Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: August 5, 2005
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
78
Mixed:
6
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
moviescriticnetDec 8, 2015
Despite the fact that it has been nominated for Palme d' Or in Cannes Film Festival and won six local awards in Hong Kong Film Awards this overrated movie (a drama/romance and sci-fi mixture) is aesthetically perfect but completelyDespite the fact that it has been nominated for Palme d' Or in Cannes Film Festival and won six local awards in Hong Kong Film Awards this overrated movie (a drama/romance and sci-fi mixture) is aesthetically perfect but completely meaningless.
Kar Wai Wong, best knows for "In the Mood for Love" made this experimental two-hour movie of an original 5-hour (or so) material (thank god he didn't use all of it). The title of the film refers to the last year before the 50-year period the Chinese Government promised to let Hong Kong remain as it is (Hong Kong was returned to China in 1997). Of course this has little or nothing to do with the film (whose general idea is people searching love and their identity in a futuristic Hong Kong) which is non-sensical, completely delusional and will have you wonder whether you accidentally smoked some giant pot. Nevertheless the cinematography of the futuristic Hong Kong is so artistic and beautiful that it's worth watching just (and only) for that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alexismOct 6, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 2046 as much a celebration of film as it is of writing as a healing process: a man cannot face his own past, so he begins to write a novel about somebody else, and it is only through reading his own novel that he comes to understand his own emotions. I read 2046 as a story about a man with love-PTSD, who, only by writing about someone else, is able to deal with his own losses and his past. That’s why the film is so full of deflections: the second-hand nature of novel-writing, the thematic repetition of the number 2046 in hotel rooms and room keys and titles, the other Su Li-zhen, the escapist futuristic landscape of high-speed trains and robots. Chow is in psychological distress following the loss of his love(s), and his mind has developed all these mechanisms in order to cope.

2046 is such an intricate and emotional work. I personally liked it more than the slow-burning, sometimes tedious ITMFL. ITMFL was very much about the nuanced interactions between people in the real world: the quiet moments between the drama, the way two people handle the dissolution of trust in a marriage. I can totally understand why people feel it’s a more complete, more substantial work than is 2046. But 2046 is beautiful precisely because of its confusion and incompleteness. The process of dealing with loss is never linear and always confusing, emotionally fraught and full of low-key sucker punches, and all those words also describe the film perfectly.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganSep 26, 2015
2046 has been hard to nail down. At first I felt both an urge to uprate it for the look, but at the same time felt a disappointing lack of analog sensuality. Instead there is this ethereal, digital quality to the film, which I at first found2046 has been hard to nail down. At first I felt both an urge to uprate it for the look, but at the same time felt a disappointing lack of analog sensuality. Instead there is this ethereal, digital quality to the film, which I at first found empty and disappointing, but later found that it fits the ghostly, wistful vibe. The film drifts, I caught some references and there were probably many others I did not catch, but it is punctuated by some fine acting in the stronger scenes. 2046 is the type of film I would expect to appreciate more on a repeat viewing. (Which I will, having now watched / rewatched Days of Being Wild and In the Mood for Love, which 2046 combines with the make a trilogy.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HighPriestesaMay 18, 2014
This one of those 'must see before you die' things. It's one of my five favorite movies of all time. Visually it's stunning and mesmerising. The story is a puzzle that drags you in and keeps your eyes locked on the screen the whole time. MakeThis one of those 'must see before you die' things. It's one of my five favorite movies of all time. Visually it's stunning and mesmerising. The story is a puzzle that drags you in and keeps your eyes locked on the screen the whole time. Make sure you go to bathroom before pressing play. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mapizarroSep 11, 2013
At the beginning, I couldn't understand this film, it looks like a epic film of future like "Blade Runner" or "Dune" but, continuing, I watch that this film is a sequel of another movie, "In the Mood for Love"). "2046" is more different thanAt the beginning, I couldn't understand this film, it looks like a epic film of future like "Blade Runner" or "Dune" but, continuing, I watch that this film is a sequel of another movie, "In the Mood for Love"). "2046" is more different than "In the Mood for Love", it's more abstract, less direct. Result is well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
carlaymoutOct 31, 2011
This review contains spoilers. the WORST, TERRIBLE AND DONE NOTHING MOVIE! I just saw the actor talking and talking and done nothing. If I were the director, i'll rewrite and recolor 'em. This movie talk nonsense and nothing just nothing blank. Just like a rotten egg without yolk, the other foreign people wouldn't understand what're they talking about, But I knew Chinese, i know this movie talking about nothing. if i were the critic, i Gave 'em an 'F' negative 100. Go to Hell.......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GalenMar 9, 2011
I personally find this film to be tedious and boring. I see so many people praising this film due to how spectacular it looks and feels. I agree that the filming technique and acting is wonderful but the whole thing just falls flat. It isI personally find this film to be tedious and boring. I see so many people praising this film due to how spectacular it looks and feels. I agree that the filming technique and acting is wonderful but the whole thing just falls flat. It is painfully long which just ruins it. This is a movie that might have been interesting if the pacing weren't so horrible and the story was more interesting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GlennLNov 14, 2009
2046 has so much truth in it, that hit hits almost to close to home for many people. For first time viewers, the plot with Wong Kar-wai is easier to follow if you realizes he has 2 (some might argue 4) stories running together. So that is a 2046 has so much truth in it, that hit hits almost to close to home for many people. For first time viewers, the plot with Wong Kar-wai is easier to follow if you realizes he has 2 (some might argue 4) stories running together. So that is a lot of "plot" to keep track of unless you really pay attention (it took several viewings or me to grasp it all). One story (the main one) is with Faye Wong, and the Japanese boyfriend; the second is with Zhang Ziyi. The third is Maggie Cheun (link to In the Mood for Love), and the fourth is with In the Days of Being Wild, Carina Lau. In fact the sequel to Days of Being Wild (which was never done) is quickly recapped using Carina's characters. So that is a lot to follow. This a wonderfully filmed with just outstanding music .. the soundtrack is extremely good, I recommend it. It is also noteworthy to not see 2046 as a sequel to the movies it's obviously linked too -- but more an "echo" as Wong Kar-wai has said. Also, all the stories DO come together at the end very nicely. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Mar 31, 2008
I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and comes across very artificial and empty. Like watching an unoriginal poem, being read as slowly as possible. I was almost too tranquilized by it to push stop on the remote. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HermanKFeb 9, 2008
Self-indulgent nonsense packaged as an abstract art; sprinkled with famous old film stars. It is indeed a hypnotism like Malcolm said. Indeed, my friend and I nearly fell asleep. Hint: The director said to the cast that whoever can drag out Self-indulgent nonsense packaged as an abstract art; sprinkled with famous old film stars. It is indeed a hypnotism like Malcolm said. Indeed, my friend and I nearly fell asleep. Hint: The director said to the cast that whoever can drag out their scene most will be paid well. It was based per second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesM.Oct 10, 2007
Superior to "In The Mood For Love" in every single aspect;perhaps Wong kar-wai's crowning achievement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RGMar 23, 2007
i saw this a couple of years ago and i could not put words together to describe it to anyone. but here it goes - i think it is interesting the ppl have similar reasons to like or dislike the film. a lot of critics a moaning about the i saw this a couple of years ago and i could not put words together to describe it to anyone. but here it goes - i think it is interesting the ppl have similar reasons to like or dislike the film. a lot of critics a moaning about the unclarity of the script and what it amounts to, and i love the ambiguity of the movie. there are no pans in the film and everything is tightly framed to perfection. all the scenes play off of each other, sort of like a collage scrapbook, add the haunting, reminiscent style of music and it leads to evoking memories that link to each other. i think in a way this movie is a lot to swallow like tristrm shandy, but it pulls is off i think. where as in the mood was a simple story with amazing substance that one just feels, the sequences in this movie have the similar visual impact but with the leungs narration it amounts to something very abstract. "2046" s definition becomes several things and nothing at the same time, just as memories. if u dont want to get that deep into it just enjoy the beautiful stars and the gorgeous cinematography. some of those shots are just incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Mar 9, 2006
Quite possibly Wong Kar Wai's greatest, most personal film to date. 2046 can be viewed similarly to Adaptation, of the constant struggle between life and art, one imitating (or inspiring?) the other. Goregous, romantic, but Quite possibly Wong Kar Wai's greatest, most personal film to date. 2046 can be viewed similarly to Adaptation, of the constant struggle between life and art, one imitating (or inspiring?) the other. Goregous, romantic, but overwhelmingly nostalgiac and tragic, 2046 is one of the best films 2005 has to offer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
thewisekingFeb 6, 2006
painfully tedious. this not very stylish (the sets are cliched blade runneresque dated versions of 80s futurism) faux noir soporific mess should be avoided.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YunL.Jan 29, 2006
Visually stunning and the story is beautifully narrated. In my honest opinion, it is simply the best movie of 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Jan 16, 2006
While it's sad seeing such low ratings for such an incredible film, it makes sense. There is not a single false note in this film, and while some would complain about the almost constant voice-over of Chow, it's totally necessary While it's sad seeing such low ratings for such an incredible film, it makes sense. There is not a single false note in this film, and while some would complain about the almost constant voice-over of Chow, it's totally necessary to the overall power of the film. Wong Kar-Wai doesn't make movies, he writes a short story and translates it to film in a poetic fashion unequalled by his contemporaries. The same is true of Days of Being Wild and In The Mood For Love. No one else is making movies like this or has ever made movies like this. Best film of the year. All of those giving low points really should just stick to Aeon Flux and Underworld. Leave the good stuff to those of us who can actually interpret and appreciate good filmmaking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisB.Jan 2, 2006
I always go into an asian movie expecting unrealistic characters and strange, other-worldly plots. 2046 changed my views on that. This is maybe the classiest present day movie i have ever seen. The characters were incredibly realistic I always go into an asian movie expecting unrealistic characters and strange, other-worldly plots. 2046 changed my views on that. This is maybe the classiest present day movie i have ever seen. The characters were incredibly realistic considering this is a heavy-duty romance, and the mood was incredibly intoxicating when combined with the score and soundtrack. Incredible. Now i have to try and track down In the Mood for Love. Stupid Blockbuster doesn't even carry it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJDec 30, 2005
I love this film. You have to see "In the mood for love" or all previous Wong Kar-Wai's films to appreciate this one. They are all connected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigL.Dec 27, 2005
Excellent movie! Visually stunning, great music, and Chow is such a badass. "In the Mood for Love" was good, but this totally blew it away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MadC.Dec 3, 2005
Giving it low points just because of the legth is annoying. Then LOTR should also deserve a 1 for being so long. Well, lucky there's subtitles, I'm Chinese but I dont understand the language.. I loved this movie a lot, its Giving it low points just because of the legth is annoying. Then LOTR should also deserve a 1 for being so long. Well, lucky there's subtitles, I'm Chinese but I dont understand the language.. I loved this movie a lot, its beautiful. The visuals were something and Zhang Ziyi was just amazing. Faye Wong's part as the girl (not the robot) was really good, I loved the cast. The futuristic parts make no sense to me though, thankfully they're short. Really romantic movie, excellent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
alexc.Nov 24, 2005
I hated this movie... way too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
alic.Nov 7, 2005
While this film is certainly beautiful and the acting very good, it has many flaws which just can't be hidden or ignored. The story is repetitive, badly plotted, unclear and goes nowhere. It's puchline is basically stolen from While this film is certainly beautiful and the acting very good, it has many flaws which just can't be hidden or ignored. The story is repetitive, badly plotted, unclear and goes nowhere. It's puchline is basically stolen from Chinatown (2046 isn't a place or time, but something much deeper zzzzz......). Characters are shallow, dialogue is trite and the gorgeous music is repeated too many times over the extended running time that it too becomes repetitive. Most insulting of all though, is the product placement for a certain electronics company during the future scenes and the end credits. Wong truly has sold out. And become dull. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MalcolmM.Oct 27, 2005
U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. This is no typo error. And now, when i snap my fingers, u will awake! (snap) And now, u realise u have wasted 2 hours of your time. Yes, time did stop for awhile there.. And now it was a forgotten memory, lost. Now snap out of it, you fool! And get on with your life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeatonK.Oct 25, 2005
Wong's intoxicating vision continues to astound and deeply affect. A devastating fetishization of memory and lost love, the performances are startling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
peppejoOct 5, 2005
Great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AXLA.Oct 4, 2005
I was not prepared for this movie. I had not seen "In the Mood for Love" where Mr. Chow's character is introduced, plus I was expecting a futurist movie suggested by the title. It is a movie about the future in the way that Solaris is a I was not prepared for this movie. I had not seen "In the Mood for Love" where Mr. Chow's character is introduced, plus I was expecting a futurist movie suggested by the title. It is a movie about the future in the way that Solaris is a movie about space; both films are more interested in the poetry of memory than in science fiction. There are no wide shots in this film. It jumps from the 1960's to the year(place?) 2046 without the camera ever stepping back more than a few feet from the beautiful actresses who are the object of Mr. Chow's macho love. There are no skylines or even establishing shots of buildings in this mythic Hong Kong Nowhere. Like Mr. Chow's pulp novels, 2046 tells the same imperfect love story again and again. A love that is more of an addiction than an obsession; these women seem to all live next-door to him and two even have the same first and last names. It is a movie so permanently dramatic that you could swear it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffJ.Sep 16, 2005
Just short of a classic. Parts of this movie are so brilliant that they seem like a reinvention of the whole concept of movie making. The first third, in particular, is breathtaking. The way the whole screen is used to compose the shots, the Just short of a classic. Parts of this movie are so brilliant that they seem like a reinvention of the whole concept of movie making. The first third, in particular, is breathtaking. The way the whole screen is used to compose the shots, the way the camera lingers on someone's facial reactions, the lighting and sound -- it's all masterful. It's well worth seeing it just for the technique. Unfortunately, it kind of slows down and dissipates in the last half, and left me somewhat lost. I simply didn't feel any connection with the main character, who never seems to make up his mind what to do. What does he really feel? Maybe there was some kind of cultural signal that I missed. Still, Wong Kar Wai is clearly one of the great directors, and the talent is dripping off the screen. Oh, and there are lots of gorgeous women in it, too. Who cares if it doesn't make complete sense? See it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KennethG.Sep 11, 2005
This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. The characters are unlikable, and after an hour and a half of this, I'm squirming in my seat, wishing the writer had had a better relationship with his delete key. Alas, it meanders on for another 50 minutes. I felt like *I* was caught in "2046," unable to leave. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcK.Aug 31, 2005
It seems that all the "great" Chinese films released in America are aesthetically stunning, but short on substance. Add "2046" to this list, along with the fascinating "Millenium Mambo" and the not-so-good "Hero." Zhang Ziyi is a goddess, It seems that all the "great" Chinese films released in America are aesthetically stunning, but short on substance. Add "2046" to this list, along with the fascinating "Millenium Mambo" and the not-so-good "Hero." Zhang Ziyi is a goddess, and this is the best performance of her young career. If/When she learns to speak English (and I read that she's doing that) she will become one of the most well-known and talented international film stars out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful