15, 2009
An exciting movie! At times it was ridiculous, but that was made up for by the sheer awesomeness of the special effects and horror. Many scenes were emotion-provoking. I was feeling the intensity and brute helplessness of the character. An exciting movie! At times it was ridiculous, but that was made up for by the sheer awesomeness of the special effects and horror. Many scenes were emotion-provoking. I was feeling the intensity and brute helplessness of the character. Parts were even very thought-provoking in the form of what it means to be human, and that even if doing one thing "saves" humanity it would really be "destroying" the humanity of all surviving humans; in a very Battlestar Galactica-esque manner. It also says that these event occur due to a magnetic polar shift that happens every some thousand years. The events are very Noah's Ark-like just saying. This movie was exciting, nerve-racking, tragic, destructive, dark, and even had that aspect of thought-provoking themes of being human and not being human. Overall exactly what I want from a disaster movies. One Emmerich's best, up there with Day After Tomorrow, and Independence Day. (Though not any Wall*E, Dark Knight, Star Trek, or anything.) 7.5/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
OliverHNov 15, 2009
An amazing film, truly epic in proportion. While everyone seems to get on a little too well, the sheer scope blows you away.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DudleiO.Nov 17, 2009
Of course the movie has some clichès, and as you move towards the end, some of the plot is quite predictable, but it's probably one of the best disaster movies ever made! The scenes are so real and so intense that I felt Of course the movie has some clichès, and as you move towards the end, some of the plot is quite predictable, but it's probably one of the best disaster movies ever made! The scenes are so real and so intense that I felt breathless. You could feel like that was all really happening! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanielNov 17, 2009
Utterly absurd, but exactly what was expected. Great fun!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoradTNov 22, 2009
I quite enjoyed this movie. It's indeed quite over the top yet at the same time there was a decent amount of character development and some nice tension was built throughout (even though every circumstance came out with a positive I quite enjoyed this movie. It's indeed quite over the top yet at the same time there was a decent amount of character development and some nice tension was built throughout (even though every circumstance came out with a positive outcome). Overall it's definately worth seeing also due to the great effects. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KentLNov 29, 2009
It's very very good, a fun ride. The graphics are outrageously good (including the way they were portrayed) (10) as is the sound (9). The acting is fairly top knot save for a few moments (8). The story is interesting and entertaining It's very very good, a fun ride. The graphics are outrageously good (including the way they were portrayed) (10) as is the sound (9). The acting is fairly top knot save for a few moments (8). The story is interesting and entertaining (7). The story is rich on human factor and development (8). Don't go expecting to see an accurate portrayal of the human response to Mayan prediction...just go for a good time...and don't wait to see it on a small screen. That would be a mistake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
Roland Emmerich is very good at making a movie that has something to do with the end of the world in 2012 according to the mayan calendar, but its not going to happen.

i'm getting ahead of myself. the visuals were great, and the acting was
Roland Emmerich is very good at making a movie that has something to do with the end of the world in 2012 according to the mayan calendar, but its not going to happen.

i'm getting ahead of myself. the visuals were great, and the acting was excellent.

Rating: 9/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews