Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 13, 2009
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 639 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
254
Mixed:
206
Negative:
179
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JayDMar 5, 2010
I just wasted 2 and a half hours on this rancid film. How Roland Emmerich keeps making bad blockbusters with seemingly no accountability for them is a mystery to me. The main characters are painfully bland. There is no chemistry between any I just wasted 2 and a half hours on this rancid film. How Roland Emmerich keeps making bad blockbusters with seemingly no accountability for them is a mystery to me. The main characters are painfully bland. There is no chemistry between any of the actors. Absolutely no character in the movie was developed. All you get is eye candy(CGI) and scenes that will make any physic professor reel in horror. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MitchMJan 3, 2010
The fact that this movie made it to the big screen proves without a doubt that the human race is in fact doomed. It is truely depressing to see that so many of my intellectually challenged countrymen enjoyed this. All copies of this movie The fact that this movie made it to the big screen proves without a doubt that the human race is in fact doomed. It is truely depressing to see that so many of my intellectually challenged countrymen enjoyed this. All copies of this movie should be destroyed and everyone who had a part in creation of this visual filth should be banished to an island to prevent them from making another movie as terrible as this. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RobertHMar 12, 2010
Before seeing this movie, I already knew what to expect, a few death defying moments, some "wow, this is impossible" survival tactics, and stuff getting messed up, when I actually saw the movie, it left me with a "been there, done that" type Before seeing this movie, I already knew what to expect, a few death defying moments, some "wow, this is impossible" survival tactics, and stuff getting messed up, when I actually saw the movie, it left me with a "been there, done that" type of feeling. The entire family aspect of the movie was garbage. Everytime they showed that family on the screen made me want to turn it off. It seemed like everything went exactly perfect for them. Every thing feel exactly into place, and they are surviving all of these outragous scenes while the other billions of people in the world are dying. Really? That's bull. The entire movie wasn't horrible, a lot of the speeches between family members (ie. Father-son, father-daughter, grandfather-granddaughter) scenes were extremely good, aside from the main family of course. It just seemed too happy ever after for me. All of the people in the movie that most people would want to kill of end up dying while the main family stays perfectly fine. A load of steaming "our family can survive anything" dog crap. Take the main family our of it and its a really great film, but seeing how it was geared towards them, really blows. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ShelbySMar 16, 2010
This movie was a hideous mess and particularly painful because of its length. What went wrong with this movie? Everything.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MrLJun 10, 2010
Oh my god so horrible boring, action with this horrible patriotic we will save everyone feeling, sorry but fire loud and boomboom with expensive special effects is not exiting in this setting. today not acceptable anymore.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
PriyaRDec 9, 2009
Released a bit late in certain cities in India. But save your money and time at least on this one. I am sure this question must have been answered 1000 times. But why is the American family always portrayed to be dysfunctional? And the kids, Released a bit late in certain cities in India. But save your money and time at least on this one. I am sure this question must have been answered 1000 times. But why is the American family always portrayed to be dysfunctional? And the kids, why do they pass judgment about everyone? It becomes too predictable. There is nothing left for your imagination and the excitement..YAWN. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EliasC.Mar 16, 2010
You can count on a Roland Emmerich disaster film to be a disaster. In the tradition of his '10,000 BC' and 'Godzilla', '2012' stands as another badly acted, incoherent, poor science, awful CGI, and overlong You can count on a Roland Emmerich disaster film to be a disaster. In the tradition of his '10,000 BC' and 'Godzilla', '2012' stands as another badly acted, incoherent, poor science, awful CGI, and overlong film. Undoubtedly it made a lot of money in its initial release because that is what Emmerich does best and will continue to do. I really tried to like this film. I did not expect 'Citizen Kane'. But this film is awful in it's impossible misuse of every science in the known universe. If you must watch this film, do it as I did: Consider it a comedy. You will laugh yourself silly. I will spoil it for you right from the start: Ask yourself how John Cusak can drive with 2 young kids in a limo from southern California to Yellowstone National Park, back to southern California, and then back again to Yellowstone National Park in 2 days. Destined to be a midnight cult classic of bad filmmaking. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
CoreyNJan 7, 2010
Very good premise, expertly ruined by the director who loves to destroy America, but make them look very much the patriot. we have the President who will not leave his lawn, because he is the hero, yet our Queen is on the 'boats' Very good premise, expertly ruined by the director who loves to destroy America, but make them look very much the patriot. we have the President who will not leave his lawn, because he is the hero, yet our Queen is on the 'boats' with her beloved corgis. the cast are okey, but we have the typecast people we have all come to know and love in these films, and anyone who stays with the dos lives!! despite the admittedly good effects, this film isn't about humanity and people coming together as one, this is about Cusaks charachter and all the people who have caused him harm, dying in fantastical ways. it's way too long, relies too much on effects and not plot or script, and the ending and final lone are vomit inducing. not a very good film Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
SamMar 20, 2010
I love mindless destruction. I really do. I don't like mindless destruction when it's the same 'OH MY GOD IS THE PLANE GOING TO MAKE IT' bullshit every 10 minutes for 3 HOURS. Yeah, there were some cool scenes of I love mindless destruction. I really do. I don't like mindless destruction when it's the same 'OH MY GOD IS THE PLANE GOING TO MAKE IT' bullshit every 10 minutes for 3 HOURS. Yeah, there were some cool scenes of destruction, and Woody Harrelson was hilarious. But for the most part it was painful to watch. and yes, while I did say some of the destruction scenes were cool, most of them looked like rubber falling apart. Ugh. fuck this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JackS.Jun 2, 2010
I give this movie a 4. Why because it focuses way to much on the special effects and way to little on the story and character. You barely get to any characters. The only character they really tell you about is Jackson Curtis. Other I give this movie a 4. Why because it focuses way to much on the special effects and way to little on the story and character. You barely get to any characters. The only character they really tell you about is Jackson Curtis. Other characters like Charlie and the U.S President made the movie exciting, but the others just made it crappy. Don't go and see this movie. It would be a waste of you time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TinaCJan 1, 2010
I thought that this movie was going to be the best movie ever but after sitting in the theater for 2 1/2 hours i was like why the heck did i come here. It was like Transformers all over again. The only reason i gave it a four was because of I thought that this movie was going to be the best movie ever but after sitting in the theater for 2 1/2 hours i was like why the heck did i come here. It was like Transformers all over again. The only reason i gave it a four was because of John Cusacks acting made me want to stay and finish it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
RanelNov 29, 2009
The special effects were amazing, but the movie had too many flaws. First, it was very depressing, if you want to see GOOD people die over and over again, then be my guest. Secondly, the characters were boring, so you have to see the boring The special effects were amazing, but the movie had too many flaws. First, it was very depressing, if you want to see GOOD people die over and over again, then be my guest. Secondly, the characters were boring, so you have to see the boring first half before things get destroyed to really feel how boring the characters are. Finally, the movie is very unoriginal, the whole movie is a modern day Noah's Ark, in almost ALL ASPECTS. I haven't been disappointed in a movie I was looking forward to in awhile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KaileyD.Mar 26, 2010
This movie has way to much death. It's also really sad. I say there is to much death because the president , pope, and pretty much all of California dies.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
AngelinaMMar 29, 2010
my rating is ONLY for the visual graphics as for the story line it just seems so ridiculous that the whole plot is a family running away from the world. It doesn't address any issues or cover any of its flaws like how everything my rating is ONLY for the visual graphics as for the story line it just seems so ridiculous that the whole plot is a family running away from the world. It doesn't address any issues or cover any of its flaws like how everything miraculously appears before the protagonists e.g the jet being there just in time. Anyway I just wanted to say I will see you all in 2013, when someone decides to make a real movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EliJ.Jun 13, 2010
I don't know why the main characters have to dodge death twenty times in the movie. Its a disaster movie so i'd expect one or two times where death is avoided only by a few feet...but wow it felt like every other scene in this I don't know why the main characters have to dodge death twenty times in the movie. Its a disaster movie so i'd expect one or two times where death is avoided only by a few feet...but wow it felt like every other scene in this movie. i'll give it a score of 1 because the special effects were pretty cool. the writing and acting were terrible though. why is there always some snotty kid who calls his father by his real name? that right there, is the question. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SRoweJun 15, 2010
Nearly as bad as "Speed 2". For example, the family just make it into a plane and just manage to take off, and just avoid falling buidlings / trees / mountains in the plane - 3 times. It was like de ja vu all over again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CaptainNemoJun 18, 2010
Two... hundred... million dollars! FOR THIS?! After stopping it twice, I finally watched it through to the end simply through morbid curiosity, and now I'm genuinely infuriated at it! I'm going to the DVD store and asking the shy Two... hundred... million dollars! FOR THIS?! After stopping it twice, I finally watched it through to the end simply through morbid curiosity, and now I'm genuinely infuriated at it! I'm going to the DVD store and asking the shy timid counter boy for my money back at full volume!!! Then I'm going to buy all the copies they have and BURN them in a fire out the front of the shop so that the stupidity doesn't spread any further. Then I'm going to find out where the director, the writer AND the producers live and have them all savaged by starving komodo dragons until only their molars remain.... Every terrible cliche was there... the black president, the doombringer scientist, some idiot saying "By God.... That's impossible!", the lowly scientist being sent straight to meet the President, the useless divorced husband winning the wife and kids back.... I am now certifiably down to 50 IQ points with the rest of the people who watched this piffle. They should rename it "Daddy Runs From Armageddon" in reference to the six, count them, SIX times Cusack drives a car, a plane, a campervan or whatever.. out of the incoming firestorm/wave/pig stampede. It now tops my list as the worst movie I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LANov 16, 2009
If my review were based only in special effects, then the movie deserves 10/10. However all the good effects are lost in a lame and unrealistic plot; some humor is also injected in disastrous situations which is totally unnecessary. The main If my review were based only in special effects, then the movie deserves 10/10. However all the good effects are lost in a lame and unrealistic plot; some humor is also injected in disastrous situations which is totally unnecessary. The main characters never suffer a scratch and they made it to the other part of the world, where everybody else...well...dies. Silly movie. Please skip this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SausageNov 19, 2009
Continents displace, super volcanoes erupt, cities vanish, tidel waves swallow the Himalayas...every distaster you could possibly imagine is in this movie...except one that shouldn't be....THE SCRIPT!!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ZackANov 20, 2009
Just real bad.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JoshMNov 23, 2009
Although I enjoyed the great CGI and all the explosions and firey balls of doom, the script was just so cheesey it was unbearable. Any movie with the lines 'it's a suicide mission!' and 'we have to wait for dad!' Although I enjoyed the great CGI and all the explosions and firey balls of doom, the script was just so cheesey it was unbearable. Any movie with the lines 'it's a suicide mission!' and 'we have to wait for dad!' (right before he pulls him self from the bottom of a crevasse) is just bound to be crap. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
O.Q.R.Nov 24, 2009
What a waste of time. Whoever worked in the dialogues and the story of this movie, please don't disappoint us again or please just change career. I give it one point because I had a good laugh at the joke of the Russian guy in the car.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BillRNov 30, 2009
Very poorly paced movie. This is not Independence Day, no matter how hard it tries to be. There is absolutely no sense of humor or humility in this film. Save your money and time, and wait for the actual apocalypse... it is sure to be more Very poorly paced movie. This is not Independence Day, no matter how hard it tries to be. There is absolutely no sense of humor or humility in this film. Save your money and time, and wait for the actual apocalypse... it is sure to be more entertaining. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
chrisB.Dec 13, 2009
Are you kidding? 2 and a half hours.. 8 dollars... and 3 planes barely taking off as the runway collapses later... im still bored.. This reminded me more of a movie spoof than an original thriller. Special effects weren't bad but it Are you kidding? 2 and a half hours.. 8 dollars... and 3 planes barely taking off as the runway collapses later... im still bored.. This reminded me more of a movie spoof than an original thriller. Special effects weren't bad but it lacked any sort of captivating story or believable scenarios. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MikeDec 23, 2009
I would of preferred a more serious/realistic movie. But what I got was a dumb action movie with nothing more then special effects.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
VirginaDec 26, 2009
Just pure cheesy. Nothing is believable as the suspense is lost within 5 minutes into the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JimsDec 28, 2009
Good effects, but the humanity speech by the geologist at the end was a predictable bunch of Hollywood do-do. The movie was trying to be a thriller about what could really happen, but instead, just layered cliche upon cliche. What a dud.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BlogDog123Jan 18, 2012
Here we have an example of how to make a disaster movie. The formula is simple: add a boring plot that is completely science-fiction; slap on dull, uninteresting characters; and finally, make the story so ridiculously predictable that you canHere we have an example of how to make a disaster movie. The formula is simple: add a boring plot that is completely science-fiction; slap on dull, uninteresting characters; and finally, make the story so ridiculously predictable that you can tell what is going to happen at the end during the first 40 minutes. While the special effects are incredible (easily some of the best I've seen in a movie), it suffers from bad characters, a dull story, and it's overly long length. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
This movie is brain damage on a projector screen. The special effects were clumsily misused so that rather than making something intense and interesting - it's boring and predictable. Cut the special effects from this movie and you are leftThis movie is brain damage on a projector screen. The special effects were clumsily misused so that rather than making something intense and interesting - it's boring and predictable. Cut the special effects from this movie and you are left with very little. But blaming the film makers is simple minded, it's the retarded adult movie goers who are to blame by watching and then letting these film makers get away with this rubbish. We actual could have a better film industry with better movies if people had bigger minds and weren't so easily entertained by this laughable joke. LAME. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SnafuFrankAug 26, 2011
I have to admit that it was kinda fun to watch **** be destroyed in this movie and all that, but besides that it's nothing more nor nothing less than one big mess of special effects. The story is way to predictable, it overuses close callsI have to admit that it was kinda fun to watch **** be destroyed in this movie and all that, but besides that it's nothing more nor nothing less than one big mess of special effects. The story is way to predictable, it overuses close calls way to damn much. But i do have to admit that some parts in this movie actually managed to surprise me. Besides all of this, this movie still delivers what it promises, it's stupid and all, but all in all it's still one hell of a joy ride. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
jos95Jul 16, 2012
This movie is exactly what's wrong with most CGI-driven blockbusters. There is no character development, the acting and dialogue stink, there isn't a single original idea in the whole movie and it relied too much on bad science moments.This movie is exactly what's wrong with most CGI-driven blockbusters. There is no character development, the acting and dialogue stink, there isn't a single original idea in the whole movie and it relied too much on bad science moments. Unimpressed to put it lightly. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
pauljohnsonNov 23, 2011
A movie where you find yourself laughing where you shouldn't have been laughing. It's in the film that you find yourself laughing at parts that are unintentionally hilarious, due to sloppy writing and the usual special effects driven trash.A movie where you find yourself laughing where you shouldn't have been laughing. It's in the film that you find yourself laughing at parts that are unintentionally hilarious, due to sloppy writing and the usual special effects driven trash. There's almost nothing in this movie to review, it was just a 2 hour coma, occasionally interrupted by a couple of special effects sequences, all of which are ridiculous in nature, and all of which look less and less impressive each time we are shown them. The characters are painfully bland and uninteresting, no depth to them whatsoever. Emerich's previous film in the disaster category; The Day After Tomorrow, should have been a clear indicator that the guy can't write inspired disaster films very well.There is far, far too much emphasis on special effects in this film. One thing that also intensely grated me was when I watched a trailer for this film, with the bold assertion on a title card "It could really happen". Sorry, Emerich, but when science and the Mayans themselves attach no special significance to 2012, don't try and think you can market your film as being scientifically supported and expect me to swallow the kind of **** you're selling. You did the same with The Day After Tomorrow, I didn't fall for it then, don't expect me to this time. Try making good films, Emerich, you might learn something. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
T-rAvDec 12, 2011
(January 14, 2010)
Are you ready for the year 2012? So many venues claim that come 2012 the world as we know it is going to come to an end, so why not make a generic, soul less, explosion happy film about it?
When I first heard that a movie
(January 14, 2010)
Are you ready for the year 2012? So many venues claim that come 2012 the world as we know it is going to come to an end, so why not make a generic, soul less, explosion happy film about it?
When I first heard that a movie was being made based off the happenings of 2012, I had hope that it would be more than a cliche end of the world movie, and actually go in depth on the behind the scenes topics of the year. Sadly clichÃ
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ZeTomesJun 27, 2012
Well, people justify a positive review by comparing this film with common movies made in Hollywood, and recently baked ones. Exactly, presently made in Hollywood. Except the universe is not Hollywood neither cinema was born today. If youWell, people justify a positive review by comparing this film with common movies made in Hollywood, and recently baked ones. Exactly, presently made in Hollywood. Except the universe is not Hollywood neither cinema was born today. If you still believe cinema was created a few years ago and you think the film industry gravitates Hollywood, well, you're wrong and you probably ate too much popcorn. You'll love this one if that's the case. Not in case, you'll only taste a synthetic audience statistics bombastic and orgasmic glutton of a C series packed with good actors. That's all, you'll be hungry few minutes after you've seen this rubbish, and when you get home you'll be pissed for wasting your money, believing in fairy promotional cultural religious tales. But as you said, it's Hollywood! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
axelkochDec 22, 2012
So, John Cusack, Oliver Platt and Zlatko Buric are total dabblers in acting and Roland Emmerich is completely untalented in terms of writing. But 2012 is no 0-points-movie. There are some nice actors in this box-office-success and when theSo, John Cusack, Oliver Platt and Zlatko Buric are total dabblers in acting and Roland Emmerich is completely untalented in terms of writing. But 2012 is no 0-points-movie. There are some nice actors in this box-office-success and when the German director is making whole LA drown, it is impressive. But this movie is just unfavorable. This so damn overlong film is fully packed with buildings crumbling, waves overflooding great areas, earthquakes destroying whole cities and CGI everywhere. Too much of that, Mr. Emmerich! I have to grant him that he managed to put emotion in it with the family stuff surrounding John Cusack's role. This guy totally sucks at acting and his movie kids relegated him when they were playing together, but this one particular scene at the end of the movie touched me. But for all that it's not really hard to make such a scene emotional when you've got a nice soundtrack and a near-death-experience with a family as the story. So, is 2012 worth watching? Not really, because the FX aren't that good to make you enjoy the movie (I just overthought the movie and I get that you can never really enjoy a movie with such a plot!) and the dialogues are plain stupid. However, it's not that bad because of some nice actors and good editing, score and cinematography stuff. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AurelianI.Dec 9, 2009
Awful movie with poor acting and story.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "2012" is a disastrous movie that you wouldn't want happening to you. Think about it; Decent CGI buildings following down with cliched people running around with limousines and hiding inside **** arks. Hell, I don't want that happening.... Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
3
JawsPapi87Aug 30, 2011
Way too long and actually uninteresting. Predictable and terribly scripted, too with way too little self-aware comedy. No emotion and only one bright spot being Woody Harrelson
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
The film was nothing more than another Hollywood publicity stunt driven by special effects. And the effects weren't spectacular anyway. The effects looked cheap, rushed, and was the only thing that was keeping this movie alive. The majorThe film was nothing more than another Hollywood publicity stunt driven by special effects. And the effects weren't spectacular anyway. The effects looked cheap, rushed, and was the only thing that was keeping this movie alive. The major downfall of this movie is that it was made to begin with. Not even great actors like Danny Glover could save this movie. Spending the entire time in a russian plane trying to escape disaster? Get real. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
DaveHDec 7, 2009
I can't say it was an extremely amazing movie, but I can neither say it was a movie I didn't enjoy. The only problem was, of course, the multitude that went to the movies the same showing I did... God, I remember more the hisses I can't say it was an extremely amazing movie, but I can neither say it was a movie I didn't enjoy. The only problem was, of course, the multitude that went to the movies the same showing I did... God, I remember more the hisses they made than the movie characters' names. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JimDApr 12, 2010
I give it a one because it has a great premise. That doesn't save it from being the STUPIDEST movie I've ever seen in my life.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KyleRApr 7, 2010
One of the worst Emmerich movies. Such a waste of money.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RichardENov 20, 2009
The neighborhood theater
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RiaSNov 20, 2009
The effect in this movie is awesome. The storyboard is quite good, if i was a scientist, yes i would say that it can be happen on our world. But the things that disappointed me the most was the "LUCK" factor of the main character on this The effect in this movie is awesome. The storyboard is quite good, if i was a scientist, yes i would say that it can be happen on our world. But the things that disappointed me the most was the "LUCK" factor of the main character on this movie, i don't know why, i just feel they all was too lucky to be alive in that condition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
paulgreenFeb 7, 2012
The worst film i watched! I am not believe in stories about the end of the world and I think that director of this film is an idiot! Don't spend your time and your many on such stuped film!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
WilliamBApr 1, 2010
I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and if you don't like it why did u go c it. I saw this movie and sure I don't believe the I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and if you don't like it why did u go c it. I saw this movie and sure I don't believe the world is going to end in 2012, but I just liked the special effects and everything. GREAT MOVIE!!!! Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful
9
AlNov 20, 2009
Based on some of the reviews, my expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised! Maybe these harsh reviewers were expecting Shakespeare. This is a fun, entertaining movie that really delivers. Could have used a little editing at Based on some of the reviews, my expectations were not high. I was very pleasantly surprised! Maybe these harsh reviewers were expecting Shakespeare. This is a fun, entertaining movie that really delivers. Could have used a little editing at the end - a bit too long. Other than that - great! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
SwitSwatSep 8, 2012
I definitely can't say that it was the best movie I had ever seen, but it was still a great watch! I don't know what's up with the other reviewers saying that it is "total crap," but, everyone's got their opinions. Great special effects, andI definitely can't say that it was the best movie I had ever seen, but it was still a great watch! I don't know what's up with the other reviewers saying that it is "total crap," but, everyone's got their opinions. Great special effects, and a good story. All the humor put into the movie made it better. Although, the acting was ok. Not terrible, but it was good. And, of course, the movie is totally unrealistic. Just like any other Sci-Fi/Fantasy movie. Unless you believe in 2012... But, I don't so... Again, pretty good movie. 9/10 from me. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
hacmiu36Jan 7, 2013
2012 is the nice movies. It describes the thing thay may come to us in 21-12-2012, it has earthquake, tsunami, volcano. It has nice effect,, but the story is just to familiar
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyLJan 2, 2010
I think it could be perfect! Ignore critics and stupid haters, you all must see this film! It's so so so amazing! Really... and the special effects were awesome!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndyW.Mar 21, 2010
I can not believe how low of a rating this movie has received. The movie was advertised as a huge super amazing special effect movie. And it was! The scenes with special effects (of grounds breaking or Yellowstone blowing) were simply I can not believe how low of a rating this movie has received. The movie was advertised as a huge super amazing special effect movie. And it was! The scenes with special effects (of grounds breaking or Yellowstone blowing) were simply stunning. Through most of those scenes I was holding my breathe and hoping the gang could make it through. And while I missed it in theatres, I can imagine those parts that must have had the entire room just silent. Even the scenes without death and destruction were good too though. There were a few chuckles and a couple awww moments. I thought everyone played their role well and personally I saw nothing wrong with the acting. Overall it was an amazing disaster movie with suspense and excitement throughout the movie. It was wonderfully done and I would easily recommend anyone check it out. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
SamR.Mar 23, 2010
I don't get why people are marking it down for bad acting or bad science - the movie is about the end of the world. Go into it expecting three hours of stuff blowing up and being destroyed, and you'll love it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DaleC.Mar 5, 2010
Ok. Can we all put a moratorium on "Well, that was 2 and a half hours [or other amount of time] that I'll never get back..." Please. It's lame. Wasn't funny 10 years ago. And really, what did you expect from a movie called Ok. Can we all put a moratorium on "Well, that was 2 and a half hours [or other amount of time] that I'll never get back..." Please. It's lame. Wasn't funny 10 years ago. And really, what did you expect from a movie called "2012" with giant tidal waves and destruction on the movie poster? If you're in the mood for disaster, this is a fun movie. Forget the story, acting and especially dialogue. This isn't a Coen brothers movie. If you're more of a rom-com or groundbreaking documentary lover, then, yes, this will in fact be 2 and a half hours you'll never get back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JesseJMar 6, 2010
I can not believe people say this has a bad story line. It is friggin amazing, every one is hating on it because they claim it is just pure CGI and no story line, that is complete bs. This movie has an amazing story line and it is very I can not believe people say this has a bad story line. It is friggin amazing, every one is hating on it because they claim it is just pure CGI and no story line, that is complete bs. This movie has an amazing story line and it is very inspiring, and at the same time it packs a massive punch with the amazing CGI scenes, John Cusak is also friggin awesome. I recommend any one to watch it, including people who hate all the "modern movies". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JulianAJan 6, 2010
I think this was one of the all-time best movies I ever saw. The CGI was great, the suspense had me holding my breath through the whole two hours, and the story was very moving. I don't care what the people who gave this movie 0's I think this was one of the all-time best movies I ever saw. The CGI was great, the suspense had me holding my breath through the whole two hours, and the story was very moving. I don't care what the people who gave this movie 0's say--it was outstanding. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SpencerSJan 7, 2010
2012: By far the best end-of-the-world movies ever. John Cusack was once again awesome even though he didnt have much to work with seeing as the script was very boring. The CG was mind blowing and overall it was just one of the most bad ass 2012: By far the best end-of-the-world movies ever. John Cusack was once again awesome even though he didnt have much to work with seeing as the script was very boring. The CG was mind blowing and overall it was just one of the most bad ass movies of the year. If Emmerich had taken more time on the script instead of try...ing to blow as much stuff up as possible this movie would have been amazing. My grade: B+ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DrewFMar 2, 2010
All these people claiming "I don't go to the movies very often, but when i decided to i chose a Roland Emmerich movie!" really need to do better research on films they're going to see. Of course this movie is cheesy and ridiculous. All these people claiming "I don't go to the movies very often, but when i decided to i chose a Roland Emmerich movie!" really need to do better research on films they're going to see. Of course this movie is cheesy and ridiculous. It's not meant to be high-art. It is campy escapism. And to be honest this flick delivered the goods in spades. I would really rather probably give it a 7.5/10 overall, but rounded up to 8. Enjoyable, mindless fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JohnA.Mar 22, 2010
It is what it is, a SyFi flick! Enjoy it for that!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
daver.Mar 29, 2010
Order a pizza, grab a few beers, sit back and enjoy - perfect "old school" disaster movie ramped up tenfold - superbly enjoyable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
IsaacVtMar 3, 2010
It was a film that helps you learn a lot of life lessons and uses perfect examples. this film had very sad parts and a creative ending with amazing cgi but ultimatley does not deliver as a great movie but just a slightly above average one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
landonwMar 6, 2010
I'm Voting a 10 because it is an awesome scenes too see on BLURAY, yes the story had parts that could have better plot but its a future movie & thats not always sci-fi accurate. But way kool on bluray all the way!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanielSMar 7, 2010
It was pretty good for a 2 hour 40 minute movie. Some parts god me frightened and on the edge of the couch like "oh no are they going to make it?" But at the first half its all about lava, fire, and earthquakes, and the other half is all It was pretty good for a 2 hour 40 minute movie. Some parts god me frightened and on the edge of the couch like "oh no are they going to make it?" But at the first half its all about lava, fire, and earthquakes, and the other half is all about giant floods, what the ****?!?! And the Russian helicopters carrying 2 of every species in some suit tied to a rope hanging down 20 feet away from the helicopter was pretty stupid. Wouldn't they die from some blood rush or hypothermia? The effects were pretty good and realistic though, and I really liked the storyline, it was still a good movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JeffT.Apr 6, 2010
Great visual representation of the end of the world! I don't see why everyone says the movie was terrible. The special effects, acting, plotline and the humor made this movie a must-see! The only thing I didn't enjoy seeing was the Great visual representation of the end of the world! I don't see why everyone says the movie was terrible. The special effects, acting, plotline and the humor made this movie a must-see! The only thing I didn't enjoy seeing was the Bentley jumping out of the jet. There is no way that could ever happen. But, besides that, the movie was terrific!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlanGJun 11, 2010
C'mon people! The average is 5.7?! Anyone who gave it below a 7 is an idiot! This movie was the bomb! One of my favorite movies of '09!!
0 of 6 users found this helpful
9
ZakirH.Nov 13, 2009
Big bang graphics with emotions of one family.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NabilSNov 14, 2009
With proper research.. awesome cgi, comedy, suspense, action, drama.. this movie has the works!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DanaMNov 15, 2009
Enjoyed it thoroughly. Not sure what movie these reviewers were watchin, but we felt it was well worth our scare entertainment dollars. Go see it on the big screen!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ChrisDNov 15, 2009
An exciting movie! At times it was ridiculous, but that was made up for by the sheer awesomeness of the special effects and horror. Many scenes were emotion-provoking. I was feeling the intensity and brute helplessness of the character. An exciting movie! At times it was ridiculous, but that was made up for by the sheer awesomeness of the special effects and horror. Many scenes were emotion-provoking. I was feeling the intensity and brute helplessness of the character. Parts were even very thought-provoking in the form of what it means to be human, and that even if doing one thing "saves" humanity it would really be "destroying" the humanity of all surviving humans; in a very Battlestar Galactica-esque manner. It also says that these event occur due to a magnetic polar shift that happens every some thousand years. The events are very Noah's Ark-like just saying. This movie was exciting, nerve-racking, tragic, destructive, dark, and even had that aspect of thought-provoking themes of being human and not being human. Overall exactly what I want from a disaster movies. One Emmerich's best, up there with Day After Tomorrow, and Independence Day. (Though not any Wall*E, Dark Knight, Star Trek, or anything.) 7.5/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
OliverHNov 15, 2009
An amazing film, truly epic in proportion. While everyone seems to get on a little too well, the sheer scope blows you away.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DudleiO.Nov 17, 2009
Of course the movie has some clichès, and as you move towards the end, some of the plot is quite predictable, but it's probably one of the best disaster movies ever made! The scenes are so real and so intense that I felt Of course the movie has some clichès, and as you move towards the end, some of the plot is quite predictable, but it's probably one of the best disaster movies ever made! The scenes are so real and so intense that I felt breathless. You could feel like that was all really happening! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DanielNov 17, 2009
Utterly absurd, but exactly what was expected. Great fun!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JoradTNov 22, 2009
I quite enjoyed this movie. It's indeed quite over the top yet at the same time there was a decent amount of character development and some nice tension was built throughout (even though every circumstance came out with a positive I quite enjoyed this movie. It's indeed quite over the top yet at the same time there was a decent amount of character development and some nice tension was built throughout (even though every circumstance came out with a positive outcome). Overall it's definately worth seeing also due to the great effects. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KentLNov 29, 2009
It's very very good, a fun ride. The graphics are outrageously good (including the way they were portrayed) (10) as is the sound (9). The acting is fairly top knot save for a few moments (8). The story is interesting and entertaining It's very very good, a fun ride. The graphics are outrageously good (including the way they were portrayed) (10) as is the sound (9). The acting is fairly top knot save for a few moments (8). The story is interesting and entertaining (7). The story is rich on human factor and development (8). Don't go expecting to see an accurate portrayal of the human response to Mayan prediction...just go for a good time...and don't wait to see it on a small screen. That would be a mistake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AirOct 16, 2010
Perhaps the biggest fault of 2012 is that it takes itself so seriously. This is the most over-the-top, stupid, and ridiculous movie I have ever seen, and at times it almost feels as if it would have fared better as a comedy, because I almostPerhaps the biggest fault of 2012 is that it takes itself so seriously. This is the most over-the-top, stupid, and ridiculous movie I have ever seen, and at times it almost feels as if it would have fared better as a comedy, because I almost couldn't stop myself from laughing at times. All that said, the special effects are absolutely stunning, and seeing this on the big screen will blow your mind. Everything else about the movie is lackluster and poorly thought out. The only reason you should really consider watching this movie is if you want to see special effects done right, because damn, they are done right in 2012. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
Roland Emmerich is very good at making a movie that has something to do with the end of the world in 2012 according to the mayan calendar, but its not going to happen.

i'm getting ahead of myself. the visuals were great, and the acting was
Roland Emmerich is very good at making a movie that has something to do with the end of the world in 2012 according to the mayan calendar, but its not going to happen.

i'm getting ahead of myself. the visuals were great, and the acting was excellent.

Rating: 9/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SixellaDec 5, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the worst movies I've seen in a while. Giving it a five is being generous. It was as if they through everything together really fast with not much planning. There was negative character development, leaving them bland. The movie was laaaaaaaame, I don't know what else to say. And then they just hoped on a boat and THE END! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 1, 2011
2012 is possibly the single most impressive CGI epic ever released in recent years. As the title obviously states, the movie is about the end of the world and it does a damn good job of portraying it. Sure, the acting and all that other stuff2012 is possibly the single most impressive CGI epic ever released in recent years. As the title obviously states, the movie is about the end of the world and it does a damn good job of portraying it. Sure, the acting and all that other stuff is bad but even if you hated Independence Day you have at least got to appreciate the CGI in this one. Its so good that I have given this movie a perfect 10 simply based on the effects. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Mad_Hatter91Jan 2, 2013
2012 is a disaster movie of 2009 directed by Roland Emmerich. The plot is about Adrian Helmesey, a geologist at the White House in 2009, with the help of his Indian friend, he finds that solar storms are heating up the earth's core liquefying2012 is a disaster movie of 2009 directed by Roland Emmerich. The plot is about Adrian Helmesey, a geologist at the White House in 2009, with the help of his Indian friend, he finds that solar storms are heating up the earth's core liquefying the outer casing. Thus began a plan to save humanity, while in 2012 a writer Jackson Curtis discovered by chance this plan and will do anything to rescue his family. Although in the film there is a criticism of the people in power, 2012 is a fun movie and entertainment thanks to the spectacular special effects, exaggerated but well used. The only flaw in the film are the script too simple and the theory that they used to end the world. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
RikiegeDec 22, 2012
The idea of the film is well made, but it is a movie that appeals to you.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
For all the glorious visual effects it offers up, 2012 is a dud. The script is trash, but if you're familiar with the rest of Emmerich's work, then you probably know that's a given.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
It's one of Roland Emmerich's better films, but it's not exactly intelligent in any sense of the word.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
WriteFilmLive21Nov 30, 2012
"2012" is another high-tech disaster epic from the always-enjoyable Roland Emmerich, and this time he pulls no punches as he delivers onscreen the literal end of the world, based upon the conspiracy theory of the Mayan calendar. Though this"2012" is another high-tech disaster epic from the always-enjoyable Roland Emmerich, and this time he pulls no punches as he delivers onscreen the literal end of the world, based upon the conspiracy theory of the Mayan calendar. Though this doesn't carry the emotional weight or strength of characters found in "The Day After Tomorrow" or "Independence Day", this is a purely visual powerhouse. The special effects are breathtaking, and particularly the scenes in Yellowstone and Las Angeles are fantastically exciting. It does drag a bit through the second act, but when it gets to the climax, Emmerich gives us a formulaic (and absolutely delightful) extended climax in the spirit of all great disaster movies - one where almost anything that can go wrong, does go wrong, and they survive a plethora of close cuts and scrapes by the skin of their teeth. Is it realistic? Hell no, but that's not why you watch a disaster movie. Is it Emmerich's best? Certainly not. But it is nonetheless a very fun ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Not the best movie i've ever seen but to not the worst. The special effects are nice and there was lot of action in it. The cast isn't the worst but to not the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Annoymous1Jan 7, 2013
2012 is a great disaster movie showing all the possible endings of the world. Unlike the other crap disaster movies like Apocalypse now or something this delivers great graphics, top quality voicing and even a lot of real life aspects (2012 is a great disaster movie showing all the possible endings of the world. Unlike the other crap disaster movies like Apocalypse now or something this delivers great graphics, top quality voicing and even a lot of real life aspects ( Ferrari and Bentley in the plane) and lots of famous brands ( Coco-Pop can be seen when the supermarket grows a sinkhole). This also introduces new technology to us and has been great at showing that not all the end of the world movies are set in USA ( The ending takes place in China) and lots of emotional moments. If you are a fan of disaster flicks this should be watched. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RedShadowHatDec 30, 2012
Good story line and movie in general but to me there wasnt enough violence. By violence I mean people attacking other people with knives, guns etc. not natural disasters. The ending was the only bad part to me, it lasted way too longGood story line and movie in general but to me there wasnt enough violence. By violence I mean people attacking other people with knives, guns etc. not natural disasters. The ending was the only bad part to me, it lasted way too long otherwise I would have given the movie a 10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
This is one of the best documentaries I've ever seen, second only to Zoo. It really captures the bravery of the heroes that allowed humanity to survive to this day. Okay, now I gotta get back to work. There's a lot of things in the ark thatThis is one of the best documentaries I've ever seen, second only to Zoo. It really captures the bravery of the heroes that allowed humanity to survive to this day. Okay, now I gotta get back to work. There's a lot of things in the ark that need fixing! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
ChrisSNov 22, 2009
well it wasn't that bad. I know it's not gonna happen and the effects were amazing. It was very Predictable and the script was crap. The cast was Passable and I laughed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelL.Mar 29, 2010
Way to long!! 2 1/2 hours, I should have known better that Roland Emmerich's ego knows no bounds. Skip this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
schweinhApr 17, 2010
Totally ridiculous, constantly 1 second ahead of utter disaster time after time, but the special effects are remarkable, and it kept me amused. Worth a watch. Once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
nicoyNov 14, 2009
Probably one of the worst, overrated natural-disaster-sci-fi movie of the decade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
kgmNov 15, 2009
The vision and the scale of this epic movie are quite impressive. It also sports a multi-cultural storyline and cast which I found gratifying. It praises educational accomplishments and correct moral choices. All this is good. the plot isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChristopherJNov 18, 2009
I went in expecting to love it because I tend to love movies about the apocalypse. I loved Deep Impact, Armageddon, The Day After Tomorrow, I Am Legend, and so on... but this was the cheesiest and least fulfilling movie of its genre I have I went in expecting to love it because I tend to love movies about the apocalypse. I loved Deep Impact, Armageddon, The Day After Tomorrow, I Am Legend, and so on... but this was the cheesiest and least fulfilling movie of its genre I have ever seen. The only thing that kept me in the theatre was the cinematography and the fantastic graphic art. The storyline is terrible, the characters aren't relatable, and the music was beyond typical. I was only surprised by the absence the statue of liberty. Every other iconic image was present; why not throw her in there? ...with a bag of "pull-ups" in hand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ZakrnanonymousDec 7, 2009
Willing suspension of disbelief or not the story is absolutely terrible , watching things sink into nothingness for an hour does not a good movie make.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianN.Jan 27, 2010
A painfully cheesy series of last minute escapes made by characters you wish would die early so you can get out of this 160 minute embarrassment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoizRMar 17, 2010
Do not believe any of the 0 and 1 ratings anyone gave this move unless it is arranged as 10. The CGI effects alone are ground breaking and you can tell that the movie did not put too much emphasis on why it happens but rather how. The pace Do not believe any of the 0 and 1 ratings anyone gave this move unless it is arranged as 10. The CGI effects alone are ground breaking and you can tell that the movie did not put too much emphasis on why it happens but rather how. The pace is exhilarating and if you don't care for the very slight hiccups in credibility, there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Sentimentality has been done right to perfection and the acting and characters are portrayed excellently. Overall, it is 10 times the movie "armageddon" and other celebrated blockbusters are. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JacobKMar 21, 2010
I did not like this movie very much. The effects were great, but besides that, there was really nothing else intriguing. Amanda Peet was of course great, as always, but the movie altogether was farfetched and often annoying (John Cusack I did not like this movie very much. The effects were great, but besides that, there was really nothing else intriguing. Amanda Peet was of course great, as always, but the movie altogether was farfetched and often annoying (John Cusack crawling out of the pit that he surely would have died in). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JamesH.Mar 21, 2010
58/100. I was so hoping that this film would avoid all the disaster movie cliche
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GayleR.Mar 28, 2010
Made me wish that the end of the world was going to happen during the movie. What a waste of time and money. I would have expected more from a movie calling itself 2012 - end of the Mayan Calendar, get it? Why not give us a good movie with Made me wish that the end of the world was going to happen during the movie. What a waste of time and money. I would have expected more from a movie calling itself 2012 - end of the Mayan Calendar, get it? Why not give us a good movie with that theme and drivers? This was just pure drivel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KyleLMar 28, 2010
Not remotely entertaining. You'll be thinking "Oh, they just survived there, the world is coming to an end 2 INCHES BEHIND THEM!!!" over and over again. A dreaded 2.5 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeBMar 29, 2010
Ooof. What a turd. The dialogue is diarrhea. It makes Independence Day look like Lawrence of Arabia. I kid you not, in the space of a few minutes (and while afloat), Air Force One is hurled at them, and they almost crash into Mount Everest. Ooof. What a turd. The dialogue is diarrhea. It makes Independence Day look like Lawrence of Arabia. I kid you not, in the space of a few minutes (and while afloat), Air Force One is hurled at them, and they almost crash into Mount Everest. This movie is a total insult. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful