User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 60
  2. Negative: 20 out of 60

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This movie are for open-minded independent people who are willing to take their time to analyze the information presented or gathered; and then have an objective conclusion; abstaining to entertain their emotional tantrum. The movie shows the objectivity in finding the internal (hidden to the public) compass of the character of obama from his childhood into his adult life. The journey takes you to different parts of the world; the people who had influence his life and his character (especially his parent and immediate family member's ideology); interviews with people who knows his parents and how their mindset have imbedded into obama's being and thinking. It investigates and expound the sort of people that obama associated with (his role model). The best part about this movie is that excerpts was taken from his memoir "dream from my father" with his own voice narrating the events. The question here is that will his ideology acceptable for AMERICA or the founding fathers. If a person will open their eyes and be objective and not subjective; then a lot can be learn from this movie. A MUST-SEE movie for all AMERICAN.

    NOTE: If you have not seen the movie; STOP making a FOOL of yourself by commenting on something you have not viewed but trying to make an assumption. IGNORANCE occur because he or she remains STUPID, NARROW MINDED and full of ASSUMPTION but KNOWLEDGE is attained by investigating the facts then supporting or discrediting the information obtained.
    Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Eye opening movie, if you care about our future and are interested in making an informed decision, -- a must see, -- critic's like the new york times could slam the movie --- but consider the source.
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    2016 is a well crafted documentary the clearly explains why Obama has done many of the obvious non-American things he has done over the last 3 1/2 years. He won't let us drill for oil in the waters of the continental shelf, but he openly gives money to Brazil, Mexico and Colombia so they can develop their off-shore oil resources. He has all but shut down the coal industry in America, even as he knows it will cost our citizens more money to heat and cool their homes. His EPA is working on rules to strangle the fracking industry even though there have been no major problems with the individual states regulating the activity within their own borders. DeSousa gives a clear picture of the man Obama calls Frank in his book, 'Dreams From My Father'. Frank was not just some old drunken Black man. No, he was a real card-carrying Commie. ....and, Obama's mentor for 7 years until Barry went off to the super-lefty Occidental University. Great molvie. Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An impressive piece of work. It was the furthest thing from boring. You're in Washington DC, the next clip you're looking at Mumbai, and then the high-rises of Hawaii, some of the poorest sections of Indonesia, Kenya, and then back to New York City. So many disparate clips of video, weaved together that underline the theme of our president's life. Dinesh identifies so well with the subject, he draws many comparisons between his life, growing up in India, and our current 44th leader of the free world. However, he draws deep distinctions in the belief systems of the American people, along with the founding fathers of America, and the anti-colonialism that Barack Sr. stewed in throughout his life. The influence of his father's beliefs become more and more apparent as the film progresses, and intersects with the policy decisions, and some of the outlandish off-the-cuff statements the President has made over the past 3 1/2 years.The editor did a phenomenal job of finding something else besides the Ken Burns affect to tell the story, and Kudos to the president himself for doing such a fine job of narrating from his own book, "Dreams from my Father." It really made the story come alive. The shaky camera stuff, seems to be trendy in film making, but I'm glad they kept that to a minimum. If you're worried about a diatribe breaking out in the middle of the documentary, Dinesh would have none of it. He makes his point by collating simple facts, that any good journalist could have dug up, prior to 2008. He lays those facts on a trend line, and shows you the thinking behind what's happening, and lets you draw the conclusion of what 2016 will be like if we choose Hope and Change again. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    If this was a Michael Moore film the media (and critics) would be hailing this a tour de force of "objective" journalism and a "must-see". But it isn't a film from the Left and as such is pooh-poohed as the worst of things - a conservatives movie. My recommendation - watch it and form your own opinion. If you don't like it at least you can speak from a position of truly understanding the topic. Otherwise, you are a lemming... Expand
  6. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    In full disclosure I'm not a fan of BHO. I avoided reading any reviews to try to maintain some objectivity. I suppose I expected a rant about why Obama is disastrous for the future of our country but that's not the theme of this movie at all. Obviously it's armchair psychology but for the first time I feel like I can appreciate the perspective of the President. I profoundly disagree with him however, I now have a glimpse into what makes him tick. Its not a spectacular piece of film making but I give this film a 10 for content and purpose. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    i would not be surprised if those that rated it '0' have not seen the movie and do not intend to do so.
    that being said, there is information in this documentary that has not yet been reported by our news agencies
    the film makes a compelling case for its point of view
    without doubt the picture leans right but nevertheless, provides information every voter needs to see
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    This film provides information about Barack Obama that the press should have provided in 2007-2008. Information such as that presented in this film is important to decided who is fit and qualified to be President of the United States. I recommend the film to everyone, including those who are firmly committed to vote for Obama in 2012.
  9. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    This movie may turn out to be one of the most important releases in movie history since it tells the truth about a dangerous politician at a very unique time. It comes to us right before an election and also at a time that the media in this country has been either bullied or hypnotized into not doing their jobs. This movie gives us vital info (like obama was mentored by communist party member 47544, frank davis) and also uncovers the fact that obama has very different goals for the future of america than most people think. Artfully done. Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    It is unlikely that this documentary will surge above its present popularity prior to November. Not because it doesn't provide everything any modern day documentary contains (theory concerning WHY with factual evidence that either directly or circumstantially supports it), but because it would be too horrific to be true for practically everybody. Despite this, the actions of Obama since election make complete sense of the theory presented here. The biggest criticism of the piece by any critic on here is that the influence of his father is overstated because Obama met him only once. This denies the fact that his father's written and oral legacy was a staple Obama grew up with. Colonialism and those that hated it were Obama's environment and mentors, and the producer does a good job in presenting this education behind the education. Of course, we won't know if upsetting the "boat" to put the colonizers on the bottom and the victims on top will actually occur if Obama is re-elected, but if he attempts it, there is little anyone could do short of revolution. If this piece serves any purpose, it should at least sensitize the populace to any act leaning that way. And for that, it deserves more respect than a comparison to Michael Moore's comedies. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    I saw this picture yesterday and took 15 neighbors and friends. Everyone was impressed by the message and the facts that weren't arguable. You can't claim that video clips aren't long enough in a movie like this. You can't play entire speaches in a film. Stupid Point. Dsouza did a great job laying out a theory - and I guarantee you that this won't all be proven nonsense by researchers later like Fahrenheit 9/11 was. Dsouza is at heart an honest guy trying to do the job the media in this country used to do before they all became leftist lapdogs. Proof? Read every review from the papers. Nobody gave this movie any credit. Does that seem objective to anyone? Not one review from the press could say anything good about this movie. Just shows how the media went from being the rebels looking for corruption and truth to slacks and propogandists for liberal thinking. They're just part of the establishment and the rebels are all on the right now. Will a filmmaker always have to be the one to do the investigating when it comes to Democrat candidates from now on? Ask yourself what that would mean. Expand
  12. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    The only reason this movie has received poor critical reviews is that the "Critics" are all EXTREME Liberals, while this movie is trying to reach those US Citizens who can still think and haven't drunk the Kool-Aid of the Left. This is a great portrayal of the reason that the United States is in such a truly rotten situation. Obama is clearly the Anti-Capitalist, Anti-Colonial, Anti-U.S. person his Mother made him into, along with the help of the radical left who are all for destroying all that makes living in this country such a gift from our True-Forefathers Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2012
    9
    Had no idea of the information about President Obama. It was very factual and it was not verbally abusive. The movie stay on target and just explain his life, family, beliefs, and showed where he was brought up.
  14. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Politics aside, I hesitated going to this because in general, documentaries can be a little dry. On the contrary, D'Souza came across as extremely intelligent and engaging. It kept up a good pace, laid out the facts clearly and kept me interested all the way through.
    If you keep up with events, there won't be too many surprises but it confirms the sad truth. This Manchurian candidate
    we've elected is rapidly sinking our nation. Everyone should see this movie. Collapse
  15. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. D'Souza obviously did his homework for his book, of which this movie is based upon, and surprisingly, he didn't step too far into political issues to make his point. He analyzed Obama's father, his upbringing, the people around him who influenced him throughout his life, the things he wrote papers on and even a psycho-analysis of him to best understand the affects an absent father has on a child (in the same vein as the offspring of a war veteran). D'Souza presented his data excellently in terms of Political Science, regarding colonialism and neo-mercantilism, and he clearly went to great lengths to get at the heart of his information, by doing interviews with key people, quoting Obama's works, and presenting a massive amount of data that makes you question who Obama was, is, and what he aspires toward. People who assume this movie to be conservative dribble should really give this movie a chance. It's not to make you hate Obama, but to simply explain who he is, because no one bothered to try in 2008. Expand
  16. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    What an eye-opener! Whether this movie will influence the election outcome and the voting of my children's generation---who knows---but it should. Obama's unconscious mind became present to me in this well-constructed documentary. He's psychologically frightening to me now and hopefully to others. Who would return the bust of Winston Churchill? Who would speak of helping his brothers yet not help his own brother? Very disturbing. Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    I have to admit I had preconceived ideas on how this movie was going to play out. I'm pleased to tell you I was wrong! There is a reason media outlets such as CBS and the Los Angeles times to name a few, called 2016 : Obama's America "Disturbingly Necessary"! The mainstream media in America no longer views it's role to the public as being a tool to educate the populace. President Obama was never vetted and a lot of us fell for the hype of "Hope and Change" and most are out of hope and have little left in their pockets but change. Dinesh D'Souza opens the curtain of secrecy that Obama has spent millions trying to hide of his own past. From his college records to his pastor Jeremiah Wright whom he tried to bribe with $150,000 to keep his mouth shut, the same Jeremiah Wright who preached "God Damn America"! You owe it to yourself to be better informed and Dinesh does exactly that. Why is Obama encouraging the people to become dependent on government? Why is he so bent on punishing success? Why is business the enemy? Where does this hate of America and Great Britain come from? Why is Obama so comfortable racking up $6 Trillion in new debt on top of the $10 Trillion we have? Why $16 + Trillion dollars of debt is the new form of Slavery? What are the goals of Barack Obama? If you asked yourself these questions about the political left and it's policies, you need to see 2016: Obama's America! The political left doesn't like their agenda being put out into view in a way everyone can understand and that may help explain the poor Zero ratings given by a few for this film. That is all the more reason you should go with friends and see it for yourself! The only crime is being told what to think and not thinking for yourself and questioning authority! Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    As a Democrat who voted mostly within party lines, many questions throughout these last 4 years which have devastated our Middle class and obvious to those who astute that it was not caused by Bush. This President had total control the first 2 years and did nothing buy harm the middle class . How ignorant he believes the masses are..and he is the only competent one, not even needing to meet daily with his cabinet, as he also smarter than they are. THANK GOODNESS FOR THIS HONEST DOCUMENTARY. THE FEAR TACTICS OF THE RADICAL LEFT TO NOT SEE THIS IS EVIDENT. THEY ALSO BELIEVING IN THE IGNORANCE OF THE MASSES AND THE NEED OF THE MASSES TO BE CONTROLLED BY THEM. This is a documentary that is history making for it's honesty in researching with interviews and a timeline for all those history buffs to scrutinize themselves. All will see how brilliant this type of reality has been brought to the screen. I do hope the scare tactics and fear of the Presidency does not hit the general public, as they have wanted believing the average Joe is unable to think for themselves, needing the Presidents direction as in Cuba....If you are able to think without direction as to what to think, then see this movie and think for yourself... Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    This is a must watch film for anyone voting in the presidential election. The movie lays out what seems on the surface to be an off-the-wall assertion that Obama's political career is motivated by the anti-colonialist ideology of his father. What is surprising and unsettling as an American citizen is the level of evidence provided in the documentary to support the position that President Barack Hussein Obama II stands to fundamentally undermine the ideals that once made America one of the greatest nations in the history of the world. While the scene where Obama is completely unable to describe the fiscal stability of the plan that would become his own "Affordable Care Act" at a town hall provides a sort of break in the tension in an otherwise marching fact-filled documentary, this scene still leaves me bewildered as to how the mainstream media could ignore this and other incredible gaffes. The film builds to the starkly sinister moment when Obama is unknowingly recorded while pleading with then Russian President Dmitry Medvedev during a nuclear summit in South Korea. On the tape recorded last March, Obama asks Medvedev to request that Vladimir Putin have patience while Obama is campaigning for re-election as he will be able to be "more flexible" with Russia regarding Nuclear arms issues following the presidential race. Towards the end of the film, D'Souza makes three insightful predictions worth staying tuned for. Sadly, all of D'Souza's predictions appear to be coming true and are leading America, and the world, on a downward spiral that may take generations to recover from if we are able to do so at all. The film ends with a subtle sense of optimism: the values that will shape our future may be heavily influenced by Barack Obama, but our direction as a nation is still ultimately in the hands of the American people and their vote - more and more of whom seem to be seeing through the fog of his feel-good-but-phony slogans and grandiose speeches full of empty promises each and every day. Expand
  20. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very scary movie that everyone should see before voting in November. I use the word "scary", not because this film revealed anything to me that I didn't already know. Actually, I'd estimate that I already knew of approximately 95% of the content covered in this movie. What's scary is that the content covered in this film was all readily available before the 2008 election (hence why I voted for the old guy and the dumb broad) and yet so many people ignored it then and continue to ignore it now. How dense are people? Many republicans are against Obama for his politics or think he's dumb or think he's naive, etc. No, this is not the case. I said in 2008 and I'll repeat it now... Barrack Hussein Obama is an evil man who hates the United States of America. That statement seems radical to the sheeple who suck from the teet of Obama's America but it's the truth and if they weren't so immediately selfish it would be painfully obvious. This 2012 election isn't a vote between Romney and Obama or republican and democrat or white and black... it's a vote between America and anti-America. I'd say the choice is pretty obvious.

    UPDATE:
    Too late, obviously America is filled with morons.
    Expand
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Nails the ending of Obama's second term. Too bad there wasn't enough support for Romney to win. Hopefully Obama will be out of office due to impeachment and we'll get stuck with Biden who is at least... a little better
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Christopher Campbell
    Sep 1, 2012
    55
    With the out-of-nowhere success of 2016: Obama's America, the nation could finally have a conservative counterpart to Michael Moore. I say the nation rather than the Republicans, because a balanced box office is good for us all, at least as a reminder of our right to oppose the current government and make a profit in doing so.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Aug 31, 2012
    20
    One could and perhaps should use scare quotes around "intellectual" when it comes to someone who would crank out a piece of campaign-season partisan hackwork this crude and sloppy. (By this standard, James Carville looks like Immanuel Kant.)
  3. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Aug 27, 2012
    38
    D'Souza makes it all sound almost plausible, but only if you're predisposed to believe that Obama hates America. It's bashing, all right, but with a velvet-gloved fist.