2012

2012 Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 615 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Never before has a date in history been so significant to so many cultures, so many religions, scientists, and governments. 2012 is an epic adventure about a global cataclysm that brings an end to the world and tells of the heroic struggle of the survivors. (Sony Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. There's something to be said for a formula picture done almost to perfection. In 2012, Emmerich gives you everything you expect, but gives it to you bigger.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    80
    2012 isn't a bad movie that, out of sheer boredom, you might snicker at once or twice; it's a two-and-a-half hour laugh riot that plays on our expectations of the genre by anticipating and exceeding them.
  3. For all of its faults, ends up being relentlessly watchable as well, a summertime popcorn spectacle plopped down in the middle of the fall movie season.
  4. Doomsday views are a knockout, but the script is a real disaster.
  5. As far as the new disaster film 2012 is concerned, the world will end with both a bang and a whimper, the bang of undeniably impressive special effects and the whimper of inept writing and characterization. You pays your money, you takes your chances.
  6. 40
    Where else are you going to get a chance to see the aircraft carrier USS John F. Kennedy drift down the side of a mile-high tsunami and take out the White House? Big. Dumb. Fun.
  7. As always in Emmerich's rollicking Armageddons, the cannon speaks with an expensive bang, while the fodder gets afforded nary a whimper. Of course, that's just part of disaster's simple recipe: Blow us up, then blow us off.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 244
  2. Negative: 86 out of 244
  1. WilliamB
    Apr 1, 2010
    10
    I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and I don't know why people are giving this movie such a bad rating. I mean u see tidal waves and disaster written all over the psoter, and if you don't like it why did u go c it. I saw this movie and sure I don't believe the world is going to end in 2012, but I just liked the special effects and everything. GREAT MOVIE!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    This movie was a joy to watch. However it didn't have the best plot/story. It didn't have a proper story to it really, apart from the worldThis movie was a joy to watch. However it didn't have the best plot/story. It didn't have a proper story to it really, apart from the world ending. You get to meet some interesting characters along the way, but there's no real emotional connection with them like you do with characters in other movies. The CGI and visual effects are stunning, unlike anything I've seen before. Most of the movie was done digitally and most of the landscapes they were on were computer generated. The ending was okay, and the action scenes were stunning. It shows the true force of mother nature at her worst and just how easy it can tear apart a single planet. Expand
  3. Jan 17, 2011
    8
    great movie for the family. the best disaster movie ever made, special affects one the best of 2009. The acting sucks but thats not why i wentgreat movie for the family. the best disaster movie ever made, special affects one the best of 2009. The acting sucks but thats not why i went to go see it i went because this does what hollwood is supposed to do entertain me. so if you have nothing to do on the weekend go but or rent 2012 and enjoy yourself. Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    5
    It feels like the real story of this movie is that "Humanity can do anything it puts its mind to but there will always be hangers on that dragIt feels like the real story of this movie is that "Humanity can do anything it puts its mind to but there will always be hangers on that drag you down." How many people almost drowned because a single family tried to sneak on board that arc at the end? They wouldn't even be in that situation if the doctor didn't have the captain open the doors and let the stragglers in. How many people were already on board the arcs, hundreds of thousands? For the sake of the few people waiting to get on they endangered every single person on board. Expand
  5. AaronR.
    Nov 15, 2009
    4
    The thing that a lot of people don't seem to understand is the fact that the Mayan/Aztec Calendar doesn't predict the end of the The thing that a lot of people don't seem to understand is the fact that the Mayan/Aztec Calendar doesn't predict the end of the world when that Calendar ends. It simply is predicting the end of an age. Now compare this with the Catholic belief that the Archangel Uriel will come into control of the world in 2012 (the Archangels all take care of shaping the world every few centuries by switching shifts in a way), who was in control when the renaissance came around, and you have a very bright future to look forward to. The movie itself, while getting its subject material completely wrong, was just below mediocre. The special effects were good and the acting was decent. But there wasn't much plot other then the world is ending and i must protect my family. This team has been doing this thing over and over again, and they just don't be seeming to get the hint. I suppose that can be attributed to the fact that they're movies always have good advertising. But if you don't know how bad their previous works are, these are the guys that did the 1998 Godzilla. This is a popcorn flick, nothing more. I can't recommend it, but if you want the Transformer experience (lots of action, little [or stupid] plot) then i suppose you may come away entertained. Expand
  6. JayD
    Mar 5, 2010
    2
    I just wasted 2 and a half hours on this rancid film. How Roland Emmerich keeps making bad blockbusters with seemingly no accountability for I just wasted 2 and a half hours on this rancid film. How Roland Emmerich keeps making bad blockbusters with seemingly no accountability for them is a mystery to me. The main characters are painfully bland. There is no chemistry between any of the actors. Absolutely no character in the movie was developed. All you get is eye candy(CGI) and scenes that will make any physic professor reel in horror. Expand
  7. JohnB
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    Ugh ugh ugh ugh UGH. A movie that only cares about the visuals. and panders to the whiny angsty teenager who hates the human race because he Ugh ugh ugh ugh UGH. A movie that only cares about the visuals. and panders to the whiny angsty teenager who hates the human race because he can't get girls to talk to him. Forget having the cheesiest, stupidest plot in history and the dumbest melodrama. Can we try to have all those things without eye-rolling misanthropy? Collapse

See all 244 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked

    20 Movies With Fake US Presidents, Ranked Image
    Published: June 14, 2016
    We rank 20 films featuring fictitious American presidents.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.
  4. 2012 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2012 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2012
    Track every major movie award and nomination here with our 2012 Film Awards Scorecard. We'll update the standings daily throughout December and January as soon as new awards and nominations are announced.
  5. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far Image
    Published: July 5, 2012
    With half of 2012 already in the books, we take a look at the best and worst albums released so far this year.