User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 88
  2. Negative: 16 out of 88
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MadC.
    Dec 3, 2005
    8
    Giving it low points just because of the legth is annoying. Then LOTR should also deserve a 1 for being so long. Well, lucky there's subtitles, I'm Chinese but I dont understand the language.. I loved this movie a lot, its beautiful. The visuals were something and Zhang Ziyi was just amazing. Faye Wong's part as the girl (not the robot) was really good, I loved the cast. Giving it low points just because of the legth is annoying. Then LOTR should also deserve a 1 for being so long. Well, lucky there's subtitles, I'm Chinese but I dont understand the language.. I loved this movie a lot, its beautiful. The visuals were something and Zhang Ziyi was just amazing. Faye Wong's part as the girl (not the robot) was really good, I loved the cast. The futuristic parts make no sense to me though, thankfully they're short. Really romantic movie, excellent. Collapse
  2. JeffJ.
    Sep 16, 2005
    8
    Just short of a classic. Parts of this movie are so brilliant that they seem like a reinvention of the whole concept of movie making. The first third, in particular, is breathtaking. The way the whole screen is used to compose the shots, the way the camera lingers on someone's facial reactions, the lighting and sound -- it's all masterful. It's well worth seeing it just for Just short of a classic. Parts of this movie are so brilliant that they seem like a reinvention of the whole concept of movie making. The first third, in particular, is breathtaking. The way the whole screen is used to compose the shots, the way the camera lingers on someone's facial reactions, the lighting and sound -- it's all masterful. It's well worth seeing it just for the technique. Unfortunately, it kind of slows down and dissipates in the last half, and left me somewhat lost. I simply didn't feel any connection with the main character, who never seems to make up his mind what to do. What does he really feel? Maybe there was some kind of cultural signal that I missed. Still, Wong Kar Wai is clearly one of the great directors, and the talent is dripping off the screen. Oh, and there are lots of gorgeous women in it, too. Who cares if it doesn't make complete sense? See it. Expand
  3. GlennL
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    2046 has so much truth in it, that hit hits almost to close to home for many people. For first time viewers, the plot with Wong Kar-wai is easier to follow if you realizes he has 2 (some might argue 4) stories running together. So that is a lot of "plot" to keep track of unless you really pay attention (it took several viewings or me to grasp it all). One story (the main one) is with Faye 2046 has so much truth in it, that hit hits almost to close to home for many people. For first time viewers, the plot with Wong Kar-wai is easier to follow if you realizes he has 2 (some might argue 4) stories running together. So that is a lot of "plot" to keep track of unless you really pay attention (it took several viewings or me to grasp it all). One story (the main one) is with Faye Wong, and the Japanese boyfriend; the second is with Zhang Ziyi. The third is Maggie Cheun (link to In the Mood for Love), and the fourth is with In the Days of Being Wild, Carina Lau. In fact the sequel to Days of Being Wild (which was never done) is quickly recapped using Carina's characters. So that is a lot to follow. This a wonderfully filmed with just outstanding music .. the soundtrack is extremely good, I recommend it. It is also noteworthy to not see 2046 as a sequel to the movies it's obviously linked too -- but more an "echo" as Wong Kar-wai has said. Also, all the stories DO come together at the end very nicely. Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    I personally find this film to be tedious and boring. I see so many people praising this film due to how spectacular it looks and feels. I agree that the filming technique and acting is wonderful but the whole thing just falls flat. It is painfully long which just ruins it. This is a movie that might have been interesting if the pacing weren't so horrible and the story was more interesting.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the WORST, TERRIBLE AND DONE NOTHING MOVIE! I just saw the actor talking and talking and done nothing. If I were the director, i'll rewrite and recolor 'em. This movie talk nonsense and nothing just nothing blank. Just like a rotten egg without yolk, the other foreign people wouldn't understand what're they talking about, But I knew Chinese, i know this movie talking about nothing. if i were the critic, i Gave 'em an 'F' negative 100. Go to Hell.......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. peppejo
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Great.
  7. IanQ.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic! Desires? Love? Ziyi Zhang was perfect!
  8. MattA.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    While it's sad seeing such low ratings for such an incredible film, it makes sense. There is not a single false note in this film, and while some would complain about the almost constant voice-over of Chow, it's totally necessary to the overall power of the film. Wong Kar-Wai doesn't make movies, he writes a short story and translates it to film in a poetic fashion While it's sad seeing such low ratings for such an incredible film, it makes sense. There is not a single false note in this film, and while some would complain about the almost constant voice-over of Chow, it's totally necessary to the overall power of the film. Wong Kar-Wai doesn't make movies, he writes a short story and translates it to film in a poetic fashion unequalled by his contemporaries. The same is true of Days of Being Wild and In The Mood For Love. No one else is making movies like this or has ever made movies like this. Best film of the year. All of those giving low points really should just stick to Aeon Flux and Underworld. Leave the good stuff to those of us who can actually interpret and appreciate good filmmaking. Expand
  9. alic.
    Nov 7, 2005
    5
    While this film is certainly beautiful and the acting very good, it has many flaws which just can't be hidden or ignored. The story is repetitive, badly plotted, unclear and goes nowhere. It's puchline is basically stolen from Chinatown (2046 isn't a place or time, but something much deeper zzzzz......). Characters are shallow, dialogue is trite and the gorgeous music is While this film is certainly beautiful and the acting very good, it has many flaws which just can't be hidden or ignored. The story is repetitive, badly plotted, unclear and goes nowhere. It's puchline is basically stolen from Chinatown (2046 isn't a place or time, but something much deeper zzzzz......). Characters are shallow, dialogue is trite and the gorgeous music is repeated too many times over the extended running time that it too becomes repetitive. Most insulting of all though, is the product placement for a certain electronics company during the future scenes and the end credits. Wong truly has sold out. And become dull. Expand
  10. PJ
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    I love this film. You have to see "In the mood for love" or all previous Wong Kar-Wai's films to appreciate this one. They are all connected.
  11. MalcolmM.
    Oct 27, 2005
    2
    U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. U will be unable to escape the room that is 2046. U shall be trapped in it; timelessly, in time. U shall see yourself jacking off to the over-rated actresses in it. U will wish to see it end sooner than u thought u could. This is no typo error. And now, when i snap my fingers, u will awake! (snap) And now, u realise u have wasted 2 hours of your time. Yes, time did stop for awhile there.. And now it was a forgotten memory, lost. Now snap out of it, you fool! And get on with your life. Expand
  12. Clint___H
    Aug 1, 2005
    7
    Visually stunning but becomes tiresome. Wonderful sets and costumes.
  13. GrantT.
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    Once again wong Kar-Wai makes me feel I have just seen what filmmaking can be - diturbing, new , visual, emotional, non-linear, overwhelming ... not an easy ride perhaps but so big and yet so personal.
  14. mc
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    It takes a lot of thinking and attention to details to fully understand/appreciate this movie, which is the beauty of it. It gets even more appreciating after having watched "Mood" before this one. Expect something entirely different.
  15. KrisB.
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    I always go into an asian movie expecting unrealistic characters and strange, other-worldly plots. 2046 changed my views on that. This is maybe the classiest present day movie i have ever seen. The characters were incredibly realistic considering this is a heavy-duty romance, and the mood was incredibly intoxicating when combined with the score and soundtrack. Incredible. Now i have to I always go into an asian movie expecting unrealistic characters and strange, other-worldly plots. 2046 changed my views on that. This is maybe the classiest present day movie i have ever seen. The characters were incredibly realistic considering this is a heavy-duty romance, and the mood was incredibly intoxicating when combined with the score and soundtrack. Incredible. Now i have to try and track down In the Mood for Love. Stupid Blockbuster doesn't even carry it. Expand
  16. YunL.
    Jan 29, 2006
    10
    Visually stunning and the story is beautifully narrated. In my honest opinion, it is simply the best movie of 2005.
  17. HermanK
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    Self-indulgent nonsense packaged as an abstract art; sprinkled with famous old film stars. It is indeed a hypnotism like Malcolm said. Indeed, my friend and I nearly fell asleep. Hint: The director said to the cast that whoever can drag out their scene most will be paid well. It was based per second.
  18. AXLA.
    Oct 4, 2005
    6
    I was not prepared for this movie. I had not seen "In the Mood for Love" where Mr. Chow's character is introduced, plus I was expecting a futurist movie suggested by the title. It is a movie about the future in the way that Solaris is a movie about space; both films are more interested in the poetry of memory than in science fiction. There are no wide shots in this film. It jumps I was not prepared for this movie. I had not seen "In the Mood for Love" where Mr. Chow's character is introduced, plus I was expecting a futurist movie suggested by the title. It is a movie about the future in the way that Solaris is a movie about space; both films are more interested in the poetry of memory than in science fiction. There are no wide shots in this film. It jumps from the 1960's to the year(place?) 2046 without the camera ever stepping back more than a few feet from the beautiful actresses who are the object of Mr. Chow's macho love. There are no skylines or even establishing shots of buildings in this mythic Hong Kong Nowhere. Like Mr. Chow's pulp novels, 2046 tells the same imperfect love story again and again. A love that is more of an addiction than an obsession; these women seem to all live next-door to him and two even have the same first and last names. It is a movie so permanently dramatic that you could swear it Expand
  19. JackieC.
    Aug 11, 2005
    0
    I'm sorry, i wanted to love this, but it really sucked. A muddled mess, and way too long at that, with repetition added seemingly so Zhang Ziyi could get more screen time. I just wanted it to end.I dont care why Gong Li wears a black glove and neither does anyone else--this movie made me not care about Gong and i resent that.
  20. MarcK.
    Aug 31, 2005
    6
    It seems that all the "great" Chinese films released in America are aesthetically stunning, but short on substance. Add "2046" to this list, along with the fascinating "Millenium Mambo" and the not-so-good "Hero." Zhang Ziyi is a goddess, and this is the best performance of her young career. If/When she learns to speak English (and I read that she's doing that) she will become one of It seems that all the "great" Chinese films released in America are aesthetically stunning, but short on substance. Add "2046" to this list, along with the fascinating "Millenium Mambo" and the not-so-good "Hero." Zhang Ziyi is a goddess, and this is the best performance of her young career. If/When she learns to speak English (and I read that she's doing that) she will become one of the most well-known and talented international film stars out there. Expand
  21. KennethG.
    Sep 11, 2005
    2
    This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. The characters are unlikable, and after an hour and a half of this, I'm squirming in my seat, wishing the writer had had a better relationship with This movie is certainly quite beautiful to look at. It has style and mood, and intrigue. And there are a few truly compelling moments. But I found it almost intolerable to watch. It goes on and on and on, plus it goes in complete circles. The characters are unlikable, and after an hour and a half of this, I'm squirming in my seat, wishing the writer had had a better relationship with his delete key. Alas, it meanders on for another 50 minutes. I felt like *I* was caught in "2046," unable to leave. Expand
  22. thewiseking
    Feb 6, 2006
    3
    painfully tedious. this not very stylish (the sets are cliched blade runneresque dated versions of 80s futurism) faux noir soporific mess should be avoided.
  23. TomH.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Quite possibly Wong Kar Wai's greatest, most personal film to date. 2046 can be viewed similarly to Adaptation, of the constant struggle between life and art, one imitating (or inspiring?) the other. Goregous, romantic, but overwhelmingly nostalgiac and tragic, 2046 is one of the best films 2005 has to offer.
  24. CharlesM.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Superior to "In The Mood For Love" in every single aspect;perhaps Wong kar-wai's crowning achievement.
  25. RG
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    i saw this a couple of years ago and i could not put words together to describe it to anyone. but here it goes - i think it is interesting the ppl have similar reasons to like or dislike the film. a lot of critics a moaning about the unclarity of the script and what it amounts to, and i love the ambiguity of the movie. there are no pans in the film and everything is tightly framed to i saw this a couple of years ago and i could not put words together to describe it to anyone. but here it goes - i think it is interesting the ppl have similar reasons to like or dislike the film. a lot of critics a moaning about the unclarity of the script and what it amounts to, and i love the ambiguity of the movie. there are no pans in the film and everything is tightly framed to perfection. all the scenes play off of each other, sort of like a collage scrapbook, add the haunting, reminiscent style of music and it leads to evoking memories that link to each other. i think in a way this movie is a lot to swallow like tristrm shandy, but it pulls is off i think. where as in the mood was a simple story with amazing substance that one just feels, the sequences in this movie have the similar visual impact but with the leungs narration it amounts to something very abstract. "2046" s definition becomes several things and nothing at the same time, just as memories. if u dont want to get that deep into it just enjoy the beautiful stars and the gorgeous cinematography. some of those shots are just incredible. Expand
  26. [Anonymous]
    Mar 31, 2008
    1
    I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and comes across very artificial and empty. Like watching an unoriginal poem, being read as slowly as possible. I was almost too tranquilized by it to I could not finish this movie. Watched about 30 minutes of it. Many scenes had nothing happening, besides a slow pan of the room, no movement, no dialogue, just music. Little happened plotwise. This movie tries very hard to be artistic, and comes across very artificial and empty. Like watching an unoriginal poem, being read as slowly as possible. I was almost too tranquilized by it to push stop on the remote. Expand
  27. alexc.
    Nov 24, 2005
    1
    I hated this movie... way too long.
  28. KeatonK.
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Wong's intoxicating vision continues to astound and deeply affect. A devastating fetishization of memory and lost love, the performances are startling.
  29. JohnP.
    Aug 13, 2005
    9
    I was deeply moved by this film. It is highly original and its substance (well-written characters, great performances, terrific screenplay) is matched by its style (innovative form, stunning cinematography and soundtrack). This film is evocative of the kind of loneliness and wistful nostalgia found in Haruki Murakami novels and really connected with me. Note: it is in limited release, but I was deeply moved by this film. It is highly original and its substance (well-written characters, great performances, terrific screenplay) is matched by its style (innovative form, stunning cinematography and soundtrack). This film is evocative of the kind of loneliness and wistful nostalgia found in Haruki Murakami novels and really connected with me. Note: it is in limited release, but I found the Hong Kong version DVD in a local arthouse video store. Expand
  30. MatthewR.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    2046 is the 21st century's Casablanca. A film for romantics, it's truly beautiful and if it doesn't touch you, perhaps you've never lost in love before.
  31. CraigL.
    Dec 27, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie! Visually stunning, great music, and Chow is such a badass. "In the Mood for Love" was good, but this totally blew it away.
  32. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    At the beginning, I couldn't understand this film, it looks like a epic film of future like "Blade Runner" or "Dune" but, continuing, I watch that this film is a sequel of another movie, "In the Mood for Love"). "2046" is more different than "In the Mood for Love", it's more abstract, less direct. Result is well.
  33. May 18, 2014
    9
    This one of those 'must see before you die' things. It's one of my five favorite movies of all time. Visually it's stunning and mesmerising. The story is a puzzle that drags you in and keeps your eyes locked on the screen the whole time. Make sure you go to bathroom before pressing play.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Only a master director could make such a beautifully flawed film.
  2. 60
    As for the title, well, it made me think of Thomas Carlyle's wife, who read Browning's long poem "Sordello," enjoyed it, but still couldn't work out whether Sordello was a man, a city, or a book. So it is with 2046. A place? A date? A hotel room? A bar tab? You tell me.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    The new film lives up to expectations and, indeed, pushes past them into virtually unmapped territory.